Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Crooked Billet Wimbledon

14-15 Crooked Billet , London SW19 4RQ

Overall rating: star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Evening meal

by Liam D.   (1)

Sep 2017

Telephone booking for Wednesday evening and urged reserve table when restaurant was empty anyway. Menu items were not available when ordered, and alternative meals suggested instead. Ale pie meal was in fact watery soup in a bowl with raw crustation pastry plonked on top. Barely warm meals. Extremely disappointed and embarrassment to my company too. Never again!!!!!! Not written with malice just the painful truth.

...

See more

Liam D.'s rating

star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 4
  • Service: 2
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 2

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

La Dame de Pic at Four Seasons Ten Trinity Square

Four Seasons Hotel London at Ten Trinity Square, London EC3N 4AJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Wonderful meal

by Paul A.   (1)

Sep 2017

You'll be treated like a king (or queen) from the moment you walk through the door with surprises coming out from the chef (in addition to the courses you order) as the evening goes on. It's not 'cheap' but for a special meal, be it with a client or a loved one it's worth every penny as you'll be talking about it for years to come ....

...

See more

Paul A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Piccolino Sheffield

4 Millennium Square, Sheffield S12JJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Great setting

by Dan R.   (2)

Sep 2017

Piccolino offers great food and good service, but for me its best asset is the setting. it is located in Sheffield's Peace Gardens, and the outdoor undercover terrace is a fantastic place for a meal out. Would recommend.

...

See more

Dan R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Waterloo Bar and Kitchen

131 Waterloo Road, London SE1 8UR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Good find!

by Lucy S.   (1)

Sep 2017

This place may be under-rated - it doesn't have much kerbside appeal and could do with an aesthetic overhaul. But the service was excellent, the food very enjoyable, the bottle of wine much, much cheaper than a swanky restaurant and really good. We had a very pleasant family Sunday lunch there which catered well for the vegetarians among us. It should have been heaving with customers but was only a quarter full. It deserves more!

...

See more

Lucy S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Prezzo Eastbourne

1 Terminus Buildings, Upperton Road, Eastbourne BN21 1BA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

A nice pre-theatre meal

by Carole F.   (1)

Sep 2017

We were welcomed immediately at the door and having booked a table were very soon shown to it. The waitress brought menus and we ordered wine which was with us in a flash. We ordered the Antipasti to share for a starter and this was really so delicious that we both said we could quite happily have made it our main meal! However, we had ordered the Sea Bass which, although rather on the dry side, was very tasty and filling. We had a 40% off main courses voucher so the whole meal including a carafe of wine came to just £20 each so we left very happy bunnies to enjoy our trip to the theatre just around the corner.

...

See more

Carole F.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

About Thyme

82 Wilton Road, London SW1V 1DL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great set menu

by Dawn G.   silver reviewer (15)

Sep 2017

2 courses £24.50 I had white asparagus wrapped in smoked salmon with mustard on the side - perfect, light, and refreshing. Followed by Tilapia with new potatoes & green vegetables. WOW fish cooked & filleted to perfection. Looking forward to my next visit

...

See more

Dawn G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

34

34 Grovesnor Square (Entrance on South Audley St), London W1K 2HD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Wonderful evening

by Sharon P.   (1)

Sep 2017

What an incredible experience, starting with a choice of tables, despite the restaurant being busy. We wanted a romantic evening and didn't think sitting next to a loud table of 8 people would be the answer, so were given the choice of 3 different tables, without a hint of this being inconvenient. The service was slick and the sommelier was extremely helpful, with a great recommendation. I've dined at 34 previously and had forgotten quite how succulent the steak is. Always a good sign of a well rounded menu when you can't choose between 3 different starters, but the decision to go with the shrimp cocktail was a wise one. So refreshing not to be asked to settle the bill because they "need the table back" which seems to be par for the course in most high end restaurants these days. Can't wait to return.

...

