Latest Restaurant Reviews

Editor's Picks

May 2017

These reviews have been selected by SquareMeal.co.uk's editor for being particularly helpful or entertaining. Scroll through to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Malibu Kitchen at The Ned

The Ned, 27 Poultry, London EC2R 8AJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

A welcome slice of California in London!

by Sophie W.   (2)

May 2017

Editor's pick Having visited various other restaurants at The Ned I was super excited for lunch at Malibu Kitchen! I am someone who suffers from various food intolerances/allergies and both the menu and staff were very helpful and accommodating - in fact I could eat most things which is very unusual! Didn't love the decor but the food was amazing, especially for the price so I was very impressed. Not many restaurants in the City that offer a menu like this so it was very welcome. I can't wait to go back!

...

See more

Sophie W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Roti Chai Street Kitchen

Lower Ground Floor, 3 Portman Mews South, London W1H 6AY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

A very popular place

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (82)

May 2017

Editor's pick I have walked passed this restaurant hundreds of times and for some reason never ventured inside, so when we found ourselves with no plans for lunch, we decided to give it a try. When we arrived at 12.25 on Sunday there was already a queue of around 8 people waiting at the door, which is always a good sign and within 30 minutes the place was packed full with people waiting at the front desk. We ate in the ground floor restaurant which is the street food menu (downstairs I believe has a different menu, but there was no one down there), upstairs is clearly the place to be for weekend lunch. There were around 4 waiting staff and approx. 50 covers, we were initially served by a lady who clearly did not want to be working there, I have rarely seen such a surly expression, but then thankfully after that we were served by a delightful lady who smiled and chatted and appeared to like her job, which is always a bonus. We shared the vegetable samosas which were accompanied with some delicious spicy chickpeas, pani puri (served with a jug of cumin water, which added a different dimension – mainly that as soon as bit into the puri, I squirted the sauce everywhere), one pulled chicken bun (OK, nothing special, very mild), the railway lamb and potato curry (nice heat, lamb falling apart nicely), chapatti and rice, which was plenty for us, although clearly we are complete lightweights compared to our fellow diners whose tables were groaning with colourful plates of food. We had two drinks each and the bill came to around £60 inc. service. Whilst this was a very enjoyable meal, and I would eat there again, given the choice I would head to Hoppers or Dishoom, where the food and service is just that little bit more special, for the same price.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Frenchie

16 Henrietta Street, London WC2E 8QH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Birthday Treat

by Aw H.   (1)

May 2017

Editor's pick Had the set lunch for a Birthday celebration, excellent value, must be one of the best value 3 course lunches in London. The Bacon and Maple Syrup Scones were the highlight of the meal. Service was attentive, but not overbearing, Puddings were magnificent especially the chocolate mousse with bacon ice cream. Wine list interesting, but pricey.

...

See more

Aw H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Hawksmoor Air Street

5a Air Street, London W1J 0AD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Just wonderful

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (82)

May 2017

Editor's pick We treated our nephew to his first “posh steak restaurant” and we were very well looked after. We ordered the yorkshire puddings with potted beef and bacon and the most delicious silky onion gravy - and wouldn't let them take it away and finished it off with our main courses. One Fillet, one sirloin, old spot belly ribs, caesar salad, triple cooked chips and beef dripping fries and we were fit to bursting point, but we managed to sneak in a salted caramel rolo each - which was pretty intense! I asked our server if he could explain the different cuts etc., and he was happy to do so. I think we had a trainee server for part of our meal and she was great too. It was the first time we had been to the Air Street branch, we usually go to Spitalfields or Seven Dials, what a fantastic room, I love those windows over Regent Street. A couple of bottles of wine and £200 easily spent, worth every penny.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Senor Ceviche

Kingly Court, London W1B 5PW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Great food, pity about the name

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (203)

