Latest Reviews

All reviews

Latest Square Meal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Zizzi Shrewsbury

39 - 40 HIGH STREET, Shrewsbury SY1 1SF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

So disapointed

by julia l.   (1)

Feb 2016

Oh Zizzi's of Shrewsbury, your standards you've let slip, we've been on several occasions, but last night your consigned to the tip. Staff, to busy to check on us, the meals were very poor, portions no bigger than starters, lukewarm there very best, come on Zizzi's of Shrewsbury, '' don't go like the rest ''. 4 prawns, and half a chicken breast is not enough for mains, come on Zizzi's of Shrewsbury, use your brains. I wish I could say we enjoyed it, but sadly we all felt ripped off, my birthday meal I'll remember, Thank-you, Zizzi's for that.

...

See more

julia l.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 5
  • Service: 2
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 1

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Joe Allen

13 Exeter Street, London WC2E 7DT

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Good pre-theatre experience

by sh k.   (2)

Feb 2016

We enjoyed an efficient and tasty pre-theatre dinner. The choices on the pre-theatre menu were sufficient with 3 or 4 selections for each course. We had steak and frittes, three bean chilli with tortilla chips for mains and lemon drizzle cake and cheeses for pudding. We were served quickly until the end when we wanted to leave for the theatre - we had to chase the server for a bill but we made curtain time without a problem. We would not have had time for coffee/tea as the house was full by 7:15 and servers were running around, but we didn't mind. We had been to the restaurant before and would happily return.

...

See more

sh k.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Hibiscus

29 Maddox Street, London W1S 2PA

Overall rating: star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Dreadful experience

by ian b.   (1)

Feb 2016

We ate here yesterday for a birthday lunch and are regular "fine diners". The previous weekend we'd eaten in 2 3 star Michelin restaurants. We chose the set lunch. Service was very slow because of 6 tables of tourists arriving together. The atmosphere was noisy, pub like - with most diners wearing hoodies and jeans. I had snail ravioli that was uncooked. I was offered an alternative starter. This was very bland but was eaten. The mains included ox cheek and skate - and all 4 of the party could not eat our choices because it was too salty. When asked why we had left our food - we explained calmly. The Maitre D' returned from the kitchen with our bill and the comment the chef was refusing to serve desert. We choose our restaurants carefully and rarely write poor reviews - this is an exception! We were shocked and horrified. I suggest that staff and the chef need to retrain in customer care. Yes we had a disappointing meal - but the means of handling the situation was appalling - Basil Fawltyesque. Not surprisingly we would never recommend

...

See more

ian b.'s rating

star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 2

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Alyn Williams at The Westbury Hotel

The Westbury Hotel, 37 Conduit Street, London W1S 2YF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Attention to detail

by Corinne C.   bronze reviewer (6)

Feb 2016

My friend and I were staying at the Westbury so we decided to book the restaurant as it has been recommended by a foodie friend. We had the 3 course meal. The choice was good. Perfect service. All you expect. Would return again.

...

See more

Corinne C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Barrica

62 Goodge Street, London W1T 4NE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Food + Service Delight

by Alana F.   (1)

Feb 2016

Came here for a client lunch, one person had severe food allergies which we alerted the restaurant to prior to arriving. On arrival we were presented with a menu that highlighted the "safe dishes" for our guest, which made the ordering process seamless. There was a large wine list, and the staff were happy to help navigate it for us. Food and service were both impeccable. The atmosphere was warm and friendly. Great for a nice/casual lunch or date night. Very much recommended.

...

See more

Alana F.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Maxwell s Bar and Grill

8 James Street, London WC2E 8BH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

A Fun Night Out

by Kim T.   (1)

Feb 2016

Hadn't been to this restaurant in a while and the friend I was with had never been. She thought it was a bit "touristy" when we first arrived, but liked the atmosphere and the fun/busy vibe. Fortunately we were savvy enough to realise that the portions were pretty big, so ordered something to share rather than completely overeat and, more importantly, knew we would be able to fit in dessert. We used a Gourmet card which gave us 25% off the bill never to be sniffed at! Despite this, did think it was a little overpriced, but all in all we had a great time, which was down to the food, drinks, lively atmosphere and company!

