Latest Reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Aladin Brick Lane

132 Brick Lane Aldgate East, London E1 6RU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Brilliant dine in place

by minnie r.   (1)

Jul 2016

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Absolute amazed with this Restaurant! Had a party of 25 booked in and we were not dissapointed! Everyone loved what they ordered, we had to order more after for takeaway. Worlds Best Curry House

...

See more

minnie r.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Deeson s British Restaurant

25-26 Sun Street, Canterbury CT1 2HX

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Quality in Canterbury

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (178)

Jul 2016

When Deeson’s opened in Canterbury in 2009 many believed that it would help restore the city’s culinary reputation. Since then, and in common with many other prosperous towns with tourist attractions in the south east, the dining scene has moved on. More competition has come to the market, resulting in a general improvement in quality levels and dining options. While a short weekend break in Canterbury only afforded us one evening on which to dine out, we had no regrets about our choice of Deeson’s. Beyond the positive experience itself, just a simple look at the menu here suggests a more exciting approach to cooking than that which its closest local rivals (Abode, Ambrette, Goods Shed etc.) have to offer. The emphasis at Deeson’s is firmly on British cooking and the fairly priced menu sees starters come in at £7-9 and mains at £17-25, with a choice of about 8 options for each. The ambience is relaxed and service friendly, mostly professional and enthusiastic. While considering our dishes we enjoyed a glass of local (Chapel Down of Rye) sparkling wine, crisp and refreshing with pleasant floral notes. My starter was an innovative pairing of (again locally sourced) wood pigeon with pickled wild mushrooms and gooseberries. The more astringent flavours of the latter two ingredients worked as a perfect foil to offset the richness of the meat. For my main, pan-fried sea bream in a cream tarragon sauce was much less trend-setting, but what the dish lost in inventiveness, it gained in preparation, with the piece of fish cooked to perfection and among the most succulent I have sampled anywhere recently. My comrade praised her dishes too, particularly rating the delicacy and combination of ingredients in her cheese soufflé main. Our food was accompanied by a reasonably decent bottle of new world Chardonnay, although I would suggest that there is some room for improvement in the wine list, which could benefit in particular from a broader range of options in the £40-60/bottle bracket (i.e. price points above and below this were covered, but less so here). Our meal concluded on a high note as we shared Deeson’s crumble of the day, in this case, an excellent rhubarb version. Overall, it was hard to find fault, and beyond the cathedral and the city’s wide selection of great pubs, Deeson’s should be a must for any visitor.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Pizza East 56 Shoreditch High Street

56 Shoreditch High Street, London E1 6JJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Pizza is great, service is average

by Laurie M.   (1)

Jul 2016

I love Pizza East, I probably go here at least twice a month. As long as you are not expecting exceptional service it is lovely. Food is always great and on a Monday it's a bargain!

...

See more

Laurie M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 5
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Roast

Floral Hall, Stoney Street, London SE1 1TL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

why don't i visit more often!?

by Graham J.   (3)

Jul 2016

Roast is one of only a few restaurants in London that always makes me think the same thought; why don't I visit more often? The staff are always friendly, the cooking is reliable. yesterday was hot, but they turned up the a/c and everything was fine. My guest was nearly one hour late arriving, but we never felt hurried. I really must remember to visit more frequently!

...

See more

Graham J.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Cantina del Ponte

The Butlers Wharf Building, 36c Shad Thames, London SE1 2YE

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

HIts the spot!

by Jan d.   silver reviewer (17)

Jul 2016

This place always hits the spot! The food is good, the welcome really friendly, the location ideal (especially if you're entertaining "out-of-towners") and the service, if not pitch perfect is done with a smile and a flourish that will soon make you forgive any delay!! The wine list is short but pretty decently priced and features a fairly good cross section of the Italian wine industry, both geographically and oenologically. The food is always imaginative and considered (the burrata served on a bed of grilled, smoked aubergines, zucchini and tomatoes was out of this world!) Their seafood classics are always delicious. Nothing more to say...well recommended!!

...

See more

Jan d.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Mondrian London at Sea Containers

20 Upper Ground, London SE1 9PD

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Over priced and by the river!

by Jan d.   silver reviewer (17)

Jul 2016

This place certainly has sparkle and razmatazz but milks it far too much! The surroundings are very sexily zingy, the background music hip and laid back, the lighting subdued in places, in others too garish (choose your table very carefully) all of which creates a good vibe and dining atmosphere. The food is good without being extraordinarily so but the prices are definitely loaded hotel wise. But by far the biggest downer on this place (and, in my opinion, a good enough reason to avoid the place until they put it right) is the wine list which is full of very mediocre wines, the majority of which are fantastically overpriced. Those which aren't, are just expensive! In short, go there for a drink in the cocktail bar upstairs, stay the night but eat elsewhere!!

...

See more

Jan d.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 3

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Ivy Kensington Brasserie

96 Kensington High Street, London W8 4SG

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

great addition to kensington!

by Biscuit   silver reviewer (17)

Jul 2016

i'm always surprised by how few good restaurants there are in and around Kensington, so was excited to see the ivy open up here. it did not disappoint! I think the food is better than in the original one in covent garden, and has more atmosphere than the ivy cafe in Marylebone. It was good to see they kept some of their signature dishes too... my husband loved the shepherds pie! We had a really lovely evening and although its pricey, i did actually think it was worth it. if you live in the area I'd highly recommend it. It's good for the whole family, and has a bar where you can have a cocktail afterwards too.

...

