All reviews

Latest Square Meal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Smack Deli

26 Binney Street, London W1K 5BN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

It's almost fast food - in a good way

by Lynn W.   silver reviewer (24)

Jul 2015

Stumbled on this place by mistake, having been in town for meetings and on my way to check out Selfridges. I wanted something easy and quite quick, and seemed to remember having heard about this. It was disconcerting going in the place as it seemed a bit empty and I felt sort of lost (too old to understand it maybe, not their target demographic) - but staff were sufficiently engaging to overcome this and service was quick. A buttery brioche-type roll arrived with lots of lobster and chilli mayo - yum. Eaten up, happy customer, on my way.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Wright Brothers Soho Oyster House

13 Kingly Street, London W1B 5PW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Enjoyable meal

by Joanna G.   silver reviewer (15)

Jul 2015

We ate here last night and shared beef tataki (melt in the mouth), Burrata and aubergine caviar (delicious) and Madagascan tiger prawns with salad and fries, washed down with a nice bottle of Picpoul, and a glass of port at the end of the meal. Service was attentive and efficient (although the table next to us complained a lot that they weren't being served, but I think that had more to do with him focusing more on the lady in front of him than trying to get the waiters attention, as the rest of us all seemed to have plenty to eat and drink!). I have had drinks in the downstairs bar before, but this is the first time I have eaten here. We will be back I'm sure as we both work nearby.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Jam Cupboard at Rydges Hotel

61 Gloucester Road, London SW7 4PE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty

avatar

A mixed experience

by Hamish G.   (1)

Jul 2015

3 of us went for a free concert dinner. The food was generally pretty good. Starter of fish cakes was well cooked although the tartare sauce was a little bland. The lamb steak was large, properly seasoned and cooked and nicely presented. Drinks were a bit hit or miss. I ordered an alcohol free cocktail however the waiter wasn't familiar with their cocktail list and instead gave me the alcoholic version. Likewise ordering a small glass of wine resulted in a large one being delivered - staff didn't seem very well trained, but we're keen to please. The atmosphere was a bit disappointing, but imagine later in the evening and the week would be quite lovely. Value for money was good with the square meal offer of 50% off the food, but would not be quite so attractive if you were paying full price.

...

See more

Hamish G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 5
  • Service: 3
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Zoilo

9 Duke Street, London W1U 3EG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

More than meats the eye

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (145)

Jul 2015

Think of Argentine cuisine and the typical response is steak. Zoilo, a small and intimate restaurant on the northern edge of Mayfair, proves this claim wrong. The food my comrade and I sampled on a recent weekday lunchtime certainly impressed, as did the ambience, even if the service was something of a let-down. The venue itself is small (but did not feel crowded) with room for around 20 covers upstairs spread between tables and seats at the bar. There is also a downstairs with an open-kitchen, although on a bright summer’s day we did not venture here. In terms of the food, Zoilo’s menu stresses that Argentine cuisine is a ‘fascinating mix of cultures’ reflecting both its indigenous heritage as well as its legacy of immigration. The menu itself is conveniently separated into distinct sections such as ‘land’ and ‘sea’ and our server informed us that the format here was along the lines of tapas, namely we should select a series of dishes, all of which would be appropriate for sharing. We loved the empanadas - a posh take on pasties - with which we began, one beef (rich and hearty) and one spinach & goat’s cheese (sumptuous and savoury). Our crab on toast which followed was also superb, delicately light, but still packed with flavour. At this stage, however, two problems occurred. First, maybe Argentines are a portly lot (I do not know any personally), but we already felt fairly full, although we still had a further five dishes to come. Second, maybe as a result of portion size and the need to digest, we had to endure a notable wait before our next dishes. This is all well and good if you want to linger, but we had deliberately arrived early at the restaurant to avoid the main crowd and were in a slight rush too. The next dishes, when they eventually came, also hit the mark, although Zoilo excelled more with its fish options (both the ceviche and the squid were among the best sampled recently in London) than with its meat (the pork, for example, was fatty and half-cold when it arrived). The wine list deserves note, with an unsurprisingly heavy local bias, and we enjoyed an attractively priced carafe of white made with the Torrontes grape. Overall, do pay a visit here, but don’t be in a rush, don’t over-order and make sure you try more than just the meat.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 5
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Oldroyd

344 Upper Street, London N1 0PD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

So delicious

by Lynn W.   silver reviewer (24)

Jul 2015

First off, and let's get it out of the way, the place is tiny. You squeeze past diners, staff and the minute kitchen to climb narrow spiral stairs to the upper room if you have booked a table, where you sit so close to others you can see and enjoy what they are having. Once the food starts arriving, you nod knowingly as your dishes match theirs. The croquettas are fantastic, peas and smoky pork in lovely crunchy crumb and truffled mayo to dip; lamb and almond meatballs are soft and tender, with a bit of bite from the nuts; confit rabbit and broad bean paella worth waiting for (though the squid seemed a bit rubbery and superfluous so we left it); summer peach and curd salad lovely and fresh; zucchini fries fine and delicate. The special monkfish dish of the day - not the one on the main menu - was a bit underwhelming and wasn't finished. The croquettas were so good we had to order them a second time. Staff looked after us very well, calm and charming, food arriving in no particular order as it was ready from downstairs. I admire their ability to manoeuvre through the tables. All very relaxed, and lovely to share the plates. If there is a downside it is a bit cramped, but if it carries on being as busy as we saw it that evening I don't think it will be too long before they're looking for somewhere larger.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Artigiano

