Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

The Drift

Heron Tower, 110 Bishopsgate, London EC2N 4AY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Try the duck flatbread

by Chris H.   gold reviewer (32)

Jan 2019

Enjoyed a lunch at The Drift with 4 colleagues/friends and a one year old. There was a highchair on hand, We can recommend the duck flatbread as a sharing starter. The duck salad was filling. The sea bass was had by two of the guests and I tried the venison pie with celeriac mash which was a bit too salty for my taste. All in all a very enjoyable lunch.

...

See more

Chris H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

George and Dragon Chipstead

39 High Street Chipstead, Sevenoaks TN13 2RW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great local pub and restaurant

by Lorna W.   (1)

Jan 2019

Less of the pub, more of a pub-style restaurant with a great bar and decent cocktail and wine selection. Great food, really great, young friendly staff, historic pub that with lots of little corners that make it interesting and easy to find a cosy spot. Are there kids, possibly for Sunday afternoon but this place is in such demand we only go midweek when it's also pretty busy but we're more likely to get a table and no, I don't think I have ever seen anyone under 15 here. That said, we take our two teenagers who with the nightlights and candles could easily pass for adults, so I guess other kids might be going un-noticed by us. And that's the point. If I haven't noticed them, they're not a problem - for me, anyway. As for Sunday lunch, well where that serves a decent pub roast isn't full of younger ones and it's not so very long ago we were desperate to get out for a decent lunch that we didn't have to do the washing up after, so I don't begrudge any exhausted parents a break on a Sunday afternoon! But for anyone like us tired of the faux-artsy/funky/quirky chain pub template, because the food, the atmosphere, and the never anything less than charming service, the George gets 10/10 for being the kind of local gastropub that every town should have.

...

See more

Lorna W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Don Restaurant

The Courtyard, 20 St. Swithins Lane, London EC4N 8AD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

First lunch of 2019

by Penelope S.   (1)

Jan 2019

I had not been to the City for lunch for some time but was thrilled to be invited by my chairman to an old favourite, the Don, which did not disappoint. Excellent courteous service and a lovely menu. Wine list, as always, very interesting and good value, enough to stop my dry January. I had delicious juicy seared scallops to start and my host had an amazing warm salad of pigeon with foie gras. My rump of lamb main course served with baby artichokes was really delicious.I felt portion size was perfect and dishes were well priced. Desserts looked very tempting but the Trinity Hill house white won me over. This restaurant has never let me down and consistently offers delicious food and wine with high level of service and great overall value for money. A great way to start 2019. I will be back.

...

See more

Penelope S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Wallace

The Wallace Collection, Hertford House, Manchester Square, London W1U 3BN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Artful

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (229)

Jan 2019

Walk two blocks north of Bond Street underground station and you will encounter one of London’s best-kept artistic secrets – the Wallace Collection. Located on Manchester Square, it houses an extensive collection of fine and decorative arts, and is free for anyone to visit. If this were not reason enough to visit, then the restaurant too is worth checking out. The inner courtyard of the Wallace Collection got a facelift (and a glass roof) in 2000, and here diners can find the Wallace. Billed as an all-day brasserie and operated by Peyton & Byrne (who are also behind the dining outlets at the National Gallery, Royal Academy etc.), this is an impressive offering. No art is visible from the Wallace, although diners do have to pass through several of the galleries in order to reach their destination. The space is light and airy (think high ceiling, pastel pink walls, pale wooden furniture and palm trees), ideal either for a croissant and coffee or a more serious meal. Retired art lovers make up the dominant demographic, so the vibe is hushed rather than buzzing. Perhaps in recognition of this, my comrade and I found the service somewhat slow and lacklustre on our recent lunchtime visit, although this was more than compensated for by the food. The menu is refreshingly brief, with the angle being to pay homage to classic French cooking but updated with a more modern twist. Diners get to choose from around five starters and mains, the former priced at around £10 and the latter close to £20. Vegetarians also get a great deal, with two courses on offer at lunch for just £18.50. I began with a smoked mackerel dish and followed this with another fish option; this time, a pan-roasted hake fillet, paired with leek velouté, caviar, radish and clementine. As the photo attests, huge emphasis is placed on presentation – perhaps the idea of food as art pervades – but what it gains in this respect is not lost in terms of taste. I was not only impressed with the visual aspect, but more fundamentally the daring combination of ingredients, which was delivered here with panache. Neither my comrade nor I could fault the taste or composition of any of our dishes. Word of warning, however: beyond the quibble over service, I would highly recommend visiting either in summer or dressing warmly for a visit in the winter months. A high-ceilinged conservatory-style courtyard may look very nice, but it can certainly get very cold in early January!

