Latest Reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Chop Shop

66 Haymarket, London SW1Y 4RF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty

avatar

Chop short

by Luncheon Vulture   platinum reviewer (62)

Jul 2016

It appeared to be, and indeed, all the reviews read prior to booking, suggested this would be an all-American diner. As such, whilst we weren't expecting haute cuisine, we were certainly expecting good food served in plentiful portions......I regret to report that Chop Shop failed dismally on both fronts. Whilst the spicy chicken wings certainly packed a punch everything else we ordered was just so/so and the portion sizes very underwhelming - never a good sign to leave a restaurant hungry. Drinks are exorbitantly priced even for this part of town, and I struggle to understand why they offer a range of fine wines given the food offered. Definitely not one for the "must return" list.

...

See more

Luncheon Vulture's rating

star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 4
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

126 Taste of Asia

126 Kings Cross Road, London WC1X 9DS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Taste of Asia Review

by Robert A.   (1)

Jul 2016

We chose this restaurant for a pre theatre meal after reading reviews about it. First impressions were ok but it then started to go downhill. I ordered and king prawn dansak which is my favourite dish by far. Anyone that likes a dansak will know that it is a dish that is hot, sweet and sour. Well it was a little sour, but by no means was it hot and there was NO element of sweetness at all so needless to say i was not impressed. My wife had a chicken tikka korma which again was not up to the mark and the naan bread she ordered was swimming in fat where it seemed to have been fried. The other thing that really put me off was that if i had a query/question regarding anything the man at the front of house would say just one moment please and pick the phone up call the boss and come back to give the answer saying that he was new there. Now if he was new and didnt know how to run it. Why is he left to run it unsupervised. Now I could go on but that is about it in a nutshell and needless to say i will not be returning to this restaurant in the future.

...

See more

Robert A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 4
  • Service: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Mercante

Piccadilly, London W1J 7BX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Dissapointing meal

by Kay N.   (1)

Jul 2016

Very dissapointing! The arincini were watery and the filling was cold, the Octopus and the clam dishes were under seasoned plus the linguine had a slimy wet texture and had no flavour.

...

See more

Kay N.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 3
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 3
  • Value: 4

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Noor Jahan

2a Bina Gardens, London SW5 0LA

Overall rating: star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Rude and indifferent

by nicholas c.   (1)

Jul 2016

I booked a table to try this restaurant whilst on a trip to London . We arrived promptly gave our booking name and the manager said it made no difference ,as the restaurant was already full and he wasnt even sure when we would get a free table anyway . When i pointed out this mades a complete mockery of their booking system he simply shrugged his shoulders and said we could wait or go somewhere else ! As the place is so cramped and noisy we decided to eat round the corner at the Star of India - which was excellent , with polite waiters and a very couteous manager . Avoid the Noor Jaahan !

...

See more

nicholas c.'s rating

star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 1
  • Service: 1
  • Atmosphere: 1
  • Value: 1

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Duende

16 Maiden Lane, London WC2E 7NJ

Overall rating: star fullstar halfstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

a huge dissapointment !!

by steven f.   (2)

Jul 2016

Having read Giles Coren and Fay Maschler's reviews I was looking forward to eating at Duende last night . Unfortunately it turned out to be one of the worst dining experiences I have had ! I received a message on my phone at 1pm asking me to call back straight away or my booking at 7pm would be given to someone else and that I could only have the table until 8:15 . 1 1/2 hours is all they give you for dinner which I thought was ridiculous for restaurant that serves "tapas style " small plates . I then received a another message at 5;30pm saying my table would not be ready until 7:30pm now . How they new at 5:30pm that my table would not be ready I have no idea unless they were trying to squeeze another booking in ? . This was a bad start to the evening and I almost felt as though I was not wanted even before I got there ! When we arrived there was not even a table . We were shoved in a tiny corner by a window with hardly enough room to sit down . There was a table for 2 directly behind us where they had crammed 4 people on and my wife had them leaning into her back the whole time . We ordered 3 plates of food and this arrived so quickly we had finished our meal within 30 minutes . It was so rushed and we were so uncomfortable it was a relief to get out . This is an example of a restaurant that is capitalising on its reviews by trying to get as many people in and out as quickly as possible and make as much profit as possible . That's fine but as customer I would never go back . The food is good but Barafina up the road is better and a much better all round experience .

...

