Latest Reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Market Bistro

11 Saturday Market Place, King's Lynn PE30 5DQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty

avatar

Over rated

by Daisy H.   (1)

Sep 2016

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Such a shame that I took notice of all those sycophantic and obviously self-penned reviews that you see elsewhere. Over priced, run of the mill, pretentious 'bistro/cafe' food. Limited and expensive wine list, no on-line menu, ridiculously over-priced extras, I thought I was back home in London! Cloying front of house staff, too long between courses. Don't believe the other reviews.

...

See more

Daisy H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar emptystar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 2
  • Service: 2
  • Atmosphere: 1
  • Value: 3

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Chucs Bar and Grill

30B Dover Street, London W1S 4ND

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Overpriced and overcrowded

by La Gringa   bronze reviewer (9)

Sep 2016

Two of us went to this restaurant on a mid week night.It is very small- three tables outside and six inside.If you're making a deal or want to have an intimate conversation, it's impossible because the tables are rammed right against each other. We had a table of four next to us who were competing for the most obnoxious behaviour. Constant texting and [phone calls, The prices on the wine list were abusive- I think the cheapest bottle of red was 45! We went instead for what were the most expensive restaurant cocktails in town (16 each) . The starter was good but the mains were disappointing. The chicken was dull and a little dry. The risotto was better but hardly imaginative. Dessert was ok. Service was average. The bill for this crowded table, unimaginative food and overpriced drinks was 160 for two! I can think of many other restaurants where that money would be much better spent.

...

See more

La Gringa's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 6
  • Service: 6
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 2

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Ottolenghi Islington

287 Upper Street, London N1 2TZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Spot on!

by Gemma J.   (1)

Sep 2016

I bought the cook books for the other half, and bye gosh, did we enjoy cooking the recipes together. So much in fact, we just ad to try the restaurant. Oi oi Ottolenghi! The food, wine and waitresses skirt length were all spot on!

...

See more

Gemma J.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Cabotte

48 Gresham Street, London EC2V 7AY

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

A paean to the gastronomy of the heart of France

by Richard E.   platinum reviewer (150)

Sep 2016

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Editor's pick Having recently opened Blandford Comptoir in Marylebone near the site of both Texture and one of the 28-50 chain that he helped to build up so successfully, Xavier Rousset, together with fellow Master Sommelier Gearoid Devaney, has now added Cabotte in the City, near another of the 28-50 bars. One might almost think that he was doing this deliberately. Whilst neither Blandford Comptoir nor Cabotte could claim to be the culinary destination that Texture aspires to be, they are both certainly a step up from 28-50, both on the food and on the wine fronts. Cabotte (named after a type of bothy, found amongst the vines in the Côtes- -Nuits, -Beaune and -d'Or) draws on an astonishing wine listed, garnered from some of the finest domaines in the most intriguing wine region in the world: Burgundy. Whether you're looking for a cheeky aligoté or splashing out on a Grand Cru, you will be hard pressed to find a finer wine list anywhere (there's a great touch in the list too, where wines from other regions of France outside of Burgundy come under the "Rest of the World" heading, as if the Dukes of Burgundy had turned back the clocks to pre-1477 when Burgundy was not part of France). The food too is unashamedly French: the gorgeous slab of ham and parsley terrine comes with chewy sourdough bread; the poached duck egg in a slick of red wine and lardons; beef cheeks; ribeye marinated in rosemary and garlic - this is heady stuff, beautifully cooked by a chef with a fine touch. Not that said chef cannot but help to betray the fact that, whilst he can certainly cook a fine French dish, he doesn't hail from across Le Manche, so Cornish mackerel escabèche and swordfish & crab tartare, with a yuzu dressing and shiso find themselves nestling amongst the starters with the aforementioned terrine and poached duck egg. A group of eight of us went on the first night of the soft opening, and it was fantastic - between us we tried every starter and every main. They are all terrific: from the crispy skinned "Poulet Gaston Gerard" (posh roast chicken), the samphire and burnt spring onion enhanced [grey] mullet with poached oyster, the rib-stickingly unctuous beef cheeks, through to the perfectly cooked steak (seared on the outside, blood red within), there was nothing but praise; nothing that did not hit the spot. Of course, the free flowing wine, served by not one, but two, Master Sommeliers may have helped, but that is the charm of this paean to the gastronomy of the heart of France. There are now two private rooms on the upper floor two: one in a wine cellar with a view into the kitchen, and the other a bright, airy room overlooking Gresham Street. Perfect for post-deal or birthday celebrations, or even just to celebrate the fact that it's a Tuesday, and nobody really does a properly long lunch in the City any more (sigh). Whilst I might not be going in for the 1978 La Tâche DRC (a mere £7,500 if you must ask), I will certainly be returning for a trip down the Côtes to Macon, taking in more manageable properties along the way.

