Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Zoblers at The Ned

The Ned, 27 Poultry, London EC2R 8AJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Best Jewish Food in London

by Doron E.   (1)

May 2017

After seeing an add for the new Ned Hotel, I decided to wander one in one day during my work lunch. I was very pleasantly surprised to see a New York Jewish Deli inside. I was very pleasantly suprised with the menu and quality of food. I have tried about a half dozen New York Jewish restaurants around London. Most make decent attempts at Jewish comfort food but none of them quite taste like the real delis of New York. Zoblers, bucks that trend and does all the details of the food the way I would expect in New York. On my first trip their I got a turkey melt on a sesame bagel. The bagel was chewy, heavily seeded, and toasted and came overstuffed with flavourful turkey and melted American cheese. My fiance ordered their smoke salmon sandwich which came on an equally tasty poppy seed bagel, overstuffed with salmon, cream cheese, and capers. We finished the meal off with black and white cookies - staple of New York delis. Not only is Zoblers, by far the most authentic New York deli I have had in London, but it packs a punch against some of the best ones I have been to back in the US.

...

See more

Doron E.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Drake and Morgan at Kings Cross

6 Pancras Square, London N1C 4AG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Disappointed

by SEW   bronze reviewer (10)

May 2017

As the weather was looking like it was going to be good, I was looking for a restaurant around King's Cross where I could have brunch outside, and as I always seem to be eating at Grain Store and Caravan (both of which are excellent I might add) I thought I might branch out and try somewhere new. Definitely a mistake. I had clearly specified on my online booking that I wanted an outside table, however, I had been given one inside. When I pointed out on my booking confirmation that I had requested an outside table, the staff managed one, though unfortunately not in the sun. We both ordered the smashed avocado with poached eggs on sourdough. Not only was the food was distinctly average, in flavour, I was also disheartened by the portion size, which was little more than snack size (one small piece of sourdough?) rather than brunch sized. We also both ordered the chocolate brownie with ice cream. The brownie rather than being a lump soft, squidgy, deliciousness, was so dry that it exploded as we each tried to take a spoonful. Moreover the ice-cream wasn't even as good as some supermarket own brands! Our table service was both attentive and efficient which was about the only plus. It is a *terrible* shame that Drake and Morgan is so below average as it is a great space, particularly to eat outside without being suffocated by traffic fumes.

...

See more

SEW's rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Paternoster Chop House

Unit 1, Warwick Court, London EC4M 7DX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Far too ordinary for the price

by Lisa S.   (1)

May 2017

We ate the fixed price lunch for L22 pounds: I had pate and a fish cake. Our 1 pint of beer must have been +L10, because our ordinary lunch cost L66. It was incredibly ordinary, boorish British food. Even the beer was boring. I'd eaten better food for 1/3 of the price the day before. Go to the first pub you see instead.

...

See more

Lisa S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 2

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

28 50 Marylebone

15-17 Marylebone Lane, London W1U 2NE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Wine lovers paradise

by SEW   bronze reviewer (10)

May 2017

Every time I visit 28º-50º I enjoy myself. Apart from their excellent selection of both traditional and unusual wines by glass, carafe and bottle, their exceptional food, never fails to deliver. My guest ordered the the scallops and the hake - both were cooked to perfection. I ordered the chicken liver parfait which was perfectly paired with an apricot and ginger chutney and the suckling pork belly which included salsify (a favourite of mine, commonly used in France though rarely seen on English menus.) Whether you after a quick drink of exceptional wine, or dinner 28º-50º is definitely worth a visit.

...

See more

SEW's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Cubana

48 Lower Marsh, London SE1 7RG

Overall rating: star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Discrimination against Disabled

by daniel M.   (1)

May 2017

I came to Cubana with my friend who has multiple sclerosis and is confined to a wheelchair. I was and still am utterly shocked and disgusted that we were told that we couldn't come into the bar as my friend is in a wheelchair. We were told the bar was busy and you didn't have space for a wheelchair. From the outside immediately to the left of the main entrance I pointed out that there was a clearly enough space in which my friend could sit in his chair. There was no risk or safety concerns, so absolutely no reason to refuse entrance. We even said my friend could attempt to stand and walk. In protest my friend refused to leave only to have the door staff lift him in his chair and move him out of the way allowing full able bodied and drunk people into the bar. I have never experienced such discrimination and am disgusted.

...

