reviews

Madison C. bronze reviewer

avatar
Jun 1992
Member since Aug 2014
Lives in
Reviews written: 7
Restaurants rated: 0 (this year)

The Jones Family Project

78 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3JL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

The Jones Family Project (EatLiveLondon)

by Madison C.   bronze reviewer (7)

Oct 2014

Last week I was lucky enough to enjoy a breakfast meeting at The Jones Family Project in Shoreditch. What I quickly learnt was that this was much more than just a restaurant but rather a multi-faceted social space. The restaurant was formed by 4 close friends with the aim of creating a unique space where people can relax and enjoy good food and drinks in a comfortable environment. What is really exciting about this venture is that it is constantly changing and evolving, so both new customers and loyal regulars are always going to experience something slightly new. As we went at breakfast time we ate upstairs, which had a very colourful and open vibe. It was a welcoming space with intricate, cool details throughout the room, there was something to always point at and talk about. Interestingly at the front of the restaurant there is a 'private office for one' supported with a printer and throughout the restaurant there are sockets to charge laptops thus showing how the project encourages a working atmosphere. This is really a versatile space for people to work in, eat or just relax. Let me move onto the food before talking you through downstairs. I ordered a delicious plate of Free Range poached eggs on wholemeal bread and a side of Ginger Pig bacon. The eggs were cooked to perfection that once cut into oozed out yolky goodness. But the bacon was the real winner on the plate! I usually don't order bacon, as I fear it will be undercooked and too fatty, but it was recommended to me so I could hardly refuse. It was ridiculously crispy and flavoursome, honestly I would return for the bacon alone! After breakfast we walked around downstairs, which had a completely different vibe to upstairs. It was darker and in a sense a lot more formal. The lower level restaurant focus’ on carefully sourced, high quality ingredients, and from peeking at the menu I would say there is a strong emphasis on meat. There are many different choices of seating areas downstairs whether you prefer orange leather chesterfield style sofas of cut out doll house style booths or even more private alcoves the restaurant facilitates all of this. It is the perfect space to rent out for parties and there is even a ‘stage set area’, which changes regularly where guests can rent out for the night (£35pp) and enjoy a one of a kind private dinning experience. I am already planning my next trip, this time for dinner, as I want to indulge in the extensive dinner menu, which looks incredible. So whether you want a quick breakfast, an indulgent dinner or just a drink makes sure not to miss The Jones Family Project as it is a really special place that is uniquely one of a kind.

...

See more

Madison C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Carom

100 Wardour Street, London W1F 0TN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Carom ( Eat Live London Review)

by Madison C.   bronze reviewer (7)

Sep 2014

Creative and cool is the vibe Carom exudes. Set in the landmark building, 100 Wardour street in the heart of Soho, Carom transports its guests to an open planned, industrial yet elegant setting. Guests are hit by an air of luxury as they enter the restaurant space. I say space as this is more fitting to the feel of the restaurant which whilst split into 5 main areas, they are mostly all visible from one another. The decadence and opulent nature of the venue is grounded in rustic and natural settings. As of this September head chef Vishnu Natarajan changed the menu to really emphasise the sharing nature of the food. This is further supported by the communal dining table which assumes a central position of the venue. We started our meal with two cocktails that were recommended by the manager. Firstly we tried the Lychee and Hibiscus cocktail (£10) which was a blend of vodka, hibiscus, peach liqueur, lychee puree and soda water. Now this was my type of drink, fruity but with a slight punch to it! Our second cocktail was a Bombay Treacle Club (£14) it definitely had a stronger more acquired taste and we both agreed the first cocktail was more to our liking. Whilst we were choosing what to eat our waiter kindly brought us some poppadum crackers with a trio of home made chutneys. Mixed into the crackers were dried banana chips and different types of poppadum's. The chutney's were delicious and full of flavour, a perfect way to start our Carom culinary experience. For our starters we ordered the Potli's (£3.90) and the Malabar jumbo prawn (£6.95). The Polti’s are fried vegetable parcels with a mint and tamarind chutney. They looked and tasted like little parcels full of delicious flavour, I would highly recommend ordering them. We also enjoyed the Jumbo Prawn, which was coated in chilli and coconut, but we wished there was more of it on the plate. Overall our starters were packed full of spice and flavour that got us excited for our mains to come. Moving on to the main course, we ordered the Gin-Izzler flambe (£10) which was an inspired botanical marinade chicken tikka. I have to be honest we ordered this based on the fact that the table next to us had gotten it and it looked amazing. Carom brings a bit of theatrics to the dining table by lighting the chicken on fire right next to you! It tasted great, but it was very much about the show. We partnered this dish with a portion of Shalgam Lamb curry, which was braised lamb, turnip and chilli (£10.50). The lamb was succulent and the sauce was rich without being overpowering. As we were fully stuffed to the brim by this point we decided to share a dessert and went for the Indian Opera cake (£6.25). I’m not really sure what the Indian influence was, but this was rich chocolaty, creamy, beautifully presented desert. It was the perfect way to end them meal as it mirrored the modern glamour and sophistication that Carom seems to represent. I would highly recommend visiting Carom, whether for a meal or for a drink! Check our their website for more details and a full menu.

