Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Alyn Williams at The Westbury Hotel

The Westbury Hotel, 37 Conduit Street, London W1S 2YF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Excellent vegetarian menu

by Lesley T.   bronze reviewer (5)

Jun 2017

Treated a friend to the vegetarian tasting menu to celebrate her birthday. A parade of innovative and delicious dishes, beautifully presented without sacrificing appearance to eating enjoyment. The service was great, attentive and friendly without being intrusive. The room is comfortable, but does a feel a bit plush hotel dining room (which of course it Is!) Overall, very good and would return.

...

See more

Lesley T.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Restaurant Gordon Ramsay

68 Royal Hospital Road, London SW3 4HP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

"Oh my God"

by Mike S.   bronze reviewer (8)

Jun 2017

The fact that my dining companions most used words and phrases during our dining experience was either "Oh my God!" or "Oh wow!" should tell you all you need to know about this restaurant, and let me tell you, she's not wrong! It was my second visit here, I'd been two years prior and it was a welcome return to hands down the best restaurant in London, but it was my friends first time. In fact she'd only started on her "Michelin dining experience" earlier this year, but we've covered a lot of ground, and this was the culmination of everything gone previous. The stand out restaurant, the top of Everest, the Roger Federer (a couple of years ago maybe...) of dining. We went with the Prestige Tasting menu, I love a tasting menu, you get to sample a variety of dishes and not just the normal three courses. Plus the courses are "Mike sized", just enough for me! The menu consisted of foie gras terrine, an excellent opener, Ravioli of lobster, langoustine and salmon apparently a dish Gordon has been serving for over 25 years, halibut with a ras el hanout broth, lamb with summer vegetables or pigeon with fennel, a "soup" which is actually a thoroughly refreshing cocktail and dessert. At this point I should mention that sneakily on the a la carte menu there is actually a "dessert tasting option" where you get all desserts. All of them. In taster "Mike sized" portions! So of course we did that. A special mention also should go to the fact my friend doesn't like seafood, so instead of the ravioli she had asparagus, and instead of the halibut she had gnocchi, which has ruined all future gnocchi experiences for me. This was like eating pillows of clouds... The service is impeccable as expected and the sommelier made a wonderful recommendation on a lovely Riesling you'd be hard pressed to beat. This is definitely a must for all foodies in London, and outside of London, and anywhere. You'd be hard pressed to have finer food in London, in fact, I don't think it's even possible. And get the gnocchi...

...

See more

Mike S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Canto Corvino

21 Artillery Lane, London E1 7HA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Dinner

by garry b.   platinum reviewer (85)

Jun 2017

Very good service, with excellent wine choice advice. The food menu is relatively short, but is high quality and authentic, with items not usually seen at the more standard Italian restaurants. Food all well cooked and presented in a pleasant setting.

...

See more

garry b.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Sonny s Kitchen

94 Church Road, London SW13 0DQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

What a difference a year makes!

by Sebastien B.   (2)

Jun 2017

Sonny's is back on full form and is now back to being one of my favourite restaurants in London. Food is a delight and the staff are charming and welcoming. Big turnaround. Congratulations Sonny's!!

...

See more

Sebastien B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Holborn Dining Room at Rosewood London

252 High Holborn, London WC1V 7EN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great place for a client lunch!

by Sophie W.   (3)

Jun 2017

On the hottest day of the year so far, a lunch at Holborn Dining Room was exactly what my clients and I needed! The decor and atmosphere of the restaurant gave the perfect backdrop to an important business lunch. The shrimp burger was amazing as was the steak tartar! Service was wonderful and we were very well looked after, I would highly recommend to anyone!

...

See more

Sophie W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Made of Dough

182 Bellenden Road, London SE15 4BW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Absolutely the best pizza in England. Great atmos too

by Matthew C.   (1)

Jun 2017

The venue is very cool, but not in a over the top hipster way. And the pizza's are unreal, best I have had in the UK, i'm not hugely into review writing but the ingredients are so refreshing. Very good little cocktail menu too, a bit different. I'll be back!!

