All reviews

Latest Square Meal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

About Thyme

82 Wilton Road, London SW1V 1DL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Fabulous Meal

by Dawn G.   (3)

Aug 2015

Glad I suggested About Thyme to my friends. We had 2 course set menu & as usual it was great. Everyone praised me for choosing this restaurant, but I had to confess I have been here several times & am never disappointed. The Confit Duck is to die for & one of my friends who doesn't like duck tried it & decided next time she will order it! It was a great birthday celebration for me knowing everyone had such a good meal.

...

See more

Dawn G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Inamo

134-136 Wardour Street, London W1F 8ZP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Nice Idea

by Dawn G.   (3)

Aug 2015

I love the concept of this restaurant, but it needs a bit more refinement. We ordered from the set menu 3 courses. Alas they serve the starter & the main together, so you rush through the starter so that your main doesn't go cold! I had chicken with rice. Although the chicken had a type of teriyaki sauce coated on it, the bowl of rice was just plain, so it was a very dry meal. We were down in the basement which really was very stark, although upstairs looked much nicer. We booked, but they gave walk ins better tables. If I go back I will request a table upstairs

...

See more

Dawn G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Pig on the Beach

Manor Road, Studland Bay, Swanage BH19 3AU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Food not as good as previous visits, but they still leave you wanting to go back

by David H.   platinum reviewer (58)

Aug 2015

We've been to this Pig and its Brockenhurst sibling a few times , and have always left feeling that we've had a good time and looking forward to going back. No exception, though as I'll explain there were a couple of things about the food on this visit that I'm glad didn't happen first time. The place first; its a hotel with big grounds that get overrun by day visitors on summer weekends. I have a feeling I might like it better in the winter . The hotel and restaurant are very nicely presented in a kind of older, rural, shabby chic kind of way but importantly a great deal of thought has clearly gone into how they want the much refurbished hotel and the result works very well indeed. Its a pleasure to be there. The service is an enigma. On the one hand everyone is pleasant and helpful; on the other there are unexplained delays in the service both here and at Brockenhurst. There its often that everything that happens after the main course is slow. Here we waited quite a while for starters after which everything was perfect. Can't understand it and its down as a quirk in my book. On the other hand we rang the restaurant at 11.15 am and couldn't manage to guess which combination of the phone choices we were given might tempt someone to answer the phone. Yet when we did get through, the answer to an unlikely request of "our reservation is at 1.45. But we're close by now after an unexpectedly smooth journey; and chance we can come at 12?" We weren't at all hopeful on a busy and sunny Saturday, but they said yes so we turned up at mid-day. They serve great bread here , and we also tried the rather nice little hake fishcakes before our starters turned up. I liked my broad bean and smoked bacon salad, but they hadn't skinned the broad beans, meaning that whatever the provenance of the beans, they looked and tasted like tinned. My main course of local cuttlefish and pork jowl featured a tasty and well cooked cuttlefish. Sadly at the base of the dish was a strong , no overpowering, sauce that in my view spoiled the dish altogether. My wife chose less adventurously but probably enjoyed her meal more. To be fair its the first time in this or any other Pig that I've been given a dish that just didn't work, for me anyway. With coffee and some nice Vermentino and Grenache/Syrah by the glass our bill was £96. Despite the food setback, we'll go back without question, and indeed my wife and some of our daughters are booked in this week.

...

See more

David H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Rotunda

Kings Place, 90 York Way, London N1 9AG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Oh dear!

by Dorian A.   silver reviewer (20)

Aug 2015

Has the management or the chef changed recently? Originally we thought Rotunda was very good, but our last visit was a big disappointment. Delicious ingredients ruined by bad cooking. Is it so difficult to bake a beautiful lemon sole without drying it out and leaving is crisp and chewy? In two minds whether we'll make the trek to Rotunda again. Very sad!

...

See more

Dorian A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 3
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Smack Deli

26 Binney Street, London W1K 5BN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

It's almost fast food - in a good way

by Lynn W.   silver reviewer (25)

Jul 2015

Stumbled on this place by mistake, having been in town for meetings and on my way to check out Selfridges. I wanted something easy and quite quick, and seemed to remember having heard about this. It was disconcerting going in the place as it seemed a bit empty and I felt sort of lost (too old to understand it maybe, not their target demographic) - but staff were sufficiently engaging to overcome this and service was quick. A buttery brioche-type roll arrived with lots of lobster and chilli mayo - yum. Eaten up, happy customer, on my way.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Balls Brothers Minster Exchange

Minster Court, London EC3R 7PP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Dinner

by garry b.   gold reviewer (41)

Jul 2015

I have eaten here a few times and continue to enjoy the experience. The food is good and the service and atmosphere very good. Each time I have brought clients to the restaurant, they have been very impressed.