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 5
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Green Man Chelmsford

Main Road, Howe Street, Great Waltham CM3 1BG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Fantastic Saturday Lunch

by Lloyd S.   gold reviewer (47)

Jan 2019

We were wanting to meet our friends and their 18 month old son somewhere nice for lunch and we really couldn't have chosen a better place. The Galvin Green Man really does cater for everyone and are also pet friendly. Their food menus are also amazing value for money especially the Bib Gourmand & Children's. You will find this place in the quiet setting of Great Waltham along a nice country lane. As you arrive your first impression is amazing as the entrance has an extensive glass front which allows you to see straight into the bar / reception area. As you enter you see that to the right of the bar is the pub and to the left is the very large and modern restaurant with fabulous views firstly of the huge garden plus children's play area and then the local countryside. Upstairs they also have four function rooms. You can also see that in the summer that they must host quite a few events as they have an outside bar & BBQ area. On our arrival we were given a really friendly welcome and although we arrived right on our table time we was told not to rush so therefore enjoyed a quick drink and little chat first. We were then taken to our table and given the two menus one being the Al a Carte and the other was the Bib Gourmand menu which as I said at the beginning is amazing value for money ie 3 courses for £17.50. They also have a great menu for the children to which our friends son enjoyed a bowl of mac n cheese well who wouldn't and a chocolate mousse dessert these can be brought out at anytime. On the back of the menu is the wine list and was glad to see an English wine on the list from Davenport Vineyards which we ordered and was a delight. Well I suppose it's time to move onto the food to which two of us ended up having the Bib Gourmand menu. After enjoying some fabulous homemade bread & butter we moved onto our starters. We had the Terrine of Ham Hock & Chicken with a Plum Chutney , a Veloute of White Onion with Parmesan Croutons & the Scotch Egg with Mustard & Pickled Onions After enjoying the fabulous starters it was now time for the main courses and these were also very delicious and a nice healthy size portion as well. We chose the Dingley Dell Pork Belly with Mustard , Pomme Purée & Apricot Jus , the Salmon Fishcake with a Poached Egg & Parsley Mayonaisse , the Beef with Mushrooms & Bone Marrow Jus (sorry no pic) & the market fish of the day which was Stone Bass with Lentils & Chorizo It was then time for a nice rest before moving to desserts this allowed time for our friends to take their son out to the play area. On their return we ordered desserts a Salted Caramel Tart with Pear Sorbet , a Carrot & Almond Sponge with Stem Ginger & Mandarin Sorbet , the Chocolate Fondant with Pistachio Ice Cream and for the guest of honour a Chocolate Mousse and Orange. All the desserts were heaven and a great way to finish So after finishing with a coffee this brought to an end to a truly fabulous afternoon where the food was excellent and the service from every member of staff was very friendly making you feel very welcome. I would highly recommend a visit to this place whether your a couple or a large group because as I said at the start they cater for everyone. I for one am so glad we came here and already looking forward to making a return visit soon.


...

See more

Lloyd S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

A Wong

70 Wilton Road, London SW1V 1DE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

A great culinary journey

by Paul A.   platinum reviewer (121)

Jan 2019

The open kitchen, with Andrew Wong at the pass calmly checking every single plate, was just about the quietest place in the restaurant, something we’ve remarked on before in popular restaurants in London. While the dining room had the feel of a typical, traditional Chinese restaurant, the food was anything but, as we discovered on valiantly, and successfully, making our way through what amounted to a 15-course Taste of China experience, a memorable culinary trip round the country with surprises galore and the sequence of dishes properly balanced and served at the perfect pace for our appetites. Cured scallop and stuffed crab with wasabi in a sort of “scotch egg” was the first of a pairing along with honey barbecued pork, grated foie gras adding to the many different taste explosions. A dim sum duo from the restaurant’s specialities, both with a slight chilli kick preceded a “street food” dish, the chilli sauce and Szechuan pepper matching the coriander tofu and backed up with peanuts and preserved vegetables. Brilliant steamed pork dumplings with pickled tapioca, ginger vinegar and spring onion were followed by a delicious Peking duck wrap enhanced with caviar and hints of foie gras which led us into fermented wild sea bass with super crunchy skin perched on a smoked duck and fried kale “birds nest” with cod’s roe. A sort of mid-menu palate cleanser of Chinese broccoli discs, braised abalone, and shiitake mushrooms introduced the meat dishes, the first of which came in the form of a pulled lamb burger (bao bun) with a pomegranate salad providing a striking burst of freshness, and the next, genuine Japanese seared wagyu with lardy, “magic” (oyster) mushrooms, crispy ultrafine noodles, mint and lemongrass gave us an amazing demonstration of chef’s skill. And it didn’t end there - we had soy chicken in a caviar wrap and made to a millennial soy recipe with ginger oil exhibiting an almost sweet side and a second chicken dish with an intriguing mild, sweet and spicy sauce. Coconut water ice with black fruit and creamy yogurt was the ideal palate cleanser before the two desserts, a poached meringue looking like an egg with a passion fruit yolk and pomelo and a sugar crisp, and the finale of mandarin sorbet with ginger, raspberry, and white and plain chocolate. Altogether an excellent evening with first-class cuisine, although we did ask ourselves whether bowls rather than plates would have made our inexpert handling of chopsticks any more successful, but we generally managed, at a rather slower tempo than some of the other diners, and came away unscathed. The service was absolutely top-class and it was a pity that the ambient noise level made it virtually impossible, on occasion, to understand everything in the very detailed explanations of the dishes.