12a Belsize Terrace, London NW3 4AX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Always a pleasure

by Lynn W.   silver reviewer (24)

Jul 2015

We must have been here at least half a dozen times, so that in itself shows we like it. In the winter it's warm and welcoming, in summer, when you can sit by the glass front opened up - it's like having dinner outside. it's quite smart with proper tablecloths and decent glassware, but not at all stuffy. On our last visit the other day we had courgette and aubergine salad with mozzarella, and beef bresaola with horseradish, asparagus and Parmesan, and then as usual we chose fish - the grilled whole sea bass for two to share, plus a couple of side dishes of rosemary potatoes and green beans. This is familiar Italian food with a few modern updates and makes a good dinner with a decent bottle of wine. We're fortunate that we can walk to it, the staff are always very pleasant and for us, it's a valued local restaurant.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Bald Faced Stag

69 High Road, London N2 8AB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Forget the Eagle. The Stag has landed.

by Sue B.   (1)

Jul 2015

Following a refurbishment, the Bald Faced Stag took on new chef, Tom Stephens, six weeks ago and we were blown away by the food when we dropped in yesterday evening. Formerly of Pied a Terre, Tom is breathing new life into East Finchley in terms of quality cuisine. Superb ingredients and wonderfully interesting flavours don’t come better than this. Pea & mint hummus, Smoked mozzarella, peas, broad bean, lemon & basil dressing, Truffle custard, roasted cauliflower and mushroom crumble are three of just some of the fare on offer. Extraordinary and wonderful. This is a young man who needs to be kept a close eye on. The menu is very varied and does cater for all tastes so there is still the traditional fare on offer just don’t get us started on the Coconut parfait, whipped raspberry jelly, lime curd – ridiculously good! Come on everyone who lives in North London – get down there!!

...

See more

Sue B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Mad Hatter s Afternoon Tea at Sanderson

50 Berners Street, London W1T 3NG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

A very nice treat

by Tracey L.   (2)

Jul 2015

Booked as a family treat for a foodie friend visiting from Vancouver, Canada - 4 adults & 1 8yr old. Throughout our visit staff were courteous and attentive without being over-bearing, they offered for our son to share as the sandwiches and scones are unlimited which was a welcome offer as getting through an entire sitting would have been beyond him as he is (unusually) a child without a sweet tooth! The setting is nice, the courtyard is very pretty and tranquil despite the bustle of a busy cafe type atmosphere. The tea/drinks choices were plentiful and certainly enough choice for all. The food was lovely, petite sandwiches of four varieties, mini savoury tarts, savoury scones with herby butter (my favourite savoury) and sweet scones with jam and clotted cream and onto the dessert bites.... strawberry & cream toadstools, beautiful victoria sponges (my favourite sweet), carrot macaroons, white choc cheesecake, choc cups with green tea and a little surprise and of course the secrent 'drink me' potion the flavour of which I shall not divulge. Not forgetting the jelly trolley which, although we were all fftb, we all had to try!! Absolutely lovely, not a fault to be had, would definitely recommend. It's maybe not the mainstream, posh setting afternoon tea of some major hotels but certainly enjoyable in all ways. *fftb - full fit to burst

...

See more

Tracey L.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Vinoteca King s Cross

1 Pancras Square, London N1C 4AG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty

avatar

Perfectly functional but basically forgettable - and overpriced

by Rosie T.   (3)

Jul 2015

Pretty wine bar with a great list and decent service. Let down by a very expensive by-the-glass list (go for a bottle from the full list, it's definitely worth it), plus my vegetarian courgette meal was delicious but very overpriced. Far prefer the offerings on Granary Square (Caravan, Grain Store, Dishoom).

...

See more

Rosie T.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 3

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Angler

3 South Place, London EC2M 2AF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Flawless

by Kaana George   bronze reviewer (9)

Jul 2015

What an amazing evening we had here - the service is excellent, the food blows your taste buds away - the atmosphere is wonderful, the wine list is so reasonable considering the class of restaurant. Really good value considering the quality - cannot recommend it highly enough.

...