See more

daniel M.'s rating

star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Atmosphere: 2
  • Value: 2

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Caravaggio

107-112 Leadenhall Street, London EC3A 4DP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Business Lunch

by Karen J.   (1)

May 2017

Good service, menu and winelist choice. Food was good and service was suitably prompt for a business lunch. One thing to consider is the building creates a lot of noise - often harder to hear conversations if you are sat around a table in a group.

...

See more

Karen J.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Casa Brindisa

7-9 Exhibition Road, London SW7 2HE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Wonderful Family Evening Out

by Gurcharan M.   (1)

May 2017

We chose to go to Casa Brindisa based on the reviews here and it's proximity to The Natural History Museum, as we were seeing an exhibition there. The food and service were fantastic, the kids enjoyed all the dishes which was a bonus. The buzzy and informal atmosphere made for a relaxing evening out for the whole family. The only negative would be that it was a bit on the pricey side but for the location to be expected.

...

See more

Gurcharan M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Malibu Kitchen at The Ned

The Ned, 27 Poultry, London EC2R 8AJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

A welcome slice of California in London!

by Sophie W.   (2)

May 2017

Editor's pick Having visited various other restaurants at The Ned I was super excited for lunch at Malibu Kitchen! I am someone who suffers from various food intolerances/allergies and both the menu and staff were very helpful and accommodating - in fact I could eat most things which is very unusual! Didn't love the decor but the food was amazing, especially for the price so I was very impressed. Not many restaurants in the City that offer a menu like this so it was very welcome. I can't wait to go back!

...

See more

Sophie W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Roti Chai Street Kitchen

Lower Ground Floor, 3 Portman Mews South, London W1H 6AY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

A very popular place

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (82)

May 2017

Editor's pick I have walked passed this restaurant hundreds of times and for some reason never ventured inside, so when we found ourselves with no plans for lunch, we decided to give it a try. When we arrived at 12.25 on Sunday there was already a queue of around 8 people waiting at the door, which is always a good sign and within 30 minutes the place was packed full with people waiting at the front desk. We ate in the ground floor restaurant which is the street food menu (downstairs I believe has a different menu, but there was no one down there), upstairs is clearly the place to be for weekend lunch. There were around 4 waiting staff and approx. 50 covers, we were initially served by a lady who clearly did not want to be working there, I have rarely seen such a surly expression, but then thankfully after that we were served by a delightful lady who smiled and chatted and appeared to like her job, which is always a bonus. We shared the vegetable samosas which were accompanied with some delicious spicy chickpeas, pani puri (served with a jug of cumin water, which added a different dimension – mainly that as soon as bit into the puri, I squirted the sauce everywhere), one pulled chicken bun (OK, nothing special, very mild), the railway lamb and potato curry (nice heat, lamb falling apart nicely), chapatti and rice, which was plenty for us, although clearly we are complete lightweights compared to our fellow diners whose tables were groaning with colourful plates of food. We had two drinks each and the bill came to around £60 inc. service. Whilst this was a very enjoyable meal, and I would eat there again, given the choice I would head to Hoppers or Dishoom, where the food and service is just that little bit more special, for the same price.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Frenchie

16 Henrietta Street, London WC2E 8QH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Birthday Treat

by Aw H.   (1)

May 2017

Editor's pick Had the set lunch for a Birthday celebration, excellent value, must be one of the best value 3 course lunches in London. The Bacon and Maple Syrup Scones were the highlight of the meal. Service was attentive, but not overbearing, Puddings were magnificent especially the chocolate mousse with bacon ice cream. Wine list interesting, but pricey.

...

See more

Aw H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Simurgh

17 Garrick Street Covent Garden, London WC2E 9BL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

One of the best food experience

by Farhad A.   (1)

May 2017

I love this restaurant! Always coming back and it has never disappointed me. Food quality and presentation is amazing, service outstanding. Had a lunch with my mum on sunday...

...

