Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

64 Degrees

53 Meeting House Lane, Brighton BN1 1HB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

A very pleasant dinner

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (73)

Feb 2017

This tiny restaurant in the Lanes of Brighton has been on my list to visit having watched Michael Bremner on GBM. The restaurant is tiny with one table that seats 6, one that seats 4 and one that seats 2 and the rest are stools around the pass. We arrived at the time of our booking to be told that the people in front of us were finishing up and settling the bill, so we waited 10 minutes or so. Once seated, one of us had a silent pool gin and elderflower cocktail and the other two a glass of champagne each. There were 16 dishes on the menu (comprising fish, meat, vegetables and dessert) and they recommended 7-9 dishes for three of us to share. We were served an amuse-bouche of salt cod brandade with toasted rye bread which was very tasty and would have been perfect to accompany our pre-dinner drinks but for some reason it arrived after the first 2 of our courses. We ordered seabass ceviche, butternut squash with goats cheese, tagliatelle with yolk and truffle, gurnard and mussels with red pepper reduction, beef rib and carrots, and lamb. We were given another amuse-bouche of cucumber and lime sorbet and we finished up sharing a delightful chocolate and coffee mousse and rhubarb and custard with shortbread, all washed down with a bottle of Riesling. It was a very pleasant meal, the food was flavoursome and well-presented with some interesting twists. It’s a long way from London for an evening meal so I would only return if I happened to be in the area. The only negative was the rather rude waiter, who came over to our table while we were eating dessert to say that we had to finish quickly as the next diners had arrived (no one had ever told me that it was a 2 hour booking). I pointed to that we had to wait 10+ minutes for the table before us to vacate, so we were delayed sitting and his answer was “that’s hardly the point is it?”.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Lansdowne

90 Gloucester Avenue, London NW1 8HX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Decent Gastropub – good pizzas

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (73)

Feb 2017

This gastropub has been one of our “locals” for over 20 years, and we have gone through periods where we have eaten here regularly and then not for a year or so due to ever changing chef and kitchen staff (I have no idea whether ownership has changed over this time). We decided to pop in a few weekends ago as I fancied a pizza and knew that they had an oven there and have been back again since. The pizzas are pretty decent, and the rest of the food coming out of the kitchen looks good too. If the wait for tables is any indication, it certainly seems to be thriving on weekend lunchtimes full of groups of friends, families, “Sunday football dads and their kids”. It’s back on our weekend lunch list for now.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Aviary at Royal London House Hotel

22-25 Finsbury Square, London EC2A 1DX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

What a disappointment

by Joanna S.   (1)

Feb 2017

Ordered the cheese burger, worst I have had in a long time, including any at a fast food outlet. Consisted of two frozen patties, overcooked, with a slice of processed cheese in between. No tomato, no lettuce, no sauce. The chips were also frozen thin cut fries. Could've gone to McDonald's and had infinitely better for much less. When mentioned to the waitress that it was overcooked and tasted burnt, I was told it was cooked on a chargrill which gave a specific flavour. She really wasn't interested.

...

See more

Joanna S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 4
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Temper

23 Broadwick Street, London W1F 0QA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

A Carnivore’s delight

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (73)

Feb 2017

Editor's pick Temper was recommended to us by a number of people who all said that A) finding the door is a challenge – it is, and B) not to sit at the uncomfortable stools at the bar – so we didn’t. We ordered the Aged cheeseburger (very tasty), smacked cucumber (which was described by the waitress as “cucumber just squashed/mashed”, but there was certainly more to it than that, beef fat potatoes with ogleshield – good, but could have done with some seasoning. You can then order a selection of grilled meats by the 100g, and we had the goat – delicious and the lamb (my favourite) and green sauce on the side. All in all a very enjoyable meal. Service was slick and our Portuguese waiter was keen to tell us all about the produce and assist with wine selection. Top tip – when they offer to take your coat to the cloakroom, let them, otherwise it will smell like “Guy Fawkes” on 5th November!

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Hereford Road

3 Hereford Road, London W2 4AB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty

avatar

Uninspiring

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (194)

