Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Strada Covent Garden

13-15 Tavistock Street The Opera Quarter, London WC2E 7PS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Always worth a visit

by Constance V.   bronze reviewer (7)

Jun 2017

Unlike some chain restaurants, I have always found Strada to be one I can rely on. Covent Garden is where I last visited and we were able to sit outside and offered the shade to be pulled down, without asking for that to be done. The service was quick and efficient, food was very good with the special offer of 2 courses for lunch value for money. It is not high end dining, but definitely good quality all around.

...

See more

Constance V.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Clerk and Well

156 Clerkenwell Road, London EC1R 5DU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Thai FriYay

by Charlotte C.   (1)

Jun 2017

An excellent spot for a TGIF work lunch with your colleagues. It's pretty busy with crowds of guys coming in to play some pool and grab a few pints in their work hour, so if you want an intimate lunch then this is probably not your thing. The Clerk & Well is lively, full of atmosphere and quite fast paced in its service. On this occasion we shared a selection of starters that were authentically flavoured with Thai spices and were delivered on dark, rustic plates with cute little dipping pots. Special mention has to go to the chicken satay and the Thai fries with the spicy mayo, just delicious! They automatically add service to your bill, which would usually annoy me as I like to add a tip based on the service I have received, however, the food, drink and service meant that the applied tip was completely deserved. Look forward to coming back and eating from the main courses...

...

See more

Charlotte C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Iberica Farringdon

89 Turnmill Street, London EC1M 5QU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Good spot

by Jessica P.   (2)

Jun 2017

The restaurant offers a great menu and lovely dining experience. Good service and hospitality. Also a perfect spot for drinks and nibbles by the bar (good selection of small bites). The bar is quite small so I wouldn't recommend for large groups unless you book the area.

...

See more

Jessica P.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Min Jiang at the Royal Garden Hotel

Royal Garden Hotel, 2-24 Kensington High Street, London W8 4PT

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Amazing Chinese Food!

by Jessica P.   (2)

Jun 2017

Amazing experience at Min Jiang! Personally not a huge Chinese cuisine fan, however, every dish was delicious! The view from the restaurant also added to the experience. Wonderful service and hospitality! Great restaurant to take clients, enjoy a business related lunch/ or for a special occasion.

...

See more

Jessica P.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Bad Egg

1 Ropemaker Street, City Point, London EC2Y 9AW

Overall rating: star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Very bad

by the stranger   silver reviewer (19)

Jun 2017

I came here with the highest expectations. Brunch has become big business in London over the past few years with some really excellent places all over town. This is not one of them. The food was average at best and the service was friendly but appalling. Really appalling. The way I see it is that if I've paid for a bottomless brunch, I don't see why I have to chase the waiters for a refill. My glass was invariably empty and it took at least 15 minutes each time to get a replacement. Even worse the bloody Maries weren't all that good. Had better elsewhere. I will not be returning.

...

See more

the stranger's rating

star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 1

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Alyn Williams at The Westbury Hotel

The Westbury Hotel, 37 Conduit Street, London W1S 2YF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Excellent vegetarian menu

by Lesley T.   bronze reviewer (5)

Jun 2017

Treated a friend to the vegetarian tasting menu to celebrate her birthday. A parade of innovative and delicious dishes, beautifully presented without sacrificing appearance to eating enjoyment. The service was great, attentive and friendly without being intrusive. The room is comfortable, but does a feel a bit plush hotel dining room (which of course it Is!) Overall, very good and would return.

...

See more

Lesley T.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Restaurant Gordon Ramsay

68 Royal Hospital Road, London SW3 4HP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

"Oh my God"

by Mike S.   bronze reviewer (8)

Jun 2017

The fact that my dining companions most used words and phrases during our dining experience was either "Oh my God!" or "Oh wow!" should tell you all you need to know about this restaurant, and let me tell you, she's not wrong! It was my second visit here, I'd been two years prior and it was a welcome return to hands down the best restaurant in London, but it was my friends first time. In fact she'd only started on her "Michelin dining experience" earlier this year, but we've covered a lot of ground, and this was the culmination of everything gone previous. The stand out restaurant, the top of Everest, the Roger Federer (a couple of years ago maybe...) of dining. We went with the Prestige Tasting menu, I love a tasting menu, you get to sample a variety of dishes and not just the normal three courses. Plus the courses are "Mike sized", just enough for me! The menu consisted of foie gras terrine, an excellent opener, Ravioli of lobster, langoustine and salmon apparently a dish Gordon has been serving for over 25 years, halibut with a ras el hanout broth, lamb with summer vegetables or pigeon with fennel, a "soup" which is actually a thoroughly refreshing cocktail and dessert. At this point I should mention that sneakily on the a la carte menu there is actually a "dessert tasting option" where you get all desserts. All of them. In taster "Mike sized" portions! So of course we did that. A special mention also should go to the fact my friend doesn't like seafood, so instead of the ravioli she had asparagus, and instead of the halibut she had gnocchi, which has ruined all future gnocchi experiences for me. This was like eating pillows of clouds... The service is impeccable as expected and the sommelier made a wonderful recommendation on a lovely Riesling you'd be hard pressed to beat. This is definitely a must for all foodies in London, and outside of London, and anywhere. You'd be hard pressed to have finer food in London, in fact, I don't think it's even possible. And get the gnocchi...

...

See more

Mike S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Canto Corvino

21 Artillery Lane, London E1 7HA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Dinner

by garry b.   platinum reviewer (85)

Jun 2017

Very good service, with excellent wine choice advice. The food menu is relatively short, but is high quality and authentic, with items not usually seen at the more standard Italian restaurants. Food all well cooked and presented in a pleasant setting.

...

See more

garry b.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Sonny s Kitchen

94 Church Road, London SW13 0DQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

What a difference a year makes!

by Sebastien B.   (2)

Jun 2017

Sonny's is back on full form and is now back to being one of my favourite restaurants in London. Food is a delight and the staff are charming and welcoming. Big turnaround. Congratulations Sonny's!!

...

See more

Sebastien B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Holborn Dining Room at Rosewood London

252 High Holborn, London WC1V 7EN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great place for a client lunch!

by Sophie W.   (3)

Jun 2017

On the hottest day of the year so far, a lunch at Holborn Dining Room was exactly what my clients and I needed! The decor and atmosphere of the restaurant gave the perfect backdrop to an important business lunch. The shrimp burger was amazing as was the steak tartar! Service was wonderful and we were very well looked after, I would highly recommend to anyone!

...

See more

Sophie W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Made of Dough

182 Bellenden Road, London SE15 4BW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Absolutely the best pizza in England. Great atmos too

by Matthew C.   (1)

Jun 2017

The venue is very cool, but not in a over the top hipster way. And the pizza's are unreal, best I have had in the UK, i'm not hugely into review writing but the ingredients are so refreshing. Very good little cocktail menu too, a bit different. I'll be back!!

...

See more

Matthew C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No