Latest Restaurant Reviews

Editor's Picks

Jan 2018

These reviews have been selected by SquareMeal.co.uk's editor for being particularly helpful or entertaining. Scroll through to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Canto Corvino

21 Artillery Lane, London E1 7HA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

A BEAUTIFUL ITALIAN RESTAURANT IN THE CITY

by paula g.   (3)

Dec 2017

Editor's pick I went to Canto Corvino for brunch with my husband. Just recalling the food we ate makes my mouth water. We had a selection of dishes but started with the lamb ribs, with smoked aubergine, rosemary, sesame and some freshly baked focaccia. I was not sure how this would all come together as I am not a huge fan of aubergine but it was a real show stopper, the lamb was really tender and the powerful and moreish flavours in the sauce almost made me order another straight away. This was followed by an impeccable linguine truffle carbonara with guanciale and pecorino cheese, a comforting dish with delicious and salty squares of guanciale; a more delicate and flavoursome version of pancetta. Then there was the pumpkin and spinach rotolo with hazelnuts and crispy sage, offering an incredible texture and crunch with each mouthful, a charming and very special dish. The dinner menu is tempting too, look away now if you're on a strict budget.... featuring a whole host of tantalizing treats including lobster arancini, seabass cerviche, fassona beef carpaccio and salt cod ravioli. I have already gone ahead and booked this restaurant for colleagues next month and I know exactly what I am ordering, I really cannot wait to go back. There is also an atmospheric candlelit wine cellar which serves as a private dining room seating upto twenty four people if you're planning for a larger dinner. Also excellent was the selection of wine on offer, the Italian prosecco and the very welcoming and friendly staff.

...

See more

paula g.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Wigmore at The Langham

13 Langham Place, Upper Regent Street, London W1B 1JA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

AN UNEXPECTED GEM IN THE WEST END AT THE WIGMORE

by paula g.   (3)

Dec 2017

Editor's pick The Wigmore is everything you could hope for and more in an English pub. The perfect setting to unwind after a stint of shopping in the nearby West end. The food was of high quality and luxurious, not the kind of pub food I've ever experienced before, my favourites were the crab on crumpets and the venison pie - UNBELIEVABLY GOOD. Considering the standard I thought it was all very reasonably priced. The atmosphere was lovely, and it is worth going just to admire the wonderful decoration of a very spectacular venue! The wine and champagne lists were also excellent. As you may be able to tell, I really had a great time at The Wigmore, so much so that I am taking my in-laws there on Saturday!

...

See more

paula g.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Joe Allen

2 Burleigh Street, London WC2E 7PX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Hello Old Friend

by Trevor C.   (1)

Nov 2017

Editor's pick It was like Joe had never been away. The big move, from Exeter to Burleigh Street, is in fact a mini trek of around 75 yards but all has been done so skillfully and it's just like old Joe's but better. No more the descent from the street to the initial darkness it's now a just a step up to the smart new entrance and you're in. It's all, still, so totally theatrical and inviting - packed on Friday lunchtime with ladies who lunch prior to an early matinee - with a front of house dining area that gives way, through a small arch, to the main theatre comprising spacious downstairs stalls overlooked by the circle. Charming and faultless service from non-Brexit-fearing staff happy to be here, happy to be working and intending to stay who provided a top commentary on all of the regular dishes. Our table for three went historically and immediately off menu choosing three Joe Allen, classic bacon/cheese burgers with all the trimmings accompanied by a bottle of El Caminito Malbec - delicious. Dessert of the day was Classic Pecan Pie & ice cream with espresso chaser and mint teas. The welcome, the food, the drink & the service charming and faultless. The end story £113. (inc service of 12.5%) plus a small, additional cash in hand that brought a warm Lithuanian smile & a big thank you. We shall return.

...