...

See more

Kim T.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Great Queen Street

32 Great Queen Street, London WC2B 5AA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

A welcome return

by Howard M.   (1)

Feb 2016

Haven't been back to Queen Street for some time but was pleasantly surprised - despite some reviews it has not 'gone down the pan'. My starter of potted shrimps was OK - a little over peppered. But the main of a Barnsley chop (lamb) with creamed spinach was very good. Pleasant enough staff who were helpful on the wine list. Unpretentious and good value for what it is. Will go again.

...

See more

Howard M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

OKA Restaurant Kingly Court

14 Kingly Court, London W1B 5PW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Sublime Sushi!

by Alice S.   bronze reviewer (9)

Feb 2016

Oka is my new favourite sushi joint. This restaurant is set in a perfect location, with loads of shops nearby, making Oka the perfect place to stop for lunch or dinner. The menu is designed for you to share the dishes. The sushi is so fresh and beautifully presented. We also tried the Mongolian lamb, which is a must - full of so much flavour! The tuna burger sliders are a great little dish to add to fill that extra space. The dessert is dreamy. You've got to go for the cookie dough dessert with ice cream. It's warm, gooey, and hits the spot! The food is very reasonably priced. Cheaper than your average Itsu! I've been here 3 times in one week... This place must be good.

...

See more

Alice S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Ivy Kensington Brasserie

96 Kensington High Street, London W8 4SG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Mr & Mrs B approve of this chic new addition to High Street Kensington

by AndMrs B.   bronze reviewer (5)

Feb 2016

Mr B's review: I’ve never quite understood what the fuss is all about with The Ivy. It’s years since I went to the restaurant (the club above is quite swish, admittedly, and I have been there quite a few times) - the food is notoriously mediocre. The clientele is the thing, I suppose. It’s a great brand of course, after all those pap shots on its doorstep – and, on the back of Soho House’s monstrous global sprawl, plus the roll-out of the Wolseley’s formula to spots like the Delauney and Zedel, it was only a matter of time before the Ivy followed suit and expanded. And so I give you, The Ivy Brasserie. On Kensington High St, something of a wasteland when it comes to personality, bar a few local exceptions like Otto e Mezzo, Ffiona’s or Il Portico, and lacking great restaurants (although The Belvedere, W8 Kitchen and Clarke’s are high-end mainstays and classy, I guess). There does seem a market among the well-heeled denizens of this neighbourhood for such an outpost. Clever Ivy! We wanted a ritzy night out and live somewhere near there, so thought we’d give it a go. The high-end brasserie design feels very familiar (see Balthazar, Colbert). It’s rather corporate somehow (the restaurant is situated in a high-end office block, bang on the high street). There are no paparazzi–level celebs here, at least not when we’re there, but plenty of well-off diners of all ages. It’s tough to get a handle on the vibe, in fact. There is a sense of occasion but little charm about the place. A localised flavour has been attempted with murals of the Great Exhibition of 1851, which took place down the road in Hyde Park, but this is hardly a neighbourhood eatery (the bathrooms have gold taps and marble floors – but then I guess some of the residences nearby too, so maybe it does fit that description!). Prices are, as you’d expect, not cheap. The food is mixed – a very poor £9.75 prawn cocktail, devoid of any zest or zing (Garfunkel’s do better – London’s best, by the way, if you’re interested, can be found at Hix in Soho) is followed by a surprisingly tasty £14.50 fish and chips. The fish, at least, is top-notch – fresh and lightly battered. Mrs B had tuna carpaccio (£9.95) and steak tartare (£9.25), the latter reminding me of Grandpa B’s famous story of how a working lunch backfired when his lunch guest, whom he was schmoozing, ordered the same dish, only – on being presented with it – to send the plate hurtling back to the kitchen, in indignation. The reason he balked at the sight of said unsuspecting steak? He was outraged to be served raw mincemeat. The offending restaurant? The Ivy... (To see what Mrs B thought, check out our blog!)

