Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Buenos Aires Reigate

2-4 London Road, Reigate RH2 9AN

Overall rating: star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Oh No ! Our Valentine's meal was ruined by noisy drunk lads, the Manager appeared to be ok with this ?

by mike m.   (1)

Feb 2017

We love steak meals ! But not here sadly. On the positive my sirloin was cooked perfectly for me. The "fillet" was of dubious quality & I wonder if it really was fillet ? Im not sure but Ive not seen a fillet steak that is served having been sliced so thinly that it could have been tenderized anything ? Our main concern, and by appearances, that of other couples, was that there was a table of drunken lads shouting loudly nearby. The waitress was not interested & the Manager appeared to be ok with this ? Ive been to other restaurants in this chain and would be surprised if this was tolerated elsewhere. I wont be visiting any of these again, ever ! There are plenty of other choices & almost certainly all will have better quality steak.

...

See more

mike m.'s rating

star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 4
  • Service: 2
  • Atmosphere: 2
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Restaurant Michael Nadra Chiswick

6-8 Elliott Road, London W4 1PE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

A wonderful dining experience

by Christina B.   (2)

Feb 2017

We dined at Michael Nadra's Chiswick restaurant for my husband's 50th birthday with his parents and our children. The front of house staff were friendly, attentive and gave a polished service which complimented the beautiful food we ate. The carpaccio of tuna with soft shell crab starter was light and delicate while the beef carpaccio with truffle oil had a more punchy flavour. The main courses were all cooked to perfection - the steamed sea bass was elegantly scented with asian spices and the Wagu beef was rich and unctuous. The rump of lamb with the merguez sausage was full of flavour. We rounded off the meal with the delightfully wicked chocolate fondant with salted caramel ice-cream and the treacle tart. The staff dressed my husband's pudding with a candle and the words Happy Birthday written in chocolate which was a thoughtful touch. We highly recommend this restaurant

...

See more

Christina B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Theos Simple Italian

Hotel Indigo London Kensington, 34–44 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great Find in Earls Court

by amelia c.   (3)

Feb 2017

Hi, John, its Amelia . What a great treat to buy me a drink. This is one of the few local casual dining restaurants with a good bar and wine list where the locals are treated like great neighbours. As a result, when I want to have dinner locally with friends, I think of you first. What is great about this place is : where do I start? The atmosphere is very relaxed but can be romantic, tinkling candles rustic surroundings, and convivial. Food is homemade by an Italian chef, who is happy to make something for you not on the menu. Everything I have eaten there( and must be about 8 times) is locally sourced and homemade, even the pasta. Recently I took an Italian Friend there for dinner, he is from Tuscany. The parpadelle was so fresh and homemade, we asked the chef to come and speak with us to tell him "complimentI". This is a real surprise for a hotel restaurant tucked away in Earls court, but not to be missed. See you soon. Good for couples family friends business and solo.

...

See more

amelia c.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Jamies St Mary at Hill

2 St-Mary-at-Hill, London EC3R 8EE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Okay

by Roger M.   (3)

Feb 2017

Two issues. Firstly, we both ordered steak, one rare and one medium rare. They delivered these to the wrong persons (rare got medium rare (in reality medium/well done) and my guest got the rare that I had ordered). Secondly, we ordered two portions of buttered spinach to go with the steak, however, these did not arrive until we had nearly finished (and the staff had been reminded several times through the meal!). Despite these hiccups, the service was friendly and food was of good quality. Also, the bill was reduced in compensation for the errors. We had the feeling that several members of staff hadn't been there very long.

...

See more

Roger M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 5
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Twenty Princes Street

20 Princes Street, Edinburgh, Central Scotland EH2 2AN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

great room but very bright

by sebastian r.   (3)

Feb 2017

when we arrived, we went to the bar for a drink and to meet our friends, we had to ask and wait over 15 mins before someone came to take out order for 2 glasses of wine and then another 15mins for them to arrive. we made our way on to the main restaurant and waited by the desk while the person on the phone finished their call. having requested a table in the window as i want my guest to be able to look out over edinburgh, we where seated at the side of the restaurant and told if you lean over you can see out the window. the lighting in the restaurant was very bright and had little atmosphere. again we had to wait for our order taken and when they did arrive there was a difficulty in being understood what we had ordered. when the food did arrive it was good and well presented, of each and every course, our only comment was that one of the ice creams had a very odd unpleasnt taste and asked what it was. after a while the waiter came back and said that the chef had gone home but it could be smoked whisky. we arrived at 7.45 and left at 11.30.