See more

Trevor C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Fat Duck

1 High Street, Bray, Maidenhead SL6 2AQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

The ultimate experience

by ALAIN A.   (1)

Nov 2017

Editor's pick Words can't describe how incredibly entertaining a trip to The Fat Duck is. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like royalty. The atmosphere was so comfortable and not at all pretentious. Every course was not met with gasps, laughs and excitement. Without a doubt, this was my favourite dining experience. It is the little touches, especially the personalised features, that really set this well above and beyond any other restaurant around. Every member of staff was a delight and so friendly and helpful. I'm certain that Heston is very proud of the tight ship they're running there. It should be noted that, unlike other tasting menus we have had in the past, I was genuinely full by the end of this meal. The culinary highlight for me was the rock pooling portion. I have a new found appreciation for roe (something I previously despised) and it really evoked some lovely childhood memories. Worth every penny. Everyone needs to go at least once.

...

See more

ALAIN A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Cantina Laredo

10 Upper St Martin's Lane, St Martin's Courtyard, London WC2H 9FB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Pleasantly surprised at Cantina Laredo

by paula g.   (3)

Nov 2017

Editor's pick I found Cantina Laredo via Squaremeal and had no idea what to expect. Upon entering I sat at the bar and ordered a margarita whilst waiting for my friend to arrive. I could see large trays of intriguing dishes being served to fellow diners, beautiful tacos with fresh fish, meats and cheeses. What really made this night great was our waitress who was very encouraging and passionate about the menu, it was great to see. My favourite dishes were the guacamole (made at our table for us) with tortillas, the sirloin steak tacos and the heavenly chocolate brownie with agave butter!! Overall, it was an excellent evening with delicious food, I highly recommend this restaurant.

...

See more

paula g.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Casa Tua Kings Cross

106 Cromer Street, London WC1H 8BZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Delightful restaurant close to King's Cross

by Jill C.   bronze reviewer (11)

Sep 2017

Editor's pick I went there for dinner after an early show at the Curzon Bloomsbury. What a lovely little find! We were greeted in the most friendly manner, and seated immediately. We ordered some sweet potato crisps with garlic aioli dip to enjoy whilst we perused the menu. My son had the fresh pasta, and I the sea bass. Both dishes very good. The only downside I'd say, is that the wine was expensive at £20 for a carafe of white. On the whole would totally recommend for the lovely atmosphere, and terrific service.

...

See more

Jill C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Scott s

20 Mount Street, London W1K 2HE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Great seafood

by Natasha K.   (3)

Jul 2017

Editor's pick When we were initially seated we were fairly unimpressed. I had to wait at the host counter for about 45 seconds waiting for the girls to finish their conversation, and was then seated at a terrible table by the bar, right next to a machine. The restaurant area in the back is much nicer - the whole white linen / candle thing - so I asked to move to that side and they obliged. I don't know why they put us in such a terrible seat.... We ordered the fruits de mer to start, a portion for one became a HUGE starter between the 2 of us. It was such great value for money as we enjoyed oysters, scallops, crab... everything! The manditory dover sole came next, which also did not disappoint. The waitors were all very kind, gentle and warm. As was the somelier - loved it!

...

See more

Natasha K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Prezzo Plymouth

4A Mills Bakery, Plymouth PL1 3GE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Great location, good deal from Buyagift

by nigel k.   (4)

Jul 2017

Editor's pick My daughter and I walked here, arriving in the rain. The venue is in a great location, with many eateries and outside seating. Had it been a sunny evening, it would be a perfect place to sit outside and eat, next to the water. The restaurant was not particularly busy when we arrived, but was busy when we left. The person who "welcomed" us as we entered, seemed a little abrupt and rushed. We were shown a special Buyagift menu, which I wasn't expecting...I thought we would be choosing from the usual menu, however, maybe it was in the small print when I booked the deal, I'm not sure. The deal included a glass of wine each...I wanted rose...only allowed white or red. We both had the crab balls, nicely presented, but not hot, warm. We then both had Carbonara, which was a large portion, but nothing particularly tasty or special. Lastly, we both had Tiramusi which we enjoyed. For a three course meal for two with a glass of wine each, with the Buyagift offer, it was a good deal. Had we had to pay full price, I would not have been impressed. It really is in a fantastic location and I'm sure it will be absolutely buzzing on nice weather evenings. The fact it was busy as we left, means they must be doing something right, but for me, the staff just weren't friendly enough.

