Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Pisqu

23 Rathbone Place, London W1T 1HZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Stunning and truly exceptional food and service

by Grace T.   (1)

Jan 2018

We had the most amazing experience. new peruvian restaurant in london and the best in the city after trying them all. Ceviche and amaranth salad were marvellous. Favourite mains were the scallops, vegetarian ceviche. first time having a peruvian wine which was lovely. could not get enough of the cocktails, priced well for Fitzrovia. will be returning!

...

See more

Grace T.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Nobu Berkeley St

15 Berkeley Street, London W1J 8DY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Not what it used to be, steer clear

by Alban R.   (3)

Jan 2018

My wife and I went there last night on an last-minute decision. What a mistake it was, nothing like my earlier visits over 10 years ago. The warning signs should have come when we saw in the reception area quite a few badly dressed un-discerning rich-kids (university-age students) waiting. We chose both tasting menus, the one with the black Cod and the other one with the Wagyu beef. The service was great and quantities made us feel quite full but the flavours were on vacation somewhere else. Both the Wagyu and black cod were completely bland and the sushis, all of them too warm, are better in £10/head places near Leicester square. Spend your money somewhere else. The place has become a canteen for the un-discerning well-off: steer clear. Next time we'll research better before spending this kind of money and our fault was to behave like tourists: http://www.telegraph.co.uk/foodanddrink/foodanddrinknews/11120946/Nobus-two-London-restaurants-stripped-of-Michelin-star-status.html

...

See more

Alban R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 5
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 2

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Rucoletta

6 Foster Lane, London EC2V 6HH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Magnifico, Stupendo, Maravilhoso!

by Frank C.   silver reviewer (27)

Jan 2018

One should never be born on a planet that does not include an Italy. In addition to contributing beyond measure to high art and music, that great country has contributed enormously to earthlings' joy of living. These are the thoughts that a visit to Rucoletta bring. One should start by stating that Rucoletta is fun. The staff is charming and create a buzz that somehow manages to be an antidote to the City's more stressful counterpart. It is a buzz based on good humour, laughter, the enjoyment of excellent food and outstanding service. I have yet to go to Rucolletta when it is not deservedly full. Nevertheless, service is impeccable, friendly, never rushed. The food is excellent, the pasta al dente, the flavours subtle and never ruined by the needless chili which seems otherwise ubiquitous in London. Think of a superb and knowledgeable chef and add the finest in produce and you will know what it means to have lunch at Rucoletta. I have tried many of its dishes, both starters and mains, and have never been disappointed. Not even slightly. Yesterday I had a dish of swordfish on pasta with aubergine, tomatoes and other wonderful things that is still making me smile. This is not a quiet restaurant. It is full and noisy, sometimes even raucous, but then so is life at its best. Congratulations to all of the people who make Rucoletta a haven of happiness on Foster Lane. Grazie di tutto e di cuore. .

...

See more

Frank C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Kanada Ya Panton Street

3 Panton Street, London SW1Y 4DL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Best Ramen?

by Tonique C.   bronze reviewer (8)