...

See more

Madison C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 7

Carom

100 Wardour Street, London W1F 0TN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Carom ( Eat Live London Review)

by Madison C.   bronze reviewer (7)

Sep 2014

Creative and cool is the vibe Carom exudes. Set in the landmark building, 100 Wardour street in the heart of Soho, Carom transports its guests to an open planned, industrial yet elegant setting. Guests are hit by an air of luxury as they enter the restaurant space. I say space as this is more fitting to the feel of the restaurant which whilst split into 5 main areas, they are mostly all visible from one another creating a united space. The decadence and opulent nature of the venue is grounded in rustic and natural settings. As of this September head chef Vishnu Natarajan changed the menu to really emphasizes the sharing nature of the food. This is further supported by the communal dining table which assumes a central position of the venue. We started our meal with two cocktails that were recommended by the manager. Firstly we tried the Lychee and Hibiscus cocktail (£10) which was a blend of vodka, hibiscus, peach liqueur, lychee puree and soda water. Now this was my type of drink, fruity but with a slight punch to it! Our second cocktail was a Bombay Treacle Club (£14) it definitely had a stronger more acquired taste and we both agreed the first cocktail was more to our liking. Whilst we were choosing what to eat our waiter kindly brought us some poppadum crackers with a trio of home made chutneys. Mixed into the crackers were dried banana chips and different types of poppadum's. The chutney's were delicious and full of flavour, a perfect way to start our Carom culinary experience. For our starters we ordered the Potli's (£3.90) and the Malabar jumbo prawn (£6.95). The Polti’s are fried vegetable parcels with a mint and tamarind chutney. They looked and tasted like little parcels full of delicious flavour, I would highly recommend ordering them. We also enjoyed the Jumbo Prawn, which was coated in chili and coconut, but we wished there was more of it on the plate. Overall our starters were packed full of spice and flavour that got us excited for our mains to come. Moving on to the main course, we ordered the Gin-Izzler flambe (£10) which was an inspired botanical marinade chicken tikka. I have to be honest we ordered this based on the fact that the table next to us had gotten it and it looked amazing. Carom brings a bit of theatrics to the dining table by lighting the chicken on fire right next to you! It tasted great, but it was very much about the show. We partnered this dish with a portion of Shalgam Lamb curry, which was braised lamb, turnip and chilli (£10.50). The lamb was succulent and the sauce was rich without being overpowering. As we were fully stuffed to the brim by this point we decided to share a dessert and went for the Indian Opera cake (£6.25). I’m not really sure what the Indian influence was, but this was rich chocolaty, creamy, beautifully presented desert. It was the perfect way to end them meal as it mirrored the modern glamour and sophistication that Carom seems to represent. I would highly recommend visiting Carom, whether for a meal or for a drink! Check our their website for more details and a full menu.

...

See more

Madison C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 7

Zumbura

36a Old Town, London SW4 0LB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Zumbura

by Madison C.   bronze reviewer (7)

