Latest restaurant reviews

All reviews

Latest Squaremeal reviews - sorted by date review written or updated

Find out what Square Meal readers thought of their latest restaurant experience. Sort the reviews bellow by a variety of criteria to find inspiration for your next meal or get the lowdown on the latest launches.

Cafe Mode

57-59 Endell Street, London WC2H 9AJ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Busy Covent Garden Italian Restaurant

by Helen K.   (1)

Jan 2017

The staff were friendly, the food was tasty and the prices are reasonable and you're in the heart of Covent Garden. The restaurant was very busy on Saturday night but the staff made sure we had a nice table for my party's meal. I had the seabass which was very nice but probably should have ordered potatoes to go with it. The main courses are better value than the starters. The tiramisu I had for pudding was delicious and a generous portion size. The Chilean Sauvignon Blanc was very good. Not sure what else there is to say. We'll be back!

...

See more

Helen K.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Polpetto

11 Berwick Street, London W1F 0PL

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty

avatar

In decline?

by David H.   platinum reviewer (87)

Jan 2017

The Polpetto I remember with affection was a tiny place above the French House pub- literally a handful of tables but with interesting and well cooked food that drew us back repeatedly. It's closure was sad and its eventual re-opening on Berwick Street met with enthusiasm from us, though it was apparent even then that many of the dishes we enjoyed would not be on offer here. Today we needed somewhere fairly early, quick and Soho-ish before a theatre visit, so it seemed appropriate to try Polpetto again. We ordered six courses. Only one of these ( deep fried courgettes) was worthy of the restaurant we once knew. The rest were middling - food as fuel rather than food as enjoyment- and it is now plain to us that the talent and skills that once made Polpetto a place to be reckoned with are no longer there. This was very simple rustic food without the veneers of imagination and culinary skill that marked it once. It's made worse for being brought all together- well in two batches. The "mains" - for these are small plates were brought three at once at varying telperatures, and cool tagliatelli wouldn't be my choice. The carafe of wine we ordered was poured from a bottle that wasn't opened fresh, and didn't taste good. We switched and again we got wine from a bottle that again must have been opened yesterday. It wasn't much better than the first but life's too short and embarrassment sets in so we accepted it. No bread offered except as a menu item, and they served my espresso in a glass. I'd prefer a cup. The bill was £76- so not hugely expensive, but I do wonder what a fair price is for mediocre food? All told just too many things wrong to afford them the benefit of doubt. We won't return. To speculate, the way this place looks and the fact that its dropped away so much might lead one to conclude that it is already due a substantial make-over , re-presentation and re-branding.

...

See more

David H.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar halfstar emptystar empty
  • Food & Drink: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 5

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Hotbox

46 Commercial St, London E1 6LT

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Lunch

by garry b.   platinum reviewer (73)

Jan 2017

Very good food and service was good. The mutton was really good and short rib excellent. Short menu but this means the food is well prepared. Will go again to try some of the other items.

...

See more

garry b.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Canto Corvino

21 Artillery Lane, London E1 7HA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Stunning Italian Brunch

by Lloyd S.   bronze reviewer (10)

Jan 2017

If good Italian food is your desire then I highly recommend paying a visit to Canto Corvino which is conveniently just a 2 minute walk from Liverpool Street Station on the outskirts of Spitalfields . To say the food was amazing is an understatement and the flavours are very different to many Italian restaurants. We had a nice warm Italian welcome and were seated in front of the open kitchen and started with cocktails which were 2 for 1 while we looked at the menu to which we chose the Beetroot Salad, Burrata & Lobster Arancini staters this was followed by fantastic main courses of Hake & Old Spot Pig both matched by a lovely glass of Red & White wines from Puglia . Then for me my favourite course Dessert and were equally as good as the first two courses a Salted Caramel Bomb , French Toast with Caramalised Banana and some delightful homemade Ice Cream . All this put together with such a friendly service and a relaxed atmosphere which is no more than you expect from an Italian restaurant. I would definitely put this place high on any list of restaurants you have to visit #food #restaurant #italian #hospitality

...

See more

Lloyd S.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

St John Bread and Wine

94-96 Commercial Street, London E1 6LZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

On my favourites list!