Jan 2018

On Panton Street sits Kanada-Ya, a cosy authentic Japanese Ramen bar. My experience: My love of Japanese food never seems to ends, so last year when I was invited to review Kanada-Ya ramen bar I quickly accepted. Kanada-Ya sits in the heart of Piccadilly and is a well-known ramen bar. Upon arrival, I traditionally ordered a sake sampler, which one is supposed to consume from left to right, and the sakes became sweeter and stronger as I drank on. Firstly, was the ‘Jewel brocade’- (Dewazakura Omachi Junmai Ginjo). A premium chilled sake, which is extremely flavoured with honey and sweet rice. For me, it was extremely sweet but in a distinctive way. Second from the sampler was the ‘Heart of Oak’ (Tamagawa Junmai)- Which is a masterpiece made by the genius British sales master Philip Harper, it was nutty and deep Umami and is to be served at room temperature. For me, this was better than the Jewel Brocade, it was rich in sweetness but does not leave a bitter aftertaste. Finally, the Yuzu (Umenoyado Yuzu liqueur)- a refreshing Japanese and fruit sake. For me this was the best of all sakes, as the alcohol was prominent, but was sweet and cooling, this definitely was my favourite. Although Kanada-Ya is predominately known for their Ramen, I was feeling extra hungry and thought I would try out some of their small plates. Karaage is Japanese fried chicken, served with mayo. I was pleasantly surprised with the first bite as the fried chicken is soft, supple and gently breaks off in the mouth. The chicken is well seasoned and full of flavour and is served in four pieces, although I only ended up eating one piece as the Karaage is quite filling. I also tried the Kanada-Ya’s Aburi Chashu, which is seared Chashu pork belly with yakiniku tare. I am a big lover of pork; especially pork belly and I could not wait to try this! The pork belly melted in my mouth and the musky but sweet taste enhanced once dipped in the provided sauce. The only issue is that some of the pork pieces were hard. I was advised to try the Tonkotsu X or Tonkotsu, which are the most popular Ramen choices at Kanada-Ya, however, I was coming down with a cold and the best way to cure a cold is with spice. Therefore, I chose the spicy Yuzu ramen; with spicy Yuzu, pork, corn-fed chicken broth, Chashu pork collar, wood ear fungus, seaweed and spring onion. The menu recommends choosing hard ramen noodles, so I went ahead with this recommendation I was worried about the wood ear fungus because I had no clue what ear fungus actually is, but all the ingredients in the dish worked well together. The ramen was full of flavour, as the taste of the spicy chicken broth has a potent taste, and is just the right amount of spice, which enabled me to still enjoy the dish. The seaweed added a more salty/savoury aftertaste to the ramen. I still had some Aburi Chashu left from my starters, so I added this to the ramen and let it soak in the broth, which aided in softening up the pork. I felt that there was not enough pork in the dish, but that is because I am a heavy meat eater, so I would advise adding extra meat as a topping. After most of the content of the ramen was gone, I shamelessly sipped on the chicken broth, which was delicious and I do believe it aided in getting rid of my cold, which is a bonus! As it was my second time trying ramen, I really enjoyed this experience and I would love to go back and try the Tonkotsu X. To refresh my palette I had a full large glass of Yuzu sake, which is very refreshing after the ramen. However, you are warned, for this sake is a silent creeper for the sake is so sweet that I did not realise the amount of alcohol I was consuming! Overall, this was a great experience for me as my second time eating ramen. Kanada-Ya is ideal if popping in on a lunch break from work, or casually eating with friends. Price: £ (However, the sakes can get pricey) What to wear: Smart casual (I wore a blazer, top and trainers) Ambience: Cosy restaurant with knowledgeable staff

...

See more

Tonique C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

La Petite Maison

54 Brooks Mews, London W1K 4EG

Overall rating: star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Awful customer service to a regular customerUnprofessional and worst customer experience for regular customer

by f a.   (2)

Jan 2018

Unprofessional and worst customer experience for regular customer at what supposedly a fine dining restaurant I had a reservation at 9 pm earlier tonight and I arrived at 8:45 however the table wasn’t ready yet, at 9:02 i asked the lady who’s responsible for reservations that if our table was ready yet, she said “you have to be patient and it’s a favor of me to give you a table” even though my hotel who was responsible of getting me the reservation, then suddenly started to lecture me about islam and patience in islam i told her that I don’t care about that argument now, then she told me if u dont, u r happy to leave and points her hand to the door, i asked for a duty manager and he totally support her claims and starts asking me are you Happy to stay with us, I decided thanks but no thanks

...