Feb 2017

I had had high hopes visiting Hereford Road, but found them mostly disappointed. Located on the site of a former butcher’s and with offal as its USP, I have been led to believe that Hereford Road might have the potential to be as west London equivalent of the ever-popular St. John. At 7pm on a recent Thursday evening, I certainly didn’t expect to be the first customer in the restaurant and as I sat down to survey my surroundings, I considered that whatever the place may have in its favour in terms of food, it would have to compensate amply for the palpable lack of atmosphere. Even if this initial assessment may appear too harsh, neither the overall feel of the place nor the food ever got going. At its peak that evening, the restaurant was barely half full and any voice much above normal volume registered abruptly. The tables are well-spaced and the light-well a nice touch, but probably to see Hereford Road at its best, you need a summer’s day with a few more customers present. Despite the fact that the staff were hardly rushed off their feet, all of those with whom we interacted seemed really to struggle in summoning enthusiasm for the job they were doing. When my dining comrade asked our server which of two mains she would recommend, her answer was hedged, evasive and half-hearted. I also overheard another server highlighting specials of the day to a nearby table, yet bafflingly, these were not offered to us. Had they been, I doubt whether my appraisal of the culinary output would have been any more effusive. The dishes we had were essentially unmemorable. My game paté starter was tasteless and lacking moisture. It could have comprised game or gammon and I might not have been any wiser. My onglet main became a chore to eat; the meat chewy and unrelenting. My comrade enjoyed the aesthetic presentation of his dishes but certainly did not lavish any notable praise on their taste. At ~£60/head (wine and service included), I was left distinctly feeling that my money could have been much better spent elsewhere.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Holy Birds

94 Middlesex Street, London E1 7DA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great place to catch up with friends

by Sarah R.   silver reviewer (24)

Feb 2017

I had a fun night out with my friends at Holy Birds. Great cocktails, delicious food and friendly service. My only complaint was it was a little bit lacking in atmosphere as the city seemed to be quiet on a Saturday night in February but I'm sure if we went during the week the place would be buzzy and busy.

...

See more

Sarah R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Brasserie Max at the Covent Garden Hotel

Covent Garden Hotel, 10 Monmouth Street, London WC2H 9HB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Relaxed pre-theatre dinner

by Sarah R.   silver reviewer (24)

Feb 2017

I was very excited to be going to the Harry Potter Play, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and wanted to mark the special occasion with a suitable venue for an early dinner. Covent Garden hotel is a short walk away from the Palace theatre where the play is being staged. We were given a comfortable table in the corner, the restaurant was busy as most people were finishing their afternoon tea or enjoying after work cocktails. The afternoon tea looked delicious and is reasonably priced but we decided to have dinner. I enjoyed the fish and chips, delicious on the skin chips the right portion so I wasn't too full. My fellow diners enjoyed the venison with artichoke puree, broccoli and fat cut chips to the side. They said it was perfectly cooked and tasted delicious. I ordered a glass of Chablis and the waitress informed me that they had given me the more expensive bottle that you couldn't usually open by the glass for the same price as they had a bottle open. I savoured every minute as it was devine! The service is friendly and fantastic. my only complaint was the dessert. I am an ice cream connoisseur, it was presented beautifully but was over frozen so I couldn't taste the flavours, only the ice. My friend had the ginger creme brulee which she said was delicious. If you want to see the Harry Potter play, head over to my blog page for tips on how to get them threeshotsahead.co.uk

...

See more

Sarah R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Balans Cafe

34 Old Compton Street, London W1D 4TS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Fantastic Service and a fun place to catch up with friends.

by Sarah R.   silver reviewer (24)

Feb 2017

I love it at Ballans. Whenever I come here we always get such friendly and efficient service, it is a pleasure to dine there. I booked a pre-theatre dinner as we were off to the Harry Potter Play, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Part One) and it is close to the Palace theatre. The restaurant has been redecorated since I last dined there and I liked the relaxed feel of the place. We had a booth which gave us plenty of room for our coats, there were three of us dining. We enjoyed a glass of Prosecco whilst we waited for our friend to arrive. I enjoyed a delicious tuna steak along with a salad and skinny fries. The tuna was fresh and cooked perfectly medium rare. One of my friends had the duck served with a rhubarb sauce, which she really enjoyed. The other ordered Lamb rump steak which was also cooked just how he liked. I had ice cream for dessert and it was creamy and full of flavour plus well presented. We didn't order any cocktails but could see them being made and they looked delicious. Ballans is the perfect place to catch up with your friends which ever time of day you dine.

...

See more

Sarah R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Pidgin

52 Wilton Way, London E8 1BG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Homing Pidgin

by Mike S.   bronze reviewer (6)

