All reviews

Latest Square Meal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

About Thyme

82 Wilton Road, London SW1V 1DL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Fabulous Meal

by Dawn G.   (3)

Aug 2015

Glad I suggested About Thyme to my friends. We had 2 course set menu & as usual it was great. Everyone praised me for choosing this restaurant, but I had to confess I have been here several times & am never disappointed. The Confit Duck is to die for & one of my friends who doesn't like duck tried it & decided next time she will order it! It was a great birthday celebration for me knowing everyone had such a good meal.

...

See more

Dawn G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Inamo

134-136 Wardour Street, London W1F 8ZP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Nice Idea

by Dawn G.   (3)

Aug 2015

I love the concept of this restaurant, but it needs a bit more refinement. We ordered from the set menu 3 courses. Alas they serve the starter & the main together, so you rush through the starter so that your main doesn't go cold! I had chicken with rice. Although the chicken had a type of teriyaki sauce coated on it, the bowl of rice was just plain, so it was a very dry meal. We were down in the basement which really was very stark, although upstairs looked much nicer. We booked, but they gave walk ins better tables. If I go back I will request a table upstairs

...

See more

Dawn G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Hide at The Bull

4-5 Devonshire Row, London EC2M 4RH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Third time unlikely

by Luncheon Vulture   gold reviewer (44)

Aug 2015

This was my second visit to The Hide at the Bull, but sad to say, I'm unlikely to return. Evening started well enough; after the absolute zoo that is the Bull (the pub below the Hide) it was a welcome relief to escape to the peace and calm that the Hide offers. It was however, somewhat strange, that despite it being a Thursday evening in what is a fairly lively part of the Square Mile, we were the only 6 diners......on arrival, during our meal and when we left the restaurant sometime around 10pm, not one other diner bothered to mooch upstairs. We can only surmise that they just couldn't hear the bar staff to realise where the restaurant is, or were just put off by having their ears assaulted over pre-prandials!! We had one waitress dedicated to us, which was absolutely fine as she quickly understood that we were having a proper catch up after several months apart. As such, there was no rush or pressure to order but eventually hunger got the better of us and we ordered, funnily enough, six starters and six main courses. The menu itself is very limited but does manage to appeal to all tastes and in the main, is well cooked and well presented. Alas, the staff at the Hide made the absolute cardinal sin of missing one dish off the order......which just happened to be my main course lamb......which eventually arrived as most of my friends were finishing their mains.....which then meant I had to wolf down my meal in order not to be the saddo slow eater......Whilst the waitress apologised, there was no attempt of recompense made (as only three of us ordered desserts, you'd think they could have waived that part of the bill if not a free bottle of wine given the amount we got through!) and as such, a great evening ended on a bit of a sour note. Had the restaurant been rammed to the rafters, I could have accepted a slight mishap, but to miss a complete dish when you only have six to do?

...

See more

Luncheon Vulture's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 5
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Masala Zone Covent Garden

48 Floral Street, London WC2E 9DA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Excellent food, friendly service, good value for money

by andrea r.   (1)

Aug 2015

We visited late on a Sunday after a show and the restaurant was still buzzing with a nice atmosphere. The service was prompt, efficient and friendly (we had a few special requests), and the food was superb. I would recommend the regular Thali with butter chicken, delicious! Considering that Masalazone is in the heart of Covent Garden, tourist country, the meal was very good value indeed. I can't comment on the drinks as we had tap water. We will definitely visit again and can wholeheartedly recommend Masalazone, Covent Garden.

...

See more

andrea r.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Tivoli Cheltenham

34 Andover Road, Cheltenham GL50 2TJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Not that great

by Werner B.   (4)

Aug 2015

For a long time we've wanted to go there, but never got around to it. So when we finally did, we did expect a pleasant dining experience. But when we entered the restaurant/pub, there was nobody to great us. After a while, a girl behind the bar helped us to a table. The menu was standard pub grub and not very "gastro". The atmosphere was like that of an empty pub. Very odd room with a bar against one wall, a few tables around the perimeter and in the middle a few high bar tables and bar stools. Certainly did not work for us. Service was quite casual with a dirty tea towel flung over the shoulder or under the arm. Not my kind of place. Nobody came to clear our plates, so we just got up, paid and left. Not a very good evening.

...

See more

Werner B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Pig on the Beach

Manor Road, Studland Bay, Swanage BH19 3AU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Food not as good as previous visits, but they still leave you wanting to go back

by David H.   platinum reviewer (58)

Aug 2015

We've been to this Pig and its Brockenhurst sibling a few times , and have always left feeling that we've had a good time and looking forward to going back. No exception, though as I'll explain there were a couple of things about the food on this visit that I'm glad didn't happen first time. The place first; its a hotel with big grounds that get overrun by day visitors on summer weekends. I have a feeling I might like it better in the winter . The hotel and restaurant are very nicely presented in a kind of older, rural, shabby chic kind of way but importantly a great deal of thought has clearly gone into how they want the much refurbished hotel and the result works very well indeed. Its a pleasure to be there. The service is an enigma. On the one hand everyone is pleasant and helpful; on the other there are unexplained delays in the service both here and at Brockenhurst. There its often that everything that happens after the main course is slow. Here we waited quite a while for starters after which everything was perfect. Can't understand it and its down as a quirk in my book. On the other hand we rang the restaurant at 11.15 am and couldn't manage to guess which combination of the phone choices we were given might tempt someone to answer the phone. Yet when we did get through, the answer to an unlikely request of "our reservation is at 1.45. But we're close by now after an unexpectedly smooth journey; and chance we can come at 12?" We weren't at all hopeful on a busy and sunny Saturday, but they said yes so we turned up at mid-day. They serve great bread here , and we also tried the rather nice little hake fishcakes before our starters turned up. I liked my broad bean and smoked bacon salad, but they hadn't skinned the broad beans, meaning that whatever the provenance of the beans, they looked and tasted like tinned. My main course of local cuttlefish and pork jowl featured a tasty and well cooked cuttlefish. Sadly at the base of the dish was a strong , no overpowering, sauce that in my view spoiled the dish altogether. My wife chose less adventurously but probably enjoyed her meal more. To be fair its the first time in this or any other Pig that I've been given a dish that just didn't work, for me anyway. With coffee and some nice Vermentino and Grenache/Syrah by the glass our bill was £96. Despite the food setback, we'll go back without question, and indeed my wife and some of our daughters are booked in this week.

