Latest Reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Murakami

63-66 St Martin’s Lane, London WC2N 4JS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Delicious Food & Very Friendly Staff

by Irena T.   (1)

Sep 2016

We dined here yesterday and had about 45 mins before going to theatre. The staff acknowledged it and served us fairly quickly. Food was delicious. I love Japanese food and their Cod Volcano was super delish. Ambience is pleasant.The meal was about £50 per person including 1 beer and 1 small glass of wine - quite expensive in my view, hence only average rating for value for money.

...

See more

Irena T.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Midsummer House

Midsummer House, Midsummer Common, Cambridge CB4 1HA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Three star material

by Paul A.   platinum reviewer (87)

Sep 2016

Mark Abbott deserves more recognition than he gets. Of the three times now that we have dined at Midsummer Daniel Clifford has twice not been in the kitchen, and yet both times our meal has been impeccable. We believe that a head chef has to be capable of matching the performance of the chef patron/executive chef so that the absence of the latter does not affect the quality of what is served to the diners. But for us this should imply that the paying customer should be made aware of who is heading up the kitchen and more exposure given to the chef in charge. There is a relaxed elegance about the dining room and the confident front-of-house staff, headed by an experienced gallic duo with a surprisingly English sense of humour, echo this feeling. Exemplary canapés ranging from sour cream with apple, through beetroot tuile with goat’s cheese and apple, the familiar ham hock with crispy onion and piccalilli, to a cornet of smoked eel with a background touch of lemon, led us into a new tweak for the Bloody Mary pre-amuse-bouche, this time in gel form with celeriac and celery salt making a cheeky early palate cleanser. The amuse-bouche proper was an admirably well-balanced Cornish crab and ginger mix supported by frozen lime and coriander, which was the prelude to the main theatre of the evening in the form of an imposing spherical cooking sphere with open coals inside baking a whole celeriac which was wheeled to the table, the baked black celeriac extracted with a flourish and a large scoopful whisked onto the plates. This actually left a fair amount behind, but it was clearly not wasted as we received four more variations on the theme with pickled, burnt, caramelised and roasted celeriac making up a full palette of textures and flavours for the one vegetable, all of them supported by a lovely hazelnut hollandaise. Not content with that, the kitchen then produced a celeriac mousse to accompany Orkney scallops but this was completely different with a judicious sprinkling of truffle and some Granny Smith twiglets. The sautéed foie gras was perfect with its soul mate gingerbread crumble, a beautifully balanced orange gel, pear, and chicory in a gingerbread half tube. The full meatiness of the roasted monkfish was skilfully brought out by a super red wine reduction and the violet artichoke mousse. The lamb dish was made up of a terrific roast rack infused with basil and with proper crispy fat and moreish confit of smoked shoulder accompanied by fresh peas, broad beans and tomatoes and a quite wonderful, almost old-fashioned gravy. Two desserts followed, stunning aerated pear crisp with blueberry powder and a white chocolate bomb, and an equally impressive yoghurt sorbet with passion fruit jelly, chocolate cream and crispy topping. All this and we still had room for substantial petits fours comprising sugared fried beignets with a caramelised apple sauce as a dip, and assorted pastries. Mention should also be made of the quality of the wine flight which contained some very classy bottles. Definitely a fine-dining experience worthy of the very top rating.

...

See more

Paul A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Artichoke

9 Market Square, Old Amersham HP7 0DF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Two stars?

by Paul A.   platinum reviewer (87)

Sep 2016

We are devotees of The Artichoke and have been for some years which is why we are fully in agreement both with Hardens when they state that “the debate should not be whether or not it should have a star, but whether or not it should have two” and with The Good Food Guide which rates it much higher than a whole raft of one star outfits. You are guaranteed a top-class fine dining experience here, without the self-conscious flashiness and theatre some places seem to consider necessary to make an impression. We got straight into the amuse-bouche, a delightfully pure and welcomingly refreshing chilled watermelon soup, which set us up nicely for the smoked haddock with radish, super horseradish cream balancing the subtle smokiness of the fish, and shades of beetroot. We had decided not to take the wine flight with the tasting menu, and after consulting the knowledgeable restaurant manager and sommelier, Matteo, we chose what turned out to be the perfect white for the first four fish and shellfish dishes - inevitably an Italian wine by a top maker, Cervaro della Sala. Scallops are customary, almost obligatory, in good restaurants these days, but not all of them are handled as well as this - impeccably roasted and with a stunning shellfish tarragon reduction, outstanding local, peanut fed, ham, and an amusing carrot mousse decorated with a carrot top. The next dish on the menu was cucumber, not something I enjoy as the main ingredient, so I was offered Lyme Bay crab which I gratefully accepted. My wife was very happy with the pickled cucumber, the ubiquitous burrata, cucumber foam, rye bread crumbs and nasturtium leaves and flowers adding colour and bite. My classic shredded crab was graced with Isle of Wight heritage tomatoes, a remarkable tomato essence jelly, an original passion fruit dressing which brought out the taste of the crab, and croutons for crunch, and made me really pleased that I had managed to forgo the cucumber. There was no question of declining the next dish, the king of fish, turbot, a generous fillet simply presented in all its glory, bathing in a superb oyster and champagne sauce and accompanied by Jersey royals, and quite munchy sea veg and seaweed provided added texture. The Artichoke tasting menu permits a choice of main, and my wife preferred a change from lamb, so she selected the very local duck, succulent breast and extra-tasty confit leg, confit bacon, a proper portion of ripe peas, cooked baby gem lettuce, fragrant marjoram and some amazing duck liver butter on a large crisp. I wanted to try the Sicilian syrah with the lamb rump, and they proved to be very suitable match, with the melt-in-the-mouth meat perfectly backed up by a lovely aubergine purée, borlotti and cocoa beans, juicy olives, tenderstem broccoli, quite pungent feta, and an unannounced but very welcome portion of stunningly good sweetbread. The pre-dessert was a sharp yet sweet redcurrant compôte on iced yoghurt, just the job to cleanse the palate for our desserts: a szechuan pepper ice cream with pineapple tart and pistachio, followed by a winning strawberry galette with pastry cream, caramelised white chocolate and strawberry sorbet for my wife, and a sensational pickled French cherry jelly with Brillat Savarin cheesecake and toasted oats for me. Laurie Gear and head chef Ben Jenkins had pulled it off again!

