Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Q Verde

291 Sandycombe Road, London TW9 3LU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Q Verde

by Peter N.   (1)

Dec 2017

We had walked the 'Christmas at Kew' trail, then strolled from there for a few minutes to Q Verde. Outside, the restaurant was unassuming, and inside simply understated. Just what we had hoped for. Having 'A Family Atmosphere' would be an appropriate way to describe Q Verde, but not in the sense that it focuses on attracting young children. You are treated as a valued family member, by an Italian family, without good service being compromised. Despite the restaurant being full, our orders were taken promptly, and the food arrived much quicker than one would expect. The menu provided a good selection of authentic Italian dishes, and our choices were beautifully cooked, and full of flavour. I can highly recommend Q Verde.

...

See more

Peter N.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Pomonas

47 Hereford Road, London W2 5AH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Very nice place, excellent food in a bright and modern setting

by Pepi S.   (1)

Dec 2017

The food was delicious, fresh, tasty, and excellent value for money. The setting is bright and airy, modern, nicely designed. It has a terrace for al fresco dining. Ideal for larger groups, such as lunch or dinner with friends or family. Service was welcoming and unpretentious. Great cocktails too. All in all a fun place. I look forward to my next visit.

...

See more

Pepi S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Claude s Kitchen

51 Parsons Green, London, London SW6 4JA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Going down?

by Felix's Guide   silver reviewer (21)

Dec 2017

I used to love this place but last week had a terrible meal with poor inexperienced service. The lamb's neck was a disaster - served like a fillet and not stewed, resulting in something inedible. Lets hope this was a one off.

...

See more

Felix's Guide's rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Gaucho Chancery Lane

125-126 Chancery Lane, London WC2A 1PU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Fantastic steak!

by Nina K.   silver reviewer (20)

Dec 2017

There are many great steak restaurants in London, but the steaks in Gaucho are special. Great quality meat where you can actually taste that the cow had a happy life. It is a bit pricey, but you pay for good quality. Delicious sides and even their simple burgers are tastily impressive. The atmosphere is masculine and modern with quick and efficient service. A perfect place for a romantic date or a meal out with your mates.

...

See more

Nina K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Canto Corvino

21 Artillery Lane, London E1 7HA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

A BEAUTIFUL ITALIAN RESTAURANT IN THE CITY

by paula g.   (3)

Dec 2017

Editor's pick I went to Canto Corvino for brunch with my husband. Just recalling the food we ate makes my mouth water. We had a selection of dishes but started with the lamb ribs, with smoked aubergine, rosemary, sesame and some freshly baked focaccia. I was not sure how this would all come together as I am not a huge fan of aubergine but it was a real show stopper, the lamb was really tender and the powerful and moreish flavours in the sauce almost made me order another straight away. This was followed by an impeccable linguine truffle carbonara with guanciale and pecorino cheese, a comforting dish with delicious and salty squares of guanciale; a more delicate and flavoursome version of pancetta. Then there was the pumpkin and spinach rotolo with hazelnuts and crispy sage, offering an incredible texture and crunch with each mouthful, a charming and very special dish. The dinner menu is tempting too, look away now if you're on a strict budget.... featuring a whole host of tantalizing treats including lobster arancini, seabass cerviche, fassona beef carpaccio and salt cod ravioli. I have already gone ahead and booked this restaurant for colleagues next month and I know exactly what I am ordering, I really cannot wait to go back. There is also an atmospheric candlelit wine cellar which serves as a private dining room seating upto twenty four people if you're planning for a larger dinner. Also excellent was the selection of wine on offer, the Italian prosecco and the very welcoming and friendly staff.

...

See more

paula g.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Wigmore at The Langham

13 Langham Place, Upper Regent Street, London W1B 1JA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

AN UNEXPECTED GEM IN THE WEST END AT THE WIGMORE

by paula g.   (3)

Dec 2017

Editor's pick The Wigmore is everything you could hope for and more in an English pub. The perfect setting to unwind after a stint of shopping in the nearby West end. The food was of high quality and luxurious, not the kind of pub food I've ever experienced before, my favourites were the crab on crumpets and the venison pie - UNBELIEVABLY GOOD. Considering the standard I thought it was all very reasonably priced. The atmosphere was lovely, and it is worth going just to admire the wonderful decoration of a very spectacular venue! The wine and champagne lists were also excellent. As you may be able to tell, I really had a great time at The Wigmore, so much so that I am taking my in-laws there on Saturday!

...

See more

paula g.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Hai Cenato

2 Sir Simon Milton Square, London SW1E 5DJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Decadent Italian fare

by Nina K.   silver reviewer (20)

Dec 2017

Being a huge fan of Jason Atherton, I had high expectations going to this restaurant and I am happy to report that I was not disappointed. Kids eat free on the weekends so my daughter decided to have the pasta with bolognaise sauce. This arrived before the adults ordered and was so delicious I had to steal little fork fulls when my daughter was distracted as she was not sharing! For starters we had arancini, little balls of rich flavoured rice, deep fried and served with a wonderful sauce. At this stage I thought it couldn't get better than this, but the mains were still to come! Our mains of a decadently sticky and rich venison ragu over pasta discs and an unusual lamb neck pizza was wonderfully flavoursome and hearty. Plates were almost licked clean! Dessert was a hot chocolate fondant that was warm and oozy served with a lovely cappuccino ice cream. Jason Atherton did it again! All in all I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a great atmosphere and wonderful Italian food!

...