...

See more

garry b.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Ivy

1-5 West Street, London WC2H 9NQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Still classic, but new too...

by squaremale   silver reviewer (26)

Jul 2015

I haven't been here for quite a while, and it was my first visit since the refurb. Previously it did everything it aimed to do very well, and I was delighted to find it's still doing that. It's now a very different interior, but happily the good bits about the room are retained, including the stained glass and the wood panelling. The new central bar is great and the table layout is good too. The comfort food remains consistently pleasing and the service was arguably better than ever, and certainly as friendly, welcoming and helpful as it's ever been. If you've tired of this place, which I must admit I had done to some extent, you should try it again, it really has been rejuvenated.

...

See more

squaremale's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Craft London

Peninsula Square, London SE10 0SQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Handy for the O2

by Lynn W.   silver reviewer (25)

Jul 2015

Just walk from the tube station towards the O2 dome and there it is - a restaurant on the first floor, and bar on the second. It's modern and airy, spacious and comfortable. There is an effort to provide home made, local and sustainable produce which is to be admired. We had a very good evening there with family, it's light enough to see the menu and what you are eating, and buzzy but not so loud you can't converse. This is all fine and some of the food was excellent, but it just didn't hang together for me. All started well with a bowl of fresh breads, including lovely light naan, and home made butter. The first course of cheese custard with mushrooms was a surprise - it was bowl of cheesy sauce topped by salad leaves with some crisp crackers, other vegetables and leaves and I think there was a slice of mushroom. The sauce was nice and cheesy, the crackers crunchy, the salad leaves awkward to eat dripping in sauce, and some of the green veg leaves so tough they were impossible to deal with. My main course of lamb with tomatoes and anchovies was an assembly rather than a dish. Beautifully cooked, delicious lamb with a good grilled crust served sliced, on top of some sliced tomatoes, and anchovy sauce on the side. The sauce was so aggressive it overpowered the other ingredients so I left it. Dessert was a disappointment - sweet Yorkshire pudding with berries and ice cream. I imagined perhaps a British take on a clafoutis type pudding, but it was just a rather uninteresting Yorkshire pudding with some berries inside and vanilla ice cream on top - another assembly. Afterwards we went upstairs to the bar for a drink and it was very fresh out on the balcony with a great view of everything going on. Overall we did have a good evening, some of the food is terrific, and would probably go there again if over there for an event at the O2. The menu changes very frequently, so I hope for better choices next time.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Vinoteca Soho

53-55 Beak Street, London W1F 9SH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Consistently good

by Joanna G.   silver reviewer (16)

Jul 2015

This is the 4th time I have eaten here and as the title says, the food is consistently good, nothing particularly outstanding (apart from the vast selection of very reasonable wines by the glass!), but perfect for 4 of us to have a good old natter over really good platters of charcuterie, small plates of burrata, olives, pulled pork croquettes, followed by a delightfully crispy confit leg of duck on creamy mash and veal chops. The only slight downside was the service was erratic, although they did acknowledge this and brought us (unprompted) a glass each of sparkling moscato at the end of our meal by way of apology. This is a great place to meet friends and eat, drink and be merry but not for an intimate, quiet meal.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Wiltons

55 Jermyn Street, London SW1Y 6LX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

very good venue in St. James's

by Rigoletto   (4)

Jul 2015

A meal of shelfish and crustacea - oysters, crab, lobster - of superb quality, especially the Newburg lobster. Very tasty and balanced the dessert, a chocolate fondant. Extraordinary the wine, Finca la Florencia, a chardonnay of Argentina, indeed great for value in a wine list with exaggerated mark-ups. Not unforgettable the Pedro Ximenez. Very polite, helpful and effective the Hungarian waitress. Overall a great venue, absolutely to go.

...

See more

Rigoletto's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Wright Brothers Soho Oyster House

13 Kingly Street, London W1B 5PW

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Enjoyable meal

by Joanna G.   silver reviewer (16)

Jul 2015

We ate here last night and shared beef tataki (melt in the mouth), Burrata and aubergine caviar (delicious) and Madagascan tiger prawns with salad and fries, washed down with a nice bottle of Picpoul, and a glass of port at the end of the meal. Service was attentive and efficient (although the table next to us complained a lot that they weren't being served, but I think that had more to do with him focusing more on the lady in front of him than trying to get the waiters attention, as the rest of us all seemed to have plenty to eat and drink!). I have had drinks in the downstairs bar before, but this is the first time I have eaten here. We will be back I'm sure as we both work nearby.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No