Latest Restaurant Reviews

Editor's Picks

Feb 2017

These reviews have been selected by SquareMeal.co.uk's editor for being particularly helpful or entertaining. Scroll through to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Restaurant Michael Nadra Chiswick

6-8 Elliott Road, London W4 1PE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

A wonderful dining experience

by Christina B.   (2)

Feb 2017

Editor's pick We dined at Michael Nadra's Chiswick restaurant for my husband's 50th birthday with his parents and our children. The front of house staff were friendly, attentive and gave a polished service which complimented the beautiful food we ate. The carpaccio of tuna with soft shell crab starter was light and delicate while the beef carpaccio with truffle oil had a more punchy flavour. The main courses were all cooked to perfection - the steamed sea bass was elegantly scented with asian spices and the Wagu beef was rich and unctuous. The rump of lamb with the merguez sausage was full of flavour. We rounded off the meal with the delightfully wicked chocolate fondant with salted caramel ice-cream and the treacle tart. The staff dressed my husband's pudding with a candle and the words Happy Birthday written in chocolate which was a thoughtful touch. We highly recommend this restaurant

...

See more

Christina B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Artichoke

9 Market Square, Old Amersham HP7 0DF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

A fantastic evening at The Artichoke

by Lloyd S.   bronze reviewer (12)

Feb 2017

Editor's pick This was the first time we've been here for an evening and what an excellent dining experience it was . A very warm and friendly greeting on arrival then escorted to our table to let the festivities begin. We decided to go for the Tasting Menu with matching Wines and I have to say it was heaven starting with a fantastic Trout dish then an amazing Crab Thermidor followed by a delightful Artichoke dish and stunning Cod course then on to the main courses and my highlight a glorious Venison with orange curd and the braised Beef which was very rich . The matching wines were a delight coming from Italy,Hungary,Austria,South Africa and France. Now to dessert a fabulous Poached Pear Galette and a Cambridge Cream & Rhubbarb . All in all it was truly a fantastic evening which was made even better due to the great warm and excellent service from every member of staff . So if it's a fantastic evening with amazing food and wine in a great little town then take a trip to Amersham and visit this restaurant. I'm already looking forward to returning in June #food #hospitality #restaurant

...

See more

Lloyd S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Jamavar

8 Mount Street, London W1K 3NF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Excellent Lunch Menu

by Joe K.   (1)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick I have only he had the lunch menu to date, but if it is a faithful showcase of capability I will be back very soon. The staff were on point - helpful without hovering. The dishes were richly flavoured, but still retained a balanced fragrance of the spices rather than a raw blast. The achari pork starter was particularly good, along with the butter chicken. The palak paneer was also delicious, although I would have liked a little more paneer.

...

See more

Joe K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Chiltern Firehouse

1 Chiltern Street, London W1U 7PA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Brilliant! Handle with care.

by Continental Diner   platinum reviewer (122)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick Visiting most recently in early January 2017, and it was once again superb. The thing is that one has to "buy into" the concept. For a later seating you will probably have to plan for a drink in the bar before. It is quite festive (read: party-like) it can get quite loud and the concept appears to foresee a balance between Nuno Mendes' fantastic food a truly good wine list and restaurant that conveys a youthful sense of occasion. I could understand if someone doesn't like it, I can also see lots of diners "having an unlucky experience". Do not come here for the first time for an important date or meeting. You have to see how this place is and works. Also it is not at all corporate, I would not come here for a standard business lunch - it is a complex and special place. The food, if you like modern fine dining is out of this world. Light and extreme attention to detail, but it sometimes seems secondary to the overall experience, which in its own right is a pity. But there are bar seats opposite the open kitchen (think L'Atelier de Joël Robuchon) which might be for the out-and-out foodie. Then there is the bill. Two things, you can always deduct a return ticket to LA from the total and if it still seems steep, at least the fire brigade will be on hand at least in spirit to put out that smouldering credit card...

...

