Latest Reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Mele e Pere

46 Brewer Street, London W1F 9TF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Mele e Pere

by Franca G.   bronze reviewer (5)

Sep 2016

I had lunch yesterday at Mele e Pere. The restaurant is a stone away from Piccadilly Circus. The main eating area is downstairs, so there are no windows but the atmosphere is created by the beautiful black and white photographs of normal life in Italy in the 50th/60th. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. I would recommend the hand made focaccia pugliese to start, fresh fusilli with mussels and courgettes and to finish the unbeatable Tiramisu with hand made espresso ice cream on top.

...

See more

Franca G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Clipstone

5 Clipstone Street, London W1W 6BB

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

It’s all about choice

by Gourmand Gunno   platinum reviewer (182)

Sep 2016

It is possible to feel slightly dizzy from the constant rush of new restaurants opening their doors to the public in London. Tyranny of choice sometimes spring to mind. However, based on the success of Portland, which I thoroughly loved when it opened last year (and won a deserved Michelin star), Clipstone definitely merited a visit. A recent lunchtime there with two others was well worth a trip and we rated the atmosphere, food and service, while pricing was also very fair. In contrast to Portland, Clipstone goes for a very clean and pared-back look, tiled walls, an open kitchen and simple seating. It worked well on a good day in early autumn when the sun streamed in and the tables were mostly occupied, but I could imagine it may feel slightly too stark and perhaps a little depressing at a less busy time on perhaps a rainy November day. Nonetheless, the food certainly cheered here. The formula is broadly a modern interpretation of mostly classic French dishes, with a few English quirks thrown in too. As is the current trend, plates are intended for sharing although larger options are also available. This is always great in principle but it did provoke some mild dissension among our group over what to choose and also begged somewhat the inevitable question of whether Clipstone perhaps needs to rethink its menu format. In particular, it was utterly unclear to us where a pizza (even an apparently very cool one topped with clams) would fit alongside say, either a crudo of yellowfin tuna or a grouse with wet polenta. Pizza dropped, we were all happier and indeed both the crudo and the grouse were stand-out dishes. The former was as light as it was flavoursome, delicately paired with preserved chanterelles and samphire. Meanwhile, the grouse was cooked close to perfection, tender and full of game-flavour. The twist of pickled elderberries was also an excellent one. In between, we journeyed through some of Clipstone’s ‘autumn’ dishes, and also rated the grilled ox tongue as well as the excellent cabbage and burnet aubergine dish. For the more adventurous, calves brain is also available, although this item again caused dissent in our group, and so we avoided on this occasion. The piece-de-resistance, however, was a Paris-Brest dessert, which tasted as good as it looked, even if this boosted the calorific intake of our group significantly. A final word on the wines: a very good list here (as at Portland), with clear thought put into compiling a balanced yet innovative set of selection. Our Oregon red blend ticked all the right boxes. At c£40/head, Clipstone feels like a good and reasonable option where your money is undoubtedly well spent.

...

See more

Gourmand Gunno's rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Aladin Brick Lane

132 Brick Lane Aldgate East, London E1 6RU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

brilliant

by dean m.   (1)

Sep 2016

Absolutely brilliant, staffs and the food was amazing, really had a good time at the Aladin. We met a genie aswel, the kids loved every moment here, would definately recommend it to friends and family

...

See more

dean m.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Nazrul

130 Brick Lane, London E1 6RU

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Fantastic place to dine in

by alex s.   (1)

Sep 2016

The oldest restaurant in Brick Lane and you cant go wrong with that! Went with a group of 30 people and we all loved our curry, the staffs were extremely friendly, going back in December with work colleagues, cant wait!

...

See more

alex s.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

About Thyme

82 Wilton Road, London SW1V 1DL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Amazing food

by Dawn G.   bronze reviewer (12)

Sep 2016

As I was struggling to decide which seafood starter I was going to choose, I was offered an off menu starter. Carpaccio of Salt Cod, and told I could try it & leave it if I didn't like it. It was AMAZING! For my main I had Presa Iberica - beautifully cooked Iberian Pork with an array of fresh vegetable & a Black Bean Gravy. Everything was served separately - just the way I like it & you could how much care & attention had gone into each ingredient. Cannot wait to go again

...

