Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Casa Tua Kings Cross

106 Cromer Street, London WC1H 8BZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Delightful restaurant close to King's Cross

by Jill C.   bronze reviewer (8)

Sep 2017

I went there for dinner after an early show at the Curzon Bloomsbury. What a lovely little find! We were greeted in the most friendly manner, and seated immediately. We ordered some sweet potato crisps with garlic aioli dip to enjoy whilst we perused the menu. My son had the fresh pasta, and I the sea bass. Both dishes very good. The only downside I'd say, is that the wine was expensive at £20 for a carafe of white. On the whole would totally recommend for the lovely atmosphere, and terrific service.

...

See more

Jill C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Cube

4 Blenheim Street, London W1S 1LB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Maths gone wrong

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (218)

Sep 2017

Does London need another over-priced sushi restaurant? Admittedly good Japanese food is never cheap and Cubé (an irritating name that made me think of maths) has tried to go for a twist on the conventional by offering tapas as well as sushi, but I certainly didn’t come away from here in any sense wowed. I think the problem is one of identity: it’s not clear what Cubé wants to be: classic Japanese or something slightly different and more trendy, hence the dissonance throughout our visit. The interior is a clear homage to the traditional – think simplicity with wood panelling and open view into the preparation area – and should diners wish, they can witness an exquisite performance from the chef in action with knives and all. However, from our table on the edge of things, the atmosphere felt somewhat muted throughout the evening, even if the place did fill up and the staff tried their hardest to be friendly. The food started promisingly with both the cold and hot tapas dishes impressing: a succulent spicy tuna tartare and ibercio pork steak demonstrating the kitchen’s prowess from different ends of the spectrum. Our six tapas dishes (for our party of three) arrived swiftly and were similarly ingested with speed. There was then a very long wait for the sushi, which was, well… pretty average, almost an anti-climax given the anticipation. We also received poor advice from our server as the sushi portion was vastly insubstantial for our group, necessitating a second order for more and then another wait. Had Cubé perhaps thought about it, then more tapas – their differentiator – and less sushi might have made more sense – even if the metaphorical horse had clearly already left the stable by this stage. A £60+ bill per person (when we were only drinking beer) also seemed steep. Best characterised a work-in-progress; there is potential here, but I would rather be spending this sort of money at nearby Ikeda or Sakana-tei.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Five Fields

8-9 Blacklands Terrace, London SW3 2SP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Five Stars

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (218)

Sep 2017

Three-quarters of the way through 2017 and I can confidently state that a recent dinner at The Five Fields constitutes the best culinary experience I have enjoyed in London this year. Food, wine and service were all superlative. Small touches are often the most memorable: the occasion for our visit was the birthday of my dining comrade and the menus at our table were stamped with birthday greetings – an easy thing to do, but very gratifying. The restaurant has also remembered that my comrade was vegetarian and her dedicated tasting menu was presented with a flourish from our waiter’s pocket. The champagne with which we began was deep and rich from a boutique grower (Charotgne-Taillet) and our amuse-bouches a great way to kick things off. A tiny tart of snail and black pudding was superbly innovative and packed an incredible amount of flavour for something so simple. Back to the small touches and bread/butter is often a great way to gauge a restaurant. Here, there was a great range (the challenge was not to eat too much before the food proper arrived) and the butter had a melt-in-the-mouth texture. We proceeded to the tasting menus, comprising seven dishes in total. Not a single was a disappointment: from my side, the suckling pig and grouse were absolute stand-outs, while my colleague praised highly her spelt and cep risotto. We opted for paired wines throughout and our sommelier showed knowledge and enthusiasm, taking the effort to engage with us. Things concluded with a small cake plus candle – a delightful way to end. Pricing was comparable to other similar experiences in the capital and worth every penny. If there were one quibble, then it might be the loud voices of some of the well-heeled Chelsea residents seated on nearby tables, which intruded somewhat. Maybe it comes with the territory, but a return visit is undoubtedly in order.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Zumbura

36a Old Town, London SW4 0LB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Lively indian tapas-style Clapham restaurant

by Timothy P.   silver reviewer (15)

Sep 2017

I'm surprised there's no recent review on this 3-year old lively Indian joint. We ate as a group of 4 and had both specials - grilled prawns and calamari, plus spiced lamb chops, lentil dhall, peas, okra and roast chicken pieces; all hot fresh, tasty. Bottle of spicy Riesling at £32 was reasonable. it is a small place and the noise does reverberate. A filling meal for 2 came out at £70 which was good value.

...

