Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Dinings

22 Harcourt Street, London W1H 4HH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Excellent quality modern Japanese

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (77)

Mar 2017

Put simply there nothing on this menu that I haven’t loved (and I think I have eaten 80% on it), but some of the stand-out dishes for me are the Tar-Tar Chips (bite-sized crispy “tacos”) filled with Toro fatty tuna with jalapeño mayonnaise, Hamachi yellowtail with jalapeño mayonnaise and the seared Japanese wagyu beef with chilli miso. In addition the Toro sashimi topped with foie-gras mousse and wasabi, Wagyu beef bun, and some of the best quality sashimi in London. The restaurant itself is tiny – around 6 stools at the upstairs bar and 30 seated downstairs and the décor is basic –emphasis is on the food. Excellent service from the moment we were greeted by “G” at the door, all of the staff are attentive and friendly, the dishes are served at perfectly timed intervals. We were lucky to be treated to complimentary cocktails and a superb selection of individual spoons filled with chopped sashimi combinations with mouth-watering toppings. As other diners have pointed out, it is not cheap but in my book is worth every penny. I’m already planning my next visit.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Maki Yaki 149 Merton Road Wimbledon

149 Merton Road Wimbledon, London SW19 1ED

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

BEST SUSHI IN TOWN!!!!!

by Nicola C.   (2)

Mar 2017

This place is an absolute gem! We've lived in the area for years and keep coming back here time after time. The sushi is prepared with such precision and speed. The service is fantastic and the atmosphere is lively but not over the top. Perfect place to celebrate birthdays with friends as you can each order a dish and share. Prices are very reasonable too. Keep up the excellent service and delicious food you serve. Thank you :)

...

See more

Nicola C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Cote Barbican

57 Whitecross Street, London

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Fantastic service and close to the Barbican Centre

by Sarah R.   silver reviewer (26)

Mar 2017

After seeing an exhibition at the Barbican with a friend and we wanted to catch up over dinner and a glass of wine. I'd been to the Jugged Hare on the corner of Silk street before and it is very good but it was packed and we wanted somewhere a bit more quiet so we could chat. Cote is opposite the Barbican and part of their cinema complex. The decor is the same as any other Cote I've been in, black and white tiles compliment the wood tables and walls. The lamps were low lit, which created a cosy atmosphere on a cold windy March evening. The service was excellent and we were served tap water immediately whilst we chose our wine. My tuna was cooked how I like it, rare in the middle but had a bit too much charcoal taste on the outside for me. The boiled eggs were soft in the centre but there was slightly too much dressing as the lettuce leaves went a bit soggy. The salty fries to the side worked well with the salad. My friend had butterflied chicken with frites and garlic sauce and said it was well cooked and seasoned.. The service is what stands out in this branch of Cote. We were left alone to chat but there was someone close by when we wanted another drink or to pay the bill. The staff were efficient and friendly. If you are eating early, before 8pm I would recommend booking as it gets busy before the cinema and theatres start but after that it was fairly empty. I also spotted a private room to seat around 12 which would be good for a larger group of diners or a business lunch or dinner.

...

See more

Sarah R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Jamavar

8 Mount Street, London W1K 3NF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Among the best Indian experience in London

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (197)

Mar 2017

After my somewhat disappointing recent visit to Vineet Bhatia, it was a decided relief to eat at Jamavar. It reminded me once again just how good Indian cooking can be, when in the right hands. The pedigree of head chef Rohit Ghai says it all – having previously worked at Gymkhana, Trishna and Benares, he clearly knows what he is doing. Moreover, Jamavar is being bankrolled by the Leela Group, owner of many luxury destinations in India, and so has strong support. Befitting to its Mayfair location, just minutes from the Connaught Hotel, Jamavar could best be described as the next Gymkhana, but without the crowds. The dining room is beautiful: think dark wood panelling, traditional Indian-style paintings and mirrors. The atmosphere is calm and refined. The food is excellent, and good value too. In particular, the lunch/ early evening set menu, priced at £20 for two courses or £25 for three (we opted for the latter) is a stand-out bargain. There are also a la carte options as well as a fully-fledged tasting 7-course tasting menu. The culinary emphasis is on dishes from the north of India, with dry spices, sambals and chutneys featuring extensively. Our group of three went for a variety of options across the set menu and we were not disappointed with a single one. Jamavar excelled perhaps most notably with its fish dishes. The stone bass tikka and Macher Jhol (Bengali fish with chilli, aubergine and potato) were among the most exciting enjoyed recently, the flavours lingering long after the meal was over. Portion sizes are perfect (three small courses was just right at lunch) and there was no shortage of rice and naan on hand too. We shared a carafe of J.Ehmoser’s Riesling, and it was pleasing to see some 14 wines listed in this format on the menu. More expensive options are also available. Reflecting again on my lunch two days’ after the visit, it is hard to identify any obvious faults. A definite success.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Lympstone Manor

