The Hand and Flowers

British, Gastropub·
££££
·
Gold Award
·

SquareMeal Review of The Hand and Flowers

Gold Award

Tom Kerridge is currently doing for Marlow what Rick Stein did for Padstow and Heston Blumenthal for Bray: his name is everywhere, and his fingers are in an increasing number of local pies – including The Coach and Butcher’s Tap pubs up the road in the centre of town as well as The Shed, a private dining room where you have a chef and kitchen all to yourself.

And while he may have opened the swanky Kerridge’s Bar & Grill at the Corinthia Hotel London, The Hand remains the original and best expression of what Kerridge set out to do as a chef: open a proper pub that just happened to serve some really top-notch food.

“What’s not to love” exclaims one reader, and we’re not surprised when others wax lyrical about The Hand and Flowers: “fantastic and not too fussy”; “incredible food, so unique yet beautifully simple” – the plaudits just keep coming, with two Michelin stars shining at the top of the pile.

The pay-off for anyone lucky enough to bag a table is a rolling menu of Kerridge’s greatest hits and tricksy fresh-faced ideas with a seasonal smile – think lamb and haggis toast with chorizo mayo, whipped cheese and mint jelly, slow-cooked duck breast with apricot purée, morels and a Moroccan-style savoury tart or the fish du jour served with char-roasted alliums, cheese mash, avruga caviar and sauce ‘bonne femme’.

Main course prices of around £40 have the potential to take the shine off the feel-good factor, but a three-course set lunch for £29.50 is worth anyone’s day-trip to Marlow, while Sunday lunch includes fish and chips for £21 – as well as what one reader describes as “hands down the best roast I've ever had”.

This is a world away from your average gastropub fodder, and there are delicious surprises right to the very end: one reader loved the “mini ale” served with his dessert (a boozy chocolate and ale cake with salted caramel and muscovado ice cream). The only downside is the fact that you have to book “ages in advance”, but that’s small beer when the restaurant can deliver such quality, warmth and pleasure.

Good to know

Average Price
££££ - Over £80
Cuisines
British, Gastropub
Ambience
Cosy, Fun, Lively, Traditional
Other Awards
SquareMeal UK Top 100, Two Michelin stars
Food Occasions
Dinner, Lunch, Sunday roast
People
Birthdays, Celebrations, Special occasions
Food Hygiene Rating

COVID-19 Update for The Hand and Flowers

Updated on 02 Jul 2020

Reopening on 4 July


FAQs

Does The Hand and Flowers have a Michelin star?

The Hand and Flowers has two Michelin stars.

Helpful? 0

Location for The Hand and Flowers

126 West Street, Marlow, Buckinghamshire, SL7 2BP

01628 482277

Website

Opening Times

Mon-Sat 12N-2.30pm 5-10.30pm Sun 12N-3pm

Reviews of The Hand and Flowers

Share your thoughts with other diners

Write a review


29 Reviews 
Food/Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value

Anon

Overwhelmingly Disappointing
28 August 2020  

Mindful of the Covid-19 pandemic and in an effort to keep perspective at such a difficult time for the restaurant industry, I've taken a few days to gather my thoughts on our experience at The Hand & Flowers, hoping to avoid an overly critical, knee-jerk review following my overwhelming disappointment.

Firstly, bedrooms offsite for £325.00 per night? With no facilities, no room service (except for drinks) and a view of perhaps the best industrial bin selection I've ever seen, in addition to a car park and a huge air conditioning generators. No breakfast in bed, no papers and a balcony which doubles as an ice rink/death trap in the rain. If I could post a photo of the bruising all over my feet and legs following my fall out there, I would. 

Secondly, and perhaps more importantly, the food was uninspired, grossly over-priced and underwhelming. My lamb bun main was dry and almost grey, with my boyfriends fish also falling short. It's also worth noting that simply dried white bait is not an 'Amuse Bouche'. The bread and the butter were unbelievably delicious and the highlight of the meal. £285 in at this point (and considerably disappointed by what we'd eaten so far) we elected not to have pudding.

In addition to the lack lustre food, there was no somelier, no atmosphere, uninspired decor and loos the size of a small wardrobe. 

The one star I have given, is for Declan, who was attentive and courteous throughout. 

I could reel of many examples of restaurants serving better food, with better ambience and better service. I could also recommend many more hotels selling rooms at similar prices with all the trappings one would expect in a five star hotel. 