...

See more

David H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Rotunda

Kings Place, 90 York Way, London N1 9AG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Oh dear!

by Dorian A.   silver reviewer (20)

Aug 2015

Has the management or the chef changed recently? Originally we thought Rotunda was very good, but our last visit was a big disappointment. Delicious ingredients ruined by bad cooking. Is it so difficult to bake a beautiful lemon sole without drying it out and leaving is crisp and chewy? In two minds whether we'll make the trek to Rotunda again. Very sad!

...

See more

Dorian A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 3
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Smack Deli

26 Binney Street, London W1K 5BN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

It's almost fast food - in a good way

by Lynn W.   silver reviewer (25)

Jul 2015

Stumbled on this place by mistake, having been in town for meetings and on my way to check out Selfridges. I wanted something easy and quite quick, and seemed to remember having heard about this. It was disconcerting going in the place as it seemed a bit empty and I felt sort of lost (too old to understand it maybe, not their target demographic) - but staff were sufficiently engaging to overcome this and service was quick. A buttery brioche-type roll arrived with lots of lobster and chilli mayo - yum. Eaten up, happy customer, on my way.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Balls Brothers Minster Exchange

Minster Court, London EC3R 7PP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Dinner

by garry b.   gold reviewer (41)

Jul 2015

I have eaten here a few times and continue to enjoy the experience. The food is good and the service and atmosphere very good. Each time I have brought clients to the restaurant, they have been very impressed.

...

See more

garry b.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Ivy

1-5 West Street, London WC2H 9NQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Still classic, but new too...

by squaremale   silver reviewer (26)

Jul 2015

I haven't been here for quite a while, and it was my first visit since the refurb. Previously it did everything it aimed to do very well, and I was delighted to find it's still doing that. It's now a very different interior, but happily the good bits about the room are retained, including the stained glass and the wood panelling. The new central bar is great and the table layout is good too. The comfort food remains consistently pleasing and the service was arguably better than ever, and certainly as friendly, welcoming and helpful as it's ever been. If you've tired of this place, which I must admit I had done to some extent, you should try it again, it really has been rejuvenated.

...

See more

squaremale's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Craft London

Peninsula Square, London SE10 0SQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Handy for the O2

by Lynn W.   silver reviewer (25)

Jul 2015

Just walk from the tube station towards the O2 dome and there it is - a restaurant on the first floor, and bar on the second. It's modern and airy, spacious and comfortable. There is an effort to provide home made, local and sustainable produce which is to be admired. We had a very good evening there with family, it's light enough to see the menu and what you are eating, and buzzy but not so loud you can't converse. This is all fine and some of the food was excellent, but it just didn't hang together for me. All started well with a bowl of fresh breads, including lovely light naan, and home made butter. The first course of cheese custard with mushrooms was a surprise - it was bowl of cheesy sauce topped by salad leaves with some crisp crackers, other vegetables and leaves and I think there was a slice of mushroom. The sauce was nice and cheesy, the crackers crunchy, the salad leaves awkward to eat dripping in sauce, and some of the green veg leaves so tough they were impossible to deal with. My main course of lamb with tomatoes and anchovies was an assembly rather than a dish. Beautifully cooked, delicious lamb with a good grilled crust served sliced, on top of some sliced tomatoes, and anchovy sauce on the side. The sauce was so aggressive it overpowered the other ingredients so I left it. Dessert was a disappointment - sweet Yorkshire pudding with berries and ice cream. I imagined perhaps a British take on a clafoutis type pudding, but it was just a rather uninteresting Yorkshire pudding with some berries inside and vanilla ice cream on top - another assembly. Afterwards we went upstairs to the bar for a drink and it was very fresh out on the balcony with a great view of everything going on. Overall we did have a good evening, some of the food is terrific, and would probably go there again if over there for an event at the O2. The menu changes very frequently, so I hope for better choices next time.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Vinoteca Soho

53-55 Beak Street, London W1F 9SH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Consistently good

by Joanna G.   silver reviewer (16)

Jul 2015

This is the 4th time I have eaten here and as the title says, the food is consistently good, nothing particularly outstanding (apart from the vast selection of very reasonable wines by the glass!), but perfect for 4 of us to have a good old natter over really good platters of charcuterie, small plates of burrata, olives, pulled pork croquettes, followed by a delightfully crispy confit leg of duck on creamy mash and veal chops. The only slight downside was the service was erratic, although they did acknowledge this and brought us (unprompted) a glass each of sparkling moscato at the end of our meal by way of apology. This is a great place to meet friends and eat, drink and be merry but not for an intimate, quiet meal.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No