All reviews

Latest Square Meal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

House of Tippler

123 Lordship Lane, London SE22 8HU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

It's 11.30 and the club is jumpin', jumpin’… even in East Dulwich

by The Cheese   platinum reviewer (55)

Aug 2015

We enjoyed a rare 'after hours' knees-up on Saturday, in the form of a rollicking spell at House of Tippler. The bar's long, skinny shape couldn't accommodate a proper dance floor but that didn't stop the mid '30s crowd busting dated - but cheerful - moves. On this occasion, the DJ was playing a hilarious mix of '90s garage (Artful Dodger; DJ Luck and MC Neat) and retro R ’n' B (Montell Jordan; Destiny's Child). While the kitsch soundtrack didn't hit the spot for my other half, he was equally happy to soak up the unpretentious, feelgood atmosphere… and it did not stop him dancing. The chaps behind the bar beamed with universally sunny dispositions, slinging cocktails from the comfort of their hideous Hawaiian shirts. We queued for a good few minutes ahead of our first drink (safe in the knowledge that a proper Old-Fashioned takes time), but the wait was entirely worthwhile. These were the kind of savvy barmen that notice who’s next, and whatever we ordered was consistently ace. No unnecessary bells or whistles; just well-executed classics and impressive house specials. (The signature Lordship Mule was a belter, muddling rum and pink fizz with rhubarb and ginger to lip-smacking effect). Table service operated whenever staff could navigate their way through the jolly hoards, so I’d endeavour to nab a stool next time. Not only were cocktails a mere £7.95 a pop, but I’d wager they’re the best in the neighbourhood. Midweek the feel is far calmer and quietly cool, while lacking in any delusions of grandeur. It's just plain likeable, and worth looking out for tastings, brunches and pop ups in the kitchen. In short: good, clean fun with a later license on Lordship Lane.

...

See more

The Cheese's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Piacha

280 Upper Street, London N1 2TZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great haven for tea lovers

by John M.   (1)

Aug 2015

We recently discovered this tranquil haven in the middle of busy Upper Street. Excellent selection of teas! Not just your regular blacks and greens, but also interesting blends, with flavours such as licorice, ginseng or chili. Definitely worth several visits to experience all those amazing flavours. We will be back! :-) M&A, Geneva

...

See more

John M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Sky Pod at Sky Garden

Level 35, 20 Fenchurch Street, London EC3M 3BY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Spirits in the Sky

by Luncheon Vulture   gold reviewer (47)

Aug 2015

Given the abundance of high rise bars/restaurants in the City nowadays, it would be easy to become somewhat jaded at the prospect of a drink with a view...not so at Sky Pod. The three storey glass walled area that comprises the bar and garden area is truly spectacular, but when you add the panoramic 360-degree views afforded, it is utterly breathtaking. We were fortunate to be there on one of the very rare sunny and clear evenings this summer has offered and spent most of our time trying to recognise some of less familiar buildings, 35 floors above the ground. Be prepared for sky-high prices to match the surroundings and the somewhat frosty waiting staff (must be the thinness of the air that high up!), but for an impressive location for a cocktail or two, it is hard to beat. Just ensure you pre-book to avoid the queue to get in...............

...

See more

Luncheon Vulture's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Darwin Brasserie at Sky Garden

Level 36, 20 Fenchurch Street, London EC3M 3BY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Bit of a let down.....

by Luncheon Vulture   gold reviewer (47)

Aug 2015

After the dizzy heights of the Sky Pod bar, we headed off to the Darwin Brasserie, just one floor above but it felt like a lot of stairs to get there. The initial impression was not great; the Brasserie feels cramped and dark after the airy expanse of the bar, and with the whole area set back from the external windows of the building, the views are not as good as from the bar. Tables are rammed in and it felt a lot different from the publicity photos posted on its website. The menu was exactly as listed on the website with no daily specials which was a bit of a shame as I can't say the menu had imbued me with great expectations. Three of us went for fish and chips, which was ok but nothing special and our fourth opted for lamb rump, which turned out to be a very small dish given the price tag of £25. Service was ok but the overall experience was just a bit of a let down, given the surroundings. Personally I'd rather stump up the extra funding and head off to City Social when I want food as spectacular as the view.................

...