May 2017

Editor's pick Peruvian food remains distinctly on-trend in London – and so it should do, since the country offers a wide range of flavoursome dishes spanning meat, fish and veg. There isn’t a lot of gluten in the Peruvian diet and so this should also tick a box for many. Much as I love all things Peruvian (and I can highly recommend the country as a holiday destination), I was instinctively put off Señor Ceviche because of its name. Why – it seems only fair to ask – would anyone choose to call a restaurant the equivalent of ‘Mr Raw-Fish?’ Maybe that’s the point though – it is memorable to the point of absurdity. Also, I’m in my early 40’s and maybe the younger trend-setters of Soho love the name. The restaurant itself emphasises informality, being full of bright colours, graffiti-covered walls and uplifting music. It was certainly busy when a comrade and I visited on a recent Friday lunchtime, clearly suggestive that Señor Ceviche is doing something right. Setting aside any name-based prejudice, my simple assessment is that the food delivers. The menu is also simple (16 dishes, all intended for sharing) and well-priced (no dish at more than £12.50) and what was lost in terms of slowness of service was mostly compensated for in terms of the staff’s enthusiasm. Onto the food, and we sampled six dishes, all of them superb. Both are ceviche options were first-class. We opted for the restaurant’s classic take on the dish (namely sea bass with sweet potato puree, red onion and coriander) as well as their special of the day (a prawn variation). The fish in each dish was moist and succulent, its flavour enhanced by the well-paired other ingredients. Despite its name, Señor Ceviche also demonstrated that it can execute well on its meat dishes, and we rated both the decadent sticky pork ribs as well as the flat iron steak. Testament to its success, a second Señor Ceviche is opening in Fitzrovia. On with the Peruvian revolution.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Miyama City

17 Godliman Street, London EC4V 5BD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Time-trap

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (203)

May 2017

Editor's pick I lasted visited Miyama around a decade ago. It was very good then and it was pretty much as I remembered when recently making a return visit. Almost nothing had changed. This is not an exaggeration or under-statement. Part of the charm of Miyama is that it remains steadfast, stuck in time and relentlessly unchanging. Fashionable it is not, but if you are after top-class Japanese food, then this is one of the best places to come. Miyama is located on an unremarkable side-street sandwiched between St Paul’s and the north side of the Millennium Bridge. Although there is apparently a sushi bar upstairs, on the occasion of my most recent visit (and in every previous instance), I was shown downstairs to the main dining room. This may perhaps be a somewhat generous term: picture a room with no natural light, a grey-green carpet most likely from the 1980s and just a few mirrors and prints on the wall. This is about as far away from Nobu or Zuma as one can imagine. Our waiter proceeded to bring us our menu, encased in faux-leather folders. By now, you get the picture. The food, however… and wow is probably the best epithet to use. Being lunchtime we selected the house bento box (priced reasonably, at £30). It was presented beautifully and comprised five segments, ranging from amazingly fresh sashimi through to palate-cleansing fruit at the end. Along the way, the grilled eel on rice was the standout option. It certainly tasted as good as anything enjoyed in Japan. For those keen to order a la carte, there is also a wide menu from which to choose. Based on the quality of our lunchtime fare, it is unlikely to disappoint.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Quartieri

300 Kilburn High Road, London NW6 2DB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Great pizza, nice place

by Sven E.   (1)

May 2017

Editor's pick For: Great pizzas. Ate mine. Ate friend's. Ate other friend's leftover crust Short but delicious list of starters and desserts Interesting wines and beers. Gragnano. Who knew? Attractive room and good staff, even when provok'd by idiocy Fantastic loos. Really. Reasonable prices. Against: Need a proper coffee machine

...

See more

Sven E.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Mere

74 Charlotte Street, London W1T 4QH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

My perfect birthday outing.

by Coral C.   (1)

May 2017

Editor's pick Mere had a wonderful atmosphere and warm welcoming staff as soon as we arrived. We had a drink in the relaxing bar area before being taken downstairs to our table. The lighting and decor were very attractive and we kept noticing different touches as we sat enjoying our meal. (Glasses engraved Mere, wood and wine bottles in decor etc). I had apricot juice in the bar which was delicious and a glass of rose champagne with my meal this was poured into the most elegant glass I have ever seen. Our meal was perfection - we had the luncheon menu, mine being adjusted for no cheese or chocolate which the helpful staff organised with no fuss. Each course was beautifully presented and tasted out of this world. Flavours blended and textures and shapes simply amazing. Finally I was given a little card on an easel saying happy birthday from Monica, David and the team at Mere and four little chocolates displayed in a coconut shell. The perfect end to a wonderful birthday outing. Thank you Monica, David and the team at Mere.