...

See more

nigel k.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Bottlescrue

33 Foster Lane , London EC2V 6HD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

A step back in time

by Luncheon Vulture   platinum reviewer (79)

Jul 2017

Editor's pick After a successful after works drinks at the Bottlescrue, I thought it was worth checking out for a lunchtime. Unfortunately I picked a beautiful summer's day to descend into the depths of this very traditional. subterranean winebar, but the coolness and quietness we encountered was actually a blessing in disguise. For once we could hear ourselves speak! True it is a throwback to the winebars of my early days in the City, but sometimes a steak sandwich with a side of fries just hits the spot. We both opted for starters which in retrospect was a bit of a mistake - portion sizes are very good here and if you're not sure on which wine to choose, their tasters are pretty generous too! My companion effectively got a free glass of wine for her indecisiveness! Whilst there is nothing to truly excite on the menu, it is varied and has something for everyone, although I would love to see the return of the fish finger sarnie. Service was polite and attentive but it appears to suffer from its tucked away location - on both visits it was decidedly under capacity. I hope it survives as is definitely a place I'd use again. By the way, I think the Square Meal review is for a different place as this is not really that close to Holborn Viaduct, nor does it have any outside space.

...

See more

Luncheon Vulture's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Malibu Kitchen at The Ned

The Ned, 27 Poultry, London EC2R 8AJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

A welcome slice of California in London!

by Sophie W.   (4)

May 2017

Editor's pick Having visited various other restaurants at The Ned I was super excited for lunch at Malibu Kitchen! I am someone who suffers from various food intolerances/allergies and both the menu and staff were very helpful and accommodating - in fact I could eat most things which is very unusual! Didn't love the decor but the food was amazing, especially for the price so I was very impressed. Not many restaurants in the City that offer a menu like this so it was very welcome. I can't wait to go back!

...

See more

Sophie W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Roti Chai Street Kitchen

Lower Ground Floor, 3 Portman Mews South, London W1H 6AY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

A very popular place

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (86)

May 2017

Editor's pick I have walked passed this restaurant hundreds of times and for some reason never ventured inside, so when we found ourselves with no plans for lunch, we decided to give it a try. When we arrived at 12.25 on Sunday there was already a queue of around 8 people waiting at the door, which is always a good sign and within 30 minutes the place was packed full with people waiting at the front desk. We ate in the ground floor restaurant which is the street food menu (downstairs I believe has a different menu, but there was no one down there), upstairs is clearly the place to be for weekend lunch. There were around 4 waiting staff and approx. 50 covers, we were initially served by a lady who clearly did not want to be working there, I have rarely seen such a surly expression, but then thankfully after that we were served by a delightful lady who smiled and chatted and appeared to like her job, which is always a bonus. We shared the vegetable samosas which were accompanied with some delicious spicy chickpeas, pani puri (served with a jug of cumin water, which added a different dimension – mainly that as soon as bit into the puri, I squirted the sauce everywhere), one pulled chicken bun (OK, nothing special, very mild), the railway lamb and potato curry (nice heat, lamb falling apart nicely), chapatti and rice, which was plenty for us, although clearly we are complete lightweights compared to our fellow diners whose tables were groaning with colourful plates of food. We had two drinks each and the bill came to around £60 inc. service. Whilst this was a very enjoyable meal, and I would eat there again, given the choice I would head to Hoppers or Dishoom, where the food and service is just that little bit more special, for the same price.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Frenchie

16 Henrietta Street, London WC2E 8QH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Birthday Treat

by Aw H.   (1)

May 2017

Editor's pick Had the set lunch for a Birthday celebration, excellent value, must be one of the best value 3 course lunches in London. The Bacon and Maple Syrup Scones were the highlight of the meal. Service was attentive, but not overbearing, Puddings were magnificent especially the chocolate mousse with bacon ice cream. Wine list interesting, but pricey.

...

