The Italian Job

Learn the art of Italian cooking from Giancarlo Caldesi, chef and owner of Caffe Caldesi and Caldesi Restaurant. The passionate and knowledgeable exec chef and several of his colleagues run a series of cookery classes at the two restaurants in Marylebone, covering various areas of Italian cookery, wine tasting and Italian art. A number of children’s cookery classes are also held for children from four upwards. They can make pasta and bread, decorate party cakes and learn how to make and decorate biscottis.

Cookery classes will be held on the following dates (log onto the above website for more information on wine courses, Italian art courses and children’s cookery courses):

AN ITALIAN SUNDAY LUNCH WITH GIANCARLO CALDESI
Dates: Sat 11 July, Sun 26 Sept, Sun 28 Nov at Caldesi, from 10am–3.30pm. Price: £100 per person.
Giancarlo will teach you how to make a typical three-course Italian lunch. Lunch with wine is included and partners are welcome to join for £30 per person.

AN ITALIAN KITCHEN WITH URSULA FERRIGNO
Date: Sun 10 Oct at Caffè Caldesi, from 10am–3.30pm. Price: £100 per person.
After a trip to the local farmers’ market, you will make bread and pasta from scratch. Stefano Borella will then show you how to make Italian desserts. Lunch with wine is included and partners are welcome to join for £30 per person.

AN ITALIAN KITCHEN 2 WITH URSULA FERRIGNO
Dates: Sun 3 Oct & Sun 14 Nov at Caffè Caldesi, from 10am–3.30pm. Price: £100 per person.
A follow-up to the popular course above, but more advanced pasta, sauces, risotto and desserts. Lunch with wine is included.

ITALIAN PATISSERIE WITH STEFANO BORELLA
Dates: Sun 11 July, Sun 12 Sept and Sun 7 Nov at Caffè Caldesi, from 9am–12noon. Price: £45 per person.
Spend a Sunday morning in the patisserie kitchen, where Stefano will share the secrets of making a selection of Italian desserts and give a chocolate tasting. Take home the cake you make.

LEARN TO BE AN ITALIAN BAKER WITH URSULA FERRIGNO
Dates: Sat 18 Sept, Sun 21 Nov at Caldesi, from 10am–12noon. Price: £40 per person.
Spend the morning making bread from scratch and take home the bread you create.

SOUP AND BREAD WITH URSULA FERRIGNO
Dates: Sun 31 0ct, Sun 5 Dec at Caldesi, from 10am–12noon. Price: £40 per person.
Learn about seasonal soups and Italian bread.

ITALIAN MEAT AND FISH – THE BASICS WITH GIANCARLO CALDESI
Dates: Tues 20th July, Sun 19 Sept, Wed 24 Nov at Caldesi, from 3pm–4.30pm. Price: £30 per person.
Giancarlo will show you how to choose a fish and meat, how to cook it simply, show you when it is done and how to serve it.