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (70)

Jan 2017

We ate dinner here last night, and I loved everything about the place! Excellent waiting staff, buzzing atmosphere, delicious food and a daily changing menu, what's not to love? We had fois gras pate on toast, the welsh rarebit (wonderful mustard heat), skate cheeks and tartare sauce (super light crispy batter), cucumber, kohlrabi and brown shrimp salad (divine) and roasted quail with crab apple jelly and a bottle of Picpoul and the bill only came to £73. People were popping in on their way home to buy the freshly baked bread (which is wonderful) and you can even buy the rarebit topping to take home and make your own. I am already planning my next visit.

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Pied a Terre

34 Charlotte Street, London W1T 2NH

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Exceptional food & service

by Steve B.   (2)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick I had an exceptional meal here today. Every dish ordered by both me and my guest were beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. The service was perfect, not overbearing, but extremely helpful when needed. There is a choice of kind of set menus, with alternatives amongst those, but I had no trouble picking things to try, and was not disappointed. Everything was really tasty, and presented so well, it almost seemed a shame to eat it. Not a cheap meal, but for three courses with wine, and service it wasn't completely outrageous either. Strongly recommended!

...

See more

Steve B.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

The Frog E1

2 Ely's Yard, Old Truman Brewery, Hanbury Street, London E1 6QR

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Excellent tasting menu

by Joanna G.   platinum reviewer (70)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick Having watched Adam Handling on the Great British Menu we were keen to try his restaurant, so I booked us in for my husbands’ birthday lunch – and overall it was a very enjoyable lunch. The staff were all very friendly and informative, you can see into the open kitchen and AH was at the pass checking everything going out and adding final touches. Each course is served and described by one of the chefs, which is a nice personal touch. We opted for the tasting menu @ £45 a head and my husband also had the drink pairing @ £40 – I had a couple of glasses of wine instead. The first four “snacks” came out very close together and felt a little rushed but we were assured that service would slow down after this and it did. I don’t remember all the dishes but the following stood out Chorizo, cheese, onion, Crab, seaweed, apple and the amazing Bread and chicken butter. We had a Celeriac, truffle, yolk, apple, dates course which in my opinion was a little too large and the celeriac was quite rubbery, but that’s just personal taste, but not a favourite dish. We opted for the additional course of Cheese doughnuts (which I regretted slightly, we should have just ordered one portion, as they were quite large and very rich and I really didn’t need any more food!). I loved the Beetroot, beetroot and more beetroot, and it looked beautiful. A nice touch at the end of the meal is that you can choose to “Buy the chefs a beer - £5”, so we added two to our meal. Obviously you can eat here cheaper than we did, but at nearly £200 for lunch it is not for the faint-hearted. There were two negatives about this experience - firstly, the seating, old wooden school chairs, was pretty uncomfortable, If you are eating the tasting menu, you are going to be sat down for at least 2 hours (I should also add that I was recovering from a back injury, and the staff were able to find me a chair with a more solid back to it so I could sit more comfortably) - and secondly my seat had a perfect view straight into the toilet, which is not really the view you want whilst eating!

...

See more

Joanna G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Buenos Aires Reigate

2-4 London Road, Reigate RH2 9AN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

Fab Steak

by Rita G.   bronze reviewer (8)

Jan 2017

Family dinner on a Saturday night. Fab restaurant, maybe a little cosy for some. Friendly unhurried service for and great food. Made my son who has just started to learn Spanish talk to the waiter in Spanish and he was really helpful and repeating it back to him to ensure he was picking up the correct enunciation. Only negative comment would be that they could have given us the menus sooner. A big hit by all the family and we will go back soon.

...

See more

Rita G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 9
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Cinnamon Bazaar

28 Maiden Lane, London WC2E 7JS

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Lunch Time Set Menu in January

by Rachael W.   (1)

Jan 2017

I highly anticipated my birthday lunch at Cinnamon Bazaar, having heard wonderful things about the Cinnamon Restaurant group, and eyeing up the menu numerous times before arriving. My boyfriend and I opted to try the lunchtime set menu so as to get a taste of different things on the menu. At £16 it is extremely reasonably priced for three, very good sized courses. I opted for the lamb kebab, followed by the pork belly curry and finished off with the cardamon creme brulee. My boyfriend ordered the chicken tikka, followed by the cod curry and chocolate cake with coffee icecream. We both really enjoyed our starters, especially the lamb kebab but were let down by the main dishes. I found the pork belly very rich, but without the intense flavours of Indian food that I hoped for. The desserts were pretty good, especially the coffee icecream that came with my boyfriends. Service was very good and the courses were spaced out nicely. It was fairly quiet but this was a Friday lunch in January so I'd imagine many restaurants face this. Overall, not a bad lunch for the price but not as fantastic as I hoped. I'll probably go to Dishoom next time!