...

See more

sebastian r.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Dragon Castle

100 Walworth Road, London SE17 1JL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

AMAZING RESTAURANT

by Julie T.   (1)

Feb 2017

Had an amazing meal at Dragon Castle, everything was so fresh and came out piping hot considering there was 10 of us eating here at the time. The staff were very friendly and helped us choose some food as we had not had dim sum before. Would highly recommend this place and i will be back soon, maybe try evening meal next time.

...

See more

Julie T.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

StreetXo

15 Old Burlington Street, London W1S 2JL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

And ‘xo’ what?

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (193)

Feb 2017

Chef David Muñoz apparently runs one of the best restaurants in Madrid. Like so many others before him, having conquered his home territory, it is now time to take on London. Against this background, Muñoz is clearly going for something very different at his Mayfair venue. Whether it is good, however, remains to be seen. Many things irritated from the outset even prior to the visit. In particular, no website, so one is left guessing totally as to what to expect. A quick look on the internet shows several reviews, but mostly extreme (in both directions). My conclusion is Muñoz is aiming to shock and arouse controversy. This is fine, but not really the reason I go out to eat. Next, my concern centres on how to pronounce the restaurant’s name. My comrade and I, on arrival, our told ‘xo’ is supposed to sound like ‘show’, although it came out from our host’s mouth more as ‘so.’ Again, I was forced to ask, why would I come to a restaurant for a show; surely it is more for the food? I was also confused, arriving at 12h30 on a Friday lunchtime, why the place seemed to be deserted. After all, we are not in Madrid, where the fashion is to eat later, and this StreetXO is, supposedly, one of London’s current ‘on-trend’ restaurants. Like Alice in Wonderland, everything seemed a bit wrong and slightly surreal: not just an empty restaurant, but waiters dressed in straitjackets and a menu full of dishes with cryptic names and very liberal use of punctuation (excessive exclamation marks in particular). Perhaps this is why there is no website – if people saw the menu at the outset, they may be put off visiting. All in all, a bad start. The meal was somewhat redeemed by the food, although StreetXO undoubtedly puts more emphasis on presentation (show) than on substance. Our scallop was amazing, light and peppered with a spectrum of unique and different flavours. Beyond this, I remember display over precisely what I ate, the experience perhaps most epitomised by the pig’s ear dish. It arrived on grease-proof paper (a cost-saving technique if ever there were one) and came liberally adorned with strawberry hoisin, supposedly intended to resemble splattered blood. A nice touch, or just a joke, in slightly poor taste. I remember what it looked like, but not what it tasted like. Thinking back, three days on for our meal, I could make similar observations about the other dishes too. Full marks to Muñoz for inventiveness, if nothing else. At least, the meal was relieved by a great wine, Xi from Pingus, priced reasonably too. Would I go back? Well, only if just to demonstrate to an unwitting guest how diverse – and perhaps awfully wrong – the London dining scene can be.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 5
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Yauatcha

15-17 Broadwick Street, London W1F 0DL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

A Basil Fawlty experience

by Gill S.   (1)

Feb 2017

Smart, snappy modern décor. Noisy. Low-level seats and tables a novelty. Great fishtank - gives you something to watch while you wait and wait. Food good, when and if you get it. Plenty of staff, but not sure what was going on. They seemed sullen, inattentive, avoiding eye contact. Waited five minutes for a menu, listening to the manager offering apologies to the complaining couple at the next table. After 15 minutes, a waiter appeared to take our order, then rushed off before we could order drinks. The dim sum we ordered turned up spasmodically - the last of them an hour and fifteen minutes after we had started. Our main course order was delivered to the next table, who fell on it and started eating. Replacement main courses weren't delivered together. We ate looking at the food debris on the next table, uncleared for 20 minutes. The bill was wrong and we refused to pay the 13% service charge. To be fair, the manager apologised, then knocked the drinks off the bill and confessed that they were having a "Basil Fawlty day".