See more

f a.'s rating

star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 1
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

La Petite Maison

54 Brooks Mews, London W1K 4EG

Overall rating: star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Awful customer service to a regular customer!!

by f a.   (2)

Jan 2018

Unprofessional and worst customer experience for regular customer at what supposedly a fine dining restaurant I had a reservation at 9 pm earlier tonight and I arrived at 8:45 however the table wasn’t ready yet, at 9:02 i asked the lady who’s responsible for reservations that if our table was ready yet, she said “you have to be patient and it’s a favor of me to give you a table” even though my hotel who was responsible of getting me the reservation, then suddenly started to lecture me about islam and patience in islam i told her that I don’t care about that argument now, then she told me if u dont, u r happy to leave and points her hand to the door, i asked for a duty manager and he totally support her claims and starts asking me are you Happy to stay with us, I decided thanks but no thanks

...

See more

f a.'s rating

star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 2
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Calcutta Street

29 Tottenham Street, London W1T 1RU

Overall rating: star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Appalling food and highly unprofessional service

by Lourdes G.   (1)

Jan 2018

Last November 2017 I purchased two £20 Time Out vouchers to enjoy brunch at this "authentic" Bengali restaurant on Sunday 3rd December. Due to poor health and bad weather conditions I had to cancel my original booking which I rescheduled for the evening of January 5th, the only date me and my friend managed to synch diaries. Prior to confirming this second booking, I intentionally double checked the restaurant would not object us using a brunch voucher against an evening meal. I was assured there would be no problems. However, upon arrival to Calcutta Street in the evening of January 5th we were told that unfortunately we had been misinformed and wouldn't be able to use our vouchers as promised over the phone. None of the staff members on duty that evening had been kept in the loop of our booking specifications. All they were willing to offer to compensate was a 20% discount on their dinner menu if so inclined instead. Obviously, that was not an option me and my friend were keen on exploring. After consultation with (we assumed) the chef and a subsequent call to (we assumed) the manager, it was agreed the original expiry date of our vouchers (6th January) would be exceptionally extended for an extra week and ended up making a third reservation for brunch for14th January. To note that with the exception of a couple quietly having dinner, the premises were totally empty, which we found a bit bizarre considering most restaurants in the area tend to be fully booked on a Friday evening... On January 14th I arrived at Calcutta Street at 1:20 pm. By the entrance, two guys smoking. No lights inside. No signs of much activity either. Is the restaurant open at all?, I ask myself. The two guys move away. Are they staff or just passing by? I walk into the restaurant. Deserted. No customers, no staff. Suddenly, the two guys just mentioned walk in and, without acknowledging me, climb down the stairs leading to the basement to alert whoever is on duty that there is a customer waiting upstairs. Soon after a waitress turns up. She appears to be one of the staff members we had already met the evening of January 5th. I begin to feel a bit more relaxed. Not so sure about how empty the whole place looks again though. And why are the lights not on? My friend arrives and, without much hesitation, we order. She will have the Peter Cat Chello Kebab (English breakfast, Calcutta style with rice and butter). I will go for the Dimer Bhurji (Calcutta style spiced scrambled eggs cooked with tomato and herbs, served with buttered buns and smoked salmon). Roasted tomatoes and bacon to be shared as sides. When asking for clarification on the Peter Cat Chello Kebab, the waitress’s lack of knowledge on the menu I find rather appalling. Though difficult to describe, she assures us the dish consists of "some sort" of omelette with "some sort " of meat. Quite often chicken. Who would dispute that? Two glasses of Prosecco later, we are served some Bombay Mix. Yes, indeed... that savoury snack you can get for roughly a pound at Tesco's. The unexpected treat comes with a likewise unexpected apology: there is a problem in the kitchen... so sorry for the delay. To note that in the interim the two 'mysterious' guys of earlier on keep on popping in and out of the restaurant for reasons beyond my understanding. Who are they? Kitchen staff? If so, why are they not dressed adequately? Whichever their connection with the restaurant is, their customer services skills are appalling. On one of the occasions, they come into the restaurant, one of them hands the waitress a receipt before he disappears down to (we assume) the kitchen. It is dead quiet down there anyway... At 2:30 pm (an hour after having placed our orders), our food arrives. Bland and dry scrambled eggs, smoked salmon straight from the packet and an inedible buttered burger bun. My friend gets served three small pieces of skewered chicken with two spoonfuls of unseasoned white rice, three slices of cucumber and some julienne-cut red and green pepper. No Calcutta style to be found. Where is the "some sort" of omelette?, we wonder. The sides dishes I will spare you the details... An hour of wait nibbling on Bombay mix to get served the sort of food I could have at any of my local diners for £5 and impeccable customer services??? By now another member of staff has made an appearance and fixes similar eating options for himself and the waitress. They eat and chat by the counter whilst trying to engage in conversation with us every now and then. I find that quite disruptive. Neither my friend nor I finish our orders, needless to say. Upon being prompted with feedback on our food, we politely admit we are frankly disappointed as our expectations hadn't been met at all. The waitress then reveals the chef had not been able to come into work... Seriously? Is that the ‘kitchen issue’ she had remarked to account for the delay to serve us??? So who cooked our meal??? One of the unfriendly chain-smokers? The look on our faces must have sent alert signs to their heads as they immediately offer to compensate us with a 20% on our bill next time we book a table with them (deja-vu?). As we stand up to leave, they have the audacity to ask whether we would like to give a 12.5% discretionary service charge... Service??? What kind of service? We refuse and leave the restaurant. Eagerly as well as fuming. To note that for as long as were in Calcutta Street, we were the only customers. Quite telling, I guess. I understand Shrimoyee Chakraborty, founder and chef of Calcutta Street, opened a sister Bengali street food restaurant in Brixton last summer. Maybe she should keep an eye on her "first-born" before expanding any further.

