Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Tredwells

4A Upper St Martin's Lane, London WC2H 9NY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Fabulous Sunday Lunch

by Lloyd S.   gold reviewer (40)

Aug 2018

We were in town for the the day and wanted to find a place for a nice Sunday Roast. On hearing some good reviews we decided to give Tredwells a try and I have to say the the result was a success. Set on St Martins Lane in the Seven Dials area makes it's location a good one as it's quite central if your spending the day in London. Our arrival at the restaurant the greeting from the staff couldn't have been more friendly & welcoming a really nice way to start. On looking around you see they had booths on the left , tables at the front and the bar on the right all of which were nicely spaced out as well as seating upstairs. We were seated in a booth downstairs which was very spacious. We then looked at the menu one being the Al a carte and the other being the Sunday Lunch menu. You could also mix & match your choices if you liked. Our choice was to go for the Sunday Lunch especially as while we were deciding we saw a couple of the roasts being served. For our starters we had the fabulous Salt & Pepper Cod Cheeks with runner beans and a XO aioli and from the Al a Carte the torched Mackerel with pickled & grilled gooseberry a real treat Now to the mains a roast Pork shoulder and the roast Rump Cap both accompanied by the most amazing Yorkshire puddings you will ever see along with fantastic roast potatoes. The vegetables were fabulous as well especially the greens with bacon jam. We did order a side of Truffled Mac & Cheese well why not which was absolute heaven It was then time for a little rest before we chose our desserts. We decided to choose the Chouxnut with peanut & raspberry and the Salted Caramel Soft Serve with honeycomb both were delicious So that brought an end to a fabulous Sunday Lunch with great food & excellent friendly service. We will definitely be returning if not for another great Sunday Lunch but to try the al a carte. It's a great place for couples , business and the booths are ideal for families. So yes I would highly recommend a visit next time your in town. So finally Thanks to Chef Chantelle and the team for a great lunch and look forward to returning again soon

...

See more

Lloyd S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Earl of March

Lavant Road Lavant, Chichester PO18 0BQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Very disappointing and expensive

by Jacinta N.   (1)

Aug 2018

We couldn't complain whilst there as we were taken there by another couple but the service was poor, we were served tepid water with no options offered, the bread was dry and stale with very little butter to go around, we waited more than an hour for our main course and when we finally managed to get someone's attention , it came immediately so it had obviously been sitting there. Half of my mussels were not cooked properly, my husband's cod and chips (well over 20.-!!) were more batter that fish and it smelled slightly off , the table (inside) was of inadequate size as the plates didn't fit on. It was difficult to get attention to pay our bill. The only good thing was the 'triple cooked chips' but all together a very disappointing evening.

...

See more

Jacinta N.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 4
  • Service: 2
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 1

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Ben s Cornish Kitchen

West End, Marazion, Cornwall TR17 0EL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Pure Joy

by Ben P.   (1)

Aug 2018

Early summer evening meal what a treat from the exotic to pure joy Lamb rump with braised shoulder moussaka and a thai green curry sorbet with yuzu posset my partner had roast hake, olive oil mash provencal roasted veg and the most excellent lemon tart. The service was bubbly & unpretentious. Such a well balanced bistro and will be heading back very soon to work our way through some more of the interesting seasonal wine list.

...

See more

Ben P.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Buen Ayre

50 Broadway Market, London E8 4QJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Whoever didn't give the place 5 stars need to be removed from the gene pool

by Owen F.   (1)

Aug 2018

Ignore anything negative you read about this place, they're simply either idiots who should be thrown into the sea or nasty little competitors. I've been coming here for a few years. Not once has it disappointed. I don't know many things, but I know steak. This place is 10/10 and sits alongside Beast, Goodman and Hawksmoor.

...

See more

Owen F.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

House of Ho Fitzrovia

1 Percy Street, London W1T 1DB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

The House of Ho Hum

by Amy M.   gold reviewer (47)

Aug 2018

I ate here when it first opened and was disappointed with the food and shocked at the price. Two years on, I can’t say the fare fare’s any better. I am lucky enough to live in Shoreditch on top of Little Vietnam which offers everything from the greasy spoon equivalent to fine dining Vietnamese style. I am familiar with the food and love it. Which makes The House of Ho’s offering all the harder to swallow. Literally. (And I understand that the British chef is going more pan Asian than pure play, but still). My father and I opted to share some small plates: The salt and pepper squid was well executed, not greasy or over cooked and the summer rolls were fine, if only filled with unseasoned rice vermicelli and iceberg. The glazed spicy chicken wings, were indeed glazed with a cloying and sweet sauce, that was most definitely not spicy and were lukewarm at best. The bao – a now ubiquitous treat across our fair city – was doughy and the BBQ pulled pork was over cooked, along with what seem to be the accoutrements of Hoi Sin duck, as the flavour profile was the same. Thoroughly shameful. I once again opted for a seafood pho, possibly a glutton for punishment, but when in Rome… Flavourless. Dull. Boring. I dumped soy and chilli sauce in to bring it to life and I had to ask the staff for coriander! My father’s fried noodles were so dry he resorted to a spoonful of my broth to make them moist. Two beers and the bill topped a £100. Avoid. There are so many great Asian restaurants you can get more bang for your buck elsewhere.