Sep 2014

Let me start this review by saying what a special restaurant Zumbura is. Nestled in a pretty, quiet street in Clapham Old Town, this restaurant is vibrantly alive with colour and flavour. Zumbura is a new restaurant that serves up food local to the Purab region in North East India. Whilst the ambiance gives of an edgier, soho-ish vibe; the food and flavours transport you to India. What is distinctive is the healthy nature of all of the food, it is flavoursome without being overpowering and over-oiled. Zumbura has assumed a tapas-style form whereby diners choose from an assortment of mini plates ( on average £6-£7 each) and indulge in an Indian feast. Now as a North Londoner I very rarely venture down to Clapham, so naturally as I came out of the tube everything was a bit alien to me. There was a distinct trendy-village vibe going on, which I know sounds like an oxymoron but thats really how it felt. Walking into Zumbura the trendy side is really alive. With a bright turquoise wall off set by bricks and a 5 metre oak bar, this is no village restaurant. The owners were also the co-founders of Dwell furniture store, so it is no surprise that the place is superbly decorated. They thought of everything right down to the hodge podge/ mix and match plates and serving bowls. We started our meal with the chaat which was a plate of chickpeas coated in yogurt, crisp breads and a tangy tamarind sauce ( £4.50). It was a gorgeous explosion of flavours that were all equally balanced and the perfect way to start our meal. The next two dishes to arrive were the Tallee Machli (£8) and the Sikkiwe Chops (£8). The Talle Machli was a fish dish where the fish was succulent,smooth and melted on the tip of your tongue. I enjoyed this dish but it was nothing in comparison to the Sikkiwe Chops, this was our favourite dish. A simple dish in essence: twice marinated lamb chops, but not simple in flavour. They were perfectly cooked and all I can say is I wish there was more!! We then indulged in my second favourite dish which was Murghi ka Salan (£7.50) which was a home style chicken curry, cooked on the bone. There was so much flavour and the chicken fell off the bone as it was perfectly cooked. The sauce is rich but not overpowering which is why it was so enjoyable. We paired the chicken with Daal (£4) a lentil dish which was a watery consistency making it very light, although a texture we weren't expecting as well as a portion of Parval (£5) and side of Muttar Pula rice (£3.50). The parval was recommended to us, and the recommendation was spot on! For those of you not familiar with parval it is braised pointed gourd with crunchy seeds, and it was just the perfect vegetable accompaniment to this meal. We finished our meal with a pot of fresh mint tea and two small desserts. We had initially only ordered one, the Gajjar Ka Halwa (£3.5) which is a warm carrot dessert, but were then advised to try the Kheer (£3), a cold rice pudding dessert. We definitely preferred the Kheer as the Gajjar Ka Halwa was more of an acquired taste. Lastly let me talk about the cocktails! As amazing as the food was, the cocktails 100% held their own with an exquisitely unique menu. We tried 3 different ones, the first was the Fruity Wallah (£7). This was Zumbura's take on a mojito, and it was better then any original I had ever tasted, fruity and delicious this was a special cocktail that I can't quite say I have ever had anything like as it was stirred with chaat masala. For those of you who read my blog, you will know I am a huge tea fan, so it is no surprise that our next cocktail was a Himalayan Ice Tea (£7) which had a combination of earl grey and jasmine tea infused into the rum based cocktail. It was a subtle taste, but it complimented the food well and I would order again and again. Lastly we were told to try the Molly Moo Moo (£7) as this was the most popular cocktail. We enjoyed its raspberry fruity flavours but I think we agreed our favourite was they Himalayan Ice Tea. There were so many more dishes on the menu that I am already planning my next trip to Zumbura to try everything! This is a restaurant that should not be missed, whether you are keen on Indian cuisine or not, the restaurant is packed with colour and flavour that makes for the perfect culinary excursion. Check out their website for more information and a more detailed menu.

...

See more

Madison C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 9

Mamounia Lounge

37a Curzon Street, London W1J 7TX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Mamounia Lounge, Moroccan Magic in Mayfair

by Madison C.   bronze reviewer (7)

Sep 2014

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Mamounia Lounge Mayfair is a special restaurant full of delicious authentic Moroccan delights. Situated in the heart of Mayfair, a quintessentially British area of London, Mamounia Lounge manages to transport their diners to the heart of Morocco whilst still obtaining the qualm of sophistication and glamour that you would expect for its location. Whilst the atmosphere and impeccable service are definitely talking points it was the food that was the real showstopper. We started our meal with a Moroccan sausage platter and also an order of falafel. Both were mouth wateringly good! The portion sizes are more then generous and the food tasted fresh and perfectly seasoned. In terms of mains we had one chicken tagine and one-grilled spicy prawns. The chicken tangine was something to talk about! Succulent, lemony and oozing with flavour this was a killer dish that I could eat every day! The prawns were amazing too, these were giant king prawns bursting with flavour and easy to take out of the shell. We finished our meal with a sharing fruit platter, which was once again an extremely generous portion, and after being greedy in our first two courses we found it hard to finish! We digested our food with a pot of Moroccan mint tea which was served in a gorgeous tea pot and was the perfect way to end this authentically one of a kind Moroccan feast. I was very impressed by this meal and would highly recommend Mamounia Lounge Mayfair; there is also a branch in Knightsbridge, which I need to check out next! Both restaurants also offer shisha outside, which we were tempted by, but the rain put us off.

...

See more

Madison C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 7

Chotto Matte

11-13 Frith Street, London W1D 4RB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

by Madison C.   bronze reviewer (7)

Aug 2014

Chotto Matte is Soho's Japanese -Peruvian show stopper of a restaurant. Hard to miss on the corner of Firth Street, the restaurant commands your attention with its pumping music. The dark exterior is contrasted with a bright manga style mural that pops off the walls. But enough about the setting let me get into the nitty gritty…the food! The food here is on another level, fresh fish that melts in your mouth and robata grilled meats that have you drooling for more. I would highly recommend the grilled octopus and the yellow-tail with truffle tostada! This is a must see restaurant if you're into a bit of a scene and amazing food. www.eatlivelondon.com

...

See more

Madison C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Song Que

134 Kingsland Road, London E2 8DY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

by Madison C.   bronze reviewer (7)

Aug 2014

Real authentic Vietnamese food in the heart of East London. Kingsland road is flooded with Vietnamese restaurants, however there is one that stands out…literally people are standing outside the door waiting to get in. The menu is like a bible so make sure to order wisely. I would highly recommend the Pho Ga ( Ga meaning chicken) as this is my absolute favourite. The soup is fragrantly perfect, with the right noodle to chicken to broth ratio. Song Que Cafe is a must for any food lover. Word of warning you can't book it so be prepared to wait (the queue goes fast though so don't be put off).

...

See more

Madison C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 5
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 7

Back to Top