...

See more

Richard E.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Goodman Mayfair

26 Maddox Street, London W1S 1QH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Excellent choice of steaks

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (63)

Sep 2016

What can I say, the steaks are good, very good. It’s been a few years since I have eaten here and the standard and quality is as good if not better than I remember. Service was brisk but friendly, the restaurant was fully booked on a Tuesday night. Our table was a little close to a large table of 8 people so every time the waiting staff went to their table or someone got up to go out for a ciggie, one of our chairs got knocked, which was a little annoying but apart from that we had a very enjoyable evening. Decent wine list. I have to say though, Hawksmoor is my absolute favourite steak restaurant though, they have the edge on service and menu in my humble opinion.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Champagne Charlies

17 The Arches, Villiers Street, London WC2N 6NG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great Pre Theatre Meal

by Dawn G.   bronze reviewer (14)

Sep 2016

We went for the set 2 course pre theatre meal for £15.95 & were pleasantly surprised when they offered a 2 course meal & a glass of Prosecco for £19.95 Starters were smoked salmon & mozarella with cured ham - both excellent. For main we had slow cooked chicken leg outstanding. Looking forward to visiting again

...

See more

Dawn G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Boisdale of Belgravia

15 Eccleston Street, London SW1W 9LX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Only for a special occassion

by Dawn G.   bronze reviewer (14)

Sep 2016

The steaks were cooked exactly as requested, & they have a great selection of sauces to choose from to go with the steak. Oysters a wonderful. They are expensive though, so save this for a special occassion

...

See more

Dawn G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Cafe Murano Covent Garden

34-36 Tavistock Street, London WC2E 7PB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

A plesent dining experience

by Peter H.   (1)

Sep 2016

Although it was a Monday afternoon and the restaurant was fairly quiet the service was excellent. The food was very good and reasonably priced We enjoyed a very nice bottle of red wine recommended by the waiter. A experience we would not hesitate to repeat & recommend to our friends.

...

See more

Peter H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 9
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Odette s

130 Regent's Park Road, London NW1 8XL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Outstanding

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (63)

Sep 2016

Editor's pick I have dined here many times over the years as I live locally and would have eaten here more regularly, however the menu, which is fairly compact, didn’t seem to change much over the years, so once you had eaten there 3 times a year, you had pretty much eaten the entire menu – don’t get me wrong, it was beautifully cooked, seasonal food with a modern twist but the menu was a little repetitive. Now, fast forward a couple of years since I was last here and I was tempted in by a lunch menu deal which was exceptional value for money in this gem of a restaurant, and we were blown away by the food. Clearly chef has changed his cooking style (and menu), crispy pork belly, a truly outstanding piece of lamb belly and loin of lamb, perfectly pink but with crispy skin, starter of chicken wings and scallops on a coconut curry sauce, Cornish mackerel tartar, Odette’s Jaffa Cake, excellent wine list and a really nice house white very reasonable by the carafe. The staff could be chattier (and a little more informative), I asked for a side of kale and hasselback potatoes for the table, and we received one (not tiny, but certainly not enough for 4) potato, but that really is my only criticism. We will be back very soon.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Mele e Pere

46 Brewer Street, London W1F 9TF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Mele e Pere

by Franca G.   bronze reviewer (5)

Sep 2016

I had lunch yesterday at Mele e Pere. The restaurant is a stone away from Piccadilly Circus. The main eating area is downstairs, so there are no windows but the atmosphere is created by the beautiful black and white photographs of normal life in Italy in the 50th/60th. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. I would recommend the hand made focaccia pugliese to start, fresh fusilli with mussels and courgettes and to finish the unbeatable Tiramisu with hand made espresso ice cream on top.

