All reviews

Latest Square Meal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Benares

12a Berkeley Square House, Berkeley Square, London W1J 6BS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

A shame as this is normally good value

by Jan W.   (4)

Jul 2015

We often eat at Benares especially using the special offers as we have always felt it was good value. Unfortunately yesterday although the offer clearly stated complimentary cocktail we were not offered one even though I raised the question. We were also charged for naan bread which was again shown as complimentary on the menu.

...

See more

Jan W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Piccolino Heddon Street

21 Heddon Street, London W1B4BG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

We only had drinks but...

by Amy M.   silver reviewer (17)

Jul 2015

It is a great find for an Al Fresco meal without any traffic polluting your meal with every mouthful. We only had drinks, but the food I saw going past me had my mouth watering. Unfortunately the service is more about beauty than practicality, verging on the absent minded. So I would go with patience.

...

See more

Amy M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

NAC

41 North Audley Street, London W1K 6ZP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Awful service

by Sehar M.   (2)

Jul 2015

In a nutshell: - pros: tasty food (ordered the salmon), comfortable atmosphere and good desserts - cons: food was cold; they were out of the burgers and when we ordered the veal, they were out of the veal as well. Service was friendly but snail pace slow. will I come back, maybe.

...

See more

Sehar M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 3
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Colony Grill Room at The Beaumont

The Beaumont, 8 Balderton Street, London W1K 6TF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Read Nuzy Sayani's review of The Colony Grill Room at The Beaumont

by Nuzy S.   bronze reviewer (7)

Jul 2015

We are lucky to live in a city that has so many new restaurants to whet our appetite. The Colony Grill Room, the latest offering from Corbin and King, housed in The Beaumont, their first hotel, is one of them. I am a great fan of Fischers and The Wolseley, so I was looking forward to trying The Colony and it certainly exceeded my expectations. From the moment I walked into the elegant Art Deco inspired lobby of The Beaumont, I knew that I was in for a treat. A set of double doors leads you into the American Bar that has a great vibe. It was busy but not crowded and my girlfriends and I enjoyed a pre-dinner cocktail (they know how to mix a proper martini - shaken and not stirred) with a spot of people watching. It is Mayfair after all. The decor is in keeping with the 1920s building (a converted garage) and you are immediately conveyed back in time to the glamour and style of the pre-war era. I half expected my fictional hero Hercule Poirot to walk in any minute! Tom Mackenzie, the attentive reception manager seated us in one of the luxurious red leather booths that is so conducive to conversation and with the great lighting everyone looks fabulous! However there is nothing old-fashioned or stuffy about The Colony. Like its sister restaurants, you get great service and the ambience makes you feel special and yet relaxed. Rudi, the excellent reception manager at Fischers organised a table for me before The Colony had opened, so I had little information about the menu. The All Day A La Carte menu is a combination of American grill room and European classics. There were no great surprises but a wide choice from crustaceans, salads, American style sandwiches to grilled meats and fish. None of us fancied the Chicken Marengo that was the special of the night but we enjoyed the potted Morecambe Bay shrimp, Caesar salad , a comforting chicken pot pie and the New York strip steak. My Dover sole was perfectly cooked. Leli, the restaurant manager looked after us very well and helped us select lovely wine. She steered us towards a Cote du Rhone Blanc which I will certainly be sourcing. We managed to leave a little room for dessert and devoured a delicious sherry trifle that was almost as good as the one my sister makes. We couldn't resist the Baked Alaska that was served with pistachio ice cream, a twist on the traditional. I would recommend The Colony for a romantic dinner, a night out with your friends or a treat for your parents. The layout also makes it suitable for a business lunch or dinner as the booths afford you privacy. As ever the best ingredient to a great night out is sharing an evening with your closest friends and the hours slipped away effortlessly. www.colonygrillroom.com The Beaumont 8 Balderton Street Brown Hart Gardens W1K 6TF 020 7499 9499 October 2014 @NuzySayani Nuzy Sayani is Catwalkschoolgates’ restaurant reviewer. Nuzy lives in Marylebone with her husband and seven year old son. She is a technology lawyer and loves the theatre, cinema, is an avid reader and likes nothing more than trying out restaurants. Nuzy will be sharing her dining experiences with us and would love to hear from you with your recommendations.

...