See more

Continental Diner's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Noble Rot

51 Lamb's Conduit Street, London WC1N 3NB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Excellent wine bar

by Lynn W.   platinum reviewer (78)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick I'm still a fan of wine bars even though I can remember when they were fashionable last time. This one does not disappoint, with an excellent choice of wines and great food. We chose the wine first, a delicious Chablis 1er Cru, then decided what to eat. Bread and butter is terrific, rich spongy focaccia, crusty sourdough and dense grainy soda bread all so good we wanted to eat them all. Starters of creamy burrata with tangy nutty romesco sauce, and duck liver parfait with crunchy toasted sourdough were very good. The Cornish turbot braised in oxidised Chassagne-Montrachet sounded odd, we're not normally fans of oxidised wine but we took the risk and this was terrific, delicate fish with potatoes and leeks, with the creamy white wine sauce. This was all so good we had to try the desserts, the sticky toffee pudding & cream cheese ice cream was suitably sticky but not too heavy, and Noble Rot bakewell-type tart & roast pear was also very good. Sigh. Lots of people around were having a good time, and we're already thinking about when we can go back.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Pied a Terre

34 Charlotte Street, London W1T 2NH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Exceptional food & service

by Steve B.   (2)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick I had an exceptional meal here today. Every dish ordered by both me and my guest were beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. The service was perfect, not overbearing, but extremely helpful when needed. There is a choice of kind of set menus, with alternatives amongst those, but I had no trouble picking things to try, and was not disappointed. Everything was really tasty, and presented so well, it almost seemed a shame to eat it. Not a cheap meal, but for three courses with wine, and service it wasn't completely outrageous either. Strongly recommended!

...

See more

Steve B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Frog E1

2 Ely's Yard, Old Truman Brewery, Hanbury Street, London E1 6QR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Excellent tasting menu

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (70)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick Having watched Adam Handling on the Great British Menu we were keen to try his restaurant, so I booked us in for my husbands’ birthday lunch – and overall it was a very enjoyable lunch. The staff were all very friendly and informative, you can see into the open kitchen and AH was at the pass checking everything going out and adding final touches. Each course is served and described by one of the chefs, which is a nice personal touch. We opted for the tasting menu @ £45 a head and my husband also had the drink pairing @ £40 – I had a couple of glasses of wine instead. The first four “snacks” came out very close together and felt a little rushed but we were assured that service would slow down after this and it did. I don’t remember all the dishes but the following stood out Chorizo, cheese, onion, Crab, seaweed, apple and the amazing Bread and chicken butter. We had a Celeriac, truffle, yolk, apple, dates course which in my opinion was a little too large and the celeriac was quite rubbery, but that’s just personal taste, but not a favourite dish. We opted for the additional course of Cheese doughnuts (which I regretted slightly, we should have just ordered one portion, as they were quite large and very rich and I really didn’t need any more food!). I loved the Beetroot, beetroot and more beetroot, and it looked beautiful. A nice touch at the end of the meal is that you can choose to “Buy the chefs a beer - £5”, so we added two to our meal. Obviously you can eat here cheaper than we did, but at nearly £200 for lunch it is not for the faint-hearted. There were two negatives about this experience - firstly, the seating, old wooden school chairs, was pretty uncomfortable, If you are eating the tasting menu, you are going to be sat down for at least 2 hours (I should also add that I was recovering from a back injury, and the staff were able to find me a chair with a more solid back to it so I could sit more comfortably) - and secondly my seat had a perfect view straight into the toilet, which is not really the view you want whilst eating!

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Picture Marylebone

19 New Cavendish Street, London W1G 9TZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Picture Marylebone

by Lynn W.   platinum reviewer (78)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick In January restaurants can be a bit empty, and when you arrive and experience the minimalist decor at Picture Marylebone it can all feel a bit bleak. It was nice and warm inside though and the welcome was warm as well. The menu provides a selection of small plates at good prices. We had four of the beef bites at £1 each; savoury and crispy, a good start with the bread and butter while choosing the wine. We both had the glazed squash, goat's curd, pumpkin seed pesto, golden sultanas - a pretty presentation and flavours and textures worked well together. After that, the small pieces of venison haunch, toasted barley, and swede were excellent, though decidedly small, but with a side of fries we felt we had had sufficient. Just one iced mascarpone parfait between us with some tiny cubes of Williams pear and crunchy gingerbread morsels meant we had enjoyed beautifully prepared dishes and lots of good flavours without being overwhelmed, and post-Christmas this is welcome. If you wanted a more substantial meal there is the option of a 6-course tasting menu or you could go for another course from the daily plates.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Zuma