See more

Luncheon Vulture's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Sale e Pepe

9-15 Pavilion Road, London SW1X 0HD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Sale e Pepe - expensive for ordinary Italian food

by Onella F.   (1)

Aug 2015

Sale e Pepe has not changed for years. Its busy and the waiters work hard to make two sittings which makes it feel rushed and mechanical. The difference between a 3 star and 5 star for the food is dependent on what you order. The restaurant seems popular with young tourist which can add to the chaos.

...

See more

Onella F.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Brasserie Zedel

Sherwood Street, Quadrant 3, London W1F 7BR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

A jewel hidden under Piccadilly Circus

by Caroline W.   (1)

Aug 2015

We went to Brasserie Zedel as a family and we all loved it. The main dining room is simply amazing and not at all what I would have expected from the middle of Theatreland/Touristland. The food was very good and the options both in menu choice and prices was very refreshing. The house wine was of very good quality albeit not overly cheap. The service was attentive and friendly even when I asked for the menu in full English. We encourage anyone to visit this restaurant, an experience not to be missed.

...

See more

Caroline W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

HKK

88 Worship Street, London EC2A 2BE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Fabulous

by Georgia D.   (2)

Aug 2015

I spend a lot of time visiting restaurants around the world, HKK is a firm favourite and much better then some of the bigger names around. The food was mind blowing. I enjoyed all of the courses on the tasting menu equally, all were unique and perfect in their own way. We also had the drinks pairing which we found to be quirky and fun with drinks I would never have chosen myself but am now a great fan of. The staff were fantastic, attentive and knowledgeable. All in all a brilliant night.

...

See more

Georgia D.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Kitty Fishers Mayfair

10 Shepherd Market, London W1J 7QF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Mayfair basement gem

by Monikasays   gold reviewer (48)

Aug 2015

I have to say the thrill of the chase to get a coveted booking at this attractive restaurant in Mayfair was the draw here. One always wants what one cannot easily have! Finally, after timing my phone call to perfection, I landed a booking, albeit in the height of summer in a deep, dark basement. The effort was worth it. This is a cosy 2 floor bijou dining room, apparently based on an infamous courtesan 'kitty fisher' from the 18th century. There is a feeling of a posh brothel/ gentlemans' club/ ye olde pub vibe, all of which makes it very inviting. The basement is small but intimate with flickering lights, red leather seating and an easy view into the bustling kitchen. Staff were fab, friendly and funny, like one of your best mates. The menu was small but perfectly formed with interesting and scrumptious combinations e.g.bread with burnt onion butter, beef and pink fir and cheese potatoes, burrata and beetroot to name a few. Big hunks of bread came out with fluffy butter with a dusting of soot, a nice beginning. Creamy burrata complimented by the right side of acidic beetroot was next. Then, the glorious, generous mains showcase the the chef's meat and fish skills with the most tender, slender red duck, that I have ever eaten and deep satisfying beef fillet with velvety red jus. Fish came plump, white and with crispy skin. Desserts topped off a perfect meal. Wine and conversation flowed and we left with a smile and a full stomach and then hopped, skipped and jumped to little house mayfair for a brandy and baileys. This is Mayfair at its best and least pretentious.

...

See more

Monikasays's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Eastway at Andaz

Andaz Hotel, 40 Liverpool Street, London EC2M 7QN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

It's a good "public" hotel restaurant

by Amy M.   silver reviewer (22)

Aug 2015

Eastway offers a modern eclectic menu and everyone is bound to find something to their taste. The seafood tagliatelle was wafer thin with light sauce and juicy seafood. Sadly the wine list is short and offers not a lot of quality at a fairly high price. The bar can mix a mean martini, but looked weirdly confused when I sent back my brandy - served in a balloon with ice! The staff are charming and attentive, but it does leave a little to be desired on the atmosphere front. Handy for a client meeting or a quick(ish) dinner if you are catching a train, but I wouldn't go out of my way.

...

See more

Amy M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Mercer

34 Threadneedle Street, London EC2R 8AY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Great lunch at the Mercer

by Stephen K.   (2)

Aug 2015

I have been to the Mercer a number of times since opening a few years ago and I am always pleasantly surprised at the first class service. They manage to execute a perfect blend of attentiveness without over-bearance and this adds to a great atmosphere. All three of us had the Mercer Pie yesterday and it did not disappoint - very high quality all around, right down to the accompanying sides. It's not the cheapest place in the world but I always think it offers value for money. Would recommend it to anyone.

...