...

See more

Rachael W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 7
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 8
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Bistro Aix

54 Topsfield Parade, Tottenham Lane, London N8 8PT

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Back on form

by Eddie C.   (1)

Jan 2017

This used to be a superb French bistro but gradually became tired - same menu, set in a rut. It's now back to its old form with a fresh, simpler (but still imaginative) menu of food cooked how you would want to find it in a really decent rural French cafe. Service is good, tables maybe a bit too close together but Aix succeeds in providing good food for an enjoyable evening meal.

...

See more

Eddie C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 7
  • Atmosphere: 7
  • Value: 9

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Picture Marylebone

19 New Cavendish Street, London W1G 9TZ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty

avatar

Picture Marylebone

by Lynn W.   platinum reviewer (76)

Jan 2017

Editor's pick In January restaurants can be a bit empty, and when you arrive and experience the minimalist decor at Picture Marylebone it can all feel a bit bleak. It was nice and warm inside though and the welcome was warm as well. The menu provides a selection of small plates at good prices. We had four of the beef bites at £1 each; savoury and crispy, a good start with the bread and butter while choosing the wine. We both had the glazed squash, goat's curd, pumpkin seed pesto, golden sultanas - a pretty presentation and flavours and textures worked well together. After that, the small pieces of venison haunch, toasted barley, and swede were excellent, though decidedly small, but with a side of fries we felt we had had sufficient. Just one iced mascarpone parfait between us with some tiny cubes of Williams pear and crunchy gingerbread morsels meant we had enjoyed beautifully prepared dishes and lots of good flavours without being overwhelmed, and post-Christmas this is welcome. If you wanted a more substantial meal there is the option of a 6-course tasting menu or you could go for another course from the daily plates.

...

See more

Lynn W.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 5
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Prezzo Weymouth

56 St Thomas Street, Weymouth DT4 8EQ

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Great evening

by Diana G.   (1)

Jan 2017

Service could not be bettered, attentive but not intrusive, helpful, organised and timing just right. Difficult to give a chain restaurant a 5 star rating for food but Prezzo menu, presentation and taste is much better than most chains

...

See more

Diana G.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 8

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Bernardis

62 Seymour Street, London W1H 5BN

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty

avatar

The Pillar of Portman Village

by Marc C.   (2)

Jan 2017

Contemporary not hip. Pleasing not thrilling. Nice but not naughty. It feels like we can bank on Bernardi's for years to come. (So long as they lengthen the wine list).

...

See more

Marc C.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar halfstar empty
  • Food & Drink: 8
  • Service: 8
  • Atmosphere: 6
  • Value: 7

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

Kings Stores

14 Widegate Street, London E1 7HP

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Royal Treatment at Kings Stores

by Melanie M.   bronze reviewer (8)

Jan 2017

One of my favourite haunts for a pub lunch. Friendly staff, great food (try the jerk chicken) and reasonable prices. Always a convivial atmosphere whether you just stop by for a beer or pop in to eat.

...

See more

Melanie M.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 9
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No

STK at ME London Hotel

336-337 Strand, London WC2R 1HA

Overall rating: star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full

avatar

Corporate Event

by Charley J.   (2)

Jan 2017

We hired STK exclusively for a corporate event in June last year. Everything was amazing, and people are still talking about what a fantastic evening it was. Great food, atmosphere and amazing cocktails. Would definitely recommend it for dinner or for private hire.

...

See more

Charley J.'s rating

star fullstar fullstar fullstar fullstar full
  • Food & Drink: 10
  • Service: 10
  • Atmosphere: 10
  • Value: 10

Was this review helpful to you?

Yes No