Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Hawksmoor Seven Dials

11 Langley Street, London WC2H 9JG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Wonderful afternoon - definitely recommend!

by Charlotte H.   (4)

Feb 2017

Editor's pick We had a lovely time at Hawksmoor on Sunday. the staff were very welcoming, polite and professional. Our waiter in particular was fantastic, he was very knowledgeable and approachable. We both had the Sunday Roast with beef. Absolutely delicious! The beef was amazing, the potatoes were perfectly fluffy but crisp. Great amount of veg and gravy and the Yorkshire was lovely and not at all dry (as most can be). We also had a pudding – the peanut butter shortbread, on our waiters recommendation (as we couldn’t pick between a few) and we loved it! Simple yet very effective a perfect end to the meal. Overall a great experience and good value for money, we will definitely be recommending the chain and will be returning.

...

See more

Charlotte H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Palatino

71 Central Street, London EC1V 8AB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Some very good food, some indifferent

by David H.   platinum reviewer (89)

Feb 2017

It's always difficult to review a restaurant that displays inconsistency not just between visits, but between courses. After our appetisers ( Fried sage & Stracciatella toasts) and pastas (Gnocchi & Bombolotti) we were thinking that maybe here is the replacement for Zucca we've been searching out for over a year now. The sage and gnocchi in particular got lots of points. After the main courses the debate was whether we'd go back at all. In some ways its unsurprising, for a visit to the same stable's Craft restaurant near the O2 left us with pretty much the same reaction- some courses really good; some that just didn't work very well at all. Both in bland locations with little to offer apart from the restaurant itself, and both not having the ambiance or appearance of a gourmet restaurant. Neither are places that scream "special occasion" and indeed Palatino could just about pass for an "All Bar One " or similar. But their common ground isn't all bad, by any means. Both have a young, enthusiastic, helpful staff; and both are turning out food that is occasionally very good, and often pretty unusual. I don't always agree with Square Meal's reviews, but they've made a comment here that I'd strongly support. Enjoy the appetisers, pasta and wine, but ignore the short and frankly unprepossessing list of mains. My wife's saltimbocca started off as a not brilliant piece of veal, and wasn't cooked well. My onglet was neither tasty nor tender (Ok not the easiest cut to get right, but they chose to serve it, and Chez Gerard used to manage it just fine). The virtually dry red sauce with the onglet detracted from it. The sides of chard and polenta were dull. The espresso was far too acidic for my taste- but then in my view independent restaurants could do well to achieve the same coffee flavours as the big chains who depend entirely on it and can't afford to serve a blend that alienates some people. The restaurant had been open three weeks when we visited. Maybe it needs time to settle. But I think some thought needs to go into those main courses- what they are and how they're procured and cooked, if this is to be a restaurant of note. Our bill for appetiser, two courses each and half a litre of wine and coffees was £90, which we'd have been happier to pay had those mains (again) provided much satisfaction. I'll end on the location. It's not the easiest place to get to by tube , a bit easier by bus. Its not a pretty area and not the most interesting area for a post-prandial stroll. All this throws a lot of weight onto the food!

...

See more

David H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Spaghetti House Sicilian Avenue

20 Sicilian Avenue, London WC1A 2QD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Reliably great

by Constance V.   bronze reviewer (6)

Feb 2017

The Spaghetti House never fails me. Each time I go I take somebody new with me and it remains an old and stable favourite of mine, particularly as it is one of those Italian restaurants where it does not have Spaghetti aglio olio e pepperoncino on the menu but the chef is willing to prepare it for you - even though it is probably one of the cheapest past dishes! Looking forward already to my next visit - particularly when the weather is warmer, as Sicilian Avenue itself is like a small piece of Italy, and the pedestrianized area allows you to sit at outside tables. Go there and you won't be disappointed - get there too late and you may be if you have not booked in advance.

...

See more

Constance V.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

L Anima

1 Snowden Street, London EC2A 2DQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

wonderful experience of fine Italian dining

by Tammy K.   bronze reviewer (14)

Feb 2017

went on a Saturday evening - beautifully decorated and lovely ambiance. Love the chairs! Staff attentive and informative throughout, couldn't do enough for us. Food out of this world! Can't fault our experience - thank you.

...

See more

Tammy K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Chai Thali

Centro 3, 19 Mandela Street, London NW1 0DU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Move over Dishoom Chai Thali is in town

by suzi f.   (1)

Feb 2017

Met some friends on Friday at Chai Thali Camden my friends work in the building above the restaurant and thought we would try it instead of going to Dishoom our usual haunt Good move on our part it was fantastic, Food was of the charts and the cocktails were very good service was friendly, efficient and attentive and the guy on reception was excellent he took the time to chat with us and explain the concept and even gave us a glass of prosecco each I would recommend the Black Daal and the on the bone lamb curry the prawns were very very good big juicy and flavoursome I'm going back with my boyfriend and would recommend this restaurant to my friends

...