Lympstone Manor, Courtlands Lane, Exmouth EX8 3NZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Another jewel in the Southwest's crown

by David T.   (1)

Mar 2017

My wife and I attended one of the "pre-opening" evening meals in advance of the official opening early in April. In spite of being local to the area and checking the map before leaving we were unable to find the entrance as the signs had not yet been erected and I must admit some frustration that there had been no effort to erect even a temporary notice at the drive. We took a chance and drove through the stone gateway and down a long drive taking encouragement when we noted signs such as overflow and guest parking but we had no sight of the house at that point so continued on until we reached the turning circle in front of the house which once again left us in confusion as there was no exterior lighting or any indication that we had not arrived at a private residence. Thankfully on stepping out of my car to investigate two enthusiastic and comforting staff members quickly approached my car and offered to park it for us while we warmed ourselves over pre-dinner drinks. The luxurious and comfortable décor gradually calmed my temper as we enjoyed an excellent Vodka martini and a glass of Mr. Caines wonderful own label champagne. We opted for Michael Caines signature taster menu with an accompaniment of carefully selected wines with every course which the Sommelier proudly announced would be dispensed from the state of the art single glass equipment capable of storing and serving 20 fine wines by the glass. An innovation that Michael had insisted on including in his new venture. After serving canapés our hostess then escorted us to our table in the dining room, a circular booth which is quite uncommon in restaurants in this country and although it fostered a comfortable and relaxed ambiance the velour covers do make access tricky as you try to "slide" in to your seat. There then followed an assault on our senses through seven courses, each accompanied by interesting and sometimes unexpected but perfectly matched whites and reds with every seafood, meat and dessert course. The food was often complex, always interesting and the sheer variety of ingredients defies my describing it in these few lines but it all worked amazingly with the possible exception of one course which matched braised chicory with duck and chorizo accompanied with a white desert wine. The duck was heavenly but we had an uneasiness with the combination of the other flavours and I cant imagine the challenge of matching a wine to this. Dining at his level is not easily achieved and it soon became clear that there had been a master at work when I met Michael Caines himself as he emerged from the kitchen in his chef's whites asking if I had enjoyed my evening. The cost for this exquisite dining experience in luxurious surroundings takes it well outside of anything but special occasions or the demands of the leisure classes but for those who are discerning enough it is well worth it.

...

See more

David T.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Lamb and Flag

33 Rose Street, London WC2E 9EB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Re-newed....

by Tim A.   (1)

Mar 2017

Well this pub has changed a lot since 2009, it's now owned and managed by Fuller Smith & Turner, a local Chiswick Brewery. The pub is famous for it's untouched historic decor and the renowned Charles Dickens used to drink here too. The food is now very good, with the usual tourist menu with some other very nice specials on the board and the ales are superb with regular changing guest ales from all over London. You have to give it a go...

...

See more

Tim A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Lobos Meat and Tapas Soho

48 Frith Street, London W1D 4SF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Feast, like the wolves

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (197)

Mar 2017

Editor's pick There is no shortage of competition for tapas joints in London and far too often they fall down on offering indifferent fare that is a far cry from even the most basic establishment in Spain. Against this background, Lobos – Spanish for wolves – is an excellent addition to the London scene. The founders are ex-Brindisa (another rare example of good tapas execution) and having succeeded with their original Lobos venture in Borough Market, now comes their second in Soho. Everything works about this place. We were welcomed by the enthusiastic front of house (and one of the partners in the venture) and allowed to choose our table – a benefit of having arrived early when it was still quiet. Diners have the option of bar stools facing outwards from the restaurant (great for solo dining and Soho people-watching), small tables with high stools facing the bar area or more conventional seating at the back. We went for the middle option, but regardless of where one would have sat, the atmosphere was great: low-lighting and a top sound track, generally a good vibe to the whole place. Dishes start from the most basic (such as pan con tomate, at £3.50) and work up to the more pricey (the most expensive coming in at £32, for sirloin steak on the bone). They also range from the conventional through to the imaginative and it was undoubtedly in this latter category that the restaurant showed its true potential. Stand-out dishes – both in terms of presentation and taste – were the octopus leg with sweet potato and chorizo, and the Uruguayan picanha steak, served with baked bone marrow. In both cases, these were novel takes on more traditional offerings, delivered flawlessly. The texture of the bone marrow will endure for some time. A nod to Uruguay features not only in the food but also the wine, with several Tannats being on offer. This grape, originally from the south west of France finds its truest expression in Uruguay (a bit like Argentina with Malbec), and paired superbly with the food, the robustness of the drink being more than able to stand up to the fully flavoured dishes. Definitely worth a return visit.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Yauatcha City

Broadgate Circle, London EC2M 2QS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Amazing food & Wine !

by Selina M.   (1)

Mar 2017

I was very pleased with all the food, I recommend the champagne scallops & Chilli Squid for starters and the thai chicken for main. The staff was very friendly and helpful If you are thinking of attending you MUST go.