See more

Nuzy S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Formans

Stour Road, Fish Island, London E3 2NT

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Bit of an off night, but good nonetheless

by Amy M.   silver reviewer (17)

Jul 2015

I think it's always a shame that they don't do more trade, as it's never busy. So as a local, I try to go and support them. This visit the staff as always are smiling and pleasant, however, considering that there was a grand total of 4 people in the restaurant (less than the number of staff), they need to keep a better eye out for needs. I had to get up and ask for another drink for example. The food is always delicious, with the smoked eel always being a highlight, although there was far too much potato and a weeny bit of eel for my starter and unfortunately I think they mistimed my main with my mothers. She had meat and I had fish and mine arrived luke warm. I think they must have left it under the lamp whilst her's finished cooking. They are charming, the restaurant itself is lovely and I would always recommend it. I will put it down to an off day.

...

See more

Amy M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Aqua Shard

Level 31 The Shard, 31 St Thomas Street, , London SE1 9RY

Overall rating: star fullstar halfstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

NEVER AGAIN

by Breda S.   (1)

Jul 2015

I went to the Aqua Shard on Saturday 024/07/2015 and I to say I was disappointed with the food was an understatement. Originally the booking was made by way of an offer for a meal for £30 when we asked about it they said that the menu they had it was the only one, which we accepted. There were 8 of us altogether and we ordered our meal. Our starter of Lobster was nice but the main meal there was not enough food on the plate. I ordered the lamb and I it was not cooked properly it was raw in places (I did not complain but I should have). O n my plate I had 2 slices of lamb, 3 French beans, 2 small carrots about1"long and 2 potatoes the size of marbles. I can honestly say that I could have cooked a better meal it was so meagre and just did not look inviting enough. My brother in law order sword fish and it was so small he sent it back. The desert was also a joke my sister ordered chocolate mousse with raspberry sorbet, the portion was so small I would have only filled up a young baby who had just started on solids. Our bill came to £566.and pence and I begrudged every penny. I feel like I have been conned it was an absolute disgrace and I would never recommend any one to eat there. I would never go back.

...

See more

Breda S.'s rating

star fullstar halfstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 3
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 2

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Balthazar

4-6 Russell Street, London WC2E 7BN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Perfect

by Daniel M.   (2)

Jul 2015

Genuinely my favourite restaurant. Went there at the end of 2014 and it was exquisite. The location is perfect, the food was fantastic and the staff were incredibly helpful. Would love to go back soon.

...

See more

Daniel M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Les Deux Salons

40-42 William IV Street, Strand, London WC2N 4DD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Brilliant restaurant

by Daniel M.   (2)

Jul 2015

Went on my very first date ever and it was a great experience. The food was impeccable, the staff incredibly helpful (and a good laugh too) and really made my time there easier than I could've hoped.

...

See more

Daniel M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Donna Margherita

183 Lavender Hill, London SW11 5TE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Great local

by Hugo G.   silver reviewer (18)

Jul 2015

Sitting on the less than inspiring Lavender Hill, Donna Margherita is a joy to visit. Circa ten years old, it feels new, with a modern decor and ambience, and with seriously well executed traditional Neopolitan fare, it performs admirably for the nappy valley crowd of Clapham. A very happy team give a warm welcome We kicked off with two specials; the calamari polpette (squid meatballs) which were crispy outside and had delicious subtle minced squid inside. served with a tartar sauce and livened up a little with peperoncino. In addition we had a bowl of steamed and sautéed clams and mussels, perfectly executed with the salty bisque tempered by the white wine. A risotto with Italian sausage, spinach and mozarella worked a charm as did the very generous spaghetti astice (lobster). We washed it down with the lesser known Pomino Bianco, an excellent choice from the impressively good value wine list put together by in house sommelier Graziano. My friend gulped down a perfect Tiramisu to complement a perfect Sunday lunch. Definitely worth a try and good value too. All the above including coffees and an Amaretto to finish came in at 50 quid a head. shall certainly be returning.

...

