Latest Reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Spice Merchant Beaconsfield

33 London End Road, Beaconsfield HP9 2HW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Al Fresco Dining

by orva I.   (2)

Jul 2016

We were very excited to enjoy our food out in their beautiful garden, a hidden gem in the middle of the Old Town Beaconsfield. A really large and unexpected space with a pond and bridge. All made for an excellent evening with delicious food.

...

See more

orva I.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Don Restaurant

The Courtyard, 20 St. Swithins Lane, London EC4N 8AD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Fine dining with some fine food

by Sarah G.   gold reviewer (39)

Jul 2016

Nothing to complain about here, excellent food, excellent service - what more could you ask for. A little on the pricey side but where isn't these days in London. I had the monkfish tail wrapped in pancetta which wa absolutely superb, so often monkfish is overcooked and rubbery but this was perfect - washed down with a glass of Champagne - a little bit of heaven!

...

See more

Sarah G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Aladin Brick Lane

132 Brick Lane Aldgate East, London E1 6RU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Brilliant dine in place

by minnie r.   (1)

Jul 2016

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Absolute amazed with this Restaurant! Had a party of 25 booked in and we were not dissapointed! Everyone loved what they ordered, we had to order more after for takeaway. Worlds Best Curry House

...

See more

minnie r.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Deeson s British Restaurant

25-26 Sun Street, Canterbury CT1 2HX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Quality in Canterbury

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (178)

Jul 2016

When Deeson’s opened in Canterbury in 2009 many believed that it would help restore the city’s culinary reputation. Since then, and in common with many other prosperous towns with tourist attractions in the south east, the dining scene has moved on. More competition has come to the market, resulting in a general improvement in quality levels and dining options. While a short weekend break in Canterbury only afforded us one evening on which to dine out, we had no regrets about our choice of Deeson’s. Beyond the positive experience itself, just a simple look at the menu here suggests a more exciting approach to cooking than that which its closest local rivals (Abode, Ambrette, Goods Shed etc.) have to offer. The emphasis at Deeson’s is firmly on British cooking and the fairly priced menu sees starters come in at £7-9 and mains at £17-25, with a choice of about 8 options for each. The ambience is relaxed and service friendly, mostly professional and enthusiastic. While considering our dishes we enjoyed a glass of local (Chapel Down of Rye) sparkling wine, crisp and refreshing with pleasant floral notes. My starter was an innovative pairing of (again locally sourced) wood pigeon with pickled wild mushrooms and gooseberries. The more astringent flavours of the latter two ingredients worked as a perfect foil to offset the richness of the meat. For my main, pan-fried sea bream in a cream tarragon sauce was much less trend-setting, but what the dish lost in inventiveness, it gained in preparation, with the piece of fish cooked to perfection and among the most succulent I have sampled anywhere recently. My comrade praised her dishes too, particularly rating the delicacy and combination of ingredients in her cheese soufflé main. Our food was accompanied by a reasonably decent bottle of new world Chardonnay, although I would suggest that there is some room for improvement in the wine list, which could benefit in particular from a broader range of options in the £40-60/bottle bracket (i.e. price points above and below this were covered, but less so here). Our meal concluded on a high note as we shared Deeson’s crumble of the day, in this case, an excellent rhubarb version. Overall, it was hard to find fault, and beyond the cathedral and the city’s wide selection of great pubs, Deeson’s should be a must for any visitor.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Pizza East 56 Shoreditch High Street

56 Shoreditch High Street, London E1 6JJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Pizza is great, service is average

by Laurie M.   (1)

Jul 2016

I love Pizza East, I probably go here at least twice a month. As long as you are not expecting exceptional service it is lovely. Food is always great and on a Monday it's a bargain!

...

See more

Laurie M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 5
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Roast

Floral Hall, Stoney Street, London SE1 1TL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

why don't i visit more often!?

by Graham J.   (3)

Jul 2016

Roast is one of only a few restaurants in London that always makes me think the same thought; why don't I visit more often? The staff are always friendly, the cooking is reliable. yesterday was hot, but they turned up the a/c and everything was fine. My guest was nearly one hour late arriving, but we never felt hurried. I really must remember to visit more frequently!

...

See more

Graham J.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Cantina del Ponte

The Butlers Wharf Building, 36c Shad Thames, London SE1 2YE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

HIts the spot!

by Jan d.   silver reviewer (17)

Jul 2016

This place always hits the spot! The food is good, the welcome really friendly, the location ideal (especially if you're entertaining "out-of-towners") and the service, if not pitch perfect is done with a smile and a flourish that will soon make you forgive any delay!! The wine list is short but pretty decently priced and features a fairly good cross section of the Italian wine industry, both geographically and oenologically. The food is always imaginative and considered (the burrata served on a bed of grilled, smoked aubergines, zucchini and tomatoes was out of this world!) Their seafood classics are always delicious. Nothing more to say...well recommended!!

...

See more

Jan d.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Mondrian London at Sea Containers

20 Upper Ground, London SE1 9PD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Over priced and by the river!

by Jan d.   silver reviewer (17)

Jul 2016

This place certainly has sparkle and razmatazz but milks it far too much! The surroundings are very sexily zingy, the background music hip and laid back, the lighting subdued in places, in others too garish (choose your table very carefully) all of which creates a good vibe and dining atmosphere. The food is good without being extraordinarily so but the prices are definitely loaded hotel wise. But by far the biggest downer on this place (and, in my opinion, a good enough reason to avoid the place until they put it right) is the wine list which is full of very mediocre wines, the majority of which are fantastically overpriced. Those which aren't, are just expensive! In short, go there for a drink in the cocktail bar upstairs, stay the night but eat elsewhere!!

...

See more

Jan d.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 3

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Ivy Kensington Brasserie

96 Kensington High Street, London W8 4SG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

great addition to kensington!

by Biscuit   silver reviewer (17)

Jul 2016

i'm always surprised by how few good restaurants there are in and around Kensington, so was excited to see the ivy open up here. it did not disappoint! I think the food is better than in the original one in covent garden, and has more atmosphere than the ivy cafe in Marylebone. It was good to see they kept some of their signature dishes too... my husband loved the shepherds pie! We had a really lovely evening and although its pricey, i did actually think it was worth it. if you live in the area I'd highly recommend it. It's good for the whole family, and has a bar where you can have a cocktail afterwards too.

...

See more

Biscuit's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Maida

148-150 Bethnal Green Road, London E2 6DG

Overall rating: star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

very bad

by sadia a.   (1)

Jul 2016

I called this restaurant to book a private room for my family. Every think was ok and the booked supposed to be in 26/07/2016. When we arrived to the restaurant the stuff said there is no room booked. I was very embarrassed and upset.

...

See more

sadia a.'s rating

star fullstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Atmosphere: 2
  • Value: 2

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Aladin Brick Lane

132 Brick Lane Aldgate East, London E1 6RU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

5 Star Restaurant

by shaun l.   (1)

Jul 2016

5***** Restaurant! Top in Brick Lane! Had a great meal on Sunday lunch with a group of 15 with a fantastic service. Good that we booked in advance because the restaurant did get packed out! Highly recommended

...

See more

shaun l.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No