See more

Dawn G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Bellevue Rendezvous

218 Trinity Road, London SW17 7HP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

excellent french food

by John L.   (1)

Sep 2016

Four of us dined at this wonderful little resturant, Limited menu but everything I an my partner have eaten there has been fabulous & beautifully presented, to say which dish I would recommend would be difficult I can't fault any, the only critisism I have is with one of the deserts the creme brulee left me rather flat no taste in the creme usually you have a little vanilla or citrus zest but this one was just custard. All the staff & the owner were wonderful, this was my third visit this year & won't be my last.

...

See more

John L.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The George in Rye

98 High Street, Unknown TN31 7JT

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Great evening!

by Kathy H.   (2)

Sep 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary here. It's a restaurant we use quite regularly, and are never disappointed. We were particularly impressed with the staff and service this time, which has definitely improved! We were given a complimentary glass of prosecco each to start our celebrations, so that was a really good start to the evening! I had the salt and pepper squid to start, and my husband had the dressed crab- both were good! We both followed with the rib eye steak and fries. This is always delicious and they were very helpful in advising us how we should have it cooked (medium rare rather than rare) . Liqueur coffees and complimentary petit fours rounded off an excellent evening. We had a lovely table and weren't rushed at all, so a great evening and we will look forward to returning.

...

See more

Kathy H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Murakami

63-66 St Martin’s Lane, London WC2N 4JS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Delicious Food & Very Friendly Staff

by Irena T.   (1)

Sep 2016

We dined here yesterday and had about 45 mins before going to theatre. The staff acknowledged it and served us fairly quickly. Food was delicious. I love Japanese food and their Cod Volcano was super delish. Ambience is pleasant.The meal was about £50 per person including 1 beer and 1 small glass of wine - quite expensive in my view, hence only average rating for value for money.

...

See more

Irena T.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 6

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Midsummer House

Midsummer House, Midsummer Common, Cambridge CB4 1HA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Three star material

by Paul A.   platinum reviewer (87)

Sep 2016

Mark Abbott deserves more recognition than he gets. Of the three times now that we have dined at Midsummer Daniel Clifford has twice not been in the kitchen, and yet both times our meal has been impeccable. We believe that a head chef has to be capable of matching the performance of the chef patron/executive chef so that the absence of the latter does not affect the quality of what is served to the diners. But for us this should imply that the paying customer should be made aware of who is heading up the kitchen and more exposure given to the chef in charge. There is a relaxed elegance about the dining room and the confident front-of-house staff, headed by an experienced gallic duo with a surprisingly English sense of humour, echo this feeling. Exemplary canapés ranging from sour cream with apple, through beetroot tuile with goat’s cheese and apple, the familiar ham hock with crispy onion and piccalilli, to a cornet of smoked eel with a background touch of lemon, led us into a new tweak for the Bloody Mary pre-amuse-bouche, this time in gel form with celeriac and celery salt making a cheeky early palate cleanser. The amuse-bouche proper was an admirably well-balanced Cornish crab and ginger mix supported by frozen lime and coriander, which was the prelude to the main theatre of the evening in the form of an imposing spherical cooking sphere with open coals inside baking a whole celeriac which was wheeled to the table, the baked black celeriac extracted with a flourish and a large scoopful whisked onto the plates. This actually left a fair amount behind, but it was clearly not wasted as we received four more variations on the theme with pickled, burnt, caramelised and roasted celeriac making up a full palette of textures and flavours for the one vegetable, all of them supported by a lovely hazelnut hollandaise. Not content with that, the kitchen then produced a celeriac mousse to accompany Orkney scallops but this was completely different with a judicious sprinkling of truffle and some Granny Smith twiglets. The sautéed foie gras was perfect with its soul mate gingerbread crumble, a beautifully balanced orange gel, pear, and chicory in a gingerbread half tube. The full meatiness of the roasted monkfish was skilfully brought out by a super red wine reduction and the violet artichoke mousse. The lamb dish was made up of a terrific roast rack infused with basil and with proper crispy fat and moreish confit of smoked shoulder accompanied by fresh peas, broad beans and tomatoes and a quite wonderful, almost old-fashioned gravy. Two desserts followed, stunning aerated pear crisp with blueberry powder and a white chocolate bomb, and an equally impressive yoghurt sorbet with passion fruit jelly, chocolate cream and crispy topping. All this and we still had room for substantial petits fours comprising sugared fried beignets with a caramelised apple sauce as a dip, and assorted pastries. Mention should also be made of the quality of the wine flight which contained some very classy bottles. Definitely a fine-dining experience worthy of the very top rating.