See more

Stephen K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Arbutus

63-64 Frith Street, London W1D 3JW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Soho treasure

by Lynn W.   gold reviewer (31)

Aug 2015

This place has been going strong for several years now, but it's a while since we've been. A nice welcome in from the August rain, calm colours after hectic Soho outside, a beautiful bare-wood table I couldn't stop stroking (no polish, no stickyness, and a lovely pattern in the grain), and helpful service team. The menu is a bit more out-there and offaly since our last visit, with testicles and tripe, pigs head and trotters featuring but not compulsory. Maybe as a reaction to that we both chose the meat-free pea and broad bean salad to start, with fresh sheep's ricotta, preserved lemon and crunchy rye breadcrumbs - lovely and fresh and seasonal. If rabbit is on offer I nearly always go for it - this one was a good piece of saddle with quinoa and carrots, and a side of mini-rabbity cottage pie. Very satisfying. The other main course choice was monkfish, a beautiful, perfectly cooked piece said to be stand out good, with girolles and gnocchi, though the listed Morteau sausage couldn't be found in this dish. We were swithering about dessert, then two items seemed too enticing to miss - honey ice cream with honeycomb (delish) and mirabelle plum clafoutis - now that was amazing, the best ever clafoutis we've had. Really the food is very good, and we like the lack of fuss that can often go with starred restaurants.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Back in 5 Minutes

224 Brick Lane, London E1 6SA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

What a hidden Gem!

by Dawn G.   (4)

Aug 2015

We were supposed to eat at Town House, but due to technical problems we were sent to Back in 5 Minutes. The food was amazing - Belly Pork - wow wow wow! Staff were friendly and attentive. If you are ever in Brick Lane go to no. 224 ..........you will be pleasantly surprised

...

See more

Dawn G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

La Tasca Spanish Tapas Bar and Kitchen Covent Garden

23 - 24 Maiden Lane Covent garden, London WC2E 7NP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

La Tasca Covent Garden

by Isobel B.   (1)

Aug 2015

The evening here didn't start off too well as the restaurant didn't have any record of our booking (despite the fact that I'd booked it several days prior and had an email confirmation) so they kept us waiting about 15 minutes in order to prepare the table. We ordered a jug of sangria from the bar while we were waiting however this didn't arrive until we'd been seated at our table and had to remind them again that we'd ordered it. We also had to remind them a few times to bring water to our table. Once we'd ordered food it didn't take too long to arrive and was pretty tasty, although nothing special. It's what you would expect of a chain tapas restaurant. I would go again as you know what to expect and it's not expensive. The atmosphere isn't great, but it was a Monday night. The service was really slow for a Monday though as they weren't busy, although I suspect they were understaffed as the waitress looked frazzled!

...

See more

Isobel B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Ametsa with Arzak Instruction at The Halkin

The Halkin, 5 Halkin Street, London SW1X 7DJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Brilliantly showcased Spanish restaurant that's the whole package

by Rebecca L.   silver reviewer (26)

Aug 2015

I'll start by saying I haven't ever really had Spanish food that wasn't your average tapas fare so I was excited to see what it could be like when refined. I wasn't disappointed at all but more importantly, everything about Ametsa is excellent. The service in particular is a highlight. The staff are warm, friendly and welcoming. They seem genuinely excited about the menu. Even the wine list is friendly - I know a fair bit about wine but am always overwhelmed when I go to a restaurant and am handed an Argos catalogue style wine list. Here, there are suggestions, such as 'if you like a New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc...' It's a nice touch. Now for the food - it's great, really great. I knew it would be when we served our bread and olive oil which was of superb quality. The amuse bouche was fun, inventive and delicious. My starter, Scallops at Home’ were gorgeous in terms of taste and an absolute work of art in terms of presentation. I had Suckling Pig for main with pork scratching which again, was beautifully cooked and presented. For dessert I had Chocolate and Fruit Marbles which was the highlight of the meal. I’ve never been a huge fan of mixing fruit and chocolate but this was a triumph. Everything is so simply titled and in theory, constructed, but really delivers on taste and presentation. There’s so much thought that’s gone into the flavours and there’s nothing on the plate that shouldn’t be there. I absolutely love the interior and decor of the restaurant – very modern, sleek and moody but with character at the same time. If that wasn't enough, for 3 courses, with wine, our bill was a very reasonable £100 a head. My only issue would be that we were sat near a very large table of people – I understand they have a private dining room so would recommend large groups are seated in there so they’re not disturbing other diners. Not a huge issue for us but might be for others.

...

See more

Rebecca L.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No