See more

Aw H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Hawksmoor Air Street

5a Air Street, London W1J 0AD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Just wonderful

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (86)

May 2017

Editor's pick We treated our nephew to his first “posh steak restaurant” and we were very well looked after. We ordered the yorkshire puddings with potted beef and bacon and the most delicious silky onion gravy - and wouldn't let them take it away and finished it off with our main courses. One Fillet, one sirloin, old spot belly ribs, caesar salad, triple cooked chips and beef dripping fries and we were fit to bursting point, but we managed to sneak in a salted caramel rolo each - which was pretty intense! I asked our server if he could explain the different cuts etc., and he was happy to do so. I think we had a trainee server for part of our meal and she was great too. It was the first time we had been to the Air Street branch, we usually go to Spitalfields or Seven Dials, what a fantastic room, I love those windows over Regent Street. A couple of bottles of wine and £200 easily spent, worth every penny.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Senor Ceviche

Kingly Court, London W1B 5PW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Great food, pity about the name

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (228)

May 2017

Editor's pick Peruvian food remains distinctly on-trend in London – and so it should do, since the country offers a wide range of flavoursome dishes spanning meat, fish and veg. There isn’t a lot of gluten in the Peruvian diet and so this should also tick a box for many. Much as I love all things Peruvian (and I can highly recommend the country as a holiday destination), I was instinctively put off Señor Ceviche because of its name. Why – it seems only fair to ask – would anyone choose to call a restaurant the equivalent of ‘Mr Raw-Fish?’ Maybe that’s the point though – it is memorable to the point of absurdity. Also, I’m in my early 40’s and maybe the younger trend-setters of Soho love the name. The restaurant itself emphasises informality, being full of bright colours, graffiti-covered walls and uplifting music. It was certainly busy when a comrade and I visited on a recent Friday lunchtime, clearly suggestive that Señor Ceviche is doing something right. Setting aside any name-based prejudice, my simple assessment is that the food delivers. The menu is also simple (16 dishes, all intended for sharing) and well-priced (no dish at more than £12.50) and what was lost in terms of slowness of service was mostly compensated for in terms of the staff’s enthusiasm. Onto the food, and we sampled six dishes, all of them superb. Both are ceviche options were first-class. We opted for the restaurant’s classic take on the dish (namely sea bass with sweet potato puree, red onion and coriander) as well as their special of the day (a prawn variation). The fish in each dish was moist and succulent, its flavour enhanced by the well-paired other ingredients. Despite its name, Señor Ceviche also demonstrated that it can execute well on its meat dishes, and we rated both the decadent sticky pork ribs as well as the flat iron steak. Testament to its success, a second Señor Ceviche is opening in Fitzrovia. On with the Peruvian revolution.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Miyama City

17 Godliman Street, London EC4V 5BD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Time-trap

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (228)

May 2017

Editor's pick I lasted visited Miyama around a decade ago. It was very good then and it was pretty much as I remembered when recently making a return visit. Almost nothing had changed. This is not an exaggeration or under-statement. Part of the charm of Miyama is that it remains steadfast, stuck in time and relentlessly unchanging. Fashionable it is not, but if you are after top-class Japanese food, then this is one of the best places to come. Miyama is located on an unremarkable side-street sandwiched between St Paul’s and the north side of the Millennium Bridge. Although there is apparently a sushi bar upstairs, on the occasion of my most recent visit (and in every previous instance), I was shown downstairs to the main dining room. This may perhaps be a somewhat generous term: picture a room with no natural light, a grey-green carpet most likely from the 1980s and just a few mirrors and prints on the wall. This is about as far away from Nobu or Zuma as one can imagine. Our waiter proceeded to bring us our menu, encased in faux-leather folders. By now, you get the picture. The food, however… and wow is probably the best epithet to use. Being lunchtime we selected the house bento box (priced reasonably, at £30). It was presented beautifully and comprised five segments, ranging from amazingly fresh sashimi through to palate-cleansing fruit at the end. Along the way, the grilled eel on rice was the standout option. It certainly tasted as good as anything enjoyed in Japan. For those keen to order a la carte, there is also a wide menu from which to choose. Based on the quality of our lunchtime fare, it is unlikely to disappoint.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No