Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Cafe Rouge Canary Wharf

29-35 Mackenzie Walk 10 Cabot Square Canary Wharf, London E14 4PH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Christmas lunch celebration!

by Liza T.   bronze reviewer (6)

Dec 2017

The atmosphere was very lively, crowded and fun, especially during this festive time of year! We started off with some wine, had the Turkey Ballotine/Sea Bream specials followed by coffee with Fondant aux Chocolates and Tarte au Citron. Yum! BTW, the name tags on the decorative table was a nice touch:)

...

See more

Liza T.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Ugly Dumplings

1 Newburgh Street, London W1F 7RB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great experience

by Jenna L.   (1)

Dec 2017

Stumbled upon this gem of a dumpling place while out shopping in Carnaby, really enjoyed both the meaty and the vegetarian options! My favourite was goat's cheese and beetroot dumpling! Their sides are all to die for, especially the miso courgette. The eggplant tempura was incredible as well. Good selection of drinks as well and lovely staff complete the picture.

...

See more

Jenna L.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Scott s

20 Mount Street, London W1K 2HE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Perfect!

by Emma R.   (1)

Dec 2017

We booked the private dining room for a party of 24. The food and wine was excellent, as you would expect, and quite an achievement for so many guests at the same time. However, what stood out for me was the service, which was perfect: friendly and unobtrusive, everything just done effortlessly. The organisation running up to the event was also excellent, easy and friendly. There is a reason this restaurant has a longstanding reputation!

...

See more

Emma R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Buenos Aires Maidstone

63 High Street Maidstone, Maidstone ME14 1SR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Beautiful place and delicious food

by Lisandra S.   (2)

Dec 2017

We've been here one times and for us is the best steak restaurant in Maidstone, Kent. We have had been experience very good. Staff very friendly but here place it's not cheap.

...

See more

Lisandra S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Il Trillo Chelsea

4 Hollywood Road, London SW10 9HY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great Discovery

by Giles O.   (3)

Dec 2017

A family of four went for dinner there last night on a friend's recommendation and it lived up to all hopes ! Superb food, laid back but efficient, friendly service, delightful atmosphere inside, cosy and well lit, not too crowded or noisy. Will definitely return.

...

See more

Giles O.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Swan Bar and Restaurant

21 New Globe Walk, London SE1 9DT

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Perfect Setting for a Team Christmas Dinner

by Debbie K.   (1)

Dec 2017

We hired the River Room at the Swan and what an absolute delight it was. From the initial enquiry through to the event itself, everything ran so smoothly and nothing was too much trouble. The staff were amazing, attentive but not over the top. Food was exquisite and the choice wide and varied. The view over the Thames was breath taking and everyone said that they would return again on their own. Would definitely recommend

...

See more

Debbie K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Indian Zing

236 King Street, London W6 0RF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty

avatar

We got zapped by the zing

by Amy M.   platinum reviewer (54)

Dec 2017

I can only say that this place has the attitude that is super cool, like an urban hipster drinking his craft beer surrounded by his meeja friends in an post-industrial chic, Dalston hang out. Sadly, it’s in the heartland of the Chelsea Tractor suburbia and done out like a 90s Living Room. Remember those? There were 5 of us for dinner, my parents, uncle and aunt. We were ushered to a table at the back rather unceremoniously so as not to disturb the “cool” and it went downhill from there. Three of us asked for the thali and we were told that they would take 25 minutes (!) to prepare. OK, we were warned, so we agreed. After 40 minutes, the food finally arrived for the entire table. Two of three of the thalis were stone cold. When this was pointed out, they argued that it wasn’t possible. They finally capitulated and sad that they would return it to the kitchen. I, at this point, expected them to go to the fresh pots of food and replace the cold elements. When we had been waiting for a further 10 minutes, I enquired as the whereabouts of our dinner and they told me that everything was being cooked again. They also expected me to swallow the idea that they cooked each tiny portion individually and that’s why it takes so long. I laughed, queried incredulously and finally had to swallow it due to lack of anything else of substance. If this is truly the case, this has to be the only Indian restaurant in London cooking this way. I have a good mind to send the chef in from Woodlands (who have perfect thalis) to give them a crash course. We finally got our meals and hour and a half after arriving. By which point I had gone past hungry. To add insult to injury the manager of the place was so supercilious I honestly believe that if my father was 10 years younger, he may have ended up with a bloody nose. He either spoke down to us, looked down his nose at us or made it plain that he really didn’t give a shit if we were happy or not. The bill came in with 3 beers and 2 glasses of wine along with our meals at almost £300, so it is incredibly expensive on the “Value for Money” scale. My parents are a 5-minute drive from this joint and I know that they have bad-mouthed it to everyone they know. I would say avoid it.

...

