Latest Restaurant Reviews

Editor's Picks

Mar 2017

These reviews have been selected by SquareMeal.co.uk's editor for being particularly helpful or entertaining. Scroll through to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

The Real Greek Marylebone

56 Paddington Street, London W1U 4HY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Fantastic quality and value

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (74)

Mar 2017

Editor's pick Whilst on a walk across Regents Park we had a hankering for Greek food (actually we had a hankering to be in Greece, sitting on the beachfront eating and drinking in the sunshine, but this was the next best thing in London in February!), so we headed to the Real Greek off of Marylebone High Street. There was one table occupied by a family when we arrived and by the time we left it was half full. Whilst I am not a “calorie-counter”, I do like that the menu lists the calorific content of each dish, I think all restaurants should have to do this. Our waitress was very friendly and efficient, there was a slight language barrier, we were not entirely sure that we were going to get what we ordered as we asked for some ingredients to be taken off the dish, but it all came right in the end. I ordered the chick peas with herbs in olive oil and lemon and tzatziki with slow roast pork belly which was delicious and my husband ordered the lamb meatballs with tomato sauce and paprika with a side of potatoes. We drank a very nice bottle of their house white wine (Ellinas). When the bill came I was sure there must be some mistake as it only came to £45, it’s been a long time since we have eaten lunch in a restaurant in London for less than £50 and we will definitely make this a regular lunchtime destination.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Temper

23 Broadwick Street, London W1F 0QA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

A Carnivore’s delight

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (74)

Feb 2017

Editor's pick Temper was recommended to us by a number of people who all said that A) finding the door is a challenge – it is, and B) not to sit at the uncomfortable stools at the bar – so we didn’t. We ordered the Aged cheeseburger (very tasty), smacked cucumber (which was described by the waitress as “cucumber just squashed/mashed”, but there was certainly more to it than that, beef fat potatoes with ogleshield – good, but could have done with some seasoning. You can then order a selection of grilled meats by the 100g, and we had the goat – delicious and the lamb (my favourite) and green sauce on the side. All in all a very enjoyable meal. Service was slick and our Portuguese waiter was keen to tell us all about the produce and assist with wine selection. Top tip – when they offer to take your coat to the cloakroom, let them, otherwise it will smell like “Guy Fawkes” on 5th November!

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Pidgin

52 Wilton Way, London E8 1BG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Homing Pidgin

by Mike S.   bronze reviewer (6)

Feb 2017

Editor's pick The ever changing weekly menu is the main attraction at Pidgin. The menu and the small, cosy atmosphere. The two main attractions to Pidgin are the menu, the small, cosy atmosphere and the excellent staff. Amongst the attractions to Pidgin are... I'll start again... I've been meaning to come here for almost a year now, but being an SW man it's a bit of a commute to Hackney. Luckily I work up at Old Street now so it's just a short hop across to this tiny venue no bigger than a living room. And that's the first thing you notice when you walk in. It's like a living room. People chatting, friends laughing, it has that relaxed feel that is often missing from places of this calibre. I don't like eating in libraries. The menu changes weekly, and we were lucky to get the famous chicken with beer sauce as the chief course. Dining with me was a Michelin Virgin, so this was a pretty perfect introduction, somewhere were the food is the focus, not what the dress code is, or how you're not meant to laugh too loudly. And what food it is, I expected great things and it was exactly what I'd hoped. Every course was something new and exciting both in terms of combinations of flavours and flavours themselves. Black pudding with muscles and sea vegetables. Kohl Rabi with rice paper, chili bean paste and black vinegar. And the stand out course for me, chicken, Beer, pickled, pommes dauphines, rye bread sauce, greens. Finished off with Apple, truffle and peanut butter, with just the sweetest hint of honey. And that's the beauty of this place. It's fantastic food in a relaxed vibey place where the staff are more than prepared to have a chat with you and share a joke. Will I be back? Of course, I just won't like the hour taxi ride home at the end, though after all that food a snooze is probably what you need...

...