See more

Farhad A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Comptoir Cafe and Wine

21-22 Weighhouse Street, London W1K 5LY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

French culture comes to Mayfair

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (203)

May 2017

The French do it so well. Unlike the Brits, across the Channel, the idea of the casual all-day establishment where customers can be as at home with their coffee and croissant in the mornings as with their glass of wine later is already well-established. The good news is that Comptoir, the latest offering from Xavier Rousset’s expanding empire, brings the concept to Mayfair – and does it exceptionally well. The venue replaces a hairdresser which had undoubtedly seen better days, and looks to be an astute move by M. Rousset ahead of next year’s arrival of the Elizbeth Line at nearby Bond Street Station. Despite having only been open for three weeks, the place already feels like an established neighbourhood favourite and seems busy at all times of the day. Customers clearly like the relaxed vibe of the place, its central counter with seating, the exposed brick walls and the Moorish style tiling on the floor. I had already dropped in for a glass of wine on a previous occasion, but a recent weekday lunchtime allowed a comrade and me to sample Comptoir’s fare as well. Before describing the food, it is worth spending a moment on the wine. For lovers of the grape, this is definitely a place to consider. Not only does Comptoir have a list that changes every few days and where everything is available by the glass, but also there is a shop in the basement containing more than 2,000 bottles. These can be consumed on the premises (for a corkage fee) or taken away. On our visit, we enjoyed an excellent glass of Roussanne from California followed by a Sicilian red. Both contained abundant depth and flavour. Onto the food, and there were absolutely no complaints. The menu here is simple, comprising at lunchtimes a range of soups, salads, fish, meat and cheese. We enjoyed some of the most tender and flavoursome boquerones (Spanish anchovies) I have sampled for some time as well as Comptoir’s charcuterie platter – good value at £15. We ended on a high, with a superb piece of lemon tart, which packed a zesty punch. I’ll be back and am looking forward to warmer weather too. Sitting outside (especially when the Crossrail detritus has been cleared), it may even be possible to imagine one might be in France…

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Brumus at the Haymarket Hotel

Haymarket Hotel, 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4HX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty

avatar

Great venue; pity about the food

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (203)

May 2017

The Haymarket Hotel (part of the Firmdale Group) has a lovely vibe to it. Post a relatively recent refurbishment, it feels distinctly cool. There is a boldness to the place in terms of its bright colours, quirky décor and statement modern art adorning the walls. As an aside, it also has one of the coolest swimming pools in London, located in the basement. Sadly, it is only available for hotel guests or private hire. So far, so good. Logically enough, therefore, you would expect the hotel’s restaurant also to be pretty decent. Three of us visited on a recent weekday evening and came away generally underwhelmed. In summary, it was lot of money (c£70/head – with just one bottle of wine consumed) spent on a mostly forgettable culinary experience. It wasn’t that the food was actively bad; rather that it epitomised bland mediocrity. I am not quite sure where it went wrong, since the menu’s descriptions all sounded enticing enough. Somewhere, however, something got lost between the creativity of the compiler of the food options at Brumus and their execution in the kitchen. Take my starter. On paper, a combination of octopus, fennel, celery, pink fir potato, lemon and smoked paprika sounds mouth-wateringly enticing. When it came, the octopus was among the most tasteless sampled in recent memory; there was no evidence of any spice at all (and certainly not smoked paprika); and, the dish seemed largely bulked out with fennel. One of my comrades also noted that his crab cakes lacked the chilli promised and that consuming it seemed something of a chore. We hoped the mains might improve. Sadly, they didn’t really. Again, my choice of braised pork cheeks with roasted onion purée, heritage carrots and star anise suggested much promise. On arrival though, I couldn’t help feeling let-down: no star anise, three tiny heritage carrots and a purée that was half-cold and could have been made of anything. Quote of the evening goes to my comrade who, when asked his opinion of his steak, responded that it reminded him of “something eaten in a Berni Inn.” For those unfamiliar, Berni Inn was a British chain of steakhouses that died its death in the mid-1990s and was lamented by few. Overall, it was such a pity. Get a good chef in – someone who can cook with passion – and the place might well be packed with diners keen to return.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Chiswell Street Dining Rooms

56 Chiswell Street, London EC1Y 4SA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty

avatar

Room for improvement

by Jenny C.   (1)

May 2017

Best bit - rare breed steak - beautifully cooked, great fat chips, dessert - my husbands burger nothing special but dessert good.. Prosecco nice but far too expensive, Cheeseboard nice but pricey. Atmosphere and ambience zero - not helped by noise from adjoining bar with very loud and noisy drinkers - very distracting, felt like an anonymous hotel restaurant, One of the waiting staff was a little arrogant and in your face - other staff were fine. So, an overpriced and pretty dull place to eat and will not be returning.

...

See more

Jenny C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 2
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No