...

See more

Lourdes G.'s rating

star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 2
  • Service: 1
  • Atmosphere: 2
  • Value: 2

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Nuala

70-74 City Road, London EC1Y 2BJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

A new favourite

by Mike S.   bronze reviewer (10)

Jan 2018

When you read the career trajectory of the head chef here you expect great things, and when you walk into this place and see the open firepit and smell the sucking pig roasting you expect even greater things. Set in an industrial themed space upstairs featuring exposed brickwork, steel girders and huge slabs of granite for work tops. Our party was 7 in total, old friends who haven't seen each other for a while, and this place is perfect for it. Large friendly atmosphere with staff who are more than happy to engage in conversations with you, the music is great and not so loud you have to shout, which is becoming a big turnoff in my old age. The food arrives, I have veal sweetbreads to start and rabbit for my main, others in the group had cod, the pumpkin salad and a couple have steak. It's all excellent, made evident with the chatter having stopped completely and our only communication being nodding and pointing to plates with forks, exchanging plates with the other members, then nodding some more. When you finish dinner we head downstairs to the bar serving some classic cocktails and excellent whiskies. A special mention should go to one of the bartenders, who not only made me one of the best old fashioneds I've had, but also made multiple excellent whisky recommendations including a Tullamore Dew 14 and a delicious Glenfarclas 25. Chatty and friendly she's hard to miss, just follow the bright blue hair... I'll be back here, it's perfect for small to large groups who want good food done very, very well. I just need to find a small to large group immediately...

...

See more

Mike S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Gaucho Chancery Lane

125-126 Chancery Lane, London WC2A 1PU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Flamegrilled Perfection

by Nina K.   silver reviewer (21)

Jan 2018

I have been to Gaucho many times and I always have a great meal. The steak quality is incomparable, with a comfortable atmosphere and prompt and friendly service. The only thing I would say is stick to steak. The non steak items are ok, but the steak is the star of the show. If you want some great quality meat, treated with care and cooked really well, then Gaucho is the place for you.

...

See more

Nina K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Little Nans Cocktail Club

Arch 14, Deptford Market Yard, London SE8 4BX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Love this place!

by Phil L.   (1)

Jan 2018

Had an excellent night here last week partaking of their ‘Boozy Supper’ offer! Soooo much Red Stripe! Lovely little bar, unique and quirky, nice dude behind the bar too. Highly recommend!

...

See more

Phil L.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No