Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Brasserie Zedel

20 Sherwood Street, London W1F 7ED

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Lovely pre theatre meal

by Sarah E.   bronze reviewer (6)

Aug 2017

Me and my other half went here before heading to the theatre we were pleasantly surprised by the lovely decor and the venue it was stunning, we went for the set menu which is super good value at £9.95 for two course definitely worth a visit you wont be disappointed, service was a little slow but apart from that it was a real treat.

...

See more

Sarah E.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

City Spice Brick Lane

138 Brick Lane, London E1 6RU

Overall rating: star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

AWFUL

by jake k.   (1)

Aug 2017

We were promised a 15 pound set meal and left with a 25 pound set meal and a hefty service charge. Be sure not to overpay. Food was mediocre and your generic curry flavours and film of oil. For value it is filling and tasty because of salt and oil but definitely not if you are craving good Indian food!

...

See more

jake k.'s rating

star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Atmosphere: 1
  • Value: 1

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Fancy Crab

92 Wigmore Street, London W1U 3RD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Lunch at Fancy Crab

by Serena K.   (1)

Aug 2017

Fancy Crab opened in early August 2017 in the former premises of Black and Blue on Wigmore St. It's clear from entering that there's been significant investment in the site and we were shown to our table quickly by an attentive host who brought us menus and water. Wine selection was decent and when the wine we chose was out of stock they apologised immediately and brought us a superior bottle at the same price. The restaurant specialises in Red King Crab and its menu describes the method of farming (only male crabs are caught, crabs are immediately frozen etc.) There are three various "cuts" of crab, ranging in price from £14 to £23 and they can be served raw or grilled. There are also a selection of starters and mains which all include crab in some way, such as crabcakes, singapore chili crab etc. We all opted for the grilled "merus" cut (which was essentially the piece at the top of the leg) plus some sides after being talked through the menu by the waiter (adn shown a whole giant crab on ice). The crab arrived and tasted fantastic, it has a wonderful texture and rich flavour very reminiscent of lobster. However what the waiter had neglected to tell us was that we'd only get one piece each. It was a laughably small portion. We should have complained, especially as it wasn't made clear to us that we'd only get one piece - for £23 I'd expect more than a starter size portion... It was a shame as the restaurant is nice, the crab is delicious and the service, if a little skittish and nervous at the moment, will I am sure, soon settle down. However quite honestly I can go down the road and get a whole lobster for £20 - which is probably what I'd do next time instead...

...

See more

Serena K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Sakagura

8 Heddon Street, London W1B 4BS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Nice, upmarket Japanese that won't break the bank.

by Amy M.   platinum reviewer (50)

Aug 2017

As a complete Nipponophile and someone who would happily survive solely on sushi, I try to limit my visits to the flashier restaurants, knowing that most Japanese places are much more expensive than a western peer. My friend and I were going for a nice girly dinner and had booked a table for two, this increased to five, literally 10 minutes before we were due. Initially, they were going to cram us into a booth as it was a busy Thursday night, but they did manage to accommodate us on a much more commodious table even before we got our drinks. The menu offers something for everyone from Wagyu steaks to Robata to Sushi. Let’s start with the sushi. I ordered the omakase selection, which is circa 16 pieces for £39, a little pricey, but they were exquisite. The tuna was fatty and yielding, the sea bream lovely and buttery, completed with perfectly done eel. My companion had a super Wagyu steak served deliciously pink and chargrilled on the outside, offering a lovely level of smokiness and I am reliably informed that the Black Cod Tonkotsu Ramen is spectacular. (It’s a limited-edition special on the menu, so go and try it immediately before you miss it). They have a great sake list and they will steer you right in your selection without breaking the bank. The service was efficient and unintrusive, if not a little inattentive when our drinks were running low. This place is a great addition to Heddon Street.

...

See more

Amy M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

National Cafe

National Gallery, Trafalgar Square, London WC2N 5DN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

A little treasure for lunch in town

by SEW   bronze reviewer (13)

Aug 2017

There are two sections of the National Café, one is self-service, which offers the most delicious selection of cakes that I have seen in a long time, however, where we were eating is the table service part of the café, where it is possible to making a booking. There is a set lunch with two or three courses which had enough variety for us all and an excellent vegetarian option. Particularly delicious were the salted caramel and cinnamon doughnuts with toffee sauce. Not only was the food delicious, but it was also extremely good value for money. The staff were lovely and the service excellent without disturbing us. Highly recommended, will be back.

...

See more

SEW's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Hai Cenato

2 Sir Simon Milton Square, London SW1E 5DJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Disappointing

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (85)

Aug 2017

3 of us ate here last night, we arrived a few minutes before our booking time and the table before us were paying so we went upstairs to the bar for a drink, the whole place was pretty busy even at 7.30pm, a nice buzzy atmosphere, so good first impressions. Once we were seated we ordered a bottle of rose and some arancini to share while we were reading the menu and they took around 20 minutes to come, they were tasty but too salty, particularly when you have ham on top as well. We then waited approximately 20 minutes again for that plate to be cleared and for someone to take our order. The goats cheese and zucchini pizza was a big hit, the pizza bianca with smoked mozzarella, chicken and BBQ smoked corn, was bland, with not enough chicken or corn, and way too much cheese, and the beef shin ragu so was overly salted that it was inedible - I did tell the waiter and asked him to feed that back to the kitchen. All in all, it was a pretty average meal, only made bearable by the fact that the bill only came to £83, so at least it wasn't expensive and disappointing. I am a big Atherton fan, but this is nowhere near the quality I would expect. Also, it took the best part of 3 hours to get served 2 courses and the bill, whilst we were not in a hurry and I am not keen on restaurants who table-turn, we had to wave to get our waiters attention every time, we got the impression that he might be learning the job, although he was perfectly pleasant. Front of house staff on the door were good fun.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Ugly Dumplings