...

See more

Coral C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Cafe Murano Covent Garden

36 Tavistock Street, London WC2E 7PB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Dinner with Friends

by Dean H.   (1)

May 2017

Editor's pick Booked the restaurant based on the reputation of Angela Hartnett. We also wanted somewhere relaxed and friendly and not overly formal. We were not disappointed. We were warmly welcomed, offered drinks and water and given menus and the days specials. The Italian themed menu had plenty of choice to suit all tastes. It was accompanied by a good wine list which included good value regional Italian wines. All the food was well cooked and presented and with great flavours. The highlights were the asparagus with ricotta and the salt cod starters and the crab linguini special and the fresh tuna mains. The only negative was the affogato dessert. My wife is a devotee of this and said that she has had a lot better in other places so was somewhat disappointed as everything else had been spot on.

...

See more

Dean H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Grain Store

1-3 Stable Street, Granary Square, London N1C 4AB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Best vegetarian-friendly and vegan-friendly restaurant for when you are eating with multi-vores

by SEW   bronze reviewer (8)

Apr 2017

Editor's pick I have recently had to go on a quite restrictive diet for health reasons, in addition my best friend recently became a vegan. As a food-lover I have been searching for restaurants that will accommodate all types of dietary restrictions. In this respect, Grain Store comes up trumps. The food is superb, with interesting and unusual flavours and dishes that can be adapted for vegetarians and vegans, as well as gluten free options. Great wine list; good cocktails, including non-alcoholic ones; really interesting juices. Excellent service and a fun atmosphere. Highly recommended.

...

See more

SEW's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Marcus at the Berkeley

The Berkeley, Wilton Place, London SW1X 7RL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Outstanding

by Rebecca L.   gold reviewer (47)

Apr 2017

Editor's pick I’ve been dying to go to Marcus for ages but my boyfriend is (and I quote) ‘over posh restaurants.’ The sentence didn’t compute with my either. Luckily, I managed to get him to agree to come with me when he was drunk on a work night out – so he woke up with a hangover and a dinner reservation. I’ve heard a few people scoffing over comments that since the refurb the restaurant is more relaxed and less stuffy. I’m not sure I agree. Of course, this was my first visit so I can’t compare exactly but I certainly found it more relaxed and easy going than other 2 or 3 Michelin star restaurants I’ve been too. Our waiter (we couldn’t work out if he was the maître d or not) was superb – incredibly smooth and charismatic, his attention was perfect: not too much and not too little. Most of the two seater tables have a sort of booth element to it so it feels cosy and if, like me, you like to people watch, one of you isn’t facing a wall. So I can’t fault the dining room, ambience or service. Most importantly the food was faultless too – my lamb main was cooked to perfection and an interesting sounding dessert of just ‘iced tea, bergamot and meringue’ was sublime. But for me the star was the starter which was essentially just cheese and onion but was the most incredible celebration of those two flavours. My one criticism is the wine is pretty pricey. But I can let that slide considering the rest. The best bit? Aforementioned boyfriend wants to come back soon. So much for being over posh restaurants.

...