...

See more

Amy M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 5
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 3

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Terrace Bar at Madison

One New Change, London EC4M 9AF

Overall rating: star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Service, what’s service?

by Lorraine J.   (1)

Aug 2018

This restaurant should be packed - the location and the roof terrace in this weather should form the perfect combination. I couldn’t work out why it was so easy to get a table at short notice and why when we got there that the restaurant was half empty. That was until after half an hour we had to ask if our table was ready only to be told it had been for ages, they just forgot to tell us. And so began an afternoon of incompetent, sluggish, disinterested and eventually just downright rude service. The food was pretty good, and some of it came in the right order - bread and olives arrived just as we were finishing our starters! But the service was diabolical and haphazard to the point that despite the table service we had to go to the bar ourselves on a couple of occasions. The final insult was delivered in the form of being given a time limit for the terrace seating only to then be harrassed and hurried into leaving the roof terrace some 30 minutes before we’d been told we’d need to give the table back. It wasn’t just us that received this treatment - every table in the place were being told to go and not politely. This caused an unpleasant atmosphere and a constant murmuring of raised and aggressive voices. The clients I was with were livid and all pledged to write their letter of complaint. The floor manager, when faced with this feedback about the quality of service just shrugged dismissively as to say “service, what’s service”...

...

See more

Lorraine J.'s rating

star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 4
  • Service: 1
  • Atmosphere: 1
  • Value: 1

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Lido Cafe

On the Serpentine, Hyde Park, London W2 2UH

Overall rating: star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Worst restaurant experience ever

by Ibrahim D.   (1)

Aug 2018

The food came 45 mins after ordering! After 30 mins of ordering, I went to speak with the manager, Maurizio, he said “the food is coming right now”, I waited for another 10 mins and the food wasn’t there. I went to speak with him again but he wasn’t there and there was another manager so I told him what happened and all he said was “ok” and took my receipt and after 5 mins I got my food. I went to speak with Maurizio about what happened but he was so denial and disrespectful. I emailed the restaurant but no one bothered replying to my email. Worst restaurant experience ever!

...

See more

Ibrahim D.'s rating

star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Atmosphere: 1
  • Value: 1

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Coal Shed London

One Tower Bridge, 4 Crown Square, London SE1 2SE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Food ok but service was was disappointing

by Jennifer H.   (2)

Aug 2018

Food was ok - not as great as some of the restaurants in the nearby area. Service was extremely slow and the restaurant wasn't even full. We wait an hour for our mains to arrive - not great when you have to get back to work! Think it's over priced for what you get unfortunately.

...

See more

Jennifer H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

PF Changs

10 Great Newport Street, London WC2H 7JA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty

avatar

In the heart of Chinatown, this doesn't compete

by Amy M.   gold reviewer (47)

Aug 2018

The first UK outpost of the American chain P.F. Chang’s is here, just on the edge of Chinatown and competing for business. Well. On a Wednesday night in summer, the height of the tourist season, it was quiet. Decked out in dark wood and soft lighting, the restaurant itself is attractive and the atmosphere is ok. The staff were a bit hit and miss. My friend is a strict veggie and when she asked if the dishes could be amended to include tofu, the waiter told her no and just to order some sides. There is a lone veggie main dish of grilled vegetables for £9. Really? We asked for the manager, who was lovely and he accommodated her needs. But, the food was incredibly disappointing. Mediocre is the best superlative that I can apply. I ordered the Dali chicken, a Sichuan dish that apparently had a sauce. To call is a coating on over fried chicken nuggets would be generous, more like a smudge. The vegetable spring rolls were a little doughy being slightly undercooked, but the red chili tofu was very nice. The best part of the meal was the egg fried rice, which isn’t saying a lot. Do yourself a favour, stay away from the cocktails. The ones we tried were absolutely undrinkable, play safe and go with a G&T. Finally, the bill came to £80 and I was disappointed to pay it. You can get a much better meal in Chinatown (if you know where to go) for less money and enjoy it more.

...