Feb 2017

Editor's pick The ever changing weekly menu is the main attraction at Pidgin. The menu and the small, cosy atmosphere. The two main attractions to Pidgin are the menu, the small, cosy atmosphere and the excellent staff. Amongst the attractions to Pidgin are... I'll start again... I've been meaning to come here for almost a year now, but being an SW man it's a bit of a commute to Hackney. Luckily I work up at Old Street now so it's just a short hop across to this tiny venue no bigger than a living room. And that's the first thing you notice when you walk in. It's like a living room. People chatting, friends laughing, it has that relaxed feel that is often missing from places of this calibre. I don't like eating in libraries. The menu changes weekly, and we were lucky to get the famous chicken with beer sauce as the chief course. Dining with me was a Michelin Virgin, so this was a pretty perfect introduction, somewhere were the food is the focus, not what the dress code is, or how you're not meant to laugh too loudly. And what food it is, I expected great things and it was exactly what I'd hoped. Every course was something new and exciting both in terms of combinations of flavours and flavours themselves. Black pudding with muscles and sea vegetables. Kohl Rabi with rice paper, chili bean paste and black vinegar. And the stand out course for me, chicken, Beer, pickled, pommes dauphines, rye bread sauce, greens. Finished off with Apple, truffle and peanut butter, with just the sweetest hint of honey. And that's the beauty of this place. It's fantastic food in a relaxed vibey place where the staff are more than prepared to have a chat with you and share a joke. Will I be back? Of course, I just won't like the hour taxi ride home at the end, though after all that food a snooze is probably what you need...

...

See more

Mike S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Uli

5 Ladbroke Road, London W11 3PA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Amazing find in Noting Hill

by sebastian r.   (4)

Feb 2017

This was one of the best meals I have had in ages, from the outside it does not look much, but once you get in is when the magic happens. Every dish was made perfectly, full of flavour and hot, and a joy to eat. The service was outstanding with all the staff being friendly and helpful from the moment we sat down. we had a great night and the atmosphere was electric, buzzy, lively and fun. Cannot wait to go again.

...

See more

sebastian r.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

KuPP

Unit 53, 5 Merchant Square, London W2 1AS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

My KuPP of tea!

by lillie c.   (1)

Feb 2017

Now, I don't know about you but I'm glad the Vikings invaded Britain. Those axe-wielding-outlaws seasoned the English language with some serious Scandinavian gems. We can thank them for words like 'berserk' and 'ransack' but we can also appreciate other things the Vikings brought to the table. Quite literally. Because they brought some mad good grub along with all that fighting talk. And now, thousands of years on, we are given a taste of it at KuPP, London's newest and best Scandinavian inspired cafe bar. Slap-bang in between Paddington and Edgware Road, KuPP boasts a varied and pretty colourful menu, mixing the best of British with a Scandinavian twist. And the best bit? There's even a heap of choices for those of us striving to stick to those 'new year new me' health kicks. Nice. With its Instagram-approved-interior, school canteen reminiscent chairs and cacti-clad tables, KuPP offers brunch, lunch, hot and cold drinks to boot. Take your pick from pancakes with a side of sour cream to shock your taste buds into submission, or sample KuPP's Breakfast Bord which comes jam-packed with salmon, ham, cheese, bread and well, jam come to mention it. Or if you're really hungry go for the KuPP sharing Bord full of a range of meat that looks fit to fill a Viking Battalion. Salivating just at the sound of it? You are not alone my friend. So make like a Viking and march your way on down to KuPP pronto. You'd be berserk not to.

...

See more

lillie c.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Pescatori

57 Charlotte Street, London W1T 4PD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Welcome return to an old favourite

by Ralph A.   (1)

Feb 2017

Thought I would find pretty well only fish on the menu but although fish is a strong theme of this restaurant, the theme is essentially classy Italian food. I wanted to ask if the lemons really were from Amalfi and was to shy to question in what way they were different but are overall experience was pleasant. A lovely ambience, a wonderful table as we were early, excellent caring service, and first class food. With a discount, it was acceptable. Without, they have serious competition elsewhere

...

See more

Ralph A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Picture Marylebone

19 New Cavendish Street, London W1G 9TZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Lots of appreciative noise from our table!

by Toni V.   (1)

Feb 2017

The style is a little cold and stark when you first walk in. Very grey and black and the front seats felt a little "in the window". But don't let this fool you! The food was full of warmth and depth, and we all left with full tummies muttering about how much we enjoyed the evening. We ordered off the A La Carte menu with the recommendation that we should choose 3 items as the plates were on the smaller side. I think I possibly could have been happy with 2 and a dessert as left a little on the full side after ordering dessert on top of the three plates. Each plate was like a little picture. Beautifully balanced and unexpected surprises of taste, we all ummmed and ooohed through the meal, grabbing off one another's plates to make sure we didn't miss anything. We had a lovely bottle of Pino from Germany which against traditional expectations of one or two of our party was excellent. The menu was date stamped so I'm assuming it's seasonal or even daily but if you do go anytime soon and they have the Cod with hazelnuts it comes highly recommended. The staff were warm and friendly and knowledgeable about their menu and wine list. It's definitely on my personal recommendation list and I wouldn't turn down any opportunity to go back.

...

See more

Toni V.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No