See more

Mike S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Cafe Murano Covent Garden

36 Tavistock Street, London WC2E 7PB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Finely balanced ingredients, flavours and textures

by Iain O.   (1)

Feb 2017

Editor's pick This was our first visit to the restaurant, booked for 17.00 as we were going to an LSE talk at 18.30. There was enough of interest on the pre-theatre menu for us to choose that. We enjoyed all three courses and a good bottle of Sicilian white wine (Grillo Uriel). The dipping oil for the rosemary foccacia bread had an enjoyable peppery zing and depth of flavour, putting our taste buds on the alert. For the first course, the velvety bean soup was set off nicely by the crispness of the accompanying crostini. Contrasting textures were also seen in the sardine bruscetta with tiny sultanas red onion and a green leaf making for a novel and successful combination of flavours. One main course was my wife's hake on a bed of roast aubergine - again a combination that worked well for someone who likes her fish, as this was, tasty and moist. My chicken cacciatore had a rich sauce which the orzo pasta soaked up perfectly. We were both struck by how accurately the cavalla nero had been cooked, maximising the depth of flavour with no hint of the toughness it sometimes has when I cook it 'al dente'. Our waiter explained "semi freddo" in terms that appealed to us both but I decided for variety to have the cinnamon cake - delicate with a light texture. The restaurant had few others when we arrived, but by the time we left it was busy but not noisy. We exchanged comments with the table next to us. All of us hope to come back to explore the a la carte menu. A meal to match our mood on St Valentine's Day!

...

See more

Iain O.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Hawksmoor Seven Dials

11 Langley Street, London WC2H 9JG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Wonderful afternoon - definitely recommend!

by Charlotte H.   (4)

Feb 2017

Editor's pick We had a lovely time at Hawksmoor on Sunday. the staff were very welcoming, polite and professional. Our waiter in particular was fantastic, he was very knowledgeable and approachable. We both had the Sunday Roast with beef. Absolutely delicious! The beef was amazing, the potatoes were perfectly fluffy but crisp. Great amount of veg and gravy and the Yorkshire was lovely and not at all dry (as most can be). We also had a pudding – the peanut butter shortbread, on our waiters recommendation (as we couldn’t pick between a few) and we loved it! Simple yet very effective a perfect end to the meal. Overall a great experience and good value for money, we will definitely be recommending the chain and will be returning.

...

See more

Charlotte H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Restaurant Michael Nadra Chiswick

6-8 Elliott Road, London W4 1PE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

A wonderful dining experience

by Christina B.   (2)

Feb 2017

Editor's pick We dined at Michael Nadra's Chiswick restaurant for my husband's 50th birthday with his parents and our children. The front of house staff were friendly, attentive and gave a polished service which complimented the beautiful food we ate. The carpaccio of tuna with soft shell crab starter was light and delicate while the beef carpaccio with truffle oil had a more punchy flavour. The main courses were all cooked to perfection - the steamed sea bass was elegantly scented with asian spices and the Wagu beef was rich and unctuous. The rump of lamb with the merguez sausage was full of flavour. We rounded off the meal with the delightfully wicked chocolate fondant with salted caramel ice-cream and the treacle tart. The staff dressed my husband's pudding with a candle and the words Happy Birthday written in chocolate which was a thoughtful touch. We highly recommend this restaurant

...

See more

Christina B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Artichoke

9 Market Square, Old Amersham HP7 0DF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

A fantastic evening at The Artichoke

by Lloyd S.   bronze reviewer (12)

Feb 2017

Editor's pick This was the first time we've been here for an evening and what an excellent dining experience it was . A very warm and friendly greeting on arrival then escorted to our table to let the festivities begin. We decided to go for the Tasting Menu with matching Wines and I have to say it was heaven starting with a fantastic Trout dish then an amazing Crab Thermidor followed by a delightful Artichoke dish and stunning Cod course then on to the main courses and my highlight a glorious Venison with orange curd and the braised Beef which was very rich . The matching wines were a delight coming from Italy,Hungary,Austria,South Africa and France. Now to dessert a fabulous Poached Pear Galette and a Cambridge Cream & Rhubbarb . All in all it was truly a fantastic evening which was made even better due to the great warm and excellent service from every member of staff . So if it's a fantastic evening with amazing food and wine in a great little town then take a trip to Amersham and visit this restaurant. I'm already looking forward to returning in June #food #hospitality #restaurant

...

See more

Lloyd S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Jamavar

8 Mount Street, London W1K 3NF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Excellent Lunch Menu

by Joe K.   (1)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick I have only he had the lunch menu to date, but if it is a faithful showcase of capability I will be back very soon. The staff were on point - helpful without hovering. The dishes were richly flavoured, but still retained a balanced fragrance of the spices rather than a raw blast. The achari pork starter was particularly good, along with the butter chicken. The palak paneer was also delicious, although I would have liked a little more paneer.

...

