Get Blog Reviews

Blog Reviews from Passport and Toothbrush:

  1. Published : Tuesday, 27 October 2015

    Tostado | Passport and Toothbrush: Ecuadorian Food at Tostado

    This week I am having Ecuadorian food at Tostado. This cute eatery tucked away in a narrow alley in Soho serves up dishes prepare according to traditional Ecuadorian recipes. Since I will be heading off to Quito in a few weeks, I was especially curious to get a preview of Ecuadorian food.



  1. I'm eating around the world in London and this week I am having Moroccan food at Souk Medina. Now I was supposed to go for dinner here on a date, but with the risk of this review turning into a sob story; the date stood me up. Initially I went to cancel the reservation, but after a lot of coaxing from the maitre d' , I ended up staying.

  1. Published : Thursday, 27 August 2015

    1701 | Passport and Toothbrush: Israeli Food at Restaurant 1701

    I'm eating around the world without leaving London and this week I was looking for Israeli food and ended up at Restaurant 1701. Okay technically it's Jewish food and not so much Israeli, but I figured for this blog this place would be awesome as it is located on the premises of a synagogue. And Restaurant 1701 is featured in the Michelin Guide, which made it the poshest restaurant I ate at for these blog series.

  1. I'm eating around the world without leaving London and this week I had South African food at Bunnychow. Bunnychow doesn't sell rabbit stews or anything containing bunnies at all. Bunnies at Bunnychow are bready bowls. Kind of like a sandwich, but different.
    They recently opened up shop in Soho after roaming the UK in a truck, selling bunnies at festivals and other outdoor events.

  1. Published : Wednesday, 26 August 2015

    Boopshi's | Passport and Toothbrush: Austrian Food at Boopshi's

    In my London Eats World blog series, I'm eating my way around the world without leaving London and this week I'm having Austrian food at Boopshi's.
    There are a couple of options for Austrian food in London, but instead of having dinner at the slightly tacky Tiroler Hut in Westbourne Grove, I opted for the classier Boopshi's in Fitzrovia.

  1. I'm eating around the world without leaving London and this week I had Vietnamese food at Song Que Cafe in shoreditch. I had my mind set on coming to Kingsland road as I'd seen he numerous Vietnamese restaurants lining the pavement many times before. With these series I finally had to go and try one.

  1. Published : Wednesday, 26 August 2015

    Queenswood | Passport and Toothbrush: Breakfast at Queenswood

    Since there was no sexy half-naked man serving me breakfast in bed on my birthday yesterday morning, I decided to treat myself to a birthday breakfast at Queenswood, sister restaurant of Soho hot spot Damson & Co. This newly opened eatery is another step in the right direction for the square which had been a bit scuzzy for years. Now with the likes of Ramsay, newly renovated Zocala bar and now Queenswood, Battersea Square is going places.

  1. I'm eating around the world without leaving London and this week I had Indian food at Spice Namaste. Spice Namaste is located a stone's throw away from the Tower Hill tube station and is run by celebrity chef Cyrus Todiwala who I think I have seen on Saturday kitchen a couple of times. You know that show on Saturday mornings with James Martin. I thought this would be a worthy entry for my London round the world foodie tour.

  1. I’m eating around the world without leaving London and this week I went to Mongolian Grill in Clapham for some Mongolian hotpot and BBQ.

    Admittedly a there’s apparently nothing Mongolian about a Mongolian hotpot or the Mongolian BBQ, but I can tell you that it does make for a fun filled foodie experience.

  1. Published : Monday, 28 September 2015

    MOC Kitchen | Passport and Toothbrush: Review of MOC Kitchen

    Of all the regions I have 'travelled' to on my round the world foodie tour of London, I like Asia the best. So when I was invited to come and review Vietnamese MOC Kitchen in Charing Cross, I could only answer with a big fat 'Yes'.

    My friend and I had picked a very rainy evening to go and eat at MOC Kitchen and when we both arrived there cold and wet, the welcome we received couldn't have been warmer.

    We got out of our wet clothes and warmed up with our bottle of red wine, which wasn't actually Vietnamese, but very nice nonetheless.

  1. I'm eating around the world without leaving London and this week I had Chinese food at Yauatcha in Soho.
    Now I know I could be challenged for the fact that Yauatcha isn't technically real ethnic Chinese food, but I'd been dying to try their dim sum. Yauatcha is the more affordable little sister of the Hakkasan restaurant, but probably just as sleek. On their menu you will find modern Chinese food and all day dim sum, served up with a side of style.