...

See more

Paul A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Bellanger

9 Islington Green, London N1 2XH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Sound brasserie

by Nick V.   (1)

Sep 2016

Friendly and professional after theatre experience. Good uncomplicated food, good value, pleasant and efficient service. Excellent addition to Islington. Would recommend

...

See more

Nick V.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Strada More London Place

2 More London Place, London SE1 2JP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Great stuff

by Angela H.   (1)

Sep 2016

Really enjoyed our meal. Had the lamb for main and it was amazing! The squid starter was good but not fantastic and a lot of the menu was not available. Quite glad in some ways, as I would not have gone for the lamb main. Glad I did. Dessert was lovely. Our waiter was fab. One or two glitches but that was hardly surprising, considering it was really busy. These were corrected straight away and didn't effect the evening at all. Would definitely go back

...

See more

Angela H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Flora Indica

242 Old Brompton Road, London SW5 0DE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Lovely Indian restaurant

by Nina K.   bronze reviewer (9)

Sep 2016

Beautiful plates of tasty Indian cuisine. Friendly wait staff who were knowledgeable and helpful. Not your traditional Indian restaurant as the plates of food were more delicate. Fantastic cocktails. Everything was well priced.

...

See more

Nina K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Souk Clapham

165 Clapham High Street, London SW4 7SS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Clapham's little gem

by Socialite L.   (1)

Sep 2016

I went to SO.UK on a Friday night, had cocktails and food from the Morroccan Meze menu which by the way is SO yummy!!! Best thing about this place is that they have happy hour deals every night when they are open. It's the type of bar where you can go for drinks with friends and actually hear each other when talking, until about 11/12pm when the dj comes on and plays amazing tracks, by which points you'd have had about 3/4 cocktails and are in a mood to dance :)

...

See more

Socialite L.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Fischer s

50 Marylebone High Street, London W1U 5HN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty

avatar

Average - nowhere near as good as its siblings

by Bernard S.   (4)

Sep 2016

We were in Marylebone High St, and are great fans of the Delaunay, so thought we would give its "little sister" a try. We were quite disappointed. We didn't find the food or the service up to nearly the same standards.

...

See more

Bernard S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Wright Brothers Soho Oyster House

13 Kingly Street, London W1B 5PW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great experience and food

by richard c.   (1)

Sep 2016

Had a great lunch! The serving staff helped with our selections especially describing the different oysters and the result was a fabulous meal. Lovely combinations of flavours served by a very attentive, knowledgeable but not over powering staff. Highly recommended

...

See more

richard c.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Gilgamesh

Stables Market, Chalk Farm Road,Camden, London NW1 8AH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Amazing night with friends

by Melanie R.   (1)

Sep 2016

A night in Gilgamesh with friedns was amazing. From the warm friendly welcome a the front desk to the superb waiter who served us. The drinks were cool. The food was so tasty. We then boogied in to the night with the wicked DJ's. We will all be back soon Thanka

...

See more

Melanie R.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Ivy Chelsea Garden

197 King's Road, London SW3 5ED

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Fantastic lunch at The Ivy Garden

by Charlotte H.   (1)

Sep 2016

We went to the Ivy Garden as an early birthday treat for my sister. We were greeted by very friendly and welcoming staff, our waiter was lovely, greeting us and then allowing us time to choose what we would like to order with out ever going to far if we were ready early. We ordered from the weekend brunch menu, ordering the Eggs Royale (£9.50) and the Avocado and spinach Benedict (£8.25), both were lovely, very tasty! We also felt it was reasonable considering the quality and the setting. We didn't have a desert, just some tea, but we did have the selection of truffles which were very nice. Our waiter made a special effort to bring out a little fruit tart with a 'happy birthday' chocolate which was very well received. (I had let the restaurant know about her birthday beforehand). Overall a very pleasant experience, one which I would definitely like to repeat.

...

See more

Charlotte H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Aqua Kyoto

240 Regent Street (entrance 30 Argyll Street), London W1B 3BR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Elegant and tasty

by Nina K.   bronze reviewer (9)

Sep 2016

A beautiful restaurant with elegant and tasty food. The unlimited champagne deal is well worth it. The food portions are small, but very good and you leave feeling satisfied, but not full. Lovely atmosphere with a great outdoor area. I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

...

See more

Nina K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No