All reviews

Latest Square Meal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Balls Brothers Victoria

50 Buckingham Palace Road, London SW1W 0RN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Could be a lot better

by Werner B.   bronze reviewer (5)

Aug 2015

Got there a bit early for lunch, to meet my daughter. Asked if there was a paper shop in the neighbourhood and the guy behind the bar struggled to understand me. Lucky one of the waitresses did understand and pointed me in the right direction. As I was reading my paper, nobody came near me for at least half an hour. My daughter was late and eventually somebody took my drink order. Service was a bit abrupt and the Eastern European style was showing through, like, I don't care too much if I give good service. The meal was ok but nothing special. A shame, because there are so many good places in London.

...

See more

Werner B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Jinjuu

15 Kingly Street, London W1B 5PS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Fast service and good food

by Lynn W.   gold reviewer (33)

Aug 2015

There's lots of choice in Kingly Street but this is a good one. We liked the small plates especially, the Sae Woo pops (prawn lollies) with spicy chilli mayo for dipping, so cute and so tasty; the bulgogi beef tacos with soft flour tortilla and plenty of filling; and the veggie kimbap rolls. After that, the bimbibap appeared sizzling hot in hefty stone bowls, the rice forming a crispy crust under finely sliced and shredded vegetables plus prawns, topped with an egg and gochujang sauce stirred through. Really we were full but the Snickers hotteok sounded too tempting, and we demolished the lot - a firm, flat Korean pancake with salted caramel filling, crushed peanut brittle, ice cream and chocolate ganache. A bottle of Molamatta went very well with the mix of flavours and spices. Service was pleasant and brisk - so you could be finished and out in an hour if you want.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Augustine Kitchen

63 Battersea Bridge Road, London SW11 3AU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Regional French food in Battersea

by Lynn W.   gold reviewer (33)

Aug 2015

A lovely independent restaurant with authentic regional French cooking and charming service. Mid week in August it was quiet, but this suited our party of four. There were plenty of things on the menu we wanted to eat, and I started with king prawn and basil papilotte - 5 juicy fat prawns, individually wrapped with a sliver of basil leaf and transparent crunchy filo pastry - these created menu envy around the table. Grilled entrecote with tarragon butter for the main course came with proper thin French fries, while the rack of lamb for others arrived with luscious gratin potatoes and we couldn't help dipping in to the creamy-cheesy sauce. The pike mouse with lobster sauce and pearl barley looked quite light, but was said to be good as well as filling. It was all going so well we had to have desserts. The diplomat pudding was good, a sort of bread and butter pudding with plenty of rum, the chocolate and pistachio mousse suitably rich, while the pink praline floating island was a bit underwhelming. The locals are lucky to have this smart but not stuffy restaurant on their doorstep.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Odette s

130 Regent's Park Road, London NW1 8XL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Posh lunch and plonk in Primrose Hill, for under £30

by The Cheese   platinum reviewer (56)

Aug 2015

Despite being impressed with Odette’s, I confess that veggies miss out on its killer lunch deal: three courses for £17, Tuesday to Friday. Pescetarians do alright, but you may need to order a la carte for an entirely meat-free meal. We plumped for the set menu, lapping up the fact you can add half a bottle of house wine - a perfectly quaffable cabernet sauvignon - and coffee for just £9 (er, yes please). Fish soup arrived with an artfully-adorned crouton, kicking off the meal with a summery flourish. My own starter of lamb ragu was served with perfectly al dente pappardelle, and perked up with satisfying bursts of pickled mustard seed. Mains were a mixed bag as my crushed celeriac with roasted beets was flavoursome but seemed incomplete; it lacked crunch, and the combination felt more like a showy side dish than the main event. It undoubtedly played second fiddle to my pal's regal-looking plaice with mussels, coastal herbs and a delectable butter sauce. Bitter chocolate tart with a cooling goat’s milk ice cream rounded off the meal satisfyingly, and several little extras made a lasting impression; excellent olives and soda bread, and homemade raspberry pastilles alongside supremely aromatic Americanos. Sailing past a picture of Morrissey on route to the conveniences, we were very taken with a quick peek at the private room, seating ten. On this occasion, it provided ample space and soundproofing for Primrose Hill’s yummy mummies and their offspring (presumably named Oscar, Sophie, Halloumi and Caper). The main dining room was therefore free for the ladies who lunch, yet the space felt unintimidating (despite the starched linen and high incidence of twinsets). Our waiter seemed genuinely gratified by our enjoyment, and enthusiastically shared titbits about ingredients without ever being intrusive. We left with a warm invitation to pop back soon; an offer we hope to take up, despite being strident South Londoners. Given the bum note that was my main, I’m not sure I’d fork out for the tasting menu; but with a lunch deal that reasonable, why wouldn’t we be back?

