Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Caravan City

Bloomberg Arcade, London EC4N 8AR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great to see a place like this in the City

by Anthea R.   (1)

Oct 2017

a great move from the Caravan team and so good to see them on top form here. I can't think of a time of day that i'm not tempted by something on their menu. the seabass was the standout dish but loved the great selection of vegetarian dishes and the plates are generous. Staff are friendly, the chef's margarita is inspired and it's great to have a place for informal meetings, delicious lunches and fun nights in the City!

...

See more

Anthea R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Clarke s

122 Kensington Church Street, London W8 4BH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Delightful find

by Sarah G.   gold reviewer (42)

Oct 2017

Cannot believe this restaurant has been in existence for 33 years, and I have never been. What an absolute delight, everything is superb, from the welcome on arrival, the service and the exceptional food. It will not take me 33 years to return.

...

See more

Sarah G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Lurra

9 Seymour Place, London W1H 5BA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

No stodgy croquetas in sight - basque grilled food done well

by Daniek J.   (1)

Oct 2017

With an open kitchen and a buzzing warmly-lit dining room, Lurra is a great alternative to London's Spanish restaurant scene which on the balance features tired tapas and overpriced wine lists. Slow cooked lamb shoulder, tender grilled octopus legs, Galician sirloin steak, turbot brought fresh to the table before being thrown on the grill are classics on the menu.

...

See more

Daniek J.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Lobos Meat and Tapas Bar

14 Borough High Street, London SE1 9QG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Great tapas

by Kathy H.   (4)

Oct 2017

I met a friend here for lunch, the second time we have visited. Very friendly staff and we weren't at all rushed. We shared 5 tapas, and that was plenty as we were really full! Meatballs, patatas bravas, croquettas, manchego and quince, and rice with chorizo...all tasty, and the great thing was that the staff only brought one or two at a time, so the food didn't get cold. All very enjoyable.

...

See more

Kathy H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Pisqu

23 Rathbone Place, London W1T 1HZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Be prepared to wait

by Paul B.   (1)

Oct 2017

Nice enough room in a good location, but either hopelessly understaffed or just hopeless. One of the slowest lunches, and the food was frankly not really worth the wait.

...

See more

Paul B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Caravan City

Bloomberg Arcade, London EC4N 8AR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Caravan City - Best Caravan yet

by Elizabeth w.   (1)

Oct 2017

At caravan city you can enjoy sociable dining with an emphasise on good-quality , wholesome food. Interesting combinations of ingredients mean that every dish stands out such as sliced pork with fresh crunchy apple; sea bass and prawn dumplings in seuchan oil plus melt in the mouth cheese croquettes. Don’t leave without trying the chefs margarita. In fact, if you’re anything like us, you won’t want to leave at all! Highly recommended

...

See more

Elizabeth w.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Wringer and Mangle Spitalfields

94 Middlesex Street, London E1 7EZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Try the 50 degree cooked Salmon

by Tonique C.   (3)