See more

Rebecca L.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Jamavar

8 Mount Street, London W1K 3NF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

My idea of heaven

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (82)

Apr 2017

Editor's pick We started our lunch at Jamavar with a glass of champagne for me and a V&T for the hubby while we read the menu at our table (there is no bar), as we had a rare, midweek day off work, so we decided that a long lunch was the order of the day and I and I have been singing its’ praises ever since (the food that is, not the day off work). Their lunch menu is terrific value for money, particularly given the Mayfair address, 2 courses for £20, 3 courses for £25 and 4 courses for £30. We ended up having 2 courses each which was the perfect amount of food for us, but I wish I could have squeezed in more. We shared the Vegetable Samosa with yoghurt (2 pieces), Lamb Sheekh Kebab (one piece but substantial) and then the Old Delhi Butter Chicken and a dry beef curry wrapped in a dosa. Included with the main courses are rice, bread, potato aloo and dhal. All the dishes were perfectly spicy, just enough heat so that your lips tingle for 20 minutes after you finish. We drank a young and dry but very quaffable bottle of Sauvignon Blanc from Bangalore. The restaurant is decorated in old colonial style, light and airy and tables nicely spaced, the waiting staff informative and friendly without being intrusive and the total bill came in at just under £100. I can’t wait to go back and taste the sample of the menu.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Celeste at The Lanesborough

The Lanesborough, Hyde Park Corner, London SW1X 7TA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

An altogether pleasant affair

by Mike S.   bronze reviewer (7)

Apr 2017

Editor's pick I love easy reviews, they usually come after you don't have to do much thinking about it. You can distinctly say "The food was good" "the decor was nice" "The waitress threw rhubarb sauce on me..." (that actually happened). And this is such a review. Dining here for lunch we were the first ones into the restaurant, a strange experience it has to be said, and were greeted by friendly staff. Eating off a set menu as we were is quite a fun experience, you get the opposite of what your dining partner has, thus sampling each course to get the full range on offer. The problem arises when there's three choices for each course, and one of which you've never had before in your life... Baked celeriac... A genuine panic ensued, cod, lamb or celeriac...?! In the end we went lamb and celeriac. Phew! Oh, and wine pairings! Our starters consisted of mackerel for me and a Burford Brown scotch egg. I love mackerel, I really do, and this was excellent. Charred skin, with kohlrabi and wasabi vinaigrette. I hate wasabi, I really do, whether it be in vinaigrette form or not, but this was really quite delicious and complemented the mackerel. Main was lamb for me, and, to be honest I kind of wish I'd gone celeriac, that was the dish of the day for me and I'm so glad my friend went for it! It's easy to write about lamb, so I won't bother, instead I'll say the celeriac was the most interesting dish I think I've ever had in my long career of "eating food". Combined with something billed as Comté extra vieux millésimé (translates as extra old Comté) I've never had such flavours before. Celeriac and cheese?! Yes, thank you! Dessert for my friend was Hazelnut praline, described by her as "Bliss" and "ticks all boxes" I'll take her word for it... and, ironically, Rhubarb fool for me, I just wasn't aware that the fool bit would involve the sauce being thrown on me rather than poured on the dish... She actually did a wonderful job of missing all my clothes, so hats off to her! And she was incredibly apologetic. No matter, it didn't spoil the enjoyment of the afternoon one bit.

...

See more

Mike S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

St Lukes Kitchen at LIBRARY

112 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4BD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

A great find! Delicious food and exceptional service

by Toya B.   (1)

Apr 2017

Editor's pick As an avid reader an all round book lover, I was intrigued by The library and keen to dine there. The decor was warm and homely and immediately sets you at ease. Books are placed on your table which is a nice nod to the theme of the restaurant. I had a wonderful 5 course meal at St Luke's kitchen and was lucky enough to have the chef personally come out and explain my menu choices - even recommend wine to best pair each course with. Food was delicious and overall a great experience. Can't wait to go back.

...

See more

Toya B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

St Lukes Kitchen at LIBRARY

112 St Martin's Lane, London WC2N 4BD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Lovely St Lukes

by elsie c.   (1)

Apr 2017

Editor's pick Had a lovely time at St Luke's Kitchen, was lucky enough to enjoy a taster of the 7 course menu which was awesomeee! Especially enjoyed the whole atmosphere and the chef was super humble. Succulent medium rare starter paired well with celeriac and great wine

...

See more

elsie c.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No