...

See more

The Cheese's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Morden and Lea

17 Wardour Street, London W1D 6PJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

An unexpected find

by Denise I.   (1)

Aug 2015

The surroundings are not salubrious given its location at the unlovely end of Wardour Street, but Mark Sargeant knows how to brief his interior designers and the result is very pleasing. He also knows how to put together a menu. This time he has gone for a large space over two floors and it needs to be filled a great deal more than it was to make economic sense. We dined upstairs.It is classy cooking with imaginative use of spicing. I would have loved a more adventurous white wine list, but for that you have to turn to the Reserve list which naturally carries a hefty price lift. Just go. Morden and Lea will not readily fall short of expectations.

...

See more

Denise I.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Gaucho O2

O2 Arena, Peninsula Square, London SE10 0DX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Gaucho Argentine Wine Fair

by Vi W.   (1)

Aug 2015

What did I think of Gaucho before? A fancy food-chain restaurant that serves probably quite good food with overrated expensive wine. How wrong I was! Gaucho emphasizes Argentinian culture where food and wine and the passion for people forms an integral part. This I learnt when I attended an Argentinian wine fair for a preliminary preview of Gaucho’s Argentinian wine launching in October 2015. What do I think of Gaucho after the event? No further convincing needed. I am looking forward to their full launch of Argentinian wines in October 2015 in all of their Gaucho restaurants. Prices starts from £11.50 for rose, red and white wine. Many are priced in the region of £19.00 – £25.00, £70.00++ for few prestige bottles and up to £100.00 for a bottle of Nicolas Catena Zapata. Magnum bottles range from £128.00 to Susana Balbo’s £398.00. Argentina’s sparkling wine are also available from £19.00. Delicious prawn ceviche and empanadas - cheese and ham, beef (tender and flavoursome meat) and spinach and cheese – all served hot.

...

See more

Vi W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Chapters all Day Dining

43-45 Montpelier Vale, London SE3 0TJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Excellent modern European food

by Shu   bronze reviewer (5)

Aug 2015

Went to Chapters last night and had a thoroughly enjoyable, delicious meal for 2. We both had the 3 course set meal at £17.95, plus a bottle of Malbec. Inc service charge, it was just a tad over £60.00, which his great for the quality of food enjoyed. Good, punchy flavours. Well presented. Service was attentive without being fussy. Laid back atmosphere, which would be suitable for both an informal and formal occasions. Highly recommended and I would definitely go back.

...

See more

Shu's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Sackvilles

8a Sackville Street, London W1S 3DF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

A veggie in meatapalooza

by Peter .   (1)

Aug 2015

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

First off I should say, all my friends are frenzy meat eaters. I on the other hand am I vegetarian, which not exactly makes places like Sackville’s my normal restaurants. I was really sceptical as all I had heard was that it has a lot of meat with a lot of truffle. To my surprise I was in luck when I saw that there was quite a lot of vegetarian starters (heirloom tomatoes, mushrooms, risotto) and then also what can only be described as London’s best veggie burger. A falafel Pattie with tomato relish and a truffle paste on their homemade brioche bun. Staff and atmosphere was fun with the bar downstairs offering a really chatty bartender and some fun music.

...