See more

Hugo G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Wood House

39 Sydenham Hill, London SE26 6RS

Overall rating: star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

WOOD HOUSE DULWICH - FUNERAL WAKE CHAOS! READ BOTH MY REVIEWS BELOW!

by Rosemarie A.   (1)

Jul 2015

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Lunchtime – Monday 22 June 2015 Looking online for a Dulwich area restaurant for my Mum’s funeral wake, we found the beautiful newly-refurbished Wood House in Dulwich. My sister met with a woman at the restaurant two weeks before the event who confirmed we could reserve a side of the conservatory for a sit-down, 2-course meal for 24 guests. She said that due to the number of guests we could have three choices of main and dessert, and my sister booked so many of each fish & chips, lamb with rosemary and lemon chicken and also desserts. On arrival the idea was that the guests would be ushered through to the conservatory to order drinks from their tables to ensure they were added to our tab. As the tables were not ready for our guests they all bought their own drinks at the bar. The drinks were expensive - over £11 for a pint of lager and a glass of wine. Once seated at the tables, my sister was told that the woman she had booked the event with was off that day and no food had been pre-ordered. The diligent waiter quickly confirmed that he could offer plenty of fish & chips and pork but it would take a while. The majority of guests agreed to have fish & chips but as the 24 meals were all brought out at different times it meant some guests were finishing as others were starting, making conversation awkward. Apparently everyone left the mushy peas – not sure why! The same with the puddings (the bread & butter pudding was far too dry). The waiter and waitresses tried to mitigate the damage with their politeness and apologies, but where was the management – nowhere to be seen! Conclusion: Beautiful pub but avoid at all costs! 6.30PM Friday 3 July 2015 Further to my previous review following my Mum’s wake on 22 June, we stupidly decided to give the Wood House at Dulwich another chance! This time it was dinner at 6.30pm for 6 guests. On arrival they had no knowledge of our booking, which had been by telephone the previous day. As the weather was warm, most diners were in the garden and so we were easily seated in the conservatory. A short while later a waitress called over to say she did have our booking and came over to take our order. We ordered a main course each, which took an hour to arrive. The chips accompanying the fish were mostly black from a rotten potato, which was obviously totally ignored by both the chef and the waitress. I ordered a well-done steak which arrived overcooked, hard to cut and contained a lot of gristle. When the waitress took our dessert choices she did mention there would be a delay with the puddings. An hour later we asked the waitress how much longer we would have to wait for our desserts and were told that she couldn’t tell us. We then cancelled our desserts and asked for the bill. She did say that she just needed to serve the people behind and would come back with the bill. 20 Minutes later a waiter brought a couple of desserts to our table and we told him we had cancelled our desserts and were patiently waiting for our bill. He took them back to the kitchen and returned to say that they were now free of charge. Politely we told him we did not want them and just wanted the bill. Finally the waitress returned with the bill, which we paid and left. I think the waiter and waitress were trying to do their best but, once again, where were the Management? Conclusion: Beautiful pub but avoid at all costs!

...

See more

Rosemarie A.'s rating

star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 1
  • Service: 2
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 1

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Taberna do Mercado

Old Spitalfields Market, 107a Commercial Street, London E1 6BG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty

avatar

Not as good as we expected

by David H.   platinum reviewer (55)