...

See more

Selina M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Smith and Wollensky

1-11 John Adam Street, London WC2N 6HT

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great old school dining

by Nina K.   bronze reviewer (14)

Mar 2017

If you like Mad men, you will love Smith and Wollensky's. There is a real feel of old school opulence about the place with the art décor details and wide comfortable booths. The barata salad was fresh and tasty. The main star attraction was definitely the rib eye. Perfectly cooked and served with tasty chips, it was delicious! Definitely a contender for top London steak, although, like all London steak houses, it is pricey. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for business dinners and testosterone filled lunches.

...

See more

Nina K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

New Street Grill

16a New Street, London EC2M 4TR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Bottomless Brunch

by Hollie B.   (1)

Mar 2017

Editor's pick I went for the bottomless brunch on Saturday with my mum and sister. We had the nicest table in the restaurant which looked onto the outside garden area with a complete glass wall which was lovely. The service was outstanding, our drinks were never empty with Prosecco. We never got thrown out of there, we even asked for our bill and they topped our drink up once more prior to us paying which was lovely as we didn't feel like we needed to rush ourselves out. The food was delicious, incredible value for money. The steak was beautiful, it was cooked to just how we asked and the meat itself was good quality. We only had starters and mains as we were so full up that we couldn't fit a desert in, however the waiters brought over small cake bites for us to eat anyway which was very thoughtful. The only negative point I have on this whole experience was the toilets were not clean. The middle toilet door was broken so you couldn't lock the door - my sister was walked in on three times in one time she was there. There was no toilet roll and it didn't seem as though there were any cleaners constantly going in to clean it up as they were very unhygienic. Overall I would highly recommend this restaurant, especially for the brunch and I would 100% go back.

...

See more

Hollie B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Ping Pong St Christopher s Place

29a James Street, London W1U 1DZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Delicious, as always

by Nina K.   bronze reviewer (14)

Mar 2017

Ping pong is definitely the go to place for reliably fresh dim sum. I am a big fan of the steamed spicy chicken dim sum, but was pleased to see a new addition to the menu with the ginger duck dim sum that was absolutely delicious! This was lunch during a shopping trip so it was nice to pop into the restaurant for a quick lunch with speedy service and delicious food. I left with a full and happy tummy!

...

See more

Nina K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

StreetXo

15 Old Burlington Street, London W1S 2JL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Dazed and amazed

by Stacey C.   (1)

Mar 2017

I liked the look of Streetxo, so booked a table for lunch with a friend and I was taken aback by the really innovative decor and styling of the restaurant and its staff. Our friendly and very knowledgeable waiter talked us through the menus on offer and we ordered two dishes each. The green & white asparagus salad was so beautiful it was almost a shame to disturb it, but we did and thought it was fresh, clean and very tasty; the 'club sandwich' was a twist on the classic… in fact so twisted it was unrecognisable, but oh my goodness the taste was divine; my friend assured me that the crab dish was delicious; and my deconstructed/reconstructed lasagne was gorgeous. It would be ridiculous not to try a dessert, so we chose the chocolate ice cream and that was just ridiculously good. With a glass of wine each, we paid about £55 each and it was worth every penny. Did I enjoy it? Would I recommend it? I think you can tell that I did and I would. In fact, I've already booked to go back tomorrow and one day next week!

...

See more

Stacey C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Ivy Market Grill

1 Henrietta Street, London WC2E 8PS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Another Ivy offshoot. What's not to like?

by Samantha W.   (1)

Mar 2017

I have to confess that the usual reasons for choosing a restaurant weren't top of my mind last week. I was having lunch with my favourite ex-boss, who I haven't seen for nearly a decade. I didn't want to go to the newest opening, where I couldn't be sure of the food, service, prices. I wanted to eat somewhere that I know is good (and consistent), where the atmosphere is always buzzing and the service dependable. And let's be honest, I was in the mood for shepherds pie. Which is precisely why I chose one of the Ivy restaurants - I knew exactly what to expect. And once again, the group behind this incredibly successful chain did not let me down. Decor? Lovely. Service? Efficient and friendly without being obtrusive. Food? Delicious. Atmosphere? Buzzing. I didn't have shepherds pie in the end. I had the seabass special. Which even on a packed Thursday lunchtime was cooked perfectly.

...

See more

Samantha W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Tokimeite

23 Conduit Street, London W1S 2XS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Japanese food with friendly service.

by Ian O.   (1)

Mar 2017

From the moment you walk in the door you will be overcome with the friendliness of the staff. The Menu is easy to understand and the staff will answer any questions you may have. A most enjoyable evening!

...

See more

Ian O.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No