...

See more

Paul A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Artichoke

9 Market Square, Old Amersham HP7 0DF

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Two stars?

by Paul A.   platinum reviewer (87)

Sep 2016

We are devotees of The Artichoke and have been for some years which is why we are fully in agreement both with Hardens when they state that “the debate should not be whether or not it should have a star, but whether or not it should have two” and with The Good Food Guide which rates it much higher than a whole raft of one star outfits. You are guaranteed a top-class fine dining experience here, without the self-conscious flashiness and theatre some places seem to consider necessary to make an impression. We got straight into the amuse-bouche, a delightfully pure and welcomingly refreshing chilled watermelon soup, which set us up nicely for the smoked haddock with radish, super horseradish cream balancing the subtle smokiness of the fish, and shades of beetroot. We had decided not to take the wine flight with the tasting menu, and after consulting the knowledgeable restaurant manager and sommelier, Matteo, we chose what turned out to be the perfect white for the first four fish and shellfish dishes - inevitably an Italian wine by a top maker, Cervaro della Sala. Scallops are customary, almost obligatory, in good restaurants these days, but not all of them are handled as well as this - impeccably roasted and with a stunning shellfish tarragon reduction, outstanding local, peanut fed, ham, and an amusing carrot mousse decorated with a carrot top. The next dish on the menu was cucumber, not something I enjoy as the main ingredient, so I was offered Lyme Bay crab which I gratefully accepted. My wife was very happy with the pickled cucumber, the ubiquitous burrata, cucumber foam, rye bread crumbs and nasturtium leaves and flowers adding colour and bite. My classic shredded crab was graced with Isle of Wight heritage tomatoes, a remarkable tomato essence jelly, an original passion fruit dressing which brought out the taste of the crab, and croutons for crunch, and made me really pleased that I had managed to forgo the cucumber. There was no question of declining the next dish, the king of fish, turbot, a generous fillet simply presented in all its glory, bathing in a superb oyster and champagne sauce and accompanied by Jersey royals, and quite munchy sea veg and seaweed provided added texture. The Artichoke tasting menu permits a choice of main, and my wife preferred a change from lamb, so she selected the very local duck, succulent breast and extra-tasty confit leg, confit bacon, a proper portion of ripe peas, cooked baby gem lettuce, fragrant marjoram and some amazing duck liver butter on a large crisp. I wanted to try the Sicilian syrah with the lamb rump, and they proved to be very suitable match, with the melt-in-the-mouth meat perfectly backed up by a lovely aubergine purée, borlotti and cocoa beans, juicy olives, tenderstem broccoli, quite pungent feta, and an unannounced but very welcome portion of stunningly good sweetbread. The pre-dessert was a sharp yet sweet redcurrant compôte on iced yoghurt, just the job to cleanse the palate for our desserts: a szechuan pepper ice cream with pineapple tart and pistachio, followed by a winning strawberry galette with pastry cream, caramelised white chocolate and strawberry sorbet for my wife, and a sensational pickled French cherry jelly with Brillat Savarin cheesecake and toasted oats for me. Laurie Gear and head chef Ben Jenkins had pulled it off again!

...

See more

Paul A.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Bellanger

9 Islington Green, London N1 2XH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Sound brasserie

by Nic V.   (1)

Sep 2016

Friendly and professional after theatre experience. Good uncomplicated food, good value, pleasant and efficient service. Excellent addition to Islington. Would recommend

...

See more

Nic V.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Strada More London Place

2 More London Place, London SE1 2JP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half

avatar

Great stuff

by Angela H.   (1)

Sep 2016

Really enjoyed our meal. Had the lamb for main and it was amazing! The squid starter was good but not fantastic and a lot of the menu was not available. Quite glad in some ways, as I would not have gone for the lamb main. Glad I did. Dessert was lovely. Our waiter was fab. One or two glitches but that was hardly surprising, considering it was really busy. These were corrected straight away and didn't effect the evening at all. Would definitely go back

...

See more

Angela H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar half
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No