See more

Peter .'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

House of Tippler

123 Lordship Lane, London SE22 8HU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

It's 11.30 and the club is jumpin', jumpin’… even in East Dulwich

by The Cheese   platinum reviewer (56)

Aug 2015

We enjoyed a rare 'after hours' knees-up on Saturday, in the form of a rollicking spell at House of Tippler. The bar's long, skinny shape couldn't accommodate a proper dance floor but that didn't stop the mid '30s crowd busting dated - but cheerful - moves. On this occasion, the DJ was playing a hilarious mix of '90s garage (Artful Dodger; DJ Luck and MC Neat) and retro R ’n' B (Montell Jordan; Destiny's Child). While the kitsch soundtrack didn't hit the spot for my other half, he was equally happy to soak up the unpretentious, feelgood atmosphere… and it did not stop him dancing. The chaps behind the bar beamed with universally sunny dispositions, slinging cocktails from the comfort of their hideous Hawaiian shirts. We queued for a good few minutes ahead of our first drink (safe in the knowledge that a proper Old-Fashioned takes time), but the wait was entirely worthwhile. These were the kind of savvy barmen that notice who’s next, and whatever we ordered was consistently ace. No unnecessary bells or whistles; just well-executed classics and impressive house specials. (The signature Lordship Mule was a belter, muddling rum and pink fizz with rhubarb and ginger to lip-smacking effect). Table service operated whenever staff could navigate their way through the jolly hoards, so I’d endeavour to nab a stool next time. Not only were cocktails a mere £7.95 a pop, but I’d wager they’re the best in the neighbourhood. Midweek the feel is far calmer and quietly cool, while lacking in any delusions of grandeur. It's just plain likeable, and worth looking out for tastings, brunches and pop ups in the kitchen. In short: good, clean fun with a later license on Lordship Lane.

...

See more

The Cheese's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Piacha

280 Upper Street, London N1 2TZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great haven for tea lovers

by John M.   (1)

Aug 2015

We recently discovered this tranquil haven in the middle of busy Upper Street. Excellent selection of teas! Not just your regular blacks and greens, but also interesting blends, with flavours such as licorice, ginseng or chili. Definitely worth several visits to experience all those amazing flavours. We will be back! :-) M&A, Geneva

...

See more

John M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Sky Pod at Sky Garden

Level 35, 20 Fenchurch Street, London EC3M 3BY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Spirits in the Sky

by Luncheon Vulture   gold reviewer (47)

Aug 2015

Given the abundance of high rise bars/restaurants in the City nowadays, it would be easy to become somewhat jaded at the prospect of a drink with a view...not so at Sky Pod. The three storey glass walled area that comprises the bar and garden area is truly spectacular, but when you add the panoramic 360-degree views afforded, it is utterly breathtaking. We were fortunate to be there on one of the very rare sunny and clear evenings this summer has offered and spent most of our time trying to recognise some of less familiar buildings, 35 floors above the ground. Be prepared for sky-high prices to match the surroundings and the somewhat frosty waiting staff (must be the thinness of the air that high up!), but for an impressive location for a cocktail or two, it is hard to beat. Just ensure you pre-book to avoid the queue to get in...............

...

See more

Luncheon Vulture's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Darwin Brasserie at Sky Garden

Level 36, 20 Fenchurch Street, London EC3M 3BY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Bit of a let down.....

by Luncheon Vulture   gold reviewer (47)

Aug 2015

After the dizzy heights of the Sky Pod bar, we headed off to the Darwin Brasserie, just one floor above but it felt like a lot of stairs to get there. The initial impression was not great; the Brasserie feels cramped and dark after the airy expanse of the bar, and with the whole area set back from the external windows of the building, the views are not as good as from the bar. Tables are rammed in and it felt a lot different from the publicity photos posted on its website. The menu was exactly as listed on the website with no daily specials which was a bit of a shame as I can't say the menu had imbued me with great expectations. Three of us went for fish and chips, which was ok but nothing special and our fourth opted for lamb rump, which turned out to be a very small dish given the price tag of £25. Service was ok but the overall experience was just a bit of a let down, given the surroundings. Personally I'd rather stump up the extra funding and head off to City Social when I want food as spectacular as the view.................

...

See more

Luncheon Vulture's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No