5 Raphael Street, London SW7 1DL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

In a league of its own

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (193)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick For as long as I have been regularly dining in London Zuma has always had a fond place in my heart. The simple reason is that I have never had a bad experience here and despite many copy-cat imitations and an expanding empire of its own (there are now ten other restaurants parading under the Zuma brand outside London), it remains simply the best place in town for contemporary Japanese food. A recent visit there reminded me of all the things that make Zuma what it is: stunning décor (which has remained broadly unchanged), a great atmosphere and, of course, first-class food and drink. The menu offers a broad spectrum of options from salads, sushi and sashimi through to grilled options and then the restaurant’s signature dishes. Best is to come as part of a group, share everything and try as much as possible. Stand-out items from our meal included the ‘dynamite spider roll’ (which comprises soft shell crab, chilli mayonnaise, cucumber and wasabi sauce) as well as the grilled seabass. From the signature dishes, the roasted lobster with green chilli and garlic hojiso butter is a must, and a dish one would willing return to time and again. It is also well worth sampling the sake here, especially with a range of over 40 available. Feel willing to ask the servers for advice, although again, it is best to sample several if possible (as we did). Service on previous occasions has been somewhat erratic, although most recently, we were not let down. All that Zuma offers does, of course, come at a price. But, it is money well-spent and definitely worth a visit.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Burdock at Royal London House Hotel

22-25 Finsbury Square, London EC2A 1DX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

The City won't know what hit it - WOW!!

by Andrea G.   (1)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick After visiting The Botanist Sloane Square a while back I really wanted to visit a couple of other places under the ETM Group - so off to Burdock I whizzed. They don't take reservations for smaller groups so Friday night last week I skipped out of work and made my way down to Burdock. First impressions - WOW! The restaurant is split across both sides of The Montcalm with dining tables on one side and a stunning bar on the other. It wouldn't be fair to write a review without the whole experience so drinks first it was. The Bar - The bar features huge copper tanks that house their delicious beers, however today was not the day for beer - it was all about the cocktails. The cocktail list is short and sweet with some great additions. My partner had the Cucumber Crusta, however the Bramble and Soda really took things to a new level! A bold and delicious infusion of blackberry, with the perfect ratio of gin to vermouth - DELICIOUS! The restaurant - After a cocktail (or three), we strolled (although some may say staggered somewhat) on through to the bar and took a seat in the window. The restaurant was filled with the gentle hum of guests enjoying their dinners. We were served by a lovely young man (wish we'd taken his name - always guilty of overlooking this part - must do better!) and he guided us through the menu and wine list and made us feel comfortable. Burdock seems to be all about small plates and sharing, so who were we to argue. I am surprised the table didn't buckle under the weight of all the delicious dishes that arrived at our table, each seeming to grow better and better with each mouthful. If I HAD to pick a favourite (which I always struggle to do when I enjoy good food), I'd probably say my top three are: Monkfish Kiev - Moist and tender, perfectly cooked fish Venison Meatballs - BURSTING with flavour! I do love game and these really will take some beating... Pork Belly & Lobster - Has a finer pairing ever existed?? For the life of me I cannot remember the name of the wine, yet the memory of its subtle fruity dry notes still seems to linger on my lips. Apres dinner we both slunk back to the bar and an hour later we found ourselves at the bottom of three espresso martinis - time really does fly when you're having fun. A quick hop, skip and an Uber made an evening that is well worth revisiting. After dining at both The Botanist Sloane Square and Burdock, I think it would be incredibly rude to not venture further into the other restaurants/bars that are part of the group. I hear Aviary has some stunning views.... (Just 3 stars from TimeOut... think it's time they gave it another go...)

...