See more

Nina K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Roux at Parliament Square

11 Great George Street, London SW1P 3AD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Roux at Parliament Square

by Jonathan A.   (1)

Nov 2017

Excellent food beautifully cooked and presented but without being pretentious. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Given the quality of the food, it was very good value for money as well.

...

See more

Jonathan A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Peasant

240 St John Street, London EC1V 4PH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

More chic than rustic

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (226)

Nov 2017

The word peasant conjures up somewhat bucolic images of the English past; labourers and farmhands toiling away in the fields and the like. It perhaps, therefore, seems a strange name with which to adorn a pub, particularly in the trendy London district of Clerkenwell. There is nothing rustic about the venue and its prices (two courses for £20, three for £30) would probably turn even many modern-day peasants away. Nonetheless, the venue is cool and offers a good range of beers and competently executed dishes. The building housing the Peasant speaks of history, invoking the Victorian grandeur of its inception. Some of the features (mosaic floor tiling, high ceilings, splendid staircase) have been preserved, but also enhanced by the addition of retro theatre and music posters as well as neon strip lighting. The combination works, helped by the eclectic selection of songs played (mostly from the 1970s and 1980s), when a comrade and I visited on a recent weekday evening. The dining format is simple: a la carte from around ten different starters and mains, or a set menu. English and French influences feature predominantly. The dishes impressed in terms of their description and presentation although the overall taste would suggest that conception was better than execution. I commenced with a piece of curried mackerel served on an onion bhaji; certainly a novel idea, although let down by overly salty fish and a slightly too greasy bhaji. My main comprised a chicken breast served with artichokes and gnocchi. The artichokes were a stroke of genius and added harmony to the dish. The gnocchi, by contrast, was redeemed only by the gravy accompanying the dish; otherwise they would almost have been inedible. I washed my food down with a wonderful golden ale from nearby Camden, one of several available on hand pump. Service was decent enough (and beer brought to the table in a pub always evokes a slight sense of indulgence in me) although the staff were perhaps a little too hasty in wanting to clear away our dishes. Overall: great vibe and beer; jury out on the food, but would probably be willing to try again.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Marcus at the Berkeley

The Berkeley, Wilton Place, London SW1X 7RL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Outstanding Evening

by Lloyd S.   silver reviewer (27)

Nov 2017

Amazing food , fantastic wine & excellent service I could probably stop there but I won't because this was truly a delightful dining experience. Have long been a fan of Marcus Wareing and seeing him on the TV enhanced our decision to visit his restaurant. The restaurant itself is set in a fantastic location that is the Berkeley Hotel so you get warm & very friendly greeting on arrival you are then escorted through to the restaurant which at first glimpse is stunning and as you looked around all the tables were nicely situated. We were sat in this delightful little booth that form the outer part of the restaurant. You are then greeted by the head of Front of House and his manner really does set the tone for all members of staff who were all warm , friendly & very professional providing excellent service throughout the evening. Well I better move onto the food which was as fantastic as I thought it would be a truly outstanding 8 Course Tasting Menu that started with a stunning Mackerel dish and definitely the best I've ever tasted to be followed by the Orkney Scallop with a Roast Beef dressing. The next course was also amazing Sharpe's Express 1900 potatoes with girolles , Tunworth Cheese & Truffle just magical our next course was a fabulous Octopus served with a Beef Tea to be followed by the Short Rib with Vindaloo Spices. So now we reach the Main Course and yes it was the highlight Herdwick Lamb , hispi cabbage & mustard simply stunning. Now on to desserts which started with a light Smoked Milk & Mandarin to be followed by a absolutely exquisite Toffee , Peanut , Milk Chocolate & Nougat literally heaven on a plate . A word now for the Sommelier who was very charming and certainly produced some amazing wine that matched each course perfectly and with a fantastic brandy to finish . This ended a stunning & memorable evening to which I will definitely look forward to experiencing again

...

See more

Lloyd S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Boar s Head

Ripley, Near Harrogate, Harrogate HG3 3AY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Sorry for staff!!

by Julie M.   (1)

Nov 2017

The pub was very busy because it was the Ripley Christmas Fair. Quite clearly there wasn’t enough staff members. The staff were run off their feet.We waited for sometime to pay our bill.The person who took the payment was serving someone with drinks and preparing our bill at the same time!! If you value your staff and customers then you shouldn’t expect your staff to work in such stressful conditions. They are not paid enough!!

...

See more

Julie M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Hotbox

46 Commercial St, London E1 6LT

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Well worth the meat sweats!

by Lisa B.   (2)

Nov 2017

Visited Hotbox with a group of girls, as a few of them had heard of the restaurant before and hadn't yet ticked it off their list. We'd been out for an afternoon of cocktails, so needed something to soak up the mojitos, and hotbox was just perfect. It's possibly not the place to go on a first date, because you'll end up getting a bit messy, (think munching on delicious chicken wings, with sauce dripping down your elbows). I'm not afraid of wearing my food on a date, but it's not for everyone! The food is incredible, and you'll definitely end up stealing food from each others plates, because you'll want to try everything.The bone marrow (served in a bone) is much nicer than you'd think; light, flavoursome and a great sized starter. We loved the ribs, the short rib (a little fatty but it had rendered down well), and the sides were all well seasoned and tasty. After dinner, head downstairs to the bar (we were there on a Saturday night, and we had it to ourselves!). There's plenty of seating, and some chaise lounges, perfect for sprawling out on, waiting for your food baby to digest). I'd definitely go back to hot box, the boyfriend will love it, staff are really friendly, it's a thumbs up from me!

...

See more

Lisa B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No