See more

Kaana George's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Cafe Murano Covent Garden

34-36 Tavistock Street, London WC2E 7PB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Just as good as it's sister!

by Joanna G.   silver reviewer (15)

Jul 2015

My husband and I ate here for lunch on Sunday, we arrived at around 12.30 and were the only people, but by the time we left at around 2.30, the restaurant was half full. As it has only been open for a few weeks, I would assume that it will get just as popular as it's sister in St James's. We started with their "house" negroni cocktail and their gorgeous focaccia and olive oil, followed by the charcuterie selection (all wonderful) and the mozzarella and lentil salad (delicious). As it was a rainy Sunday we both opted for a comforting bowl of pasta - one traditional tagliatelli bolognaise and the other Spaghetti, caper leaves & bottarga, both were perfectly cooked and just the right size portion for us (we had the "smaller bowls"). We also drank a bottle of the house white (Trebbiano), which was exceptional value and dangerously quaffable at £19.50. Service was superb, very friendly, efficient and knowledgeable staff and plenty of time between courses to enjoy the meal and surroundings. At £77 inc. service, you really can't go wrong. Well done Ms Hartnett - you deliver great food, at very reasonable prices - we will be back again and again.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Iberica Marylebone

195 Great Portland Street, London W1W 5PS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Something has changed....

by Joanna G.   silver reviewer (15)

Jul 2015

We have eaten here many times over the past few years and always had an enjoyable experience. However, recently I arranged a dinner for 10 people on a Tuesday night (well in advance, inc, pre-ordering and paying for most of the food) for my nieces graduation celebration dinner. I was unable to give an exact time of arrival as graduation ceremonies go on for a number of hours, but said that we would most likely be arriving at around 7pm, as it was half of us arrived at 6.15pm, and I asked if the table was free, could we sit there and have a drink whilst waiting for the rest of our group. I was told that the table was free but as we had arrived early, they would want the table back at 8.15pm, I laughed, thinking they were joking and said that for a table of 10, most restaurants would not put a 2 hour "window" on the meal and also, the rest of the group would not be arriving for another hour or so. The lady I spoke to did not really comment, so I waited for around 30 minutes and then spoke to a gentleman who said he was the manager - he went off to talk to someone and then came back and said he had "managed to arrange for us to have the table as long as we needed it". The one lady who served us the majority of the time, was very busy, but efficient and friendly, but the lady on the front desk who I originally spoke to continually walked to the back of the restaurant and stared at our table as if trying to get us to leave. The restaurant was very busy (it usually is), but they have lost us as regular customers, which is a shame as we have always enjoyed it here. When it came time to pay for the alcohol and extra food that we ordered (£300+) I handed over a £100 square meal voucher), which they looked at with complete disgust (I had mentioned in advance that I would be using it as part payment), not sure what that was about either but they appear not to be on the square meal points list any more). Rarely have I felt so unwelcome in a restaurant - maybe something is going on with the management, I have no idea, maybe they are too popular for their own good, maybe I shall take my hard earned money elsewhere in future.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Lobos Meat and Tapas Bar

14 Borough High Street, London SE1 1LB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Everything is small.....except the price!

by Luncheon Vulture   gold reviewer (43)

Jul 2015

Not being a Spanish-speaker, I initially thought that "Lobos" may have meant "small" such is the size of this place. Somehow we managed not to overlook its entrance, being somewhat inconspicuously located underneath the railway arch on London Bridge, and fell into a very dimly lit narrow interior. We were whisked upstairs where our pre-booked table of four had been cobbled together by placing a fold up table and two rickety chairs alongside one of the booths for two (for two small people I hasten to add!) There really was not enough room to swing the proverbial moggy, let alone the vast collection of glasses, bottles, plates not to mention food that we then dealt with over the next 90 minutes or so. I fully expect tapas to be informal and relaxed, but we spent most of the time in a constant state of discomfort, juggling all the items on the table and avoiding passing staff waiting on the tables behind us. The menu is as stated, "meat and tapas" but it is worth either swatting up on the menu before going or take some form of portable lighting, as it is nigh on impossible to read in the dimness! Stand outs for us were the croquetas, the seafood dish and the chuleton but everything else was just ok and did not live up to the promise and prices charged. Given that you order tapas to share, we thought £4 for around 6 martini olives and £2.50 for 6 small slices of bread was a bit steep, even for Central London. Based on recent experiences, I'm beginning to think that tapas may be a dish best served in Espana.....

...

See more

Luncheon Vulture's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Rivington Grill 28 30 Rivington Street

28-30 Rivington Street, London EC2A 3DZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Great Food on the Edge of the City!

by Christina W.   (2)

Jul 2015

I picked this restaurant for the annual get together lunch with some very dear friends that my husband and I met on holiday a few years ago. The menu offered a good selection of meat, fish and vegetarian options, which appealed to us all. We ate our way through scallops (perfectly cooked), Dover Sole, Sea Bass, Lamb Cutlets and Pork Tenderloin and enjoyed every mouthful. The desserts were equally delicious, with a nice mixture of the traditional (Gooseberry Crumble) and more decadent (luxurious ice creams). The Wine List was also quite comprehensive. The service was very good and everyone was welcoming and friendly. We would definitely recommend the restaurant and would return again for a future reunion.

...

See more

Christina W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No