I am loathe to be so scathing but I could not think of one person within my family or friendship group who would enjoy the food or consider the experience good value for money. I am absolutely bemused by the scores of five star reviews. 

 

 

Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value

Anon

Overwhelmingly Disappointing
28 August 2020  

Mindful of the Covid-19 pandemic and in an effort to keep perspective at such a difficult time for the restaurant industry, I've taken a few days to gather my thoughts on our experience at The Hand & Flowers, hoping to avoid an overly critical, knee-jerk review following my overwhelming disappointment.

Firstly, bedrooms offsite for £325.00 per night? With no facilities, no room service (except for drinks) and a view of perhaps the best industrial bin selection I've ever seen, in addition to a car park and a huge air conditioning generators. No breakfast in bed, no papers and a balcony which doubles as an ice rink/death trap in the rain. If I could post a photo of the bruising all over my feet and legs following my fall out there, I would. 

Secondly, and perhaps more importantly, the food was uninspired, grossly over-priced and underwhelming. My lamb bun main was dry and almost grey, with my boyfriends fish also falling short. It's also worth noting that simply dried white bait is not an 'Amuse Bouche'. The bread and the butter were unbelievably delicious and the highlight of the meal. £285 in at this point (and considerably disappointed by what we'd eaten so far) we elected not to have pudding.

In addition to the lack lustre food, there was no somelier, no atmosphere, uninspired decor and loos the size of a small wardrobe. 

The one star I have given, is for Declan, who was attentive and courteous throughout. 

I could reel of many examples of restaurants serving better food, with better ambience and better service. I could also recommend many more hotels selling rooms at similar prices with all the trappings one would expect in a five star hotel. 

I am loathe to be so scathing but I could not think of one person within my family or friendship group who would enjoy the food or consider the experience good value for money. I am absolutely bemused by the scores of five star reviews. 

 

 

Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value

Sazzal

Fabulous
09 July 2020  

Stayed for husbands 50th birthday. Was absolutely amazing! Room was fabulous and spotlessly clean!!! Food, ambiance and being made so welcome by the lovely staff made our stay second to none. Due to the circumstances of Covid the marquee was decorated beautifully and we were made so welcome!! Would definitely recommend! Thanks to Tom and the team x  ??

Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value

Sazzal

Fabulous
09 July 2020  

Stayed for husbands 50th birthday. Was absolutely amazing! Room was fabulous and spotlessly clean!!! Food, ambiance and being made so welcome by the lovely staff made our stay second to none. Due to the circumstances of Covid the marquee was decorated beautifully and we were made so welcome!! Would definitely recommend! Thanks to Tom and the team x  ??

Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value

J4sonb

Assaulted in the men’s bathroom
29 July 2019  

After waiting over a year for this meal we had an appalling experience. Our much awaited evening was ruined after I was physically and verbally assaulted in the men’s bathroom shortly after arrival by another customer. Sadly the staff handled the situation extremely badly which ruined the evening before it had even begun. When attempting to report this experience to the duty manager a few days later we were met with an extremely snobbish and rather rude response from the manager directly with no offer of apology or compensation after spending over £400.

I asked if this could be escalated to a higher level or even Tom himself but we were informed that Tom was far too busy to get in touch and address matters such as this. We still await a response from them some 6 months later, I wanted to offer a chance for them to redeem this issue prior to leaving feedback. 

Food & Drink
Service
Atmosphere
Value

Jacqueline H

01 July 2019  
We had high expectations for this restaurant, but prices too high for what we got and the roast potatoes were like bullets! I would not recommend this restaurant.

samantha C

02 April 2019  
Still as good as ever.

samantha C

28 March 2018  
Impeccable service and outstanding food in a wonderful setting.

Stuart M

29 May 2017  
Phenomenal food and service only let down by having to books weekend table a year in advance.

Siri H

10 May 2017  
Great food, great service, lovely room and atmosphere.
Book a table

Call The Hand and Flowers to make a booking on:

or visit their website

Other restaurants near The Hand and Flowers

Check availability
Back to restaurant
Complete your booking

Book The Hand and Flowers for people on at .


Select a special offer

These offers are optional, and there's no commitment.


Error adding booking details, please try later.

First Name is required field
Last Name is required field
Email Address is required field
Phone Number is required field
Diner First Name is required field
Diner Last Name is required field

By clicking 'complete booking' you agree to the SquareMeal User Agreement