See more

Biscuit's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Aladin Brick Lane

132 Brick Lane Aldgate East, London E1 6RU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

5 Star Restaurant

by shaun l.   (1)

Jul 2016

5***** Restaurant! Top in Brick Lane! Had a great meal on Sunday lunch with a group of 15 with a fantastic service. Good that we booked in advance because the restaurant did get packed out! Highly recommended

...

See more

shaun l.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Ostuni Highgate

1 Hampstead Lane, London N6 4RS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Friendly Italian restaurant

by Lynn W.   platinum reviewer (68)

Jul 2016

The food is rustic and seems authentic. We started with a bowl of different breads - all of them good - and a plate of salami and cured capocollo. Then we had a dish of roasted meats to share, including bombette, chunks of lamb and a tiny bit of chicken along with some fennel and radish salad, and a sort of sweet chilli tomato sauce for dipping. Add some ultra-thin and crispy courgette fries and this was filling and plenty for two. With a bottle of Puglian red we felt very relaxed and almost on holiday, made even more so by bumping into some friends we hadn't seen for ages. This feels like a good community place, and good news for Highgate.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Darbaar

1 Snowden Street, London EC2A 2DQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Shhh! Hidden gem!

by TomTom   gold reviewer (32)

Jul 2016

This supremely comfortable and slickly designed Snowden Street restaurant has so much on offer and its boutiquish polish suggests the operators have been honing their craft for years. In fact Abdul Yasseen and his wife are cutting their teeth on their first restaurant here and once foodies wake up to what’s on offer here, they’ll surely be visiting from far and wide. A great bar and a couple of equally impressive private rooms, not to mention a very grown-up reception area (a rare thing in the world of restaurants) all set the tone for an establishment in no way overawed by exalted neighbours L’Anima and Galvin La Chapelle. The cooking by a chef with an infallable palate is technically consummate and deliciously flavoured. We tried the baked rabbit with corn-kernel sauce which was soft, tender and warmly spiced, while the assorted grills and kebabs (salmon, chicken and lamb and paneer) was a masterpiece of multilayered flavour. Worth trying, too, is a rich dhal boasting a formidable intensity. While the wine is not cheap the food prices are far from expensive and the whole experience was a real treat.

...

See more

TomTom's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Flat Three

120-122 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Cool overindulgence of senses

by Henna K.   (1)

Jul 2016

Last night was my second time within just over a week that I ventured through the understated entrance next to my hairdressers and downstairs to the coolest space in the neighbourhood. Being nearly a Scandi but most definitively from the Nordic region, my immediate reaction was that it felt like being back home: minimalistic design, earthy colours, wood and soft light. Having changed the venue of my birthday dinner with dear friends at the last minute a week ago as another neighbourhood new-comer, with a lot more publicity, having had Beckhams and other locals with a keen follow-on visit, could not accommodate a larger than planned group, I was very intrigued to sit at the Chef's table and study the what at first sight appeared a seemingly sparse menu. Needn't worry: the Chef's 7 that comes both in meat and vegetarian variety was all I could have ever hoped for with a variety of fish (delicious smoked salmon with a lardo coat, melt-in-mouth poached seabass in a delicate broth that took my breath away), seafood (mouthwatering perfectly cooked scallops) and meat (amazing saltiness of a rib-eye and the most tender waguy sirloin) each touching every single sense in the most amazing way. I am not a big fan of desserts but the palate-cleansing tofu sorbet followed by a delicious oven-fresh cake named after the epic poet of my home country, my birthday missed nothing. So I took my Oz partner back this weekend and he was in heaven too, not least because of the refreshing tayberry (a cross between raspberry and blackberry, I learned) rum aperitif, brewed for 3months before making it into the cool minimalist glassware and clenching the thirst on a hot summer's night (alongside the free water that kept coming at frequent speed throughout the night): a big fan of Japan and Japanese food, and perhaps a little bit of Finns' too, the Oz man now plans to use this venue for business dinners and friendly get-togethers alike. I would just hope that Posh and Becks and friends would wander over as it would be a real shame if this place did not get the crowds and the PR it deserves. Cool overindulgence of senses. We will be back.

...

See more

Henna K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Hix

66-70 Brewer Street, London W1F 9UP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty

avatar

Sorry- can't muster much enthusiasm

by David H.   platinum reviewer (73)

Jul 2016

First visit today at lunch and plainly restaurants which cater primarily for young people don't really warm up till well after we left at 2. I didn't find much to wax lyrical about to be honest. The premises aren't terribly exciting, the service is decent .We both chose from the a la carte menu I found my shellfish soup a little odd- the soup and the pieces of shellfish in it seemed to have been cooked separately- the pieces of fish were tasty enough but the soup itself was over-thickened and not quite warm enough. My Hangar steak was neither tender nor particularly tasty and a lot of people I know would have sent it back. It wasn't awful- just not as pleasant as it could have been. Decent fries ( a side) and tasty peas and broad beans ( another side) though sadly no-one had bothered to skin the latter. To be fair, my wife enjoyed her broad bean puree and breaded Schnitzel rather more than I enjoyed my food. I found the wine list poor value. We had a carafe of the lowest priced white on the list- a Chilean Sauvignon- which for a bottle was priced a little below £30. It was palatable though in the sense of a supermarket wine at maybe £6/£7 a bottle. Altogether our bill with one dessert and one coffee totted up to £96. The question I asked myself while paying and still in my mind now is whether I should be paying that sort of money for middling food. It seems to me that its getting hard to get good quality or good value in the very heart of the west end now with a few exceptions such as Pollen Street Social.. Set lunch menus are getting tediously uninteresting. Nevertheless albeit that I'm stopping well short of an outright recommendation for Hix, I do believe the food I ate today was a little better that the food we ate at Treadwells a few months back and Café Monico more recently.

...

See more

David H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 5
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No