...

See more

Gill S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 2
  • Atmosphere: 2
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Aubaine Marylebone

7 Moxon Street, London W1U 4EP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Prices have risen and quality fallen

by Helena K.   (1)

Feb 2017

I have been visiting the Marylebone branch of Aubaine for a number of years and always especially enjoyed the prix fixe menu. However, after going back this weekend after a long break away, I was shocked to see prices have risen quite substantially and the dishes they are producing are much smaller and no where near the prices they are now charging. I felt utterly ripped off this weekend after paying £15.something for a handful of salad and the stingiest amount of ham (Ham hock & mixed leaf salad) and then a bit of filo pastry the size of my hand covered with a very thin layer of beetroot and what I can only assume started out as a 2 point coin's worth of goat's cheese (Heritage beetroot & goat’s cheese tart). It also came to about £7 for 2 very standard coffees. After about 4 years of regularly visiting, I will not be back.

...

See more

Helena K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 5
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 3

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Palomar

34 Rupert Street, London W1D 6DN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Amazing Jerusalem Cuisine

by Lloyd S.   bronze reviewer (12)

Feb 2017

Had been meaning to visit this restaurant for a while now to try a new type of cuisine from the heart of Jerusalem and I have to say I'm very glad to have done so . It's a small but very friendly place as you walk in they have a walk in service where you can sit at the counter and watch the chefs work but we were lead through to the dining area at the back which was very nice & cozy. Our waitress Olge was excellent asking us if we'd been before then took us through the menu advising us of how many courses from each section we should order . We started with the RIP & Dip section where we had the most amazing Bread & dips along with Fish Falafel. We then had the special of the day which was a lovely dish that included White Crab Meat just stunning then onto the larger of the sharing menu dishes to which we had the amazing Octo-Hummus and the fantastic Jerusalem Mix with a side order of Josperised Aubergine plus a Fattoush Salad all the dishes have this delicate charcoal,nutty and slightly creamy texture but taste delicious Now on to my favourite course of any meal Dessert and we weren't let down in anyway we decided to go for the sharing dessert called a Jerusalem Mess which was fantastic but me being me I couldn't settle for that and when I saw they had a Chocolate Fondue with Peanut Brittle I couldn't resist and I'm so glad I didn't it was gorgeous Definitely looking forward to returning soon and I would highly recommend this restaurant #food #restaurant #hospitality

...

See more

Lloyd S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Bird of Smithfield

26 Smithfield Street, London EC1A 9LB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Rude service

by Haley W.   (1)

Feb 2017

We had a delicious meal at Bird of Smithfield which was unfortunately ruined by terrible service when we went to pay. When I had booked I mentioned that I had a Squaremeal voucher and was told this was fine. Upon presenting the voucher at the end of the meal the waitress went to get a manager. This manager then proceeded to rudely fire a series of questions at us, and insinuated he had never heard of such a voucher. When my partner became offended by the nature of his questioning, the manager rudely said something to the effect of "chill, it's Saturday man" and behaved in a totally arrogant and unprofessional manner - rolling his eyes and acting like we had become out of control (when he was the one behaving aggressively to begin with). It was a very embarrassing experience to have in front of the company we were entertaining and spoilt an otherwise pleasant meal. Won't be returning or recommending.

...

See more

Haley W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 2
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Pizzeria at the Dickens Inn

Marble Quay, Saint Katharines Way, London E1W 1UH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Expensive and Poor Atmosphere

by Jessica B.   (1)

Feb 2017

Been to The Grill and the downstairs bar many times and always had good food and good atmosphere. However the Pizzeria didn't live up to this. We booked a table for 6.15pm and arrived a little early. We were sat down quickly but had to ask for the Early Bird Menu. Food was in small portions and the salad was overly dressed with balsamic vinegar. Drinks very expensive (even by City prices) and the atmosphere was pretty shocking. Was left without a drink or food for around an hour whilst the restaurant only had 4 couples in it. Would only visit the Grill again.

...

See more

Jessica B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No