See more

Joe K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Chiltern Firehouse

1 Chiltern Street, London W1U 7PA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Brilliant! Handle with care.

by Continental Diner   platinum reviewer (122)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick Visiting most recently in early January 2017, and it was once again superb. The thing is that one has to "buy into" the concept. For a later seating you will probably have to plan for a drink in the bar before. It is quite festive (read: party-like) it can get quite loud and the concept appears to foresee a balance between Nuno Mendes' fantastic food a truly good wine list and restaurant that conveys a youthful sense of occasion. I could understand if someone doesn't like it, I can also see lots of diners "having an unlucky experience". Do not come here for the first time for an important date or meeting. You have to see how this place is and works. Also it is not at all corporate, I would not come here for a standard business lunch - it is a complex and special place. The food, if you like modern fine dining is out of this world. Light and extreme attention to detail, but it sometimes seems secondary to the overall experience, which in its own right is a pity. But there are bar seats opposite the open kitchen (think L'Atelier de Joël Robuchon) which might be for the out-and-out foodie. Then there is the bill. Two things, you can always deduct a return ticket to LA from the total and if it still seems steep, at least the fire brigade will be on hand at least in spirit to put out that smouldering credit card...

...

See more

Continental Diner's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Noble Rot

51 Lamb's Conduit Street, London WC1N 3NB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Excellent wine bar

by Lynn W.   platinum reviewer (78)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick I'm still a fan of wine bars even though I can remember when they were fashionable last time. This one does not disappoint, with an excellent choice of wines and great food. We chose the wine first, a delicious Chablis 1er Cru, then decided what to eat. Bread and butter is terrific, rich spongy focaccia, crusty sourdough and dense grainy soda bread all so good we wanted to eat them all. Starters of creamy burrata with tangy nutty romesco sauce, and duck liver parfait with crunchy toasted sourdough were very good. The Cornish turbot braised in oxidised Chassagne-Montrachet sounded odd, we're not normally fans of oxidised wine but we took the risk and this was terrific, delicate fish with potatoes and leeks, with the creamy white wine sauce. This was all so good we had to try the desserts, the sticky toffee pudding & cream cheese ice cream was suitably sticky but not too heavy, and Noble Rot bakewell-type tart & roast pear was also very good. Sigh. Lots of people around were having a good time, and we're already thinking about when we can go back.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Pied a Terre

34 Charlotte Street, London W1T 2NH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Exceptional food & service

by Steve B.   (2)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick I had an exceptional meal here today. Every dish ordered by both me and my guest were beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. The service was perfect, not overbearing, but extremely helpful when needed. There is a choice of kind of set menus, with alternatives amongst those, but I had no trouble picking things to try, and was not disappointed. Everything was really tasty, and presented so well, it almost seemed a shame to eat it. Not a cheap meal, but for three courses with wine, and service it wasn't completely outrageous either. Strongly recommended!

...

See more

Steve B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Frog E1

2 Ely's Yard, Old Truman Brewery, Hanbury Street, London E1 6QR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Excellent tasting menu

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (74)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick Having watched Adam Handling on the Great British Menu we were keen to try his restaurant, so I booked us in for my husbands’ birthday lunch – and overall it was a very enjoyable lunch. The staff were all very friendly and informative, you can see into the open kitchen and AH was at the pass checking everything going out and adding final touches. Each course is served and described by one of the chefs, which is a nice personal touch. We opted for the tasting menu @ £45 a head and my husband also had the drink pairing @ £40 – I had a couple of glasses of wine instead. The first four “snacks” came out very close together and felt a little rushed but we were assured that service would slow down after this and it did. I don’t remember all the dishes but the following stood out Chorizo, cheese, onion, Crab, seaweed, apple and the amazing Bread and chicken butter. We had a Celeriac, truffle, yolk, apple, dates course which in my opinion was a little too large and the celeriac was quite rubbery, but that’s just personal taste, but not a favourite dish. We opted for the additional course of Cheese doughnuts (which I regretted slightly, we should have just ordered one portion, as they were quite large and very rich and I really didn’t need any more food!). I loved the Beetroot, beetroot and more beetroot, and it looked beautiful. A nice touch at the end of the meal is that you can choose to “Buy the chefs a beer - £5”, so we added two to our meal. Obviously you can eat here cheaper than we did, but at nearly £200 for lunch it is not for the faint-hearted. There were two negatives about this experience - firstly, the seating, old wooden school chairs, was pretty uncomfortable, If you are eating the tasting menu, you are going to be sat down for at least 2 hours (I should also add that I was recovering from a back injury, and the staff were able to find me a chair with a more solid back to it so I could sit more comfortably) - and secondly my seat had a perfect view straight into the toilet, which is not really the view you want whilst eating!