...

See more

Matthew C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Lokhandwala

93 Charlotte Street, London W1T 4PY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Senior Supervisor

by simion g.   (1)

Jun 2017

I was passing by the Lokhandwala with my friend,and just saw this amazing place,New ,and the first thing what catch my attention was the decor ,so we decide to go in As soon we walked in we feelt in a world apart,with the staff smiling to you and intriguing you to have a drink,witch by the way was mind blowing,the level of experience and the quality of ingredients they use is outstanding Definitely going back"VERY SOON"good value for money

...

See more

simion g.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Pied a Terre

34 Charlotte Street, London W1T 2NH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

You have to try this

by Lotte K.   (1)

Jun 2017

It moved to the top of my list of favourite restaurants after my first visit. After the second visit I was convinced it will stay there for a while. I just love everything about this place - the food is beautiful, the wines are interesting and fun, and the service is absolutely outstanding. I will keep coming back many times.

...

See more

Lotte K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Ritz Restaurant

The Ritz London, 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Anniversary Splurge

by Tara H.   (2)

Jun 2017

Filled with opulent interiors and equally opulent guests, a night at the Ritz restaurant when 'Live at the Ritz' is on is one to remember. We visited for our wedding anniversary and from the moment we entered the Rivoli bar for a pre-dinner drink until the time we left the restaurant at midnight we were treated like royalty by every member of staff. The food is absolutely classic - like its home, and cooked to perfection. We visited during Live at the Ritz and were entertained by a live band, dinner and dancing topped off with the theatre of Crepe Suzette flambe at the table side. There are many beautiful wines to choose from in the extensive list however we opted to let the sommelier bring us what they thought would go well with the food and their choices were impeccable. If you are visiting, be prepared to go the whole hog and enjoy it - it will likely be pricey! but so worth it. A night to remember.

...

See more

Tara H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Ting by Shangri La at The Shard

Level 35, The Shard, 31 St. Thomas Street, London SE1 9QU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Asia vs English - battle of the Afternoon Tea

by Tara H.   (2)

Jun 2017

Visited for afternoon tea in a group of 4 on a sunny day, obviously the views are fantastic which is a given at this venue but having tried many of the afternoon tea offerings available in the capital - we were all very impressed with Ting and I would personally rate it in my top 3. I have a thing for tiny pastries clearly and am always looking for something a bit new to try! Ting has two afternoon tea options - the traditional English or the Asian inspired. We were advised to opt for one each and share and they would re-fill anyway so that everyone could try everything. Generally when paying this sort of money (£70+ with service), I would expect a certain amount of re-filling of the tea stand but here the staff truly let us try everything on offer from both options. We did not feel rushed at all, as I have at some other infamous afternoon tea venues (naming no names!). We took all afternoon taking in the views, chowing down on fantastic food and trying as many of the teas on offer as we could manage. The food itself was beautifully presented with the Asian one in particular full of intriguing flavour and certainly more unusual to a standard afternoon tea, with the highlights for me being the Rendang brioche bun, spiced crab tart and some sort of shot glass full of a deep unctuous chocolate ganache. Some aspects however cannot be toyed with - both options come with scones, jam and cream. I have to say the traditional strawberry jam wins out over the more unusual mandarin/yuzu flavour which was the Asian alternative - try it for yourself and see which you prefer!

...

See more

Tara H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Pho and Bun

76 Shaftesbury Avenue, London W1D 6ND

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Great experience!!

by Sarah E.   bronze reviewer (5)

Jun 2017

Really enjoyed our dining trip to Pho & Bun food was very scrumptious we had the steamed burgers which were really good!, and service was great, nice quirky venue, slightly overpriced for what it was as portions are very small but it was fun so would recommend :-)

...

See more

Sarah E.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No