See more

Timothy P.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Crooked Billet Wimbledon

14-15 Crooked Billet , London SW19 4RQ

Overall rating: star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Evening meal

by Liam D.   (1)

Sep 2017

Telephone booking for Wednesday evening and urged reserve table when restaurant was empty anyway. Menu items were not available when ordered, and alternative meals suggested instead. Ale pie meal was in fact watery soup in a bowl with raw crustation pastry plonked on top. Barely warm meals. Extremely disappointed and embarrassment to my company too. Never again!!!!!! Not written with malice just the painful truth.

...

See more

Liam D.'s rating

star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 4
  • Service: 2
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 2

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

La Dame de Pic at Four Seasons Ten Trinity Square

Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square, London EC3N 4AJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Wonderful meal

by Paul A.   (1)

Sep 2017

You'll be treated like a king (or queen) from the moment you walk through the door with surprises coming out from the chef (in addition to the courses you order) as the evening goes on. It's not 'cheap' but for a special meal, be it with a client or a loved one it's worth every penny as you'll be talking about it for years to come ....

...

See more

Paul A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Piccolino Sheffield

4 Millennium Square, Sheffield S12JJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Great setting

by Dan R.   (2)

Sep 2017

Piccolino offers great food and good service, but for me its best asset is the setting. it is located in Sheffield's Peace Gardens, and the outdoor undercover terrace is a fantastic place for a meal out. Would recommend.

...

See more

Dan R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Waterloo Bar and Kitchen

131 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Good find!

by Lucy S.   (1)

Sep 2017

This place may be under-rated - it doesn't have much kerbside appeal and could do with an aesthetic overhaul. But the service was excellent, the food very enjoyable, the bottle of wine much, much cheaper than a swanky restaurant and really good. We had a very pleasant family Sunday lunch there which catered well for the vegetarians among us. It should have been heaving with customers but was only a quarter full. It deserves more!

...

See more

Lucy S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Prezzo Eastbourne

1 Terminus Buildings, Upperton Road, Eastbourne BN21 1BA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

A nice pre-theatre meal

by Carole F.   (1)

Sep 2017

We were welcomed immediately at the door and having booked a table were very soon shown to it. The waitress brought menus and we ordered wine which was with us in a flash. We ordered the Antipasti to share for a starter and this was really so delicious that we both said we could quite happily have made it our main meal! However, we had ordered the Sea Bass which, although rather on the dry side, was very tasty and filling. We had a 40% off main courses voucher so the whole meal including a carafe of wine came to just £20 each so we left very happy bunnies to enjoy our trip to the theatre just around the corner.

...

See more

Carole F.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

About Thyme

82 Wilton Road, London SW1V 1DL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great set menu

by Dawn G.   silver reviewer (15)

Sep 2017

2 courses £24.50 I had white asparagus wrapped in smoked salmon with mustard on the side - perfect, light, and refreshing. Followed by Tilapia with new potatoes & green vegetables. WOW fish cooked & filleted to perfection. Looking forward to my next visit

...

See more

Dawn G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

34

34 Grovesnor Square (Entrance on South Audley St), London W1K 2HD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Wonderful evening

by Sharon P.   (1)

Sep 2017

What an incredible experience, starting with a choice of tables, despite the restaurant being busy. We wanted a romantic evening and didn't think sitting next to a loud table of 8 people would be the answer, so were given the choice of 3 different tables, without a hint of this being inconvenient. The service was slick and the sommelier was extremely helpful, with a great recommendation. I've dined at 34 previously and had forgotten quite how succulent the steak is. Always a good sign of a well rounded menu when you can't choose between 3 different starters, but the decision to go with the shrimp cocktail was a wise one. So refreshing not to be asked to settle the bill because they "need the table back" which seems to be par for the course in most high end restaurants these days. Can't wait to return.

...

See more

Sharon P.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Padella

6 Southwark Street, London SE1 1TQ

Overall rating: star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

PADELLA Staff and Manager do not welcome families- Be Warn

by Fion P.   (1)

Sep 2017

NOT a FAMILY FREINDLY RESTAURANT Before we queued we told the tall bald waiter that we have a child and needed the tables in the basement. However after 45 mins of queuing with a now very hungry little toddler, we were almost to the front of queue, we were told we have to wait another 45 mins because they just filled up the tables in the basement. But there were still many available counter seats which other customers with no children can seat on. So why did the tall bald waiter give away the table downstairs well knowing that the next people in queue is a family who really need the table seats!?! When we complaint about this- we were asked to leave the queue by waiter. When we complained to the manager- she was siding the waiter and asked us to leave the restaurant Lovely pasta- BUT IF COMING WITH LITTLE CHILDREN - AVOID PADELLA

...

See more

Fion P.'s rating

star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 1
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No