See more

suzi f.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Buenos Aires Reigate

2-4 London Road, Reigate RH2 9AN

Overall rating: star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Oh No ! Our Valentine's meal was ruined by noisy drunk lads, the Manager appeared to be ok with this ?

by mike m.   (1)

Feb 2017

We love steak meals ! But not here sadly. On the positive my sirloin was cooked perfectly for me. The "fillet" was of dubious quality & I wonder if it really was fillet ? Im not sure but Ive not seen a fillet steak that is served having been sliced so thinly that it could have been tenderized anything ? Our main concern, and by appearances, that of other couples, was that there was a table of drunken lads shouting loudly nearby. The waitress was not interested & the Manager appeared to be ok with this ? Ive been to other restaurants in this chain and would be surprised if this was tolerated elsewhere. I wont be visiting any of these again, ever ! There are plenty of other choices & almost certainly all will have better quality steak.

...

See more

mike m.'s rating

star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 4
  • Service: 2
  • Atmosphere: 2
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Restaurant Michael Nadra Chiswick

6-8 Elliott Road, London W4 1PE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

A wonderful dining experience

by Christina B.   (2)

Feb 2017

Editor's pick We dined at Michael Nadra's Chiswick restaurant for my husband's 50th birthday with his parents and our children. The front of house staff were friendly, attentive and gave a polished service which complimented the beautiful food we ate. The carpaccio of tuna with soft shell crab starter was light and delicate while the beef carpaccio with truffle oil had a more punchy flavour. The main courses were all cooked to perfection - the steamed sea bass was elegantly scented with asian spices and the Wagu beef was rich and unctuous. The rump of lamb with the merguez sausage was full of flavour. We rounded off the meal with the delightfully wicked chocolate fondant with salted caramel ice-cream and the treacle tart. The staff dressed my husband's pudding with a candle and the words Happy Birthday written in chocolate which was a thoughtful touch. We highly recommend this restaurant

...

See more

Christina B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Theos Simple Italian

Hotel Indigo London Kensington, 34–44 Barkston Gardens, London SW5 0EW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great Find in Earls Court

by amelia c.   (3)

Feb 2017

Hi, John, its Amelia . What a great treat to buy me a drink. This is one of the few local casual dining restaurants with a good bar and wine list where the locals are treated like great neighbours. As a result, when I want to have dinner locally with friends, I think of you first. What is great about this place is : where do I start? The atmosphere is very relaxed but can be romantic, tinkling candles rustic surroundings, and convivial. Food is homemade by an Italian chef, who is happy to make something for you not on the menu. Everything I have eaten there( and must be about 8 times) is locally sourced and homemade, even the pasta. Recently I took an Italian Friend there for dinner, he is from Tuscany. The parpadelle was so fresh and homemade, we asked the chef to come and speak with us to tell him "complimentI". This is a real surprise for a hotel restaurant tucked away in Earls court, but not to be missed. See you soon. Good for couples family friends business and solo.

...

See more

amelia c.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Jamies St Mary at Hill

2 St-Mary-at-Hill, London EC3R 8EE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Okay

by Roger M.   (3)

Feb 2017

Two issues. Firstly, we both ordered steak, one rare and one medium rare. They delivered these to the wrong persons (rare got medium rare (in reality medium/well done) and my guest got the rare that I had ordered). Secondly, we ordered two portions of buttered spinach to go with the steak, however, these did not arrive until we had nearly finished (and the staff had been reminded several times through the meal!). Despite these hiccups, the service was friendly and food was of good quality. Also, the bill was reduced in compensation for the errors. We had the feeling that several members of staff hadn't been there very long.

...

See more

Roger M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 5
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Twenty Princes Street

20 Princes Street, Edinburgh, Central Scotland EH2 2AN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

great room but very bright

by sebastian r.   (3)

Feb 2017

when we arrived, we went to the bar for a drink and to meet our friends, we had to ask and wait over 15 mins before someone came to take out order for 2 glasses of wine and then another 15mins for them to arrive. we made our way on to the main restaurant and waited by the desk while the person on the phone finished their call. having requested a table in the window as i want my guest to be able to look out over edinburgh, we where seated at the side of the restaurant and told if you lean over you can see out the window. the lighting in the restaurant was very bright and had little atmosphere. again we had to wait for our order taken and when they did arrive there was a difficulty in being understood what we had ordered. when the food did arrive it was good and well presented, of each and every course, our only comment was that one of the ice creams had a very odd unpleasnt taste and asked what it was. after a while the waiter came back and said that the chef had gone home but it could be smoked whisky. we arrived at 7.45 and left at 11.30.

...

See more

sebastian r.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Dragon Castle

100 Walworth Road, London SE17 1JL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

AMAZING RESTAURANT

by Julie T.   (1)

Feb 2017

Had an amazing meal at Dragon Castle, everything was so fresh and came out piping hot considering there was 10 of us eating here at the time. The staff were very friendly and helped us choose some food as we had not had dim sum before. Would highly recommend this place and i will be back soon, maybe try evening meal next time.

...

See more

Julie T.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No