See more

steven f.'s rating

star fullstar halfstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 1
  • Atmosphere: 1
  • Value: 1

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Cookbook Cafe at the InterContinental

InterContinental, 1 Hamilton Place, London W1J 7QY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

An evening with friends, food and prosecco (lots of!)

by Vi V.   gold reviewer (30)

Jul 2016

Cookbook Cafe @ Intercontinental Hotel – I cannot remember the last time when I have laughed so hard, and it was not just the bottomless prosseco; I was on the cuvee. Even so, I remember very clearly that it was a great evening with impeccable service and good food in a relaxing environment. I definitely recommend it. Cookbook Cafe in the Intercontinental Hotel is upmarket, and puts great emphasis on British seasonal and sustainable ingredients. I like dining in hotels and a huge part of that is due to the standard of service associated to the hotel industry. Food wise, I was prepared to be less foodie and expected a more appealing International cuisine. I am not indicating that the chefs lack aspiration because the food presentation was cared for. The other reason that dining tin hotels is appealing is when there are offers, it can be surprisingly good value. This evening, we took up an offer of two courses with bottomless prosseco at the price of £29.00. Cookbook Cafe is also baby friendly, family friendly, group friendly but not sure if it is pet friendly. Service was very slow and so there was quite a long wait between our starters and the main course. An evening in Mayfair with bottomless prosseco (I repeat, cuvee for me), you really cannot beat that offer. With the two courses, I had elegant sufficiency. I could have a dessert too but decided to have more of the cuvee. Furthermore, the bread and butter was delicious. I was wise to left it until I felt I needed more.

...

See more

Vi V.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Prezzo Newbury

58 Cheap Street, Newbury RG14 5DH

Overall rating: star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Unimpressed

by louise C.   (1)

Jul 2016

The meal started off well. Our starters were quick and the waiter was very polite. We got our mains and half way through mine, I found a fly in my food! We eventually managed to track down a waitress and they took it away and said did I want another. I declined as this had put me off eating anymore. There was no apology and the waitress did not seem to care. We then had to wait 35 minutes before someone came to ask if we wanted a dessert. We ordered dessert and after waiting another 40 minutes they arrived. I'm shocked that considering as I found a fly in my meal, more effort was not made to make us feel comfortable. Considering as one of our party is a food hygiene inspector, this matter will be taking seriously and reported. Very disappointed and will not be returning.

...

See more

louise C.'s rating

star halfstar emptystar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 3
  • Service: 1
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Bella Italia Didsbury

Unit 6, Parrs Wood Leisure Park Wilmslow Road, Cheadle M20 5PG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Pre-cinema meal

by John A.   (1)

Jul 2016

We pre-booked a table but traffic was really bad and we were delayed. I rang and was assured they would hold the table for us. When we did arrive, very late, we could only fit in some starters before the film plus a couple of drinks. The staff were great. They understood our rush and made sure we were able to eat something before shooting off for the film. thanks for the great food served so quickly

...

See more

John A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Kensington Place

201-209 Kensington Church Street, London W8 7LX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Fantastic starters!

by nigel k.   (1)

Jul 2016

Value for money, great service, phenomenal starters...foie gras, prawn cocktail and loads of salmon for our starters. Our mains were haddock and chips and the mussels...plentiful portions. Desserts were so so...a pineapple one and the hazelnut cheesecake. The EveningStandard offer of 3 courses with a glass of wine, for £25 with the great service is defo somewhere to visit again.

...

See more

nigel k.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Spice Merchant Beaconsfield

33 London End Road, Beaconsfield HP9 2HW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Al Fresco Dining

by orva I.   (2)

Jul 2016

We were very excited to enjoy our food out in their beautiful garden, a hidden gem in the middle of the Old Town Beaconsfield. A really large and unexpected space with a pond and bridge. All made for an excellent evening with delicious food.

...

See more

orva I.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Don Restaurant

The Courtyard, 20 St. Swithins Lane, London EC4N 8AD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Fine dining with some fine food

by Sarah G.   gold reviewer (39)

Jul 2016

Nothing to complain about here, excellent food, excellent service - what more could you ask for. A little on the pricey side but where isn't these days in London. I had the monkfish tail wrapped in pancetta which wa absolutely superb, so often monkfish is overcooked and rubbery but this was perfect - washed down with a glass of Champagne - a little bit of heaven!

...

See more

Sarah G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No