Jul 2015

Its good to hear of a new restaurant opening that seems to create a stir. The press reviews of Taberna do Mercado have been very enthusiastic. In the last few years we've had Dabbous, Roganic/Fera and Lima that can claim to be game-changers to some extent and are certainly restaurants that I wouldn't want to go a year without visiting. So its sad to say that for us at least, this new restaurant isn't nearly worth the hype. There were a couple of thoughts in my mind as we made our way to Spitalfields. First, what's all this "small plates" thing really about? And why should I prefer this to a starter/main/dessert structure? We've been to a number of small plate/sharing plate restaurants without ever feeling that this is the way we really want to eat. Will Taberno da Mercado help us see the light? Let me comment on this right away. Like most places serving small plates, the order and frequency of delivery here is to suit the kitchen not you. The tables are very often too small to comfortably hold the food you've ordered at the pace they choose to deliver it. But at least the answer to my question emerged during this meal. The purpose of small plates is to extract from each customer the most money in the shortest time, reducing the occupancy time ( without reducing the spend per customer) so the restaurant can sell the space again and again. The second concerned just how "different" this The Taberna would prove to be, and if it were different, would it be in a good way? We'd been put off Nuno Mendes' Viajante by a number of people whose opinions we respect telling us that the food was self-indulgent and not always pleasant. On the other hand three visits to his "Corner Room " went pretty well until my wife chose fish dishes that neither menu nor staff gave any indication were raw- which is not to her taste- and we didn't go back after that. Today we chose 8 dishes from several different sections of the menu. Of these two required little more than assembly ( ham & bread and a sandwich of beef fillet) and tasted OK. The two starters of runner bean fritters in a clam juice sauce, and prawn rissois, were innovative and tasty- if not as ecstatically wonderful as I've seen in some press reports. The two fish dishes served in tiny open cans ( cod with pimento and scallops in brown butter) were not terribly interesting and in the case of the scallops it didn't seem to me that the butter was browned at all - more just clarified. The remaining two small plates of alheira (poultry sausage) and bisaro pork tartare were not special, flavour-wise and both enjoyed rather odd textures. So in general a bit mixed with me feeling kinder than my wife. The food is different in the sense that assembly items aside I hadn't experienced dishes like this before. But I do feel compelled to add that being different is not the same as being excellent. I actively enjoyed about half of what I ate today with the rest being just OK. I can recall the first time I ate at Lima, at Dabbous, at Roganic, all of which were very different from other options at that time available. In each case it was clear that this food wasn't just different but remarkably good too. I didn't have anything like those feelings today. It's not just the food that's a bit strange. There's no menu on the website, nothing to tell you what you might eat or how much things will cost. Having made a reservation for lunch at least I could ask them to email a menu, which they did, albeit that much of it is in Portuguese so you still need the wait-staff to describe pretty much all the food. But if you walk in, you'll wait right to the door of the restaurant before your first glance of a menu or prices. It strikes us as unnecessarily arrogant to assume that people will want to go sight unseen? Is it hard to put a menu or the internet? When we got there the "greeter" was on the phone and positioned herself so that it was difficult for us to enter, despite that there were other members of staff around. Her "message " was clear-you have to wait for me-. After 5 mins of this we walked in and eventually were given a "table" at the end of a long table for 6. We asked for- and got - a proper table for 2 but they were plainly quite happy to give us a poor table when there were better options available. I question the attitude here- if one accepts as a given that their objective is to get customers to their table whilst feeling good about their decision to eat there. Meanwhile, the wait-staff who took and delivered our orders and who we paid were pleasant and efficient. Finally you need to go to this restaurant knowing that the environment and the food is very casual. It doesn't look like or taste like gourmet food. Its not a place to go for an occasion, or quiet conversation. Our 8 dishes and a bottle from the cheaper end of the list cost £93 with service and we were out in an hour, easily, having eaten enough albeit too quickly. Given what we ate its a stretch to describe that as good value, and to be honest if I'd queued for an hour or so to eat food like this and then been asked for £93 I might feel a little more strongly. I can't see us wanting to go back. It is different, but "different" doesn't necessarily mean great.

...

See more

David H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 5
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Mondrian London at Sea Containers

20 Upper Ground, London SE1 9PD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Happy medium

by arlette l.   (2)

Jul 2015

We ate here for sunday brunch. Tables are great for gatherings. The place was empty still by the time we left at 2.30pm. The service was ok. A DJ in the room with two tables full in the main restaurant. The food was ok. Shame we were not advised by telephone that on sunday's there is only a brunch menu. A little limited in choice. Would I go here again? No.

...

See more

arlette l.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Restaurant Mark Greenaway

69 North Castle Street, Edinburgh EH2 3LJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Superb restaurant - fine dining at a very affordable price

by L M.   (1)

Jul 2015

We visited here for the first time recently and four of us had the Market Menu (3 courses £22) and one had the a-la-carte. Not being a huge wine drinker I also went for the wine flight (£18) so they matched the food with an appropriate wine - i would not have known where to begin. The staff treat everyone as if they are royalty and are all well versed in the foods they are serving and the wines they give for accompaniment. Our meals were all superb and the attention to detail was amazing. The tastes were simply the best I have experienced and beatifully cooked and presented. We will definitely go back through to Edinburgh again just to eat here. They have managed to get a great balance whereby you experience fine dining in lovely surroundings but not so 'posh' you would feel uncomfortable. There is a nice relaxed atmosphere with gentle chatter from all the diners. I cannot fault it at all. The costs are ridiculously cheap for what you are getting and would highly recommend to anyone. Thank you Mark Greenaway and Nicola and all the lovely staff.

...

See more

L M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No