...

See more

AndMrs B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Royal China 30 Westferry Circus

30 Westferry Circus, London E14 8RR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

A quick midweek dimsum fix

by Vi V.   bronze reviewer (10)

Feb 2016

Royal China, Canary Wharf Riverside – a quick midweek dimsum fix. crispy noodles with chicken £9.50 – the noodles had a good crunch, not undercooked, and the gravy sauce not too strachy or salty. Just the perfect balance with an assortment of crunchy vegetables. roast pork buns £3.50 – quite a meagre filling but I liked the bao. Soft, fluffy and steaming hot. Yummy! turnip cake with cured meat £3.50 – not a good texture. Looked good but failed to deliver in taste and the texture was mushy and felt wrong. fried yam paste meat dumplings £3.50 – my favourite dim sum! The pastry was a little too oily and filling, too salty. Not pleasant. honey roast pork puff £3.50 – another must order dish for me at my dim sum outings. Nice! shanghai pork dumplings £3.50 – the pastry was quite thin and the soup in the dumpling was flavoursome. Pretty much average. plain chee cheung fun with peanut sauce £3.80 – I am always glad to try new variety of dim sums offered and I felt quite western when ordering this fusion dish. Well, I can say that I am definitely not ordering this dish again. The chee cheung fun alone also had a very funny texture – mushy, felt as though the proportion of flour was wrong or a substandard rice flour was used.

...

See more

Vi V.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Knowles of Norwood

294-296 Norwood Road , London SE27 9AF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Worthwhile addition

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (161)

Feb 2016

The Antic pub chain now extends to around 40 venues spread across London and the formula deployed seems to work. The group takes buildings with a history, does them up in a ‘retro-cool’ style and then creates an atmosphere that amazingly seems to work both for hipsters and families. Prior to its venture in Norwood, Antic has worked its charms on locations as diverse as former banks (in Woolwich), job centres (Deptford) and cinemas (Harlesden) among others. Here in SE27, a former hardware shop has now been transformed. A legacy of Knowles’ previous life can be seen from the mix of tools, bric-a-brac and a communal workbench that – somehow – works. Our group of 12 (including 3 kids) were well looked after on a recent Sunday lunchtime visit, when the place was full and buzzing. In terms of drink, there is a good range of British ales and the wine list also impressed, offering diversity from a Romanian Pinot Noir through to an Argentinean Malbec. Being a Sunday, we opted for roasts and were pleased with the range spanning six options, both in adult- and child-size versions. The food came promptly and was presented well, although if I were to quibble, then the taste bordered on bland the portion sizes seemed somewhat stingy. It didn’t matter too much since everyone enjoyed themselves (ultimately what going to the pub is all about…) and the potential here for Knowles to become an established success is clear.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Zen China

County Hall, Riverside Building, Westminster Bridge Road, Queens Walk, London SE1 7PB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Okay restaurant with potential

by Val M.   (3)

Feb 2016

We came here for Chinese New Year, as we felt it would be a lot more relaxed than putting ourselves through the ordeal of China Town. We were very pleased on arrival with the general relaxed and spacious feel of the restaurant and felt it lived up to the 'Zen' title. We were a little shocked at: A) the fact it was half empty on such a day B) the lack of any special décor or nod to occasion C) the friendliness and even slight familiarity of the staff (not something we are used to in most Chinese restaurants The building, being part of County Hall, has quite a municipal feel about it, and the décor was quite minimal and the ceiling was quite functional and plain. We felt that they could do an awful lot to make it even more welcoming and a lot more luxurious. The views are stunning, so it's a bit of a shame that that more isn't made to take advantage of that. The food was pretty standard Chinese, and a bit lacking in inspiration too, but nothing terrible. Again, we felt an awful lot could be done to improve both the décor and the food. But overall it was and enjoyable experience. However, the place could definitely be taken up a few levels, and I'm sure it would quickly become far more populated.

...

See more

Val M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No