Oct 2017

Last month, I was lucky enough to head down to Wringer and Mangle Spitalfields and preview their new menu. Upon arrival, one of the waiters greeted me with an orange short welcome drink-‘Local’s only.’ This is Wringer and Mangle’s take on an Aperol Spritz; in this short glass Stoli Vodka, Aperol, Montenegro, Cinzano 1757 Sweet Vermouth, Segura Viudas Brut Reserva was used poured over some ice. The month of September was relatively still warm, so the Local’s only was a great cocktail to have in my hand. After the long day of work I had, I was definitely in need of something refreshing to sip on. So how is this different from an average Aperol Spritz? I would say that the Local’s only is sweeter and has more fizz than the average Aperol Spritz. I almost find Aperol spritz to normally be quite bitter but Wringer and Mangle have nailed this, although I was not expecting anything less from their award-winning mixologists. Our table was not quite ready yet, so I enjoyed my drink and mingled in conversation. The table was finally ready and all guests were seated, once seated I found in front of me a beautiful handwritten place card. This was a nice touch and I felt as if an old friend had invited me to dinner, this definitely gave a great first impression. Wringer and Mangle pride themselves of having a home-cooked style, which I can agree with, as freshly baked bread arrived in a Brown paper bag as a sharing starter. Tearing the paper bag I felt the warm residue of steam hit my hand whilst releasing the aroma of the sweet smelling bread. I have to say that this is probably one of the yummiest bread I have ever eaten. The top layer is crusty and hard on the outside with the centre being very dewy, soft and sweet. Mixed with olive oil and sun-dried tomatoes this was the business. My main starter was the crispy pigs head croquette in tartar sauce with apples and radishes. I always love to try something different and pig’s head sounded like something I should choose, so why not. With a crispy surface, this once bitten into meets the shredded pig’s head centre, which was well seasoned and went down a treat, especially when smothered in the tartar sauce. I regrettably did not choose the 50-degree cooked salmon but was able to sneak a bite from my friend. Divine! Just divine, cooked at 50 degrees the salmon retains a dewy and moist texture and appearance but tastes like cooked salmon. This is a must try and is the highlight of the menu. For my main, I decided to take the Merlot braised beef cheeks with red cabbage and celeriac. The Merlot in the beef really aided in adding flavour and making the beef rich in taste. The beef was well cooked and effortlessly melted in my mouth, I just wish there was some mash or potatoes that would have accompanied the beef as it was not too filling. The main was paired with house red wine, but I am a white wine lover, so I opted for Pinot Grigio house white wine which was on the sweeter side but was paired well with the dinner options. For dessert, I chose the red and black fruits, elderflower curd, chia granola. To be honest, I am not really a dessert kind of girl, so I didn’t end up finishing the dessert but it was refreshing and had a sweet infused taste of fruit followed by a sour taste of the curd and crunchy texture of the granola. Overall, I enjoyed my dining experience at Wringer and Mangle, they achieved the laid back and home-style cooking feel which they were trying to convey, and the food tasted very natural and not too saturated. Price: ££ What to wear: Casual (I just wore a jumper and jeans) Ambience: Home-style cooking with a laid-back style

...

See more

Tonique C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Bistro Vadouvan

30 Brewhouse Lane, London SW15 2JX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Please Support this Hidden Gem

by Tom G.   (1)

Oct 2017

I very rarely write reviews, despite having dined at pretty much every top restaurant in London, as my general opinion is that there's no point re-iterating what everyone else has already said. In this case, however, I feel I must make an exception. My wife and I went here when our plans got cancelled last minute, as it's just down the road and amazingly, I thought at the time, they had a table for 2 at 8pm on a Saturday. Everything about the place was brilliant; delicious food (the steak tartare with smoked aubergine is one of the best starters I've had this year), great wine, friendly and attentive service and amazing value for money. The only thing we didn't like was how empty it was. Despite it being Saturday night, the place was less than 25% full. I understand that the location is not the best, at the bottom of an ugly, modern block of flats, sandwiched between a ghastly Wetherspoons and a Carluccio's, but with high street rents being so high these days, this is, unfortunately, what small, independent restaurants have to do and, once inside, you really don't notice. Also, there is absolutely no competition nearby. Putney is a restaurant desert, with nothing else decent for miles around. The nearest cooking of this quality is in Fulham, at either the Harwood Arms or River Cafe and both of those are about twice the price. Whilst I love the idea that I can get a last minute table at a great local restaurant, I fear that if more people don't discover this hidden gem, it won't be around for long. So, people of South-West London, I implore you to visit Vadouvan and rejoice in the fact that finally Putney has somewhere worth dining.

...

See more

Tom G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Jesmond Dene House

Jesmond Dene Road, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, Newcastle Upon Tyne NE2 2EY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Good food, inadequate service

by Jane C.   (1)

Oct 2017

My title says it all: the food was good, though not amazing, but the service was off-hand in the extreme. Staff behaved as though we (and the tables around us, we weren't singled out) were an inconvenience. It took several attempts to get a drinks menu, and then several more attempts to get a drink. Very poor for £238 for two courses for four people. We've been there a few times but won't now go back.

...

See more

Jane C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 3

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Silk Grain

33 Cornhill, London EC3V 3ND

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Silky and Grainy

by Lorna W.   (3)

Oct 2017

We were met by a very attentive waiter who never left us waiting he took our order as soon as we were ready, brought our drinks and each of our three courses all arrived just at the right time. The drinks were great my guest rated his Bloody Mary and although I didn't order a steak my two guests did and they looked delicious and were cooked as requested. Don't you hate it when you ask for a medium rare steak and it is anything but? Nice range of options on the menu and the White Chocolate Parfait desert was delicious as was the potato gnocchi starter (I didn't have a main but they served my starter with the carnivores while they devoured their steaks which was great) Highly recommended for somewhere different for a business lunch and the Cosmopolitan Cocktail is one of the best I've tasted.

...

See more

Lorna W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No