...

See more

Paul A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Hook Camden

65 Parkway Road, London NW1 7PP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Unique take on classic fish and chips with amazing taste

by Josh P.   (1)

Jan 2019

Someone recommended this place and have to say everything was amazing from the friendly staff to the unique homemade sauces to the unique coatings on the fish and chips. The fish was super Fresh, the cocktails were great, the tacos were amazing and the dessert was unreal

...

See more

Josh P.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Tracks and Records

94 Middlesex Street, London E1 7EZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great experience

by Michelle .   (2)

Jan 2019

I went to tracks and records Saturday with my family and the overall experience was really great! We loved the food, the music and cocktails. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We will certainly come back.

...

See more

Michelle .'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Roganic

5-7 Blandford Street, London W1U 3DB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Rogan at his best

by Paul A.   platinum reviewer (121)

Jan 2019

The dining room was somewhat on the basic side, but we were soon put at our ease by the warmth of the welcome and we felt quite at home with the Hampshire pink fizz we selected from the wine list, the fizz going very well with the starter mouthful of pumpkin tart, the excellent light pastry married with a pear and pumpkin filling and fragrant bay leaf and accompanied by a refreshing pear and pumpkin juice, and the imaginative mushroom zabaglione with cured egg yolk and puffed rice which made a surprising change from run-of-the-mill snacks. The lead-in to the meal continued with a delightfully simple and really moreish dish of spelt crackers and sweet pickled mushrooms which set us up perfectly for chicken with crispy skin, pickled carrot and superb creamy smoked cod’s roe. A surprising creation of lamb pudding, super tasty crispy lamb belly with a hint of liquorice in the black garlic gel which had us licking our lips, and the excellent artichoke broth with quail egg yolk and swede that followed was accompanied by some top-notch home-made bread, which was not presented as an extra course unlike a certain two-star outfit we had recently dined in. Pork belly and pickled crackling with beetroot, kale and pine nuts might not come across as an exquisite exercise in striking visual and gustatory counterpoint, but this was just that, and the next dish of salt-baked celeriac, whey foam, and caramelised celeriac purée and crisps provided a surprising and perfectly conceived balance between the pork and the mackerel which came next, as well as being just the sort of course that would rank high on a veggie menu. The perfect mackerel, covered in a red cabbage cloak, had a wonderful sauce concocted from sea-fresh mussels and tapioca and was completed by a well-judged portion of kohlrabi. Beef came next, dry-aged local (Cumbrian) meat with an onion purée and beef cheek with luscious potato foam and spring onion giving a light and tasty contrast. The cheese course was Tunworth ice cream with a trompette mushroom powder dusting, a caviar topping and cranberry sauce making the difference between a good dish and an outstanding one. The dessert was a chamomile cream, the full taste of which subtly crept up on the palate and was reinforced by a verjus gel and some poached pear and pine nut praline crumble. The one slight negative came right at the end of the meal in the form of a less than generous serving of mint tea which was not fully compensated for by the delightful petits fours of smoked juniper fudge and pine nut gel. Having been to all Simon Rogan’s previous establishments on a number of occasions, we felt that we had a pretty good idea of what style of food to expect here. We were quite wrong. This was a move in a new and even more exciting direction with the deft development of curing and pickling techniques making for a plethora of superb and unexpected new combinations of tastes and textures. There is now no need to trek all the way to Cumbria for a full hit of Roganic excellence.

...

See more

Paul A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Uno

1 Denbigh Street, London SW1V 2HF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Good food & outstanding service

by Andrew L.   (1)

Jan 2019

The service, the general ambience and the food was excellent.There were three of us in the party and we selected from a wide variation of starters, mains and deserts. I had the Polenta, my daughter the Traditional Bruschetta and my wife had a Crespella. All were great. For mains I had the Wagyu Salmon, my wife the Goose and my daughter had the Ragu' Tagliatelle. Excellent again. Same could be said of the deserts - cheese board, sorbet and the coffee/chocolates dessert. The recommended wines were excellent choices and went well with the meal. Excellent service throughout - attentive with the right balance, timing good and general interaction was great. Would thoroughly recommend UNO and will eat there again.

...

See more

Andrew L.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

31 below

31 Marylebone High Street, London W1U 4PP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

A rare gem in Marylebone

by Radhika J.   bronze reviewer (5)

Jan 2019

I always end up here for breakfast with a friend who is based there... It's such a great find! The interior is dainty, the service is slightly slow, but it's just great! You can catch up with friends and it's just amazing! Highly recommend this to anyone who wants to brunch somewhere cheap and casual!

...

See more

Radhika J.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No