See more

Sharon P.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Padella

6 Southwark Street, London SE1 1TQ

Overall rating: star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

PADELLA Staff and Manager do not welcome families- Be Warn

by Fion P.   (1)

Sep 2017

NOT a FAMILY FREINDLY RESTAURANT Before we queued we told the tall bald waiter that we have a child and needed the tables in the basement. However after 45 mins of queuing with a now very hungry little toddler, we were almost to the front of queue, we were told we have to wait another 45 mins because they just filled up the tables in the basement. But there were still many available counter seats which other customers with no children can seat on. So why did the tall bald waiter give away the table downstairs well knowing that the next people in queue is a family who really need the table seats!?! When we complaint about this- we were asked to leave the queue by waiter. When we complained to the manager- she was siding the waiter and asked us to leave the restaurant Lovely pasta- BUT IF COMING WITH LITTLE CHILDREN - AVOID PADELLA

...

See more

Fion P.'s rating

star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 1
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Temper

23 Broadwick Street, London W1F 0QA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Cheeseburger tacos. Say no more.

by Jane P.   (1)

Sep 2017

Just crowned "3rd best restaurant in London right now" (Time Out), Temper had in fact been on my wish list for some time. Ever since a throwaway Grace Dent post on Instagram mentioning the delicious wine and cheeseburger tacos my food radar was buzzing, then a glowing Jay Rayner Observer review absolutely sealed the deal. Unfortunately I didn't get round to booking until last month, and in the interim the restaurant featured on BBC's Celebrity Masterchef - which our waiter told us has increased their daily bookings at least 300%. You could tell. We arrived at 7pm (early for Soho, I thought) and the place was already very busy and noisy. Turns out it is just very noisy all the time. After feeling somewhat pressured by our lovely waiter to get our order in, we watched them turn over those tables, and turn them again - and I think I had my longest ever wait for main courses to arrive. It's a semi industrial space below street level with an open kitchen. You can sit at the bar in pairs, and they have booths for groups up to eight. We were given a four seater table near the entrance which was great space-wise, but we could barely hear each other speak by 8pm (peak customer hour). I didn't mind a bit of shouting, but if we're all doing it, maybe a few cushions are in order? We had the cheeseburger tacos and a taco special (pig cheeks): both were sublime, particularly washed down with two perfect Negronis. After that long wait our selection of main dishes arrived: the well-reviewed smoked meat on flatbread (lamb rump), lamb masala (curry), burnt end larb (astoundingly good), and a few sides. I think the char-grilled meats are better at Blacklock. Everything was good, nothing was great. Except the tacos. Add two rounds of beers (4 total) and our bill came to just over £100. Next time, I'm ordering every taco on the menu, cocktails and dessert. Mezcal please!

...

See more

Jane P.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Koba

11 Rathbone Street, London W1T 1NA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

What a difference a day makes...

by Amy M.   platinum reviewer (51)

Sep 2017

This was my third visit to Koba in circa 6 weeks. Firstly, food, as always wonderful. BUT. We always have the Koba BBQ Selection as it's an excellent way to sample all the flavours on offer and have something lovely and varied. However, I personally, don't like beef and there are 3 types on the platter, with only a tiny bit of chicken. So, we asked for one of the beef options to be switched out for more chicken. Point blank refused. No discussion. Not happening. Chicken is cheaper on the a la carte options than beef and so they would have been up. As we were in literally 2 weeks before, you would think that the brain would compute that potentially we are a little pot of gold who will just keep spending! Their argument is that the selections are all made up, but unless this is the only restaurant in London with second sight and can anticipate every patrons’ order before they have sat down, I am still not clear on why this isn’t possible. Secondly, the service. Considering it was a Monday night and the restaurant was really not that busy, they were incredibly inattentive; verging on bloody elusive. They "man the hot plates" ensuring that you don't manage to give yourself food poisoning by undercooking things or generally burning yourself through ineptitude, also to clean it between cuts. We were left to it. The server looking genuinely surprised when we finally managed to catch his attention that we needed something. I have to admit that I drew the senior man on the floor’s attention to the deficit and we were apologised to with three reasonably terrible, but heartfelt cocktails. I won’t not go, but some of the flavour has been drained from the experience.

...

See more

Amy M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Prix Fixe

39 Dean Street Soho, London W1D 4PU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Prix Fixe - Fab

by Vicki G.   bronze reviewer (6)

Sep 2017

The meal was wonderful and exceptional value for how much food you get. The waiters and waitresses were very accommodating and happy to help. The mussels were divine which I had to start and super tasty. The main I had was delicious and I cant wait to return! They just need a loyalty card now :)

...

See more

Vicki G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No