...

See more

Franca G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Clipstone

5 Clipstone Street, London W1W 6BB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

It’s all about choice

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (182)

Sep 2016

It is possible to feel slightly dizzy from the constant rush of new restaurants opening their doors to the public in London. Tyranny of choice sometimes spring to mind. However, based on the success of Portland, which I thoroughly loved when it opened last year (and won a deserved Michelin star), Clipstone definitely merited a visit. A recent lunchtime there with two others was well worth a trip and we rated the atmosphere, food and service, while pricing was also very fair. In contrast to Portland, Clipstone goes for a very clean and pared-back look, tiled walls, an open kitchen and simple seating. It worked well on a good day in early autumn when the sun streamed in and the tables were mostly occupied, but I could imagine it may feel slightly too stark and perhaps a little depressing at a less busy time on perhaps a rainy November day. Nonetheless, the food certainly cheered here. The formula is broadly a modern interpretation of mostly classic French dishes, with a few English quirks thrown in too. As is the current trend, plates are intended for sharing although larger options are also available. This is always great in principle but it did provoke some mild dissension among our group over what to choose and also begged somewhat the inevitable question of whether Clipstone perhaps needs to rethink its menu format. In particular, it was utterly unclear to us where a pizza (even an apparently very cool one topped with clams) would fit alongside say, either a crudo of yellowfin tuna or a grouse with wet polenta. Pizza dropped, we were all happier and indeed both the crudo and the grouse were stand-out dishes. The former was as light as it was flavoursome, delicately paired with preserved chanterelles and samphire. Meanwhile, the grouse was cooked close to perfection, tender and full of game-flavour. The twist of pickled elderberries was also an excellent one. In between, we journeyed through some of Clipstone’s ‘autumn’ dishes, and also rated the grilled ox tongue as well as the excellent cabbage and burnet aubergine dish. For the more adventurous, calves brain is also available, although this item again caused dissent in our group, and so we avoided on this occasion. The piece-de-resistance, however, was a Paris-Brest dessert, which tasted as good as it looked, even if this boosted the calorific intake of our group significantly. A final word on the wines: a very good list here (as at Portland), with clear thought put into compiling a balanced yet innovative set of selection. Our Oregon red blend ticked all the right boxes. At c£40/head, Clipstone feels like a good and reasonable option where your money is undoubtedly well spent.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Aladin Brick Lane

132 Brick Lane Aldgate East, London E1 6RU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

brilliant

by dean m.   (1)

Sep 2016

Absolutely brilliant, staffs and the food was amazing, really had a good time at the Aladin. We met a genie aswel, the kids loved every moment here, would definately recommend it to friends and family

...

See more

dean m.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Nazrul

130 Brick Lane, London E1 6RU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Fantastic place to dine in

by alex s.   (1)

Sep 2016

The oldest restaurant in Brick Lane and you cant go wrong with that! Went with a group of 30 people and we all loved our curry, the staffs were extremely friendly, going back in December with work colleagues, cant wait!

...

See more

alex s.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

About Thyme

82 Wilton Road, London SW1V 1DL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Amazing food

by Dawn G.   bronze reviewer (14)

Sep 2016

As I was struggling to decide which seafood starter I was going to choose, I was offered an off menu starter. Carpaccio of Salt Cod, and told I could try it & leave it if I didn't like it. It was AMAZING! For my main I had Presa Iberica - beautifully cooked Iberian Pork with an array of fresh vegetable & a Black Bean Gravy. Everything was served separately - just the way I like it & you could how much care & attention had gone into each ingredient. Cannot wait to go again

...

See more

Dawn G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No