reviews

Jamal R. bronze reviewer

avatar
Oct 2017 , Female
Member since Jul 2012
Lives in
Reviews written: 6
Restaurants rated: 0 (this year)

LAmorosa

278 King Street, London W6 0SP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Very good italian in Hammersmith

by Jamal R.   bronze reviewer (6)

Dec 2016

I ordered the truffle pasta which was the special of the evening with 3g white truffle and girolle mushrooms which i would rate this dish to be 7/10. I recently had the same dish at Teca Del Duca on Westbourne Grove and felt it was slightly better with black truffles but much more of a truffle taste than at L'Amorosa, probably 6-8g of black truffles thus supposedly less potent over white, I'm thinking their sauce is using more truffle butter and oil to give the additional truffle flavoring which we both love. My husband had the veal parcel pasta and enjoyed this and we shared the Sea trout carpaccio which i would rate 7.5/10 given the trout was slightly smoked and we didn't realise this from the menu description before ordering. Overall a very good Italian meal and with a bottle of wine costing £85 for two. I would recommend if in the Ravenscourt area.

...

See more

Jamal R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Pollen Street Social

8-10 Pollen Street, London W1S 1NQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Innovative starters!!!

by Jamal R.   bronze reviewer (6)

Dec 2013

Atmosphere is fine, not sophisticated but not quite cafeteria either, in between the two. Food – didn't choose tasting menu given 3 out of the 6 dish on tasting menu were desserts – definitely not great for diabetics or watching the pounds which put me off this menu immediately. starters were great!! had the pig ears which were very good..black pudding was delicious! Steak tartar was very unique and delicious. starter portions are very small. Mains i wasn't too impressed with. the innovation doesn't continue and it is very much any decent restaurant standard for both fish and i had the lamb main which was fine. wine list was great…anything you choose is likely to be good value so this is done well. Overall i would definitely go again but wish i could stick to starters if i didn't need to order minimum 4-5 to be fully satisfied!! total for 2 people with half bottle was £150

...

See more

Jamal R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 7

Medlar

438 King's Road, London SW10 0LJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Good food for a great price

by Jamal R.   bronze reviewer (6)

Sep 2013

Had the set lunch at Medlar in September 2013 and thought it was great. Starter was delicious, definitely order the crab ravioli again. Main dish the waitress recommended the underblade with snails being beef sliced with snails. Snails were delicious and tasted great with the meat however the meat itself wasn't the best quality you could buy, a tad tough but cooked perfectly. My girfriend had the type of game and it tasted no different than chicken and was a tad dry. Starters rated better than mains in my book. Coffee burnt, definitely not good. My girlfriend got the peach sorbet which was very good for dessert. Recommended wine was very good. Overall would return to this restaurant, one of the better restaurants in this area.

...

See more

Jamal R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Bright Courtyard

43-45 Baker Street, London W1U 8EW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Decent but expensive

by Jamal R.   bronze reviewer (6)

Apr 2013

Best dishes: starters: crispy chilli smoked chicken, soft shell crab, prawn dumplings, prawn toast Mains: lamb very very good, vegetables not great compared to other chinese places and quite expensive, duck very fatty skin but decent wrt taste, iron bowl marinated chicken pretty good, beef pretty good although not as good as lamb. Overall good food but around £50/person with wine. yauatcha just as good if not better and the same price bracket with a better vibe/atmosphere.

...

See more

Jamal R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 4

Umu

14-16 Bruton Place, London W1J 6LX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

by Jamal R.   bronze reviewer (6)

Feb 2013

Umu was a very pleasant atmosphere with dim lighting and reflective surfaces and mirrors everywhere. Service was excellent on a saturday evening. I found the food to be good overall. If i were to return, I would order the following: tuna tartare salad at £20, smallest steak £40 and a piece or two of the toro sushi. On this first trip to Umu, we ordered a variety of dishes including grilled eel (honestly not great 5/10 in taste), sashimi platter which was good compared to other restaurants – tuna, salmon and mackeral were the best of the lot) and a couple of other dishes including excellent wagyu steak and grilled lobster in a sauce – £40 for most main dishes. Wagyu steak and toro sushi were worth the trip to this restaurant!! Two people dinner + 1 bottle of wine £45 came to £300 including 1 starter, 1 vegetable, smaller sashimi platter, 3 mains, 2 pieces of toro sushi and 1 dessert. All dishes are pretty small in size.

...

See more

Jamal R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Donostia

10 Seymour Place, London W1H 7ND

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

by Jamal R.   bronze reviewer (6)

Jul 2012

0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Generally an informal compact dining spot with a very contemporary feel. Basque style tapas were decent but not amazing as you find in San Sebastian Spain. Cod cheeks were overrated – 6/10. Pork Shoulder excellent and made perfectly 9/10 and pigeon executed well 8/10 as was the prawn with mango. Didin't try tortilla or tongue. The rest of our tapas selection were the normal everywhere tapas at most tapas restaurants including chirizo (much better elsewhere), coquettes (very good and full of fat), char grilled peppers, anchovies but slightly more expensive than other places. Bill came to £80 for two including 3 glasses of wine. White wine selection in glasses not great, red slightly better. My overall rating would be 7/10.

...

See more

Jamal R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 6

Back to Top