See more

Andrea G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Pisqu

23 Rathbone Place, London W1T 1HZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Impressive Peruvian gastronomy and service.

by Sam g.   (1)

Dec 2016

Editor's pick Thank you Pisqu for bringing your gastronomy and brand to London. This place rocks. The food is out of this world. Very healthy overall with ingredients from the Amazon and the Peruvian mountains. Presentation is spotless. Fine dining presentation in a relaxed ambience.The place is smart, simple minimalist in decoration. Don't expect the overused fast-food offering and format of other peruvian restaurants in London with its now outdated tiny sharing dishes. This place is the opposite. Exquisite food and service with nobody rushing you to free up the table. We were a party of 14 of various backgrounds. We all agreed in saying that we had the best dinner of the year. It was that good! Try their signature dish Lomo a Parrilla in pachamanca sauce and their now famous Corn grain cake!. The pisco sours are done in shakers, as opposed to blenders. Their wine list is good and well priced. We spotted a couple of celebrities going to the private dining area downstairs. agree with the other reviewer that the place seems popular with local crowd and city bankers. We will be back for the pisco sour masterclass. Friends have done it and strongly recommended it.

...

See more

Sam g.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Eneko at One Aldwych

One Aldwych, 1 Aldwych, London WC2B 4BZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Unequalled

by Tony J.   (1)

Dec 2016

Editor's pick I have been to Eneko for lunch twice now and I see this restaurant as simply unmissable. It is the most inventive, interesting and delicious food. The wine list is fascinating. The service is excellent. The cocktail before lunch was top notch. The surroundings are extremely comfortable (if slightly prone to echoes - but aren't all restaurants these days?) Eneko deserves to succeed - it deserves a visit from anyone who is serious about food.

...

See more

Tony J.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Skylon

Royal Festival Hall, Belvedere Road, London SE1 8XX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Stunning!

by Diane A.   (1)

Dec 2016

Editor's pick Skylon is a real treat. We went after a beautiful classical music concert in the Royal Festival Hall so it was super convenient. We were met and given a table by the window (looking out over the river with the Christmas lights was just perfect). The food was superb, expensive but worth it. Also not too heavy when you are coming later, post concert. The attentiveness from the staff also just right. A great place for a date, a great place to continue after the wonderful music in the RFH.

...

See more

Diane A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Soif

27 Battersea Rise, London SW11 1HG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

A little gem of a restaurant

by Mike S.   bronze reviewer (5)

Dec 2016

Editor's pick I really am blessed for choice near where I live, and this is just one of the restaurants I attend quite regularly. Best described as excellently cooked homely French cuisine, I think, and definitely one to visit if you haven't had the chance to do so! We started with the mixed leaf salad, with such fresh ingredients, which was drizzled with a warming mustard dressing. That was the start of things to come. My main was Mulard duck breast, truffled celeriac, red cabbage & artichoke crisps and my friend had Sea bream, leeks, ratte potato, chanterelles & vin jaune. If I could I would just stop there, that alone should be enough to tell you of the caliber of food they serve here. Duck so pink and tasty, the fat rendered perfectly. Celeriac puree was smooth and tasty and the red cabbage fresh, adding a nice contrast to the rest of the dish. I am assured the sea bream was amazing, but you already knew that didn't you... As for the wine, oh the wine... So good I actually bought a bottle of it to take home! A Domaine Plageoles I'd come here every day if I could. If I wasn't at one of the other restaurants that are nearby...

...

See more

Mike S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Ivy Cafe Wimbledon Village

75 High Street, Wimbledon Village, London SW19 5EQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Game Set and Match to The Ivy

by Giles O.   (2)

Dec 2016

Editor's pick Beautifully decorated for Christmas, the Ivy stands out in the heart of Wimbledon Village. We visited in early December; very friendly staff, excellent service, everything on menu was appealing. Friendly hubub rather than noisy. The four of us chose Dover sole, Duck Curry, fishcakes and Shepeherd's pie. Generous helpings to the point where each of us were almost defeated....puddings were superb - Chocolate bombe and a wonderful apple tarte flamed in brandy. Two courses were plenty three would have been too much. Fischcakes and Shepherd's Pie perhaps slightly on the dense side so visit with a big appetite ! Classy but relaxing atmosphere in the signature art deco style. This will be more than a restaurant just for locals.

...

See more

Giles O.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No