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Picture Marylebone

19 New Cavendish Street, London W1G 9TZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Picture Marylebone

by Lynn W.   platinum reviewer (78)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick In January restaurants can be a bit empty, and when you arrive and experience the minimalist decor at Picture Marylebone it can all feel a bit bleak. It was nice and warm inside though and the welcome was warm as well. The menu provides a selection of small plates at good prices. We had four of the beef bites at £1 each; savoury and crispy, a good start with the bread and butter while choosing the wine. We both had the glazed squash, goat's curd, pumpkin seed pesto, golden sultanas - a pretty presentation and flavours and textures worked well together. After that, the small pieces of venison haunch, toasted barley, and swede were excellent, though decidedly small, but with a side of fries we felt we had had sufficient. Just one iced mascarpone parfait between us with some tiny cubes of Williams pear and crunchy gingerbread morsels meant we had enjoyed beautifully prepared dishes and lots of good flavours without being overwhelmed, and post-Christmas this is welcome. If you wanted a more substantial meal there is the option of a 6-course tasting menu or you could go for another course from the daily plates.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Zuma

5 Raphael Street, London SW7 1DL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

In a league of its own

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (194)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick For as long as I have been regularly dining in London Zuma has always had a fond place in my heart. The simple reason is that I have never had a bad experience here and despite many copy-cat imitations and an expanding empire of its own (there are now ten other restaurants parading under the Zuma brand outside London), it remains simply the best place in town for contemporary Japanese food. A recent visit there reminded me of all the things that make Zuma what it is: stunning décor (which has remained broadly unchanged), a great atmosphere and, of course, first-class food and drink. The menu offers a broad spectrum of options from salads, sushi and sashimi through to grilled options and then the restaurant’s signature dishes. Best is to come as part of a group, share everything and try as much as possible. Stand-out items from our meal included the ‘dynamite spider roll’ (which comprises soft shell crab, chilli mayonnaise, cucumber and wasabi sauce) as well as the grilled seabass. From the signature dishes, the roasted lobster with green chilli and garlic hojiso butter is a must, and a dish one would willing return to time and again. It is also well worth sampling the sake here, especially with a range of over 40 available. Feel willing to ask the servers for advice, although again, it is best to sample several if possible (as we did). Service on previous occasions has been somewhat erratic, although most recently, we were not let down. All that Zuma offers does, of course, come at a price. But, it is money well-spent and definitely worth a visit.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Burdock at Royal London House Hotel

22-25 Finsbury Square, London EC2A 1DX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

The City won't know what hit it - WOW!!

by Andrea G.   (1)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick After visiting The Botanist Sloane Square a while back I really wanted to visit a couple of other places under the ETM Group - so off to Burdock I whizzed. They don't take reservations for smaller groups so Friday night last week I skipped out of work and made my way down to Burdock. First impressions - WOW! The restaurant is split across both sides of The Montcalm with dining tables on one side and a stunning bar on the other. It wouldn't be fair to write a review without the whole experience so drinks first it was. The Bar - The bar features huge copper tanks that house their delicious beers, however today was not the day for beer - it was all about the cocktails. The cocktail list is short and sweet with some great additions. My partner had the Cucumber Crusta, however the Bramble and Soda really took things to a new level! A bold and delicious infusion of blackberry, with the perfect ratio of gin to vermouth - DELICIOUS! The restaurant - After a cocktail (or three), we strolled (although some may say staggered somewhat) on through to the bar and took a seat in the window. The restaurant was filled with the gentle hum of guests enjoying their dinners. We were served by a lovely young man (wish we'd taken his name - always guilty of overlooking this part - must do better!) and he guided us through the menu and wine list and made us feel comfortable. Burdock seems to be all about small plates and sharing, so who were we to argue. I am surprised the table didn't buckle under the weight of all the delicious dishes that arrived at our table, each seeming to grow better and better with each mouthful. If I HAD to pick a favourite (which I always struggle to do when I enjoy good food), I'd probably say my top three are: Monkfish Kiev - Moist and tender, perfectly cooked fish Venison Meatballs - BURSTING with flavour! I do love game and these really will take some beating... Pork Belly & Lobster - Has a finer pairing ever existed?? For the life of me I cannot remember the name of the wine, yet the memory of its subtle fruity dry notes still seems to linger on my lips. Apres dinner we both slunk back to the bar and an hour later we found ourselves at the bottom of three espresso martinis - time really does fly when you're having fun. A quick hop, skip and an Uber made an evening that is well worth revisiting. After dining at both The Botanist Sloane Square and Burdock, I think it would be incredibly rude to not venture further into the other restaurants/bars that are part of the group. I hear Aviary has some stunning views.... (Just 3 stars from TimeOut... think it's time they gave it another go...)

...

See more

Andrea G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No