1 Newburgh Street, London W1F 7RB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Great for a quick, tasty bite

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (85)

Aug 2017

A small restaurant with a relatively small menu (mostly dumplings but a few salad side dishes too), I think there were around 8 different dumpling fillings to choose from, and they come in threes. I was very disappointed that the pork belly dumplings weren't available but this was all forgiven as we ordered the "special of the day" beef rendang (so good we ordered another plate), the duck and the satay chicken, all were delicious alongside a pickled watermelon and avocado salad. The only gripe is that a few of the dumplings had gone quite hard (maybe not cooked through quite enough?) by the time we had finished. Service is swift and friendly, decent bottle of wine and the bill was £43, we would definitely pop in again, I think it gets pretty busy on Friday and Saturday evenings, we we were there on a Monday night at 7pm (and it was half full). We sat upstairs as it's a good people watching spot, but there are more seats downstairs too.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Aline of Lebanon

14 Maddox Street , London W1S 1PQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Over-priced and underwhelming

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (215)

Aug 2017

The title says it all. The restaurant has few redeeming features and serves very average Middle Eastern food at a Mayfair mark-up. Service was among the most gauche I had witnessed recently. And, the lamp fittings are so badly designed that almost every customer in the place seemed to bang their head on them. I must have walked past Aline many times without ever realising it was there – understandable given that it looks more like a glorified café than a restaurant when viewed from the outside. Moreover, given the choice of so many other great places on the same street (Goodman, 28:50, Sakana-Tei etc.), it is not as if diners struggle for options in the vicinity. My comrade had booked Aline and so I ventured in dutifully, hoping to be surprised by their culinary offerings. I was disappointed given that the menu offered nothing that could not be found on the nearby Edgware Road – for half the price and twice the quality. The hoummus was bland and excessively creamy, with no spice flavouring whatsoever; the vine leaves could easily have come from a tin; the cauliflower was boiled such that it lost all flavour integrity whatsoever. The falafel at least had a decent texture and the grilled meat was executed competently enough. The same could not be said of the service: menus removed from the table before we had even ordered (a pity our server barely spoke any English), no attempt to up-sell drinks, dirty plates replaced without providing new cutlery, half-finished dishes removed and so on. For £80+ (with only mineral water drunk), I certainly was glad not to be the one footing the bill. If you want to eat Middle Eastern food – and come away satisfied with a still reasonably full wallet – this is not the place to come.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 5
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Chotto Matte

11-13 Frith Street, London W1D 4RB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Another great visit

by Chris H.   silver reviewer (16)

Aug 2017

I first visited this restaurant 2 years ago, firstly for a showcase event and then another two times with friends. Last night we had the pre-theatre bento box including a glass of prosecco which was £25 plus we ordered pisco sours (delicious) and another glass of prosecco each. The service was impeccable. The pre-theatre dinner menu was excellent. I highly recommend you try Chatto Matte. Great location in Soho.

...

See more

Chris H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Osteria del Mercato

13-15 Leadenhall Market, London EC3V 1LR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Favourites in the Market

by Joanne C.   (2)

Aug 2017

I've been coming here myself and booking it for my boss for years, it's my favourite in the market, he likes it too! I just love the ambience, the food and the service. Makes this restaurant an absolute gem.

...

See more

Joanne C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Bleeding Heart Bistro

Bleeding Heart Yard, London EC1N 8SJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Vegan Friendly

by Claire B.   (1)

Aug 2017

One of our guests happen to be Vegan, we called the Bleeding heart and they advised it wasn't a problem, Upon arrival the guest didn't fancy the options on the menu, we started to think this was a disaster and would have to leave, but the waitress went and spoke to the chef who came up with additional items our guest could eat. The chef made up some vegan friendly food for the guest which he loved, in fact had the rest of the guests feeling jealous with the deciously looking vegan friendly fresh made food. The chef managed to save the day with his quick thinking! Everyone enjoyed the food all in all a nice restaurant.

...

See more

Claire B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

German Gymnasium

1 King’s Boulevard, London N1C 4BU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Fantastic cocktails and food

by Jade P.   (4)

Aug 2017

The venue is beautiful and very spacious, I'd been waiting for ages to go to this place and it did not disappoint. The staff were extremely friendly and very attentive. We ordered from the set menu which was great value for money. After our dinner, they found us 2 chairs at the bar where we continued our evening. The cocktails were delicious, all the barmen were Italian and took great pride in their drinks. We did not want the night to end. Will 100% go back.

...

See more

Jade P.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Ping Pong Bow Bells House

1 Bread Street, London EC4M 9BE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Great place for a quick lunch

by Jade P.   (4)

Aug 2017

I've been to Ping Pong many times and absolutely love it. They offer set menu's which are great value for money. They give you a menu and you tick off the items that you want. The food comes out as soon as it is ready (very quick) and you can continue to order as you go. I love the atmosphere here, it feels very sociable and the staff are always very laid back and friendly. Great cocktail list too.

...

See more

Jade P.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Bali Brasserie

Kingsway Court First Avenue, Hove BN3 2LR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Recommend eating here

by anne r.   (4)

Aug 2017

We had a lovely evening at Bali Brasserie. A quirky and unusual place. The staff were very friendly and helpful and service was spot on. The food was delicious and very good value. We had a la carte but will be returning to try the weekend lunch buffet. I can highly recommend giving this lovely restaurant a try

...

See more

anne r.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No