See more

Amy M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 5
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Cafe Murano Covent Garden

36 Tavistock Street, London WC2E 7PB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Sorry- I thought my lunch was poor.

by David H.   platinum reviewer (108)

Jul 2018

I like Angela Hartnett's cooking a lot, and I simply can't imagine leaving Murano feeling anything but positively about the food and service. And speaking as I find, I have largely felt similarly about Limewood in Hampshire since she became involved. But I'm incredibly confused about how I'm supposed to respond to this restaurant. It seems to share nothing with Murano at all. It's not "Murano lite" it's "Murano worse" or perhaps more accurately its not Murano at all. There's not a shred of what you get at Murano that's visible here. There is quite simply no credible attempt to translate the values of the parent restaurant to this place. So why call it Murano at all? There are no common values- none. And what satisfaction can Ms Hartnett get from lending her carefully built brand name to a restaurant that is , from what I can see, totally mediocre. I can promise you that if I'd happened to visit Cafe Murano first I wouldn't even think of eating at the parent - I would simply find it hard to accept that any restaurant sharing a name with this one would be likely to deliver quality gourmet cooking. Unlike at Limewood, I can't see anything in this place that is better because it has a star chef associated with it. I visited on a reasonably busy lunchtime with two old friends and fortunately the emphasis was on conversation not food. I chose two courses from a set lunch menu. A kind of quiche with a few salad leaves, and a pasta main that involved sardines and breadcrumbs and , apparently, fennel. Both of these dishes were just about palatable , the pasta very dry , they both had virtually no flavour. Frankly I've eaten better food on planes, in economy. It wasn't expensive , the service was OK, and the premises, whilst not smart, were about what you'd expect given the menu. However the kitchen contrived to deliver a product that has convinced me not under any circumstances to return. This is not the first time I've eaten at a mid-market restaurant under the auspices of a chef of some fame and great skill, and emerged unimpressed. I recall eating at Tredwell's, being similarly disappointed , and haven't eaten at any Marcus Wareing restaurant since- I guess they've become devalued in my eyes because of a decision to link themselves to, and profit from, mediocrity.

...

See more

David H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 4
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Lina Stores

51 Greek Street, London W1D 4EH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Food is good, but cramped and very noisy

by David H.   platinum reviewer (108)

Jul 2018

The menu tells you much of what you need to know. Not a huge amount of choice - its basically a framework for Lina's pasta. So rustic, and none the worse for that, but don't go expecting a gourmet experience. The pasta dishes are what they describe as "pasta size" relating back to the Italian habit of serving pasta as a kind of large starter rather than a main course. So here's the thing; for most people I suspect they'll need a starter ('nduja is great; prosciutto decent) and probably 3 pastas between 2 as your main- more if you're ravenous. Now the pastas may not be huge, but they are certainly cooked nicely and very tasty. So the food's good. Now then, the place. Its not large and all the seating except bar stools is in the basement. The place was busy at lunch. It is frankly cramped and as a function of acoustics its a very loud experience, and quiet conversation with your dining companion pretty much out of the question; this could be the worst first-date restaurant anywhere! And there's nowhere to put backpacks of which there were quite a few, and things get in the way. Frankly the food is worth a better environment than this. And especially so view of the fact that it's good value. Our 2 starters, three pastas, two glasses of decent house wine , a cocktail, and service came to £63. clearly I can speak only for us, but we'd be more than happy to pay another 15% for a bit more space and the ability to sustain a conversation! Service is decent, friendly, explains the concept of the place nicely. And its not too brisk; pace about right. We enjoyed it, & we'll go again, even if we have to remember the ear defenders!

...

See more

David H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 3
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Core

92 Kensington Park Road, London W11 2PN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Core, blimey, loved it!

by Luncheon Vulture   platinum reviewer (68)

Jul 2018

I was always put off by the apparent hushed and revered atmosphere of Restaurant Gordon Ramsey so never got to experience Clare Smyth's cooking there and to be honest, to schlepp all the way across town from east to west was a big ask when she opened Core. But given the rapturous reviews and apparent “casual chic” ambience, I added it to the list for a special occasion meal. As such we duly found ourselves there to celebrate my birthday and oh lordy what a place! The whole experience from start to finish was just an utter joy not only for the exquisite and at times, smile-inducing cuisine, but also from the welcoming and inclusive staff. From first greeting to final goodbyes, this is a team who really do seek to ensure guests have the best possible experience. Initially it was a bit overwhelming as the dining room did appear to be just a sea of dark suited serving staff, but once it began to fill with diners, the balance suddenly seemed to right itself and despite their formal appearance, the interaction we had with every member of the team was delightfully informal. But to the food; we opted for the full tasting menu which was nigh on faultless. Every dish was picture perfect and the taste they manage to pack into even the humblest of ingredients is, at times, beyond belief; most used utterance of the evening was “wow”! My standouts have to be the potato and roe and the lamb carrot as picked up by many esteemed reviewers. Totally concur that both these dishes have “signature” written all over them. The bloke loved the potato but I don't think his suggestion of it accompanying every main dish is likely to be take up somehow. Our only slight disappointment was the limited selection available for the optional cheese course but in retrospect that probably wasn't a bad thing as we left very full of belly. Of course, food and service as good as this does not come cheap so in some ways it is good that we are not locals as I think we'd be bankrupt within a year. However, as a singular treat for a special occasion it will really take some beating and definitely worth making a special trip for.

...

See more

Luncheon Vulture's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No