  1. Published : Saturday, 26 September 2015

    Pulia | Passport and Toothbrush: Review of Pulia at Borough Market

    If I had to choose between all the cuisines of the world, I would definitely go for Italian food.So when Zomato asked me to review Pulia at Borough Market, I didn't need to think twice.
    Pulia is an Italian deli with a couple of sites across Italy and it opened its first deli here in London on Stoney Street in Borough Market last February. They specialise in food from the Puglia region (hence the name) and all the ingredients and base materials are carefully selected from local producers.

  1. Published : Saturday, 26 September 2015

    Bao Soho | Passport and Toothbrush: Taiwanese Food at Bao

    I’m eating around the world without leaving London and this week I had Taiwanese food at Bao in Soho.
    This small Asian eatery in the heart of the West-end has proven so popular, that it’s become one of those places where you have to queue to get in. Not my favourite way of dining, that’s for sure, but for this place I was willing to make an effort.

  1. Published : Tuesday, 5 January 2016

    Cubana | Passport and Toothbrush Cubana

    I’m eating around the world without leaving London and this week I had Cuban food at Cubana. Now I have been to Cuba and one thing that I didn’t think was all that memorable about my visit, was the food. I remember rice and beans and maybe some meat and fried plantains and that&s it. Cubana’s food is a little bit more exciting than that.
    I went on a Thursday night and the place was heaving. Lucky enough I managed to get a table for two with only a 40 minute wait, which we filled with drinking Cuban beers on the terrace outside. They also do amazing cocktails, but I never really think they go well with food.
    When we sat down we still had enough time for the pre-theatre dinner special which consists of three courses for only &12.00.
    I went on a Thursday night and the place was heaving. Lucky enough I managed to get a table for two with only a 40 minute wait, which we filled with drinking Cuban beers on the terrace outside. They also do amazing cocktails, but I never really think they go well with food.

    When we sat down we still had enough time for the dinner special which consists of three courses for only &12.00. Not a bad deal at all.





    I went for a portion of croquetas filled with chorizo and sweet potato, accompanied by a slightly spice salsa dip. My friend opted the frijoles, which was a soupy version of those darned beans, but she loved it, she said.




    For my mai

  1. Published : Tuesday, 5 January 2016

    Rudie's | Passport and Toothbrush Rudies

    I’m eating around the world without leaving London and this week it’s Jamaican food at Rudie’s. Jamaica is very well-represented here in London when it comes to food, so it was actually hard to pick a place to go to. Too much choice. However, when Emerald Street wrote about the zingy cocktails at Rudie’s, the choice was a lot easier.
    I’d booked ahead just to be on the safe side, although it was only a Tuesday. You never know in this city. My friend was a half hour early, so when I got there she was already enjoying her two-for-one cocktails. I soon followed suit.
    We didn’t bother with any starters and went straight for the main dishes. There were three of us in total, and we decided to split the ‘Ya Man Platter’. This was basically a combo of jerk chicken, jerk lamb and jerk pork. It came with a small portion of cole slaw, but we ordered an extra portion aswe needed more of this stuff. We also ordered a side of chips, which we needed to replenish pretty quickly as well.

  1. Published : Tuesday, 22 December 2015

    Ceviche Old St | Passport and Toothbrush Peruvian Food at Ceviche

    I&m eating around the world without leaving London and this time I had Peruvian food at Ceviche. One can&t help but notice that Peruvian food is really hot right now, so me having it was long overdue.
    Ceviche Soho and Ceviche Old Street are the two little sisters of Martin Morales& restaurant Andina, serving great food and drinks from the Peruvian Andes.Ceviche Soho was booked full on the night I wanted to go, so we opted for the one in Old Street, which had plenty of tables available.
    Besides exotic Peruvian dishes, Ceviche also serves delicious pisco based cocktails, which we were very willing to give a try. Pisco is a very potent spirit made by distilling grapes, a method that was brought over to Peru and Chile by the Spanish. I went for a redbush and ginger cocktail and my friend had the standard pisco sour. which is mixed with egg whites and lime juice.

  1. I’m eating around the world without leaving London and this week I had Mexican food at DF Mexico. DF Mexico, which refers to the country’s capital area, serves up modern day Mexican fare with a little hint of USA. With the risk of finding more Tex than Mex at this place, I decided to go check it out anyways. A taco is a taco after all.
    DF Mexico is located in the Brick Lane area in the Old Truman Brewery, the building that hosts the Sunday Up Market.
    Inside it looks like an American diner with those 1950s style booths and infinite soda fountains. So don’t go if you’re looking for piñatas and table serenades by Mariachi bands. Although the latter pour fruity water rather than sodas. (Although here they’re called aguas frescas.)