See more

Amy M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 4
  • Service: 1
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 3

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Fera at Claridges

Claridge's, Brook Street, London W1K 4HR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Uncultured pallet strikes again

by Mike S.   bronze reviewer (9)

Dec 2017

My friend is going to hate me for this review, but I just don't get Fera... Maybe I'm choosing wrong? Maybe my pallet just isn't up to the genius that is Fera but every time I've come here I always feel let down by my main course. I'll go through to positives first, the space is one of the best in London, big dinning area with a fantastic centerpiece of a white tree, fantastic stained glass in the ceiling and big windows means the area is always well lit, perfect for those Instragram selfies and food pictures. Service is impeccable as you'd expect with friendly and passionate staff and the wine is always fantastic. Maybe it's my fault, then, my friend loves it more than she loves 1920s themed cocktail bars, which is a lot, but every time I've ordered the fish I've always felt it was slightly undercooked, resulting in me not being able to eat it all and feeling slightly queasy... This time's offender was hake in savoy cabbage. Everything else is always delicious, and the dessert I had I could have eaten 10 of, a fantastic quince, honey and marzipan course. I'll come back, I have to for my friend's sake. I'll just have to be more astute with my ordering...

...

See more

Mike S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Coya Angel Court

31-33 Throgmorton Street, London EC2N 2AT

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

A taste of Peru

by Siva P.   (2)

Dec 2017

Food and drink were truly wonderful - a group of four had sharer starters and mains and were all hugely impressed. The sommelier was very helpful in recommending a red for the mains and we were suitably impressed with his choice ! I will certainly be back, but suspect that it is more a dinner venue than for lunch (unless lunch can be a drawn out and leisurely affair), which is no reflection on the service, more on the length of time it takes to choose behind the various delicious alternatives !

...

See more

Siva P.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Ritz Restaurant

The Ritz London, 150 Piccadilly, London W1J 9BR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Amazing Menu Surprise Lunch

by Lloyd S.   silver reviewer (28)

Dec 2017

A stunning meal in a fantastic hotel is the best way to describe our dining experience. The moment you arrive you are amazed by the exquisite decor and the absolutely friendly & professional staff who look after you and make you feel so welcome. As you make your way down the beautiful corridor passing where they have afternoon tea to the end where you presented with a gorgeous view of the amazing dining room to where the fantastic experience begins as the waiters & sommelier take over and I have to say the service was of the highest order. While we looked at the menu we enjoyed a lovely glass of Charles Heidsieck Champagne. Our decision was to go for the Menu Surprise which was to be a Six Course Tasting Menu but instead of having the Matched Wines we decided to choose our own with the help and excellent advice from the sommelier . So now we move onto the food to which under the inspiration of Chef John Williams was as amazing as the dining room itself. We started with some delightful snacks before moving onto our first course a fantastic Foie Gras dish with a slice of toasted brioche this was followed by a heavenly Langoustine course then it was a Celeriac dish which was prepared at the table as was the sauce for the following Turbot course before the main dish a truly outstanding Beef Wellington which was absolutely stunning & matched with a superb Barbera D'Alba red wine. Our next course was cheese but with a difference a delightful Goats Cheese twill with pear before the main dessert a Chocolate mousse with a chestnut purée and topped with meringue and with coffee plus delicious petit fours to finish our amazing lunch came to its conclusion but will never be forgotten because its was definitely a experience to remember for a long time. This is certainly a restaurant that I would highly recommend and when it's situated in this magnificent hotel where the attention you get even before you enter the dining room is hospitality at its finest it wouldn't be a hard decision to return

...

See more

Lloyd S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Frog Covent Garden

34-38 Southampton Street, London WC2E 7HF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

A firm favourite

by Guillaume K.   (2)

Dec 2017

Already managed to visit a couple of times since the restaurant opened, never fails to impress. I really look forward to coming back again next year, and will make sure to pay The Frog E1 a visit - love Jamie Park's appearance on Masterchef!

...

See more

Guillaume K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Southam Street

36 Golborne Road, London W10 5PR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Style over substance

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (227)

Dec 2017

Southam Street sees the transformation of a formerly grotty pub at the non-fashionable end of Notting Hill into a destination venue offering cocktails, food and a members’ club. Based on a recent visit, the owners are definitely doing something right. My comrade and I liked the vibe, but were perhaps less impressed with the food. In the end, this may not matter – the angle Southam Street seems to be going for is perhaps more style than substance. A charitable interpretation would suggest that the cooking standards could be upped – but this still doesn’t change the fact that most locals in nearby Trellick Tower probably won’t ever come here; rather, it felt like a place for those who want to bray a new ‘upcoming’ discovery. The building is split into three: grill, raw bar (sushi-and Saké) and then the private room for members. Our meal was in the former. Chef Chris Denney has been given a reasonably free hand in designing the menu and it seems to take in a combination of on-trend culinary styles. I am sure there is a commercial impetus behind this, but some more focus might have served the restaurant better. My comrade and I kicked off with two ‘snack’ dishes: house pickles and kimchi (fermented cabbage Korean-style) and, black pepper & garlic prawn crackers with a shiso avocado dip. Presentation was excellent – a theme that continued throughout – although if pressed to observe anything novel or stand-out about either dish, I would really struggle. Onto the starters and flashes of brilliance (horseradish mascarpone does work – trust me) were offset by moments of mediocrity (the bao bun of Korean fried chicken was distinctly greasy). A similar story would characterise our mains (an excellent piece of fish, much less impressive meat). Be mindful that the trend for small sharing dishes – onto which Southam Street has unsurprisingly leapt – means that costs can add up, particularly when drinks are factored in. Similarly, we were impressed by the range available on the wine list, but did